Quintero Golf Club

4.7593882353 4.8 stars from 5 (703)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7208 yards
  • Slope: 147
  • Rating: 74.9
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: No
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Collared shirt and bermuda shorts required. No denim.
Credit cards accepted: Yes

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7208 yards 74.9 147
Gold 72 6845 yards 72.9 143
Silver 72 6435 yards 70.7 137
Cooper 72 5984 yards 69.2 128
Cooper (W) 72 5984 yards 75.8 145
Jade (W) 72 5307 yards 71.9 125

Located in the desert just north of Phoenix and Scottsdale, the golf course at Quintero Golf Club is a challenge but with up to as many as nine tees per hole, it can accommodate golfers of all different abilities and handicaps. The rolling, desert terrain of the course features dramatic elevation changes for interesting play. The golf course's design has wide fairways and plenty of water hazards and sand bunkers. The most difficult hole is the par-5 8th hole, which plays uphill with three large bunkers alongside the right side of the lay-up area. Another difficult but noteworthy hole is Quintero Golf Club's third, which has a scenic lake to the left that sometimes tricks golfers into playing close to it with their tee shot for an easier second shot to the green.

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.8 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.9 stars from 5
Value: 4.5 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.4 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.7 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.9 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.7 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 703 Reviews
5 stars:
546
4 stars:
114
3 stars:
29
2 stars:
10
1 stars:
4

recommend this course

665 out of 702 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive in the 'burbs convenient to the city   Great for wildlife/ scenic views advanced golfers a bucket list/top 100 pick   Challenges include elevation changes bunkers undulating greens   Great for drinks amazing food patio dining  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Beautiful and Quiet"


sdparker55's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/11/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 18 holes Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

First time playing this course and we were not disappointed. The layout is challenging, but as long as you follow the tip sheet and keep in it play off the tee you will be fine. The course is beautiful and quiet, far away from the city. You will immediately notice the lack of ambient noise coming from houses, traffic, and other city noises which was very pleasant. Fairways were nice a short, bunkers were fluffy and easy to hit out of, and greens were fast but predictable. The greens definitely sped up as they dried out. Overall, conditions were excellent. Other than the wonderful course itself, the best part about Quintero is the superior management and employees running the course. This was the most efficiently run course I have ever played. Marshals were all over the course, but were not intrusive, which resulted in our foursome completing our round in 4 hours flat. Great experience, I look forward to playing here again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



"I'm Sold"


asuzuki56's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/20/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Driving from Scottsdale I was wondering if the course was worth the drive. The course exceeded my expectations. The course now rates as one of my favorites in Arizona.

Playability

Course rewards accurate tee shots. A little left or right will not be so bad. Hit a really errant tee shot and you'll probably need a beach towel or a snake bite kit. Fairways were generally well cut with some patchiness but we are entering the hot summer season. Rough cut is half an inch to two inches but the aforementioned errant shots have the ability to roll through into trouble. Greens were true and consistent but great attention needs to be paid to which way the grain is going to control putting distance.

Staff

You will not find a friendlier group! Acknowledgement, informative and always a smile.

Quirkiness

When you play Quintero (not if) give yourself little more drive time than Google Maps or Waze gives you due single lane highway traffic (slow trucks). Also after you check in at the pro shop it's a long ride to practice area/driving range/first tee (they are all in the same place).


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Amazing"


ihome's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/19/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

One of the best ever played. Greens were tour caliber now I know now what the pros face, very fast but fair. Can't wait to play again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Worth The Drive"


Bflog72's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/18/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

Yes, Quintero is a little bit out of the way, but it is worth the drive.

The layout and conditions are spectacular. The greens are fast, smooth and hold their line.

When we come to the phoenix area for a golf trip, Quintero is always #1 on our list to play, and it never disappoints.

The staff is friendly and professional, heck they even gave us a cookie at the turn. Thanks for a great day Quintero!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Beautiful course and tough layout"


wilcoxchris's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/15/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

Quintero is a top notch course. It will really test your skills to keep the ball in the fairway. As a 7 handicap, I played 2 rounds in one day and learned some of the nuances of the course. I enjoyed playing and was treated like a professional. Highly recommend this course!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Course management done right"


gmnc1910's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/12/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Quintero is a premier course in the valley. My playing partner and I try to hit the course as often as we can. We have never had any problems until our visit on Saturday (12 May) and it was taken care of professionally, quickly and with apologies. <br/> The background to this is a 30 group deciding that the pace of play did not apply to them and lots of selfies and "non-thinking" about others - such as taking your chipper 5 yards off the green then walking back to the cart for the putter. As a result it took one hour to play 2 holes. A call to the clubhouse and the rangers were straight out., an "all hand on deck" as rangers were on greens over the next few holes. Quintero and the GM, Mike, took control of the situation and a first for me in all my years playing actually saw rangers not just put groups on the clock but actually made them pick up and skip holes! <br/> I feel that the rangers and management controlled the situation with the needs of all players in the appropriate manner by offering the clock and then making slow play skip holes. <br/> A great course not just relies on the actual course but its management and Quintero meets both criteria. Thank you for what could have been a nightmare round (except for my swing) turning out to be a very enjoyable round.<br/> As a side bar, whilst the groups were on the clock we joind the 4some behind to make up 6. We still caught up with the groups in front, until they were made to pick up and move. We completed in just under 5:30 - usually a 4:30 round.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"On the "pace of Play""


Summer456's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/12/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

I rated the "pace of play" as excellent. IT WASN'T at the outset. What was Excellent, was how the Quintero Staff corrected it. Within a matter of one hole upon notifying the staff of a serious issue in Pace of Play. we saw the ranger. Within the time frame of 3 more holes, we were greeted by the General Manager apologizing for the experience (Which they rapidly corrected). The team that runs the course are professionals and responsive to any/all concerns. Now I play here often. NEVER had an issue with pace of play. This time there was. The staff corrected it immediately. Bottom Line - BEST COURSE AND STAFF IN ARIZONA!!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great Place to Play - Very Challenging"


stevensom's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/11/2018
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great place to play golf if you like challenging gold courses. Love the place.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Top Golf Course"


Michael5704215's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/10/2018
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in great shape. If you’re willing to drive a little longer than usual (past Lake Pleasant), it’s worth the trip. The course is challenging but not unreasonable. One of the best in the state, including the private courses.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great layout with a couple of issues"


chucklehead51's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/08/2018
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played for the first time in 105 degree heat. Very well designed , challenging course that rivals most of "the Big Boys" in Scottsdale. Very scenic with nice elevation changes. Although not real tight, mistakes will be punished with lost balls. A course that you need to play a few times to have a good score.

Only real problem is that most all greens are well elevated with forced carries over bunkers. Greens were not holding most wedge shots as they were hard and fast. I love fast greens, but with the Arizona heat, they are too hard. Bring your "A'" game and enjoy. Also, staff was friendly, but the facilities are minimal as they expected a big real estate event that never happened.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great Golf Course"


SlowLefty's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/22/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Worth the drive. The golf course is really strong, in amazing condition and better value in my opinion that Troon, We-Ko-Pa etc.

The pace of play was slow, but we were happy.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Lived up to its tremendous billing... slow play somewhat took away from a perfect experience"


Mnorton28117's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/22/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

Probably one of the top 3 courses I've ever played. Fairways manicured to perfection. Greens were hard and extremely fast. Enough sets of tees and combos to bite off exactly how much you want. We saw a ranger on our way to the 10th hole who said the back 9 should move quicker but the exact opposite happened. 2 hrs 45mins for 9 is not acceptable and caused by 2 groups who visited the desert often, looked for balls that they could not play, and did not play ready golf. Would definitely go back, and the 2 for 1 rate on Sundays after 1:30 in April made this an extremely good value.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Brutally Slow Play"


BPCHI's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/10/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

5 hour round. No ranger in sight. Waiting 10 minutes on every shot. Don't waste your time with this course - way overrated


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


"Great course Awesome customer service"


u9321985's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/06/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

I was traveling to Phoenix and found this course through Golf advisor. I booked a tee time which turned out to be the first group off. Played with a Father and Son that were both great and we played in under 3 hours for 18! Course was in great shape, greens were firm so you have to play for an extra bounce but that was consistent so it was very playable. Staff was amazing and Made me feel welcomed both at the start and throughout the round. Next time I'm in the area I will definitely play this course again.

One other cool thing was the wild burros and lots of Quail and rabbits running around... has nothing to do with golf but was still very cool to see.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Bad Greens"


mstolz01's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/04/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

Greens ruined the experience. Course condition from tee to green was excellent. Most greens would not hold approach shots, even from inside 100 yards. The greens pitted fine, just too hard.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


"Best Public course in AZ"


KielMoney's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/02/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is by far the best public course in AZ! Everything was in perfect condition and the greens were rolling at an 11. I will make a point to play this course anytime I can get down to the area... well worth the drive and cost. 5 out of 5


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Top course in the valley"


Matt9755441's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/01/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

Quintero remains at the top of the public course rankings with good reason. Always a good outing at this desert oasis!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Simply the best!"


Uhsgsiendalal's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/31/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

Love this place! My first time playing and I enjoyed every part of the experience. The course is extremely challenging so make sure you play the right tees.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Quintero"


Topdad0123's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/24/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

Make sure to choose the correct tees for your handicap you will have a more enjoyable experience . Awesome golf course hope to play again.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Incredible Golf Course but Slow Play"


meullen's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/16/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

For anyone who loves golf this is a must play. The views, course layout and condition are world class and I mean truly amazing . Unfortunately the day we played was a 5+ hour round. No reason for that as they did have marshals on the course. This is the most scenic and well designed high desert golf course I have seen. it is out in the middle of nowhere so be advised that you need to have lead time to get there. Well worth it though provided pace of play is better. they did give us a credit toward future play when we complained so that says something.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Overrated"


abird5's avatar
Age:  Under 25
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/14/2018
First time playing Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on

Don't get me wrong it is a wonderful course but shouldn't be number one in Arizona. And Arizona is known for over charging any course you play. This course was very challenging. It is worth the experience, however for the price range in peak season I would not go back. I would say fair price for this course is $60-$90. I am able to say I play Quintero and that is is a beautiful course, but I wouldn't say number one in Arizona. The views are worth the drive.

Course advice: You will be paying to shoot one of your worst rounds. What ever tees you think you should go from, go one up. Keep driver in you're bag for a lot of the holes 3 wood or hybrid are smart plays.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed