Magnolia Point Golf & Country Club

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.9
378
5 Stars
82
4 Stars
197
3 Stars
62
2 Stars
28
1 Stars
9
Conditions
3.6
Value
4.3
Layout
4.3
Friendliness
4.5
Pace
4.1
Amenities
4.0
88.4%
Recommend this course
325 out of 375 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
3.9
33
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
1
Conditions
3.7
Value
4.4
Layout
4.3
Pace
4.3
Amenities
3.9
StaffFriendliness
4.8
87.9%
Recommend this course
29 out of 33 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
3.9
87
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
41
3 Stars
17
2 Stars
3
1 Stars
2
Conditions
3.6
Value
4.4
Layout
4.4
Pace
4.1
Amenities
4.0
StaffFriendliness
4.6
89.7%
Recommend this course
78 out of 87 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 72
Length 6796
Slope 135
Rating 73.1
Type Semi-Private
Book a Tee Time at
Magnolia Point Golf & Country Club
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 72 6796 yards 73.1 135
Combo 72 6523 yards
White 72 6230 yards 70.1 126
Green 72 5749 yards 68.1 120
Red (W) 72 5560 yards 72.0 125
Combo (W) 72 5167 yards
Yellow (W) 72 4984 yards 69.2 119

Course Details

Year Built 1986
Fairways Bermuda Grass
Greens Bermuda Grass
Golf Season Year round
Architect Mark McCumber (1986) Mike Beebe (1986)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - included in green fee
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Caddies No
Golf School Academy Yes - "The Golf Academy of North Florida"
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Metal Spikes Allowed No
Dress code Appropriate golf attire.

Reviews

3.9
378

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 35
Brunch 19
Patio Dining 17
Course Challenges Include:
Bunkers 55
Water Hazards 49
Elevation Changes 37
This course/club is great for:
Locals 52
Seniors 41
Advanced Golfers 33
This Course's Location is:
Worth the Drive 54
In the 'Burbs 34
Convenient to the City 27
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Potential Gem

A challenging, yet playable course just needs a little TLC to be an area must play. The course conditions are fine but not up to NE Florida standards. The greens are in really good shape but are not cut low enough to putt consistently. The speed varied from green to green and even on different parts of the same green.

For our $29 GolfNow rate it was well worth the drive. The only drawback was the pace. The round took almost 5 hours on a Wednesday morning. The wasn’t the fault of the staff or the course but of inconsiderate golfers. According to the Marshall one or two groups held up the whole course.

Our green fee included a free hot dog and a beer. The pub is excellent and had a decent menu with a passable beer selection.

Will definitely go back, hopefully not behind the same group of “golfers”.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Poor
Amenities Excellent
Response from Magnolia Point Golf & Country Club on 10/19/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time to review us, Magnolia Point Golf & Country Club, in the Green Cove Springs area. We're very sorry to hear you may not have had the best recent customer experience with us due to the pace of play, and we greatly appreciate your feedback. We also appreciate your dedication to playing our course over the years and hope we can continue to provide you with a valuable golf experience. Thank you for golfing with us, and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Greens

Course is getting much better than 7 weeks ago..... But, the greens are much to slow. After playing here and then playing a course with normally fast greens, I left far to many putts very short.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Great!!

First time my buddy and I played this course. The course was in great shape, fun to play and the staff was very friendly. The greens were ok, but very slow. looking forward to playing here again and I hope the grass are faster.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

BEST SHAPE I HAVE SEEN IN A LONG TIME

I have played this course plenty of times and this is the best I have seen it. I played here a about six months ago and it was terrible. Thanks to the staff for the effort they have put forward in making this a good course.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 500 Contributor
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Nice Golf Course

We had a good round of Golf. The course is in a very good shape in relation to the time of the year.

The management did a good job in improving the course. I will come back.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 1000 Contributor
Previously Played

Slow greens!

Good price.

Decent playing conditions overall. I enjoy the layout.

Slowest greens I’ve played on in a long time! You had to crush your putts!

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Response from Magnolia Point Golf & Country Club on 10/15/2018:
Hello Jon, Thank you for sharing your review, We truly appreciate both your positive and constructive feedback regarding the course conditions and will be sure to pass it along to our team. We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our staff and sceneries at Magnolia Point Golf & Country Club, and also appreciate your input on our maintenance. We hope to welcome you back for an enjoyable experience on the course in the near future.
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Course Back

Having not played this course for 6 weeks, I was pleasantly surprised to see the course condition back to very good.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Handicap 25+
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 250 Contributor
Previously Played

Beautiful course but slow greens!

This is a beautiful and wonderful course but the greens are slow! I say the same thing every time I play and give a review for this course.!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Greens are getting better!!

This course is so much better, they have worked hard to get this course back in shape. Very close to a course in great shape. I'm playing here again soon. Good shape to play now!!

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

The Layout is Nice !!

Played here today the pace of play was excellent. Greens need some work as is some of the fairways and around the cart paths. Keep an eye on your ball in the second cut because it will swallow your ball up and it's hard to find. Beautiful layout cut out of the housing developement there. Very enjoyable place to play some holes are challenging.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 1000 Contributor
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Challenges your strategy

Very challenging ravines and second shot must have faith, if not you will need to hit a safe shot!! Keeps you on your toes!

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Top 500 Contributor
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart

Bring Your "A" Game

This golf course winds through a housing community and wooded area. You seldom see an adjacent hole. That being said, you better hit it straight. There are plenty of opportunities to lose golf balls (I lost four)

The Bermuda grass greens were in pretty good shape, but are somewhat grainy. The fairways are in good shape. This course does need some trimming around the edges -- there were overgrown areas around bunkers, water hazards, etc. Just some weed-eating that would give the course a much neater look. The areas that were overgrown did not appear to be that way by design.

If you are using a Skycaddie, select White to Blue or Blue to White. The Red nine is closed with the exception of its hole #9. I played that hole in lieu of hole #2 on the White nine because hole #2 was closed.

The greens fees are very reasonable, and I got a Hot Deal on GolfNow, which made it better. I would recommend this very challenging course.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

The Greens are absolutely atrocious

I was suckered into playing this course because I saw the 4 star ratings on GolfNow. I should’ve read the reviews more carefully because then I would’ve seen the other reviews expressing their frustration at the greens. THE GREENS WERE ABSOLUTELY TRETCHEROUS. I would rather pay to watch a girls basketball game at the local YMCA than to ever pay to play this course again.

The only good thing about this course is the cart girl. Do not ever come to this course if you want an accurate depiction of your game.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Fair
Amenities Poor
Response from Magnolia Point Golf & Country Club on 09/13/2018:
Hello Andrew, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Magnolia Point Golf & Country Club, in the Clay County area. We are sorry to see that you may have had a poor customer experience with us and that the course may not have been in the best shape when you played. Any additional feedback is greatly appreciated so that we can improve your experience with us in the future. Thank you for choosing to golf with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Greens need a lot of work.. overall the course isn’t too bad.. I would come back and play again.

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Response from Magnolia Point Golf & Country Club on 07/05/2018:
Hello Kyle, thank you for sharing your review. We truly appreciate both your positive and constructive feedback and will be sure to pass it along to our team. We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time at Magnolia Point Golf & Country Club and also appreciate your input on our maintenance. We hope to welcome you back for an enjoyable experience on the course in the near future.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Greens need more maintenance

The faraways were good condition, but, the greens needs more maintenance. Greens were rough and missied grass a lot. The price is reasonable and staffs are friendly.

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Response from Magnolia Point Golf & Country Club on 06/28/2018:
Hello, thank you for sharing your review, We truly appreciate both your positive and constructive feedback regarding the course conditions and will be sure to pass it along to our team. We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our staff and sceneries at Magnolia Point Golf & Country Club, and also appreciate your input on our maintenance. We hope to welcome you back for an enjoyable experience on the course in the near future.
Played On
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Love this course. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Will definitely go back

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Not worthy

This course wasn’t even worth ten bucks that I paid for it

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Response from Magnolia Point Golf & Country Club on 06/14/2018:
Here at Magnolia Point we are always looking to improve and appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with the course conditions, and we are working hard to make sure the course will be in great shape in the future. Again, thank you for the review, and we hope to see you back sometime soon.
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Poor greens

Greens are infected with a fungus and weed that distract from the fairway good condition.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Fair
Response from Magnolia Point Golf & Country Club on 06/14/2018:
Hello, thank you for reviewing our course, Magnolia Point Golf & Country Club. We strive to provide the best possible customer experience to our golfers, and we apologize if we missed the mark. Your loyalty to our course is valued and we hope you will see improvements the next time you are with us. Thank you for choosing to play our course, in the Green Cove Springs, Florida area, and we hope to earn your business again soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once every three months
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Greens need work

Enjoyed the layout but can be confusing for someone that has not played here before. A few holes are down the street a pretty good ways. The course had been getting lots of rain but the greens were bare and damaged prior to all the rain. Would like to see Magnolia get back to its glory days and add the additional 9 holes back in

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Response from Magnolia Point Golf & Country Club on 06/06/2018:
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, and for the 3 stars. We are sorry to hear that the conditions did not meet your expectations. We value your feedback and hope you were still able to enjoy your round. We hope to see you back soon.
Nearby Courses
Green Cove Springs, Florida
3.9370117647
378
Green Cove Springs, Florida
2.4203764706
86
St Augustine, Florida
4.7000705882
339

Stay & Play Offers

$199 Starting price
Valid dates: Oct 19, 2018 - Dec 20, 2018
The package includes overnight accommodations, unlimited rounds of golf for two players, daily American breakfast for two at CORE Kitchen & Wine Bar and 10% savings offered at the Golf Shop.
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE