Par-3 Course at Crosswinds Golf Club

4.0959705882 4.1 stars from 5 (336)
  • Holes: 9
  • Par: 27
  • Length: 1128 yards
  • Layout

  • 232 James B Blackburn Dr, Savannah, Georgia 31408, Chatham County
  • (912) 966-1909
  • (912) 966-1015
  • www.crosswindsgolfclub.com

Year built: 2000
Type: Public
Greens: Bermuda

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
GPS: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes - "Gallea Golf Properties Golf Academy"

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Proper attire is required.

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 27 1128 yards N/A N/A
White 27 956 yards N/A N/A
Red (W) 27 838 yards N/A N/A

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.1 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.8 stars from 5
Value: 4.3 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.1 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.3 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.9 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 336 Reviews
5 stars:
122
4 stars:
167
3 stars:
37
2 stars:
6
1 stars:
4

recommend this course

316 out of 336 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is near the airport convenient to the city worth the drive   Great for locals advanced golfers seniors   Challenges include water hazards bunkers undulating greens   Great for drinks brunch dinner  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Down hil"


sascard's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/22/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course has gotten over run with weed grass in the fairways. The greens were very beet up and hard to put on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


"What a gem."


Ironerguy's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/12/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

You can't beat the value. Great course. Played in 4 1/2 hours. Lots of water but no problem with planned shots. The bunkers could have been better. Need drainage.

Overall too good to be true.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Crabgrass oh my!!!!"


GOLFNSVNA's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/10/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Not sure what happened to the course but it looked neglected. The whole course is full of weeds. Tees, fairways and greens. Bunkers not raked, exposed drainage pipes in one. Wet areas, looks like some repairs were done, but it looked like they just through some nasty sod down. Doesn't look like anyone is taking pride in the course. Greens rolled terrible, bumpy and full of weeds. Needs some love. I played in the winter, much better shape. Over priced for the condition the course was in.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 04/13/2018

I am sorry to hear that you had a poor experience here at Crosswinds Golf Club. I see you have played here in the past and have enjoyed yourself. I can tell you that we are doing everything in our power to get the condition of the golf course better everyday. The big issue we have struggle with this year is the weather. Our bermuda grass is over a month behind due to the late frost we got in March. The frost hit the young growing bermuda hard and this lead to the late POA outbreak we are experiencing now. We are waiting for the grass to pop and fill in and we are spraying to kill the POA. We have started on bunker work over the last month or so and have redone many bunkers on the front 9 and now addressing the back 9. The hurricanes over the past 2 years have taken a toll on bunkers in our area. I am not here to make excuses and I hope you will give us another try in the future. We will cross our fingers for warmer temperatures and a little rain will help!!



u900239897's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/06/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Never again"


Dampie21's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/02/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

4 foursomes following us all playing on the same hole uncaring about where the hit the ball or the noise they created

Impolite and dangerous

Why let these rowdy people on the course in the first place

Unacceptable

As well at this time of year the course is not with this amount of money

Will not be retuning

Very disappointing


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course



u269038829's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/24/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Greens were good"


Moochie1911's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a year

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/23/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

A few bunkers were in need of repair or under repair. Some fairways were beginning to be overtaken by clover weeds.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Average Layout"


u000007994150's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/22/2018
First time playing Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on

The course was played on a trip around Savannah and Hilton Head. The front nine has a very average layout with similar holes. Back nine has a little bit more variety. Course was in good shape for that time of year.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 04/13/2018

We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars. We hope you'll give us another try in the near future.



u000003828338's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/21/2018
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Best part"


speedyga's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/21/2018
Previously played Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on

The putting surfaces were excellent and had tour like speed. Some pins were set to just two putt. Too aggressive and so long, a three putt was coming. I'll play here again.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Enjoyable"


u1482711's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/21/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

25 mph winds that day which made it pretty challenging. Will return and play next time here


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Always a delight to play, even off season"


uTCBB7640TC's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/21/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Bunkers need attention but always enjoyable. We were dazzled by an air show of the most advanced aircraft in America’s arsenal flying out of and around Savannah Airport. Unexpected event worth the very reasonable rate in itself and golf too!!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



anwar2558109's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/18/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"A Good Course That Gets The Little Things Right"


MizunoBen's avatar
Top 100 Contributor
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/18/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

The Championship course at Crosswinds Golf Club is a good course but it’s not going to knock your socks off. What Crosswinds does right is the little things that a lot of courses in its class don’t.

Let’s start with the course itself which is a perfectly fine, inoffensively designed track. The fairways are kept nice and open, nary a soul will complain that the greens are either too quick or too slow; even the slopes and breaks are kept subtle yet apparent. Hazards like water and sand are present enough to add a good bit of character but aren’t overbearing. A lot of the holes sort of, kind of run together but there’s a decent amount of memorable ones as well.

Course conditions are another place where the emphasis has been placed correctly. Ok, so some of the bunkers look a little shabby and a few of the tee boxes are a bit firm. But contrast that with fairways that are well groomed and weed-free and greens that roll smoothly and with hardly a ball mark to be found.

The staff had the biggest impact on my first round of golf in the state of Georgia. Incredibly friendly people and you can tell they put a lot of thought in making your experience a good one. They have the fast, electric golf carts lined up by the practice green ready to go, and in my cart I found two bottles of water dunked in ice in the attached cooler. That’s a touch of exceptional service I’ve encountered only at courses costing twice as much. And if those bottles aren't enough for you, they have a cooler by the 14th hole with more and I even saw my first refreshment cart girl of the year here.

In terms of value, my $40 Sunday morning round was priced about right for the course that it is, but the staff definitely make you feel like you got more for your money; this course is a good value.

I had a lot of options to choose in the Savannah area for golf, but for the price I paid, I doubt I could have done much better than Crosswinds.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



Klambo's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/16/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course




4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/11/2018
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"I’d go again"


jdcase's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/09/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course presents well. It was interesting enough and the greens were in good shape. Course was mostly green with some brown which is better than I’ve been seeing this time of year as a pilot who plays all over the country. I’m a 7 handicap and it was very enjoyable. The greens were fast enough to enjoy but not lightning fast. The guys I played with told me they do get really fast during the peak season. Hopefully I make it back to this area when they get that way.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



u000006797468's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/08/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Nice course, quick greens. May need watering"


u000002800128's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/08/2018
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course overall is quite good. We don't live in the South, so not sure how March conditions compare to the rest of the year. But, course was dry, especially the greens, which I think need to be watered.

I don't like the short 7th hole---but that's a preference thing.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course




4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/08/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed