Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.2
239
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
70
3 Stars
79
2 Stars
39
1 Stars
35
Staff Friendliness
4.2
Pace
3.7
Amenities
3.3
Conditions
2.7
Value
3.7
Layout
0
67.9%
Recommend this course
161 out of 239 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
0
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Staff Friendliness
0
Pace
0
Amenities
0
Conditions
0
Value
0
Layout
0
0%
Recommend this course
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.2
239
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
4
1 Stars
0
Staff Friendliness
4.6
Pace
3.9
Amenities
3.5
Conditions
2.9
Value
3.8
Layout
3.9
66.7%
Recommend this course
12 out of 18 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 72
Length 6547
Slope 124
Rating 71.4
Type Public
The newly revamped Jacksonville Beach Golf Club, built in 1959, is one of the only public access courses on Jacksonville's Beaches. The golf course was originally designed by Sam Snead. The changes at Jacksonville Beach Golf Club began with the rebuilding and modernizing of more than half the greens on the golf course, along with some new bunkers and bulkheads to add to the already beautiful look. The 18-hole golf course measures 6,510 yards from the longest tees for a par of 72. The course rating is 71.9, with a slope rating of 126.
Book a Tee Time at
Jacksonville Beach Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 72 6547 yards 71.4 124
White 72 6039 yards 69.8 121
Green 72 5710 yards 68.1 116
Green (W) 72 5710 yards 73.4 131
Red 72 5081 yards 65.4 111
Red (W) 72 5081 yards 70.3 114
Scorecard for Jacksonville Beach Golf Club
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Blue M: 71.4/124 332 483 352 160 362 536 421 399 173 3218 360 432 177 520 195 346 502 386 411 3329 6547
White M: 69.8/121 313 449 335 134 343 514 392 372 153 3005 339 381 156 506 159 304 457 345 387 3034 6039
Green M: 68.1/116 W: 73.4/131 299 430 321 124 318 490 360 354 142 2838 326 364 142 486 142 295 439 329 349 2872 5710
Red M: 65.4/111 W: 70.3/114 280 385 294 112 296 416 304 294 136 2517 308 354 115 430 115 259 353 301 329 2564 5081
Handicap 13 7 11 15 9 5 3 1 17 12 8 18 2 16 14 10 4 6
Par 4 5 4 3 4 5 4 4 3 36 4 4 3 5 3 4 5 4 4 36 72
Handicap (W) 9 1 7 17 11 5 13 3 15 14 10 18 2 16 8 4 12 6

Course Details

Year Built 1960
Fairways Bermuda Grass
Greens Emerald Dwarf Bermuda Grass
Golf Season Year round
Architect Sam Snead (1960) Robert Walker (1987) MacCurrach Golf

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes
GPS Yes
Pull-carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Bunker Yes
Caddies No
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Fivesomes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes, except before 12pm on weekends/holidays.
Dress code Proper golf attire required.

Reviews

3.2
239

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 11
19th Hole Specials 6
Brunch 5
Course Challenges Include:
Water Hazards 35
Bunkers 18
Forced Carries 14
This course/club is great for:
Locals 27
Walkers 23
Seniors 19
This Course's Location is:
Convenient to the City 35
Near Local Attractions 11
In the 'Burbs 5
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On 7/27/2031
Handicap 25+
Skill Intermediate
Plays Twice a year
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Best shape I've ever seen it.

Course was very well maintained. Greens pristine and true.Staff great.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Good
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
e2355637-d365-5f50-8186-39ec576371b6
JacksonvilleBeachGC
Commented On 11/12/2015
Jack4113995 - Thank you for taking the time to write a great review and rating us a five star course! Come back soon!
Was this review useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Share
Played On 01/13/2018
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Getting Better All the Time

The course is constantly improving from where it was just a couple years ago. Currently it is closed until September of 2018 for what they say will be a major renovation.
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Fair
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Good
Played On 01/09/2018
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Getting there

It a nice layout they were closeting for remodeling fixing the greens. Making the course a little more challenging
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Average
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Fair
Value for the Money Average
Course Layout Good
Response from Jacksonville Beach Golf Club on 01/29/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to review your experience with us, we truly appreciate your feedback and will certainly pass it along to our team. We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our staff at Jacksonville Beach Golf Club. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to the golf experience that you deserve.
Played On 12/31/2017
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Average
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Fair
Value for the Money Average
Course Layout Average
Response from Jacksonville Beach Golf Club on 01/04/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Jacksonville Beach Golf Club, and for the 3 stars. We hope that you enjoyed playing our golf course and we hope you will see improvements in the course conditions the next time you are with us. It looks like you had a smooth round and a friendly experience with our staff, so we are glad to see that. Thank you for recommending our golf course, in the Jacksonville Beach area, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Played On 12/28/2017
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Top 1000 Contributor
First Time Playing
Cold weather
Used cart

great little course

I played this course in the freezing rain, and it didnt matter! The greens rolled true, and the fairways allowed the ball to roll as it should. enough water and sand traps to keep it entertaining, but not frustrate. Precise shot placement will be rewarded, but it is a bit forgiving as well. This is a great course and better than most that charge higher. Staff was super nice! will definately play again if i am in the area, especially if the weather is sunny
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On 12/22/2017
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Closing for renovation

Pro shop told me course would be closed 1/15/18 thru 9/18 for renovations. Need I say more?
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Average
Course Conditions Poor
Value for the Money Fair
Course Layout Average
Response from Jacksonville Beach Golf Club on 12/27/2017:
Hello Joseph, thank you for taking the time to review us, Jacksonville Beach Golf Club. We're very sorry for any inconvenience caused by our course renovations, and we do appreciate your feedback. However, we are committed to providing you with a great golf experience and hope you will enjoy all of our future improvements. Thank you for choosing to golf with us, and we look forward to seeing you again in the new year.
Played On 12/04/2017
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Average
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Fair
Value for the Money Fair
Course Layout Good
Response from Jacksonville Beach Golf Club on 12/07/2017:
Hello, thank you for taking the time to review us, Jacksonville Beach Golf Course. We are sorry to see that you may have had a poor customer experience with us recently and that the course may not have been in the best shape when you played. Any additional feedback is appreciated so that we can improve your experience with us in the future. It looks like you did enjoy our layout and staff, so we hope this was able to improve your round overall. Thank you for choosing to golf with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On 12/02/2017
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Hard To Believe !

The course is in the best condition it's been in for several years so they're going to spend millions closing the course, tearing it up and redesigning the holes. All they need is a new irrigation system and some minor alterations to existing holes.
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Average
Off-course amenities Fair
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Good
Played On 11/30/2017
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Changes to come

Enjoyed my round on a perfect day. Greens are much improved though It won't matter because according to most, they will be replaced starting in January.. Staff was friendly and helpful as usual. Nice layout and being so near the beach is always a bonus. BTW, I'm still looking for that course one reviewer said he could play in less than 3 hours.!!
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Excellent
Played On 11/06/2017
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Slow time at Jax Beach GC

Dunno if it’s that fall is now here but never expected Monday golf to be so busy. Seemed to be two sometimes three groups on each hole. I appreciate a muni course and willingly deal with less than pristine conditions (although they are improving here) but I can’t deal with 5 hour golf when there are other options around at under 3.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Poor
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Fair
Value for the Money Poor
Course Layout Average
Response from Jacksonville Beach Golf Club on 11/09/2017:
Hello, thank you for taking the time to review us, Jacksonville Beach Golf Club. We're very sorry to hear about the slow pace of play on the day of your round, and we greatly appreciate your feedback so we may make work towards future improvements. Thank you for noticing improvements in regards to the course conditions, as we are always trying to make your experience better. We hope you were still able to have a good round, and that we will see you again soon.

Stay & Play Offers

$114 Starting price
Valid dates: Mar 01, 2018 - Sep 30, 2018
Pine Cone Accommodations offers unique vacation properties in the Gaylord area and special package pricing for Stay and Play with Gaylord Country Club. Check out their web site for a comprehensive listing of available cabins, homes and condominiums that will make your next visit a memorable experience. TAKE THE TOUR! TOUR 54 3 Rounds of Golf & 2 Nights Lodging $114 per person per night
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE