Legends Golf & Country Club

This golf course is closed for business. Not true? Let us know.
Looking for other options nearby?

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.6
914
5 Stars
185
4 Stars
388
3 Stars
190
2 Stars
96
1 Stars
55
Conditions
3.3
Value
3.8
Layout
4.2
Friendliness
4.2
Pace
3.6
Amenities
3.6
78.5%
Recommend this course
702 out of 909 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
0
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Conditions
0
Value
0
Layout
0
Friendliness
0
Pace
0
Amenities
0
0%
Recommend this course
Average Rating
3.6
180
5 Stars
29
4 Stars
86
3 Stars
36
2 Stars
24
1 Stars
5
Conditions
3.3
Value
3.8
Layout
4.2
Pace
3.7
Amenities
3.5
StaffFriendliness
4.2
78.9%
Recommend this course
142 out of 180 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 72
Length 6808
Slope 134
Rating 72.8
Type Public
Editor's Note: Course closed for business in 2018. Legends Golf & Country Club offers an 18-hole championship course that has become one of the most popular golf courses in central Florida. The course features dramatic elevation changes, which allow golfers to take in breathtaking views of the surrounding hills and citrus groves. Legends Golf & Country Club is known for its par-3 holes, but one of the most memorable holes is the par-4 fifth hole. The hole is a downhill dogleg left with an elevated tee that provides a spectacular view. Legends Golf & Country Club has a classic, moderately difficult layout that is difficult if approached too casually but also quite playable, even from the championship tees.
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Gold 72 6808 yards 72.8 134
Blue 72 6474 yards 71.2 131
White (W) 72 6073 yards 76.2 138
White 72 6073 yards 69.5 128
Green 72 5368 yards 66.3 121
Green (W) 72 5368 yards 71.4 136
Purple 72 4658 yards 63.3 115
Purple (W) 72 4658 yards 67.4 119
Scorecard for Legends Golf & Country Club
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Gold M: 72.8/134 352 540 381 191 395 440 513 182 416 3410 327 551 396 199 544 145 430 406 400 3398 6808
Blue M: 71.2/131 329 521 370 171 375 424 498 172 393 3253 317 516 381 197 514 135 390 390 381 3221 6474
White M: 69.5/128 W: 76.2/138 278 495 366 149 355 404 478 157 370 3052 310 479 367 167 483 126 375 355 359 3021 6073
Green M: 66.3/121 W: 71.4/136 274 447 348 132 330 312 371 135 302 2651 287 430 365 129 420 120 326 290 350 2717 5368
Purple M: 63.3/115 W: 67.4/119 243 361 260 108 273 268 367 118 297 2295 230 425 294 87 337 100 320 280 290 2363 4658
Handicap 13 5 11 15 7 1 9 17 3 14 8 10 16 12 18 2 4 6
Par 4 5 4 3 4 4 5 3 4 36 4 5 4 3 5 3 4 4 4 36 72
Handicap (W) 17 1 15 7 13 3 5 9 11 18 6 8 14 4 16 2 12 10

Course Details

Year Built 2001
Fairways Bermuda Grass
Greens Bermuda Grass
Golf Season Year round
Architect Clifton, Ezell & Clifton (2001)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - $18
Clubs Yes
GPS Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Metal Spikes Allowed No
Dress code Proper golf attire is required.

Best of Lists

  • Golf Advisor: Top 25 Most Improved U.S. Golf Courses (2017 #25)

Reviews

3.6
914

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 74
Brunch 38
Patio Dining 30
Course Challenges Include:
Elevation Changes 124
Bunkers 101
Water Hazards 62
This course/club is great for:
Locals 89
Seniors 69
Advanced Golfers 68
This Course's Location is:
Worth the Drive 85
Convenient to the City 66
In the 'Burbs 46
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Sorry to see Legends close

This isn't a review because the course closed before we could play. Frankly, I'm surprised at the closing.

We come to Clermont from NC two or three times a year and try to play a different tract everyday while we're here (usually a week). We actually skipped Legends sometimes because it was too crowded and the pace of play was nearly five hours. Things must have changed drastically since we played there in April of 2017. I hate to see it go as it was usually in great shape whenever we played. Hopefully, someone will rescue this course as the options in Lake County are dwindling. Sugarloaf Mountain, Palisades, and now Legends have all closed in the last decade.

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Average
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Sad

Very disappointed this course is closing as this was one of our favourite courses.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Default User Image
sandlakestyle
Commented On 04/06/2018

My words exactly!!

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

I’m owed a refund

GolfNow has got to know when a course is closing, the day I played, no pro shop, no restaurant, no beverage cart, player in my group couldn’t even buy golf balls, no range, nice layout but course was in horrible shape due to negligence. This was absolutely the worst booking I’ve ever made at GolfNow and my group was so disappointed I can’t describe!!!

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Poor
Pace Fair
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Closed.

I wish they would of told me the course was getting g ready to close down for good so I didn’t waste my money it was in terrible shape

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Poor
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once every three months
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Sad to see it go

Have heard rumors this course was closing. Have played here before...a bit long for the regular hacker, but reachable....and a beautiful course. No Markers visible on fairways...had to look for a sprinkler head or fairway brick. Pro shop was empty...restaurant had a paper "closed indefinitely " sign taped on the door. Not much grass on the Fairways...greens were terrible. Too bad...this really was a nice place with a nice restaurant.

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Poor
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Legends

Greens were in desperate need of water. Fairway grass was sparse and also needs water. Layout was fine but overall course needs quite a bit of TLC. Could be an awesome course .

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Response from Legends Golf Management on 03/27/2018:
Thank you for providing feedback on course conditions!
Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Legends Golf Management on 03/27/2018:
Thank you for the 5-star review!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Response from Legends Golf Management on 03/27/2018:
Thank you for playing Legends and sharing your 4-star review!
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 10 Contributor
Previously Played
Cold weather
Used cart

Course will close March 31st!!!

Went there to find out, if it is true that they’ll close it – and unfortunately it is true!!!

This was always one of the courses I went for an easy round although the conditions and service became poor every year a bit more. But the track has an interesting layout. One can see that there is no big interest in maintaining it for the remaining days. The rate is by far too high!! Pity, but it seems that after Windemere, Grande Pines, Diamondback etc., another course go to the history!

Conditions Fair
Value Poor
Layout Average
Friendliness Fair
Pace Poor
Response from Legends Golf Management on 03/27/2018:
Thank you for playing Legends!
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 1000 Contributor
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

stay away

This course is closing the end of march.Enough said

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Fair
Friendliness Fair
Amenities Poor
Response from Legends Golf Management on 03/20/2018:
We're sorry to hear you were not able to recommend the course at this time. Thank you for sharing your feedback!
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Response from Legends Golf Management on 03/20/2018:
We're sorry to hear you were not able to recommend the course at this time. Thank you for sharing your feedback!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

This course has an interesting layout but......

We are a party of four golfers and was disappointed to find out the course is closing on the last day of March. The restaurant was closed and the course conditions reflected a course about to be closed. Only wished someone had let us know during the booking process . Would not have wasted $160.00 US which converts to approximately $220.00 CAD.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Poor
Response from Legends Golf Management on 03/20/2018:
We're sorry to hear you were not able to recommend the course at this time. Thank you for sharing your feedback!
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Golf at Legends

Excellent and challenging course design. Shows signs of neglect and subpar maintainance Probably economics. No halfway house. So pack something from home. Staff was very friendly.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Response from Legends Golf Management on 03/20/2018:
Thank you for sharing your review and recommendation!
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 1000 Contributor
First Time Playing

Good by

Course is shutting down at the e d of month. Good layout a little hilly. Green really fast. Course in okay condition for closing. No food or drinks available

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Poor
Response from Legends Golf Management on 03/20/2018:
Thank you for playing Legends and sharing your feedback!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Course is closing

As this course is closing at the end of March, it is not in good shape. Fairways are hard and rough, greens are patchy. Pace of play was good. In its day it was good

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Response from Legends Golf Management on 03/20/2018:
We're sorry to hear you were not able to recommend the course at this time. Thank you for sharing your feedback!
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Allowed to tee off early as cool temps kept some golfers away. Course continues to improve with fairways in good condition and greens needing additional time . Always treated professionally by staff.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from Legends Golf Management on 03/20/2018:
Thank you for the 4-star review and recommendation!
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Poor shape

Course is closing end of March. Greens in poor shape lots of bare spots. This is a shame,always liked playing when I came down for winter,tract is really good. Hope that someone takes over.

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Response from Legends Golf Management on 03/20/2018:
We're sorry to hear you were not able to recommend the course at this time. Thank you for sharing your feedback!
Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

disappointed

We play every year we come to Florida. I was really disappointed in how much the course had deteriorated. I always thought of it as a superior course, but the neglect was obvious. It looked to me that they just gave up on it.

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Fair
Response from Legends Golf Management on 03/20/2018:
We're sorry to hear you were not able to recommend the course at this time. Thank you for sharing your feedback!
Played On
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Response from Legends Golf Management on 03/20/2018:
Thank you for sharing your recommendation!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from Legends Golf Management on 03/20/2018:
Thank you for the 5-star review!
Nearby Courses
Clermont, Florida
4.0627764706
673
Clermont, Florida
4.2028529412
196
Clermont, Florida
3.4567882353
548
Winter Garden, Florida
3.8215705882
1189
Winter Garden, Florida
4.5786
175
Windermere, Florida
3.9925
664
Windermere, Florida
5.0
7
Orlando, Florida
4.5
8
Orlando, Florida
3.5718882353
789

Stay & Play Offers

$89 Starting price
Valid dates: Oct 11, 2018 - Aug 31, 2019
Stay and Play Golf in Scottsdale, Arizona from $89 per golfer/night (including golf & lodging!)
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE