Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.6
914
5 Stars
185
4 Stars
388
3 Stars
190
2 Stars
96
1 Stars
55
Staff Friendliness
4.2
Pace
3.6
Amenities
3.6
Conditions
3.3
Value
3.8
Layout
0
77.9%
Recommend this course
702 out of 914 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.6
914
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
18
2 Stars
12
1 Stars
3
Staff Friendliness
4.1
Pace
3.5
Amenities
2.9
Conditions
3.0
Value
3.4
Layout
4.1
62.5%
Recommend this course
40 out of 64 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.6
914
5 Stars
30
4 Stars
93
3 Stars
42
2 Stars
24
1 Stars
5
Staff Friendliness
4.3
Pace
3.8
Amenities
3.6
Conditions
3.3
Value
3.8
Layout
4.2
79.4%
Recommend this course
154 out of 194 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 72
Length 6911
Slope 130
Rating 72.9
Type Public
Editor's Note: Course closed for business in 2018. Legends Golf & Country Club offers an 18-hole championship course that has become one of the most popular golf courses in central Florida. The course features dramatic elevation changes, which allow golfers to take in breathtaking views of the surrounding hills and citrus groves. Legends Golf & Country Club is known for its par-3 holes, but one of the most memorable holes is the par-4 fifth hole. The hole is a downhill dogleg left with an elevated tee that provides a spectacular view. Legends Golf & Country Club has a classic, moderately difficult layout that is difficult if approached too casually but also quite playable, even from the championship tees.
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Gold 72 6911 yards 72.9 130
Blue 72 6491 yards 70.8 126
White (M) 72 6069 yards 69.1 118
White (W) 72 6069 yards 74.6 125
Purple (W) 72 4859 yards 67.4 108
Scorecard for Legends Golf & Country Club
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Gold M: 72.8/134 352 540 381 191 395 440 513 182 416 3410 327 551 396 199 544 145 430 406 400 3398 6808
Blue M: 71.2/131 329 521 370 171 375 424 498 172 393 3253 317 516 381 197 514 135 390 390 381 3221 6474
White M: 69.5/128 W: 76.2/138 278 495 366 149 355 404 478 157 370 3052 310 479 367 167 483 126 375 355 359 3021 6073
Green M: 66.3/121 W: 71.4/136 274 447 348 132 330 312 371 135 302 2651 287 430 365 129 420 120 326 290 350 2717 5368
Purple M: 63.3/115 W: 67.4/119 243 361 260 108 273 268 367 118 297 2295 230 425 294 87 337 100 320 280 290 2363 4658
Handicap 13 5 11 15 7 1 9 17 3 14 8 10 16 12 18 2 4 6
Par 4 5 4 3 4 4 5 3 4 36 4 5 4 3 5 3 4 4 4 36 72
Handicap (W) 17 1 15 7 13 3 5 9 11 18 6 8 14 4 16 2 12 10

Course Details

Year Built 2001
Fairways Bermuda Grass
Greens Bermuda Grass
Golf Season Year round
Architect Clifton, Ezell & Clifton (2001)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - $18
Clubs Yes
GPS Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Metal Spikes Allowed No
Dress code Proper golf attire is required.

Best of Lists

  • Golf Advisor: Top 25 Most Improved U.S. Golf Courses (2017 #25)

Reviews

3.6
914

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 74
Brunch 38
Patio Dining 30
Course Challenges Include:
Elevation Changes 124
Bunkers 101
Water Hazards 62
This course/club is great for:
Locals 89
Seniors 69
Advanced Golfers 68
This Course's Location is:
Worth the Drive 85
Convenient to the City 66
In the 'Burbs 46
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On 04/02/2018
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Sorry to see Legends close

This isn't a review because the course closed before we could play. Frankly, I'm surprised at the closing. We come to Clermont from NC two or three times a year and try to play a different tract everyday while we're here (usually a week). We actually skipped Legends sometimes because it was too crowded and the pace of play was nearly five hours. Things must have changed drastically since we played there in April of 2017. I hate to see it go as it was usually in great shape whenever we played. Hopefully, someone will rescue this course as the options in Lake County are dwindling. Sugarloaf Mountain, Palisades, and now Legends have all closed in the last decade.
Staff Friendliness Average
Pace of Play Average
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Average
Course Layout Excellent
Played On 03/30/2018
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Sad

Very disappointed this course is closing as this was one of our favourite courses.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Poor
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Default User Image
sandlakestyle
Commented On 04/06/2018
My words exactly!!
Was this review useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Share
Played On 03/30/2018
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

I’m owed a refund

GolfNow has got to know when a course is closing, the day I played, no pro shop, no restaurant, no beverage cart, player in my group couldn’t even buy golf balls, no range, nice layout but course was in horrible shape due to negligence. This was absolutely the worst booking I’ve ever made at GolfNow and my group was so disappointed I can’t describe!!!
Staff Friendliness Poor
Pace of Play Fair
Course Conditions Poor
Value for the Money Poor
Course Layout Excellent
Played On 03/27/2018
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Closed.

I wish they would of told me the course was getting g ready to close down for good so I didn’t waste my money it was in terrible shape
Staff Friendliness Poor
Pace of Play Poor
Off-course amenities Poor
Course Conditions Poor
Value for the Money Poor
Course Layout Poor
Played On 03/25/2018
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once every three months
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Sad to see it go

Have heard rumors this course was closing. Have played here before...a bit long for the regular hacker, but reachable....and a beautiful course. No Markers visible on fairways...had to look for a sprinkler head or fairway brick. Pro shop was empty...restaurant had a paper "closed indefinitely " sign taped on the door. Not much grass on the Fairways...greens were terrible. Too bad...this really was a nice place with a nice restaurant.
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Poor
Course Conditions Fair
Value for the Money Average
Course Layout Good
Played On 03/23/2018
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Legends

Greens were in desperate need of water. Fairway grass was sparse and also needs water. Layout was fine but overall course needs quite a bit of TLC. Could be an awesome course .
Staff Friendliness Average
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Fair
Value for the Money Average
Course Layout Average
Response from Legends Golf Management on 03/27/2018:
Thank you for providing feedback on course conditions!
Played On 03/23/2018
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Response from Legends Golf Management on 03/27/2018:
Thank you for the 5-star review!
Played On 03/21/2018
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Good
Response from Legends Golf Management on 03/27/2018:
Thank you for playing Legends and sharing your 4-star review!
Played On 03/17/2018
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 10 Contributor
Previously Played
Cold weather
Used cart

Course will close March 31st!!!

Went there to find out, if it is true that they’ll close it – and unfortunately it is true!!! This was always one of the courses I went for an easy round although the conditions and service became poor every year a bit more. But the track has an interesting layout. One can see that there is no big interest in maintaining it for the remaining days. The rate is by far too high!! Pity, but it seems that after Windemere, Grande Pines, Diamondback etc., another course go to the history!
Staff Friendliness Fair
Pace of Play Poor
Course Conditions Fair
Value for the Money Poor
Course Layout Average
Response from Legends Golf Management on 03/27/2018:
Thank you for playing Legends!
Played On 03/17/2018
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 1000 Contributor
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

stay away

This course is closing the end of march.Enough said
Staff Friendliness Fair
Off-course amenities Poor
Course Conditions Fair
Value for the Money Fair
Course Layout Fair
Response from Legends Golf Management on 03/20/2018:
We're sorry to hear you were not able to recommend the course at this time. Thank you for sharing your feedback!

Stay & Play Offers

$110 Starting price
Valid dates: Aug 13, 2018 - Dec 31, 2019
The Penn Ohio Golf Trail consists of courses mainly in Western PA and Northeast Ohio. What sets us apart is that we offer 29 different courses; including 4 private, members-only country clubs, 2 former LPGA courses, and many of the top courses in Ohio and Pennsylvania (including Pennsylvania’s #1 public course – Olde Stonewall). We offer 4 Mansions (for groups of 2 to 36), 10 hotels and customer service beyond any major resort. Our Mansions feature large common areas, pool tables, poker tables, big screen TV’s with the luxury of the entire group together in a large home setting.
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE