Lake Jovita Golf & Country Club - North Course

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.4
485
5 Stars
247
4 Stars
159
3 Stars
45
2 Stars
21
1 Stars
13
Conditions
4.3
Value
4.3
Layout
4.6
Friendliness
4.3
Pace
4.1
Amenities
4.1
92.9%
Recommend this course
429 out of 482 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
4.3
38
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Stars
0
Conditions
4.3
Value
4.2
Layout
4.6
Pace
4.4
Amenities
4.2
StaffFriendliness
4.4
92.1%
Recommend this course
35 out of 38 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
4.3
136
5 Stars
74
4 Stars
45
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
4
1 Stars
4
Conditions
4.3
Value
4.3
Layout
4.6
Pace
4.0
Amenities
4.1
StaffFriendliness
4.3
93.4%
Recommend this course
127 out of 136 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 72
Length 7226
Slope 139
Rating 74.8
Type Semi-Private
Lake Jovita Golf & Country Club offers two championship courses, the North and the South. Both courses sprawl across a verdant landscape covered with mature oaks, lakes, and ponds. The terrain is unusually hilly for Florida. Like the South Course, the North Course is undulating with a lot of movement but it has even greater elevation changes than the South, which provides scenic views of the surrounding community. On a clear day, golfers can see at least five miles to the northeast from the second tee. The North has a more modern layout that plays a little bit longer. Although the golf courses are nestled amongst rolling hills, Lake Jovita is situated just 30 minutes north of Tampa. The unique hilliness of the courses and their convenient location have made them some of Florida's must-play courses.
Book a Tee Time at
Lake Jovita - North Course
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Gold 72 7226 yards 74.8 139
Blue 72 6863 yards 73.1 136
White 72 6299 yards 70.2 130
Green 72 5812 yards 68.2 125
Black (W) 72 5522 yards 70.9 122
Red (W) 72 5184 yards 69.1 117
Scorecard for North Course
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Gold M: 74.7/139 557 225 461 187 360 510 427 448 413 3588 526 420 440 158 462 541 407 198 486 3638 7226
Blue M: 72.8/135 527 216 437 160 345 502 400 415 390 3392 517 394 417 149 426 517 400 189 462 3471 6863
White M: 70.4/132 W: 75.7/135 488 190 403 136 325 490 350 402 381 3165 486 373 388 124 376 467 351 161 408 3134 6299
Green M: 67.8/125 W: 73.0/129 464 177 363 132 306 455 308 360 330 2895 476 300 340 120 310 460 341 157 385 2889 5784
Red M: 64.9/119 W: 69.4/121 427 147 363 116 278 420 308 334 250 2643 390 300 340 107 277 407 288 118 314 2541 5184
Family M: 61.1/109 W: 63.5/109 303 120 254 110 219 303 216 240 240 2005 292 214 275 91 270 320 251 118 260 2091 4096
Handicap 11 15 1 17 9 13 7 5 3 10 4 6 16 14 18 8 12 2
Par 5 3 4 3 4 5 4 4 4 36 5 4 4 3 4 5 4 3 4 36 72
Handicap (W) 5 17 1 15 11 9 7 3 13 8 4 2 16 14 10 12 18 6

Course Details

Year Built 2002
Fairways Bermuda Grass
Greens Tifeagle
Golf Season Year round
Architect Kurt Sandness (2002)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - included in green fees
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Bunker Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Metal Spikes Allowed No
Fivesomes Allowed No
Dress code Collared shirt, slacks or shorts (walking short length) are preferred: work-out shorts or denim are not allowed.

Reviews

4.4
485

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 29
Dinner 13
Brunch 12
Course Challenges Include:
Bunkers 64
Elevation Changes 59
Undulating Greens 56
This course/club is great for:
Advanced Golfers 55
Playing Multiple Courses 42
Locals 38
This Course's Location is:
Worth the Drive 57
In the 'Burbs 25
Convenient to the City 17
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Worth the drive.

Nice layout. There's room off the tee on the front 9, tightens for a few holes on the back. Greens have a lot of subtle movement, hard to see the little breaks. Overall in great condition. Try it.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 500 Contributor
Perfect weather
Used cart

Great course

Played as a twosome and under 3 1/2 hrs on a hot deal rate. Course and greens were in great shape, but sand traps were unkempt. Very little sand and most were not raked.

Overall a good day o golf on a almost private course.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Played On
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart

Lake Jovita North

First time there. Will definitely play there again. Had a great deal from GolfNow. Aerification gave the deal but greens were in great shape.. Must stay in fairways. Only played 13 holes, heat was unbearable. Only saw cart girl once and she was out of stuff we wanted.

Bunkers are compacted and no fluff. Otherwise nice track.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from Lake Jovita Golf and Country Club on 10/01/2018:
Thank you so much for the 4-star review of Lake Jovita. Glad to hear you enjoyed the course, please come back and visit us soon.
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

The course was in great shape despite all of our rain.

Excellent course and in great condition. Greens were outstanding and rolled true. Really challenging as well.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Lake Jovita Golf and Country Club on 09/18/2018:
Thank you for the 5-star review of Lake Joviat Golf & Country Club. Please come back and visit us soon.
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Terrific Layout

Course is a real good test. Golfer needs to use all clubs to get around this well conditioned course. Super greens. I’ll be back.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Response from Lake Jovita Golf and Country Club on 09/12/2018:
Thank you so much for the 5-star review of Lake Jovita! Glad to hear you enjoyed your round. Can't wait to have you back here.
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Course in great shape despite all the rain

Course was mostly in great shape. The greens were in great shape for the most part except a few small areas which seems be unavoidable this time of year. With all the rain, a bunch of holes were cart path only which became a pain in the later part of the round when the heat became brutal and slowed play down a bit.

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from Lake Jovita Golf and Country Club on 09/12/2018:
Thank you for the 5-star review of Lake Jovita. We are thrilled that you enjoyed one of Tampa's finest golf courses. Please come back and see us soon.
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 250 Contributor
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Gotta Love It

This is a great golf course. Fairways are gorgeous, greens are fast and excellent, the views are wonderful. There is nothing not to like about this course. If you haven't been here, you're missing a great experience. Excellent conditions lead to better scores.

The only reason I didn't give them 5 stars is because I haven't yet played Pebble Beach, Augusta, and a lot of other courses that the pros consider great. I'm guessing those are 5 stars. As a non-member, I will play here as often as I can.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Lake Jovita Golf and Country Club on 09/07/2018:
Thank you so much for the 4-star review of Lake Jovita Golf & Country Club. Despite us not being Pebble Beach, glad to hear you still enjoyed our golf course. Hope to see you again soon!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

challenging South Course.

Had a great time on a challenging golf course. Great value with the golfnow discount.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Lake Jovita Golf and Country Club on 09/04/2018:
Thank you for the 4-star review of Lake Jovita. Glad to hear you enjoyed your round and enjoyed the price. Please come back and visit us soon.
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 250 Contributor
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart

A Beauty

This is a beautiful golf course. Lots of wonderful vistas, even the neighborhood is great looking. Course was in excellent condition, greens rolled really well and were fairly fast. Lots of elevation changes makes for an interesting round.

The only criticism is that most of the traps are washed out. I assume they are waiting for the rainy season to end before restoring them. But I found that to me a minor problem.

Will definitely be back. Highly recommended.

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Response from Lake Jovita Golf and Country Club on 08/15/2018:
Thank you for the kind words of Lake Jovita. Glad to hear you enjoyed the course and you would recommend us. Please come back and visit us soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

A must play

I played Lake Jovita North for the first time this week. Have been playing golf all over FL for 15 years and wish I would of had played sooner. I’ll definitely be coming back for the South course.

The North course is challenging if you miss fairways. There are a bunch of scoring opportunities if you can hit your spots. There is some great Florida style elevation changes too which are an added feature I really enjoyed (its Florida, elevation changes aren’t too common).

Plus the course has a full men’s/women’s locker room. I was able to hit the showers before heading to a business event. And I can’t forget to mention the food. I had the buffalo chicken wrap and coleslaw, which exceeded my expectations. That may be all I ever order when I make it back.

Plus, plus there are villa options if you want to stay and play. I travel into the area often and would prefer to bunk in a villa w/ some tee times.

All in all Lake Jovita is a must play and a track I’ll recommend to everyone I know!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Lake Jovita Golf and Country Club on 07/20/2018:
We are so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed playing Lake Jovita. Thank you for the 5-star review and the kind words. Please come back and visit us soon.
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Decent golf

Basically, the South course is in OK condition, not pristine as it was for a few years.The bunkers are in need of repair, an ongoing issue for the past 10 years.Sand is highly variable with many washouts and collapsed edges.The excuse that many are flashed does not hold up having played Southern Dunes recently.That course has flashed bunkers and they are immaculate.There were no washouts and the edges were neatly trimmed.The greens at LJ were not bad for summer greens.I think it is fair to say the course looks "tired" after 19 years of play.This is largely due to owners who think mediocre is good.Their apparent approach is to have more golfers at a cheap rate rather than a premium rate with less traffic.The day rate is less of what Southern Dunes charges.Southern Dunes is immaculate and Lake Jovita is not, which is a shame.It is clear why the PGA Tour stopped using LJ as a Q-school site.But,$35 a person is not a bad rate on a Monday when few people are on the course.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Response from Lake Jovita Golf and Country Club on 07/18/2018:
Thank you for the 4-star review of Lake Jovita. We are sorry to hear you think so little of Lake Jovita. We assure you are one of the best course in Tampa.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Lake Jovita Pure Players Coursr

Greens in great shape. Starter shared limited info ( we figured out pin positions ourselves). Layout takes a couple of rounds to figure out. Pace of play was great - under four hours. Bunkers a plenty.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from Lake Jovita Golf and Country Club on 07/16/2018:
Thank you for the 4-star review of Lake Jovita. Glad to hear you enjoyed your round with us!
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Not Worth spending the day

This was our 3rd time to Lake Jovita and was looking forward to a great day of golf! My wife and I had an 11:30 tee off time and was paired with a single. The pace of play was horrible, It took 2:45 just to play 10 holes, so we decided to go home. Life is too short, and we will not be back and recommend this course to anyone

Conditions Average
Value Fair
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Poor
Amenities Average
Response from Lake Jovita Golf and Country Club on 07/16/2018:
Thank you for the review of Lake Jovita. Sorry to hear the pace of play was slow while you were here.
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Great layout, fast greens.

Great day at Lake Jovita. Staff was excellent. Only gripe would be that the holes were pushed way to hard into the ground creating an odd change in the level of ground around the pin. Also, staff I encountered on the turn didn’t know where to exchange the divot sand for the cart.

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from Lake Jovita Golf and Country Club on 07/16/2018:
Thank you for the 4-star review of Lake Jovita. Glad to hear you enjoyed your round and the staff was friendly. Please come back and visit us soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Response from Lake Jovita on 07/13/2018:
Thank you for the 4-star review of Lake Jovita. We are glad to hear you like us! Come back and visit us soon.
Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Awesome course, Ranger Needed!

This was such a great course, lot of rain lately so there were a lot of cart path only holes, not bad until you get behind a very slow foursome!!

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Fair
Amenities Excellent
Response from Lake Jovita Golf and Country Club on 07/16/2018:
Thank you for the 4-star review of Lake Jovita. Please come back and visit us soon.
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Lake Jovita on 07/09/2018:
Thank you for the 4-star review of Lake Jovita. Please come back and visit us soon.
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Hot weather
Used cart

Wonderful

Great course. wide Fairways. Some carries are a liittle long for a older golfer from whites. Big greens. definately not your basic Florida golf outing

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Lake Jovita Management on 06/21/2018:
Thank you for the 5-star review of Lake Jovita. Please come back and visit us soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Good course except for the punched greens

The course was a pretty good course except would have liked to know that the greens were just punched. Also the bunkers were full of water. Lost 2 balls in the bunkers cause of water. The staff wasn’t the friendliest except the starter.

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Good
Friendliness Poor
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Response from Lake Jovita Management on 06/19/2018:
Thank you for the 4-star review of Lake Jovita. Glad to hear you enjoyed the round here. Please come back and visit us soon.
Nearby Courses

Stay & Play Offers

$89 Starting price
Valid dates: Oct 11, 2018 - Aug 31, 2019
Stay and Play Golf in Scottsdale, Arizona from $89 per golfer/night (including golf & lodging!)
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE