The Ridge Golf & Gardens

3.0267411765 3.0 stars from 5 (150)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6725 yards
  • Slope: 124
  • Rating: 71.1
  • Layout

  • 17487 Robinson Rd, Marysville, OH 43040
  • (937) 642-6516
  • (937) 642-6516
  • theridgegolf.com

Year built: 2003
Architect(s): Jodie Kinney (2003)
Type: Public
Greens: Bent Grass
Fairways: Bent Grass
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Appropriate golf attire.

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 72 6725 yards 71.1 124
White 72 6231 yards 68.7 119
Gold 72 5690 yards 65.7 111
Red (W) 72 5139 yards 68.2 115

The rolling countryside occupied by The Ridge Golf & Gardens (formerly known as Buck Ridge Golf Course) provides an ideal landscape for a round of golf. The nearby farmhouses add to the course's rustic appeal. The layout closely follows the natural contours of the land and trees, ponds, and landscaping were tactfully added to blend seamlessly with the natural terrain. There are a total of five ponds, which come into play on eight holes. A number of bunkers are strategically placed around the large greens and there are also rough areas to watch out for. Although the golf course is relatively young, the skillful use of the mature trees makes it seem as though it has been around much longer. The eighth hole, the layout's longest par 3, is one of the toughest. It plays directly over water to the right side of the green. Before playing The Ridge Golf & Gardens, golfers can warm up on the large practice green.

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.0 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.0 stars from 5
Value: 3.6 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.1 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.2 stars from 5
Course Layout: 3.7 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 2.5 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 150 Reviews
5 stars:
11
4 stars:
69
3 stars:
39
2 stars:
20
1 stars:
11

recommend this course

113 out of 149 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive convenient to the city   Great for locals beginners seniors   Challenges include water hazards bunkers undulating greens   Great for drinks  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Friendliest staff"


coop007's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/15/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Fun course, amazing staff. Greens still need some work but improving. I would like to have some real sand in the traps. Accuracy over distance is the key for a low score here. New carts and a freshly landscaped parking lot are a nice touch!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"No drinking water on course"


grubb49z's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/13/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Some of the greens were in need of repair no sand in bunkers fairways were a bit thin but overall course was decent worth the twenty bucks


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


Response from The Ridge Golf & Gardens on 07/16/2018:

Thank you for coming out to The Ridge and for leaving us a review. We are sorry to hear about your disappointment with the course conditions, but we are happy to hear that you recommend the course. Our staff will keep working to keep the course in shape for the summer months, and we hope to see you back here again sometime soon.


cupnpar's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/09/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The sand traps all had grass in them and the heather had all been mowed down. It felt like I was playing in a farmers field except for the water challenges.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 07/10/2018

Thank you for your review and your visit to The Ridge. We ask you to keep in mind, the course was in receivership for the last 3 years. That led to multiple years of very minimal water, fertilizer and upkeep on the entire course. Under the new ownership, we are making strides daily to improve the overall play of the course.

This is a major undertaking of fixing irrigation, equipment updates, reseeding, transplanting, and most importantly green repair.

We invite you to return, but request you allow some time for the planned updates to occur. We promise you will see constant improvements month by month.


"Still a work in progress"


jdetonator's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/25/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

To be fair, one can tell effort is being put into the course but it is going to take more time. New Yamaha carts and remodelled club house are a step in the right direction but most of the greens are in pretty bad shape with bare soil exposed making a putt roll like it's on the surface of the moon. If the new owner can sustain maintenance, it will be a gem. Maybe take out some fairway bunkers to focus on some greenside bunkers. Do what you can to revive the course because it's a beautiful track.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from The Ridge Golf & Gardens on 06/28/2018:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review us, The Ridge Golf & Gardens, in the Marysville, OH area. We're very sorry to hear you may not have had the best recent customer experience with us due to the pace of play, and we greatly appreciate your feedback regarding the bunkers so we may work towards any necessary improvements. We also appreciate your dedication to playing our course over the years and hope we can continue to provide you with a valuable golf experience. Thank you for golfing with us, and we hope to see you again soon.

"Much Improved"


Snowowl1's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/09/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

Played this morning and the course is in good shape and getting better every time we play. The fairways are in great shape and the greens are in the best shape they have been in for years. Well worth the cost and the staff are very friendly and helpful. We will be back.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great Course for the money"


Tobi34's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/06/2018
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great staff looks like they are doing a lot of work right now but can tell it will be a great course by the end of this season.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Horrible Course Conditions"


moconn1's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Female

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/29/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

Greens were awful. Dead areas and very bumpy. Rough was long and over grown with clover. Made finding your golf ball very difficult. None of the traps had any sand.

Not worth the money at all.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from The Ridge Golf & Gardens on 05/30/2018:

On behalf of The Ridge Golf & Gardens staff, we appreciate you taking the time to address your concerns as we are always looking to improve. We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with the conditions of the course but still hope you enjoyed your round. Again, we appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.

Commented on 07/10/2018

Thank you for your review and your visit to The Ridge. We ask you to keep in mind, the course was in receivership for the last 3 years. That led to multiple years of very minimal water, fertilizer and upkeep on the entire course. Under the new ownership, we are making strides daily to improve the overall play of the course.

This is a major undertaking of fixing irrigation, equipment updates, reseeding, transplanting, and most importantly green repair.

We invite you to return, but request you allow some time for the planned updates to occur. We promise you will see constant improvements month by month.


Commented on 06/04/2018

Thank you for your review and your visit to The Ridge. We ask you to keep in mind, the course was in receivership for the last 3 years. That led to multiple years of very minimal water, fertilizer and upkeep on the entire course. Under the new ownership, we are making strides daily to improve the overall play of the course.

This is a major undertaking of fixing irrigation, equipment updates, reseeding, transplanting, and most importantly green repair.

We invite you to return, but request you allow some time for the planned updates to occur. We promise you will see constant improvements month by month.


"Getting there"


jstiffler728's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/27/2018
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I had played this course in the past when conditions were pretty poor. New owners are obviously putting some effort in improving conditions; the change is noticeable. Not quite completely there yet but, if they can sustain the effort, they will have a nice golf course. I will definitively play again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Work in Progress"


pegbbcds's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/23/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I liked this course. It has a couple of rough greens, but the staff is trying to fix them and deal with the weather. The layout of the course is pretty straight forward with a couple of dog legs that are sharp.

New club house and new golf carts. Cart path is still pretty rough, but again a work in progress.

For the money I will definitely be back again.

Keep up the good work.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Nice track after a rough winter"


HDOSS's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/20/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens are in recovery mode and assume the sand traps are part of the current refresh maintenance efforts as appears to be under new ownership. Lots of work ahead but could become a phenomenal track if returned to original conditions. Good luck to the new owners!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Worst I’ve played!"


Brock4370969's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/10/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This was absolutely the worst course ive played. They should have warned us of the condition of the course. Fairways and rough weren’t cut. Greens were patchy and a disaster. The staff was friendly. The clubhouse was updated. It’s obvious it has new owners but I feel like I was robbed for money playing with those conditions.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


Response from The Ridge Golf & Gardens on 05/14/2018:

Hello, on behalf of The Ridge Golf & Gardens b staff we appreciate you taking the time to address your concerns as we are always looking to improve. We are disappointed to hear that you were not happy with the conditions of the course but still hope you enjoyed your round. Again, we appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.

Commented on 05/27/2018

Brock, we apologize for your experience. The course was going through bankruptcy for 3 years. We took control of it at the end of last year and the endless winter didnt help us get the course back in shape as fast as we would have liked. We are all hoping you will come back as we have made significant improvements in just the last few weeks. In another few months with some help from mother nature we expect you will have a dramatically different golf experience!


"Needs work"


Tgooley's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/07/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

Have played this course in the past and it needs a lot of work to get back to where it was before. Greens are bumpy, spots and need grass. Fairways need grass and are hard. Nice layout just needs a lot of work. Might be good for beginners.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from The Ridge Golf & Gardens on 06/05/2018:

Hello, thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to review your experience with us, we truly appreciate your feedback and will certainly pass it along to our team. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to the 5-star experience that you deserve.

Commented on 07/10/2018

Thank you for your review and your visit to The Ridge. We ask you to keep in mind, the course was in receivership for the last 3 years. That led to multiple years of very minimal water, fertilizer and upkeep on the entire course. Under the new ownership, we are making strides daily to improve the overall play of the course.

This is a major undertaking of fixing irrigation, equipment updates, reseeding, transplanting, and most importantly green repair.

We invite you to return, but request you allow some time for the planned updates to occur. We promise you will see constant improvements month by month.


"New management"


Jon4109097's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/07/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course is under new management and they are making an overhaul on the course. New sod on the greens, etc. Its a work in progress but still a great value.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Shocking how bad"


CraigM's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/06/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Such a shame. Not one good thing to say. It’s unplayable. We should have walked off.


Course Conditions: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from The Ridge Golf & Gardens on 05/09/2018:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, The Ridge Golf & Gardens, in the Marysville, OH area. We appreciate your dedication to playing our course over the years but are very sorry to hear your recent experience with us may have been poor due to the course conditions. We greatly value your feedback as we work towards any necessary improvements, and hope you will notice some of these improvements during your next round with us. Thank you for choosing our course, and we hope to see you again soon.<br/>

Commented on 06/04/2018

Thank you for your review and your visit to The Ridge. We ask you to keep in mind, the course was in receivership for the last 3 years. That led to multiple years of very minimal water, fertilizer and upkeep on the entire course. Under the new ownership, we are making strides daily to improve the overall play of the course.

This is a major undertaking of fixing irrigation, equipment updates, reseeding, transplanting, and most importantly green repair.

We invite you to return, but request you allow some time for the planned updates to occur. We promise you will see constant improvements month by month.



BERTBERTRAN's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/28/2017
Previously played Used cart Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played late in the season so didn't expect great conditions but... Several holes were virtually unplayable because they were completely covered in leaves (couldn't find a ball in the fairway or on the green). Most greens were damaged (fungus?) to the point of having to move your ball to be able to attempt a put.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I don't recommend this course


Response from The Ridge on 12/01/2017:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review us, The Ridge in the Columbus area. We're very sorry to hear the course may not have been in the best conditions on the day of your round, and we appreciate your feedback so we may work towards any necessary improvements. It looks like you did enjoy our staff so we hope this improved your overall experience with us. Thank you for choosing our course, and we hope to see you again soon.

"Great Deal!"


u000006104754's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/29/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on

Played this course a couple of times many years ago. After reading some reviews (after booking my tee time), I was somewhat apprehensive. Fears were quickly diminished. For the price, you can't beat it. Sure there are some short comings on the conditions, mostly the bunkers....greens did have some brown spots, but did see watering going on. For the price, pace of play, and layout...I would recommend to others.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Buck Ridge Golf Course on 10/03/2017:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Buck Ridge Golf Course, and for the 3-stars. We are glad to hear that your round was a great value for you and that you had a smooth round. It sounds like the course still needed a little work, especially on the bunkers, and your feedback is appreciated. Thank you for recommending our course, in the Columbus area, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.


Kevin91581's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/17/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Buck Ridge Golf Course on 09/22/2017:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Buck Ridge Golf Course, and for the 3-stars. We are sorry to see that the course may not have been in the best shape when you played and that you may not have enjoyed the course layout. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. It looks like your round was a great value for you, so we are glad to see that. Thank you for recommending our golf course, in the Columbus area, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

"It's been 10 years since I last played here..."


liu374's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/16/2017
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Pros: price, layout, pace of play, staff.

Cons: tee boxes, greens, course conditions.

Tough to be mad about a round of golf with cart for under $30 but it would make a big difference if the greens were in a lot better shape. That all being said, I would play it again as a nice early or late season tune-up. Staff is awesome.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Buck Ridge Golf Course on 09/19/2017:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Buck Ridge Golf Course, and for the 3-stars. We are happy to see that you found so many aspects enjoyable while playing your round with us! We do apologize if the greens and tee boxes may have not been in the best shape that day, but appreciate the feedback so we can make improvements. Thank you for recommending our course in the Marysville, OH region and we look forward to having you again soon.

"Don't waste your time"


u406820453's avatar
Age:  Under 25
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/03/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

This course is a dump. Can't tell the difference between the fairway and the rough. There are very few puts you will have where you're not putting over dirt. The carts hardly work and the cart path is half covered in grass. Don't waste your time playing here unless your taking someone out here to play for the first time.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Easy


I don't recommend this course


Response from Buck Ridge Golf Course on 09/05/2017:

Hello Matthew, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Buck Ridge Golf Course, in the Columbus area. We are sorry to hear that you had a subpar experience with our course, especially with regards to the poor course conditions. However, we are happy to see that you enjoyed our course layout and that you found our staff friendly. Thank you for playing with us, and we hope to see you again in the future.

Commented on 09/28/2017

Course was run down as it was going through bankruptcy. Changes are already being made. Please give them some time to get it back up and running and then come back. I think you will find amazing improvements!


"I love the layout."


lfish's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/28/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I love playing this course. Everyone is very friendly. The love the doglegs and the mature tree lined fairways on 11, 12 & 18.

Some of the green are crusty, and cart paths need some gravel.

But give this gem a try.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed