St. Johns Golf & Country Club

4.4149588235 4.4 stars from 5 (497)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7236 yards
  • Slope: 132
  • Rating: 74.7
  • Layout

  • 205 St. Johns Golf Drive, St. Augustine, FL 32092
  • (904) 940-3200
  • (904) 819-0177
  • www.stjohnsgolf.com
Write a review

Year built: 2001
Architect(s): Clyde Johnston (2001)
Type: Public
Greens: Bermuda Grass
Fairways: Bermuda Grass

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Clubs: Yes
GPS: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Indoor practice facilities: Yes
Simulator: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes - "St. Johns' Learning Center and Practice Facility"

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: Visa, Mastercard, American Express Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Gold 72 7236 yards 74.7 132
Blue 72 6801 yards 73.5 133
White 72 6384 yards 71.8 123
Gray 72 5986 yards 70.0 118
Gray (W) 72 5986 yards 75.8 135
Red (W) 72 5286 yards 72.0 122

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.4 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.1 stars from 5
Value: 4.4 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.9 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.3 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 497 Reviews
5 stars:
281
4 stars:
174
3 stars:
24
2 stars:
12
1 stars:
6

recommend this course

469 out of 495 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive convenient to the city in the 'burbs   Great for advanced golfers locals seniors   Challenges include bunkers water hazards undulating greens   Great for drinks brunch 19th hole scenic views  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

davethebosn's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/13/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course



cjm7411's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/11/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course. The reason for slow play was due to wet conditions. Some holes were cart path only due to recent rains. The greens were great. Faster than most places I normally play. Definitely would recommend course. For the average/intermediate player it will test your skills. Definitely worth playing.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"nice day"


uLNTF4979LN's avatar
Top 50 Contributor
Age:  65+
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/09/2018
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

flew around front 9 back was a little slow think some people jumped in but still had a nice time.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Bad management"


Yost1138's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/07/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I completely understand a frost delay. I don’t understand that if grounds crew makes the ruling at 6:30am that you send an email out at 7:32am informing players about the delay. Our tee time clearly stated on my email and receipt at 8:19. Everyone was pushed back bc of the frost (which is fine). Someone told the starter said we were the slotted 8:28 tee time even tho we showed him receipts and email. He said (oh well) I understand you can’t control the weather but the management for this situation was absolutely terrible. Course was nice tho. I now have golfed here twice and BOTH times the mgmt was awful with bad experiences. For someone who golfs weekly, this is by far the most unenjoyable mgmt in town.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I recommend this course


Commented on 01/11/2018

Hey Mr. Yost,

I appreciate you taking the time to leave feedback on your most recent experience. Frost delays can sometimes be tricky depending on many factors (tee setup, # of golfers booked on the tee sheet, length of delay, etc). Our goal is to get the golf course prepared for play and to get everyone playing ASAP. In this case in particular, your tee time was changed from 8:19am off of #10, to 8:28am off of #1. None the less, it should have been communicated in a better fashion, and for that I apologize. I would like to invite you and your group back out to the facility for a much better experience. Next time you want to play, please contact me directly by emailing rroberts@stjohnsgolf.com. I look forward to seeing you back at St Johns.


"the best"


mikel0's avatar
Top 250 Contributor
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/06/2018
Previously played Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is the best course around and the fastest greens.I have never played here when the course wasn't in great shape.We didn't get to finsh because there was a 2 hour freeze delay.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Last round of 2017"


u5194921's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/31/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played with a few friends and course was in pretty good shape. Greens are always consistent. Staff overall is pretty friendly and do a good job of trying to keep the pace of play without disbrupting your round. Definately will be going back.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Fun day of golf"


u8488634's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/27/2017
Previously played Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Had a great time playing today and got my first eagle on hole 2. This is the third time I have played the course and as always the staff is very friendly and the course is maintained well. I brought 3 other guest who had never played the course and all 3 gave the facility high marks. Lets face it we have many choices of where to play in the Jacksonville area and the price is well within reason compared to other facilities in the area. The pace of play was a little slow on the front 9 but that was due in part to a 3 some that obviously have not played much before. All in all it was a great day of golf at a great value. Beats working on a Wednesday every time.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Best greens in the area"


Jeron3220774's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/21/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Love SJGCC. They consistently have the best greens in the area. The course is in excellent shape, and will challenge golfers.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



u000005419243's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/15/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Fast greens"


John9298949's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/12/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course is in great shape, greens are I credible, slope rating is a 12 the day we played. Greens were fast with long rolling and great movement. The wind helped to make it a challenge. Would highly recommend to play there as long as you are not a novice(could make for a long round)


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



billmullen's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/30/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



cgaluskin's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Twice a year

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/29/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great Experience"


cgaluskin's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Twice a year

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/29/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

First off staff go out of their way to make you feel at home!

Course is in great shape, fairways are almost perfect and greens are crazy good, fast and true.

I will absolutely play there again!!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great golf course"


one2three's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/26/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in great shape considering the had a bunch of rain about 3 days before I played it greens were in great shape as was the fairways I will play here again next year if the lord is willing!!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Beautiful course"


u6126853's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/24/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

First time playing here. It had rained the day before so there was some water in the fairways but overall the course and greens were wonderful condition. I actually joined the country club after my round was over.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"A+ track, best semi-priv South Jacques"


lenhuff's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/22/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Really like this course so do my golf buds. Nice layout water nearby on 14 holes, faaaast greens subtle breaks. Polite staff always a fun challenging fpround at St. J. G.c.c.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great experience"


davidjedwards's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/21/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Playing different courses in area for month of November .

Eagle point had the best food and was in best condition of medium priced courses played on Golf trip


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



u893262172's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/19/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



u218174389's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/15/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great course"


dmp224's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/13/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course is in great shape. You need to stay in the fairways. Rough is cut but is thick. Greens were in good shape but fast. I would recommend this course for everyone to play when in Jacksonville area. This was my second time to play. I will play again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed