St. Johns Golf & Country Club

4.4058411765 4.4 stars from 5 (537)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7236 yards
  • Slope: 132
  • Rating: 74.7
  • Layout

  • 205 St. Johns Golf Drive, St. Augustine, FL 32092
  • (904) 940-3200
  • (904) 819-0177
  • www.stjohnsgolf.com
Write Review

Year built: 2001
Architect(s): Clyde Johnston (2001)
Type: Public
Greens: Bermuda Grass
Fairways: Bermuda Grass

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Clubs: Yes
GPS: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Indoor practice facilities: Yes
Simulator: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes - "St. Johns' Learning Center and Practice Facility"

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: Visa, Mastercard, American Express Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Gold 72 7236 yards 74.7 132
Blue 72 6801 yards 73.5 133
White 72 6384 yards 71.8 123
Gray 72 5986 yards 70.0 118
Gray (W) 72 5986 yards 75.8 135
Red (W) 72 5286 yards 72.0 122

Carved from a forest of pines and winding through wetlands and lagoons, St. Johns Golf & Country Club offers a scenic 18-hole round located between St. Augustine and Jacksonville. The course features tree-lined fairways and large, fast greens. There is also the occasional two-tiered green to look out for. Water hazards come into play throughout and there are several well-placed bunkers. Depending on how the wind is blowing, the course can range from being gentle to very demanding. Six sets of tees make the course accessible to players of all skill levels. In addition to the course, St. Johns Golf & Country Club also offers extensive practice facilities including a 10,000 sq. foot putting green, chipping green, and a double-sided driving range.

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.4 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.1 stars from 5
Value: 4.4 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.9 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.2 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 537 Reviews
5 stars:
303
4 stars:
189
3 stars:
26
2 stars:
13
1 stars:
6

recommend this course

508 out of 535 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive convenient to the city in the 'burbs   Great for advanced golfers locals seniors   Challenges include bunkers water hazards undulating greens   Great for drinks brunch 19th hole scenic views  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Golf vs. pace"


Passco's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/06/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Always enjoy the course. Greens run true and fast. Layout challenging but fair. Because of time of season the rough is sparse and winter rules on a few fairways because of divets. However, the pace of play on this Day was unreasonable slow. Five hours twenty . Two groups ahead of my foursome had two empty holes after twelve holes. It appears the ranger had fail to tell them to keep pace. PS the only reason we finished in fie hours and twenty minutes , the group ahead of us quit after 16.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Slow First Nine"


Rickbrew's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/19/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We played in 4 hours, 15 minutes overall but took 2 hours and a half to play the first nine. A group of seniors was holding us up and the Ranger did come and tell us they were the problem but would be quitting in 2 holes. I don't think being old justifies being slow. My group were no spring chickens but we kept pace. Other's than that we had a fun day.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Excellent Course"


Scorpio60's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/05/2018
First time playing Used cart Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

First time I played this course. It was in good shape and had many enjoyable holes. I will definitely fo back.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Course and attitudes have gone down hill"


tigerz3030's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/05/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

I have lived here for 4 years now and have played this course many times. This was the WORST EXPERIENCE I have ever had at this course and will not be back. First the course is losing its prestige because the greens and fairways are not near as nice as they once were. Second, I can tell by attitudes of the marshalls they cater to their members and have an attitude that they are God’s of the course. The marshalls and their attitudes are why, along with deteriorating course conditions, I will not be back.

I have played this course many of times so I know how they work going off double tees and they announce the next tee time up. We knew we were next based on the time that we know it is. However, one Marshall comes to practice area and says ok guys hurry up and finish practicing, you’re next. Is everyone here in your group? Come on and I will give you more instructions over by tee box. Is this necessary? I just spent $90 to play and have played this course 10+ times and golf for 20+ years, I think I know what I’m doing. The last thing I want is to be out there to enjoy a round of golf after not being able to play for 2 months because I have a 3 month old baby at home and being barked at like I’m a child myself.

The the final straw came on the course. On average pace of play is 4-4.5 hours for 18 here. We made the turn in 2 hours and 15 mins, well within our time slot and the on course Marshall could not believe we stopped to grab a hot dog and some beer TO GO!!! On hole 7 he asked us to speed up even before we made the turn and no group was even pushing us from behind. So with our foursome we spent approx $500 with green fees, drinks, range balls and food and were treated like second class citizen golfers that have never played golf not only in our lives but at this course.

If this course wants you to play in under 4 hours then I encourage you to be a 10-20 handicapper MAX. Otherwise, you will spend all this money to have a supposedly good relaxing time on the golf course with your buddies and it will turn to you being treated like you are in kindergarten. Not the place to go to relax and play for sure!!!!!!!!!!

One last thing, the bar staff had same attitude as they were slow and didn’t care we were there. Staff walked by our table 3 times and never offered to get us anything, drink or menu, until we had to say something to them. Then it was “oh I didn’t see y’all there!” C’mon, really?!?!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


"DO NOT MISS THIS ONE"


jghoulihan's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/18/2018
Previously played Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on

My wife and I played 3-4 courses in the area and this by far was the best! Great layout, very well maintained and fabulous greens! The staff couldn't be better, from range guys to rangers to pro shop. They're all customer driven and work to get you the best deal. My wife loved the experience too. We just can't recommend this club enough.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great course"


u3797796's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/11/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

One of the best courses I have played in the Jacksonville area greens fast and true and everyone welcoming will definitely be playing again


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course




5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/08/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Those greens...."


jackstraw63's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/30/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

Great course and in equal playing condition. The greens were rolling fast and true...thankfully...so I could get more comfortable as the round progressed. Challenging layout that was a good test. The staff is friendly and organized. Play here and you won't be disappointed.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Love this course"


crsjones's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/29/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

You won't regret playing here. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Played with a cracked rib so the round was horrible but still really enjoyed it.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Tough Greens to Read"


Rickbrew's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/28/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The pace of play was pretty good but we did have to wait on a few holes. The greens were very fast and incredibly difficult to read. I would say it was just me but none of our foursome putted well. Maybe the time of year but it was almost impossible to stop a putt. Great Course.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



dgholland's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/28/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



fsugodfather's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/22/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great Track"


baxterboy's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  25+

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/15/2018
First time playing Used cart Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

A great tough golf course. Suggest you bring your "A" game. Greens fast and furious. Will challenge the best of players but playable by the average golfer if you play from the right tee box.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Keeps Me Coming Back"


u543003591's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/15/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Wintering in the St Augustine area now for the past five years and this venue has never let me down. Every year this course matures, greens are excellent for the time of Jan, Feb and Mar. Fairways came in early based on early heat streak in Feb. The staff is most excellent and friendly and very very accommodating. In all my travels this year this was the most played by me and most rewarding. Facilities for practice are very good, starter has things organized and there is presence on the course to keep things moving along.

Hats off to this group and again when I return in January 19' you will be getting my loyalty and playing time


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Best in town"


schantz's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/13/2018
Previously played Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

By far the best course in town. Fast greens and great layout with multiple tee boxes make this a great course. I have played 3 sets of boxes and it is a great challenge from any set.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Tougher than usual"


DoctorRick's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/12/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Play here frequently. Weather was cool and winds on back nine were 20mph but with higher gusts.

Interestingly that day the course was also hosting an USGA qualifier

Very tough pin positions and their usual fast greens

Traps were prepared for event

Have never eaten in clubhouse by choice

Cart girls always polite as are the guys manning starter shack and cleaning clubs

Always worth a round if you are in town


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great Day On The Course"


u000001764355's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/09/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was in excellent condition. We finished our round in 3hrs. I will definitely play the course again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Fast Greens!! Love it!!"


Damian7372297's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/07/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I loved the course. Fast greens and fairways. Course has character and on top of that...great pricing


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Nice"


mark106's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/01/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Nice course, greens were all the rage but I didn’t think they were all that. Somewhat of a boring layout, not a lot of character.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



craigmaas4's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/26/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



u893262172's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/26/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed