St. Johns Golf & Country Club

4.4102117647 4.4 stars from 5 (517)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7236 yards
  • Slope: 132
  • Rating: 74.7
  • Layout

  • 205 St. Johns Golf Drive, St. Augustine, FL 32092
  • (904) 940-3200
  • (904) 819-0177
  • www.stjohnsgolf.com
Write Review

Year built: 2001
Architect(s): Clyde Johnston (2001)
Type: Public
Greens: Bermuda Grass
Fairways: Bermuda Grass

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Clubs: Yes
GPS: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Indoor practice facilities: Yes
Simulator: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes - "St. Johns' Learning Center and Practice Facility"

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: Visa, Mastercard, American Express Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Gold 72 7236 yards 74.7 132
Blue 72 6801 yards 73.5 133
White 72 6384 yards 71.8 123
Gray 72 5986 yards 70.0 118
Gray (W) 72 5986 yards 75.8 135
Red (W) 72 5286 yards 72.0 122

Carved from a forest of pines and winding through wetlands and lagoons, St. Johns Golf & Country Club offers a scenic 18-hole round located between St. Augustine and Jacksonville. The course features tree-lined fairways and large, fast greens. There is also the occasional two-tiered green to look out for. Water hazards come into play throughout and there are several well-placed bunkers. Depending on how the wind is blowing, the course can range from being gentle to very demanding. Six sets of tees make the course accessible to players of all skill levels. In addition to the course, St. Johns Golf & Country Club also offers extensive practice facilities including a 10,000 sq. foot putting green, chipping green, and a double-sided driving range.

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.4 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.1 stars from 5
Value: 4.4 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.8 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.3 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 517 Reviews
5 stars:
290
4 stars:
184
3 stars:
25
2 stars:
12
1 stars:
6

recommend this course

489 out of 515 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive convenient to the city in the 'burbs   Great for advanced golfers locals seniors   Challenges include bunkers water hazards undulating greens   Great for drinks brunch 19th hole scenic views  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

u000002388286's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/22/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course, as usual, was in wonderful condition. Greens were fast and true.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



mmfasano's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/21/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Tough But Fair"


u8554598's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/21/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I’ve heard how good this course is from local players. It had to be good to live up to the hype... and it did! Very welcoming staff (they tightened a club head for me),nice practice area and everything is quality and well maintained. The course is well designed with a great balance of sand, moguls,and water hazards coupled with really fast and true greens and generous fairways. I will play this course every chance I can.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"LIGHTNING greens, great service, great track"


steelersnotredame107's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/19/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

5 Star all the way. The conditions were great and it’s a great layout. Just an awesome golf course without any resort feel. Best bang for your buck course I’ve ever played. It was $45 or so and I preferred it over TPC Sawgrass Dye’s Valley and Slammer and Squire. It’s a must when you’re golfing in St. Augustine. You won’t regret it.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Nice course"


u000005600122's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/16/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Straightforward and fun to play. Well organized staff. Friendly. Very fair and nice layout. Greens were very very fast and fun and fair without any crazy slopes.

Will definitely put this on the courses to play list!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course




4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/15/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Nice Course-Good Value"


Duck053's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/08/2018
Previously played Used cart Wet weather

Reviewed on

Played here for the second time (previous play Oct 2017). We found the greens very challenging, fast, as they were in Oct. 2017. But that's just fine. Just a fun course to play. Lot's of variety in layout and plenty of course to challenge you. At the same time, plenty of room to hit the fairway, especially from the shorter tees (we played at around 6000 yds.) We felt we got a really good value, for a really good course, in good shape for all the rain they have had in the area. Will gladly go back here when we return.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



Darryl8170015's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/07/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course


"Golf vs. pace"


Passco's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/06/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Always enjoy the course. Greens run true and fast. Layout challenging but fair. Because of time of season the rough is sparse and winter rules on a few fairways because of divets. However, the pace of play on this Day was unreasonable slow. Five hours twenty . Two groups ahead of my foursome had two empty holes after twelve holes. It appears the ranger had fail to tell them to keep pace. PS the only reason we finished in fie hours and twenty minutes , the group ahead of us quit after 16.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Awesome value!"


u1772593873's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/05/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

First we were met by Spence and he wekcomed us warmly, took care of our bafs and git us going in the right direction straight off. The staff in the pro shop was very helpful, especially because it was our first time there. They provided some very helpful tips on how the couse plays and certian things ti avoid. The starter was just as helpful and knowledgeable. The conditions were great fir early February and the greens were quite fast, especially for someone from NH who hasn't played in 3 ir 4 months. Give St. Johns a try you won't be disappointed!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 02/07/2018

Thank you for playing our facility and leaving your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!



collurafici02's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/01/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 02/07/2018

Thank you for playing our facility and leaving your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!


"Enough challenge for us"


scebelinski425203952's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/30/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was not as challenging as I thought it would be, as I am a mediocre golfer. Yet it offered enough of a challenge. The course is pretty, even in January. We are glad we experienced this course.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 02/07/2018

Thank you for playing our facility and leaving your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!


"Course layout"


uKenmoncada's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/29/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Best golf experience and value in the St. Augustine area. Very fast large greens and plenty of well positioned deep bunkers. A fair and fun course to play.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 02/07/2018

Thank you for playing our facility and leaving your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!



u000001925808's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/29/2018
Previously played Used cart Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 02/07/2018

Thank you for playing our facility and leaving your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!


"The 3 of us"


mmfasano's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/27/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Challenging with fast greens and traps in good condition


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 02/07/2018

Thank you for playing our facility and leaving your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!


"Good overall round of golf"


theidol62's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/27/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens were fast and in excellent shape. Course over all was in good shape for winter conditions


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 02/07/2018

Thank you for playing our facility and leaving your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!


"One of the best in the Jacksonville area"


lenhuff's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/24/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Impeccable layout, well maintained, friendly competent staff & Lightning Fast undulating greens. A great course to play, I’d be a member if I lived here yearound. On beef our round took 4:40 hours to play, That is not the norm and course marshalls sometimes have to treat certain members with kid gloves. We also have a few of those slow pokes at my home club.

Luv this Track!


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 02/07/2018

Thank you for playing our facility and leaving your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!


"Worth a visit"


u000008106929's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/22/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Slow play can be a problem at times. Other than that, very nice layout, good staff and restaurant. Very well maintained. Definitely go.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 02/07/2018

Thank you for playing our facility and leaving your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!


"Bunker maintenance"


uKenmoncada's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Twice a year

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/22/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

A few of the bunkers were completely covered with small footprints, likely local resident’s children playing. Also a couple of the greens had previous hole positions poorly restored ( not flush with rest of the surrounding surface ). Aside from that, this is a fabulous track and by far my favourite place to play in the area.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 02/07/2018

Thank you for playing our facility and leaving your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!



Sampsoj's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/16/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 02/07/2018

Thank you for playing our facility and leaving your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed