St. Johns Golf & Country Club

4.4287764706 4.4 stars from 5 (545)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7236 yards
  • Slope: 132
  • Rating: 74.7
  • Layout

  • 205 St. Johns Golf Drive, St. Augustine, FL 32092
  • (904) 940-3200
  • (904) 819-0177
  • www.stjohnsgolf.com
Write Review

Year built: 2001
Architect(s): Clyde Johnston (2001)
Type: Public
Greens: Bermuda Grass
Fairways: Bermuda Grass

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Clubs: Yes
GPS: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Indoor practice facilities: Yes
Simulator: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes - "St. Johns' Learning Center and Practice Facility"

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: Visa, Mastercard, American Express Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Gold 72 7236 yards 74.7 132
Blue 72 6801 yards 73.5 133
White 72 6384 yards 71.8 123
Gray 72 5986 yards 70.0 118
Gray (W) 72 5986 yards 75.8 135
Red (W) 72 5286 yards 72.0 122

Carved from a forest of pines and winding through wetlands and lagoons, St. Johns Golf & Country Club offers a scenic 18-hole round located between St. Augustine and Jacksonville. The course features tree-lined fairways and large, fast greens. There is also the occasional two-tiered green to look out for. Water hazards come into play throughout and there are several well-placed bunkers. Depending on how the wind is blowing, the course can range from being gentle to very demanding. Six sets of tees make the course accessible to players of all skill levels. In addition to the course, St. Johns Golf & Country Club also offers extensive practice facilities including a 10,000 sq. foot putting green, chipping green, and a double-sided driving range.

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.4 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.1 stars from 5
Value: 4.4 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.9 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.2 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 545 Reviews
5 stars:
308
4 stars:
191
3 stars:
27
2 stars:
13
1 stars:
6

recommend this course

515 out of 543 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive convenient to the city in the 'burbs   Great for advanced golfers locals seniors   Challenges include bunkers water hazards undulating greens   Great for drinks brunch 19th hole scenic views  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

craigmaas4's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/26/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great Course"


u871427761's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/16/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

It’s long enough to be challenging but forgiving enough for novice type players. Great course, beautiful conditions and can’t wait to play again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Punched & Sanded Greens"


Lctpilot's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/11/2018
Previously played Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

Previously, this was one of better courses in the Jacksonville area. Well run and well maintained with the greens always running fast but true. In the past, the ProShop/Management always publicized any issues with the course, ie. aerating the greens or fairways. However, today I arrived at the course and found the greens had been punched & sanded without being posted on the website. Disappointing to say the least. Otherwise, the course was in it's usual well maintained condition.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Only 1 complaint"


JagatorEd's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/09/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is a premium course that is well maintained and managed. Conditions are always good and even after the greens were sanded and aerated less than 2 weeks ago, they still roll better than half the courses in Jax.

My only complaint today was we had the 1st tee time today and apparently they start on front and back on the weekends. It wasn’t like this in the past but I guess they’ve made changes. We blazed the front 9 in under 100 minutes - we’re average golfers at best - and when we were ready to make the turn we had to wait for 2 groups to tee off. If would have been 3 but a group didn’t show up. Talk about a buzzkill. Our rhythm was completely thrown off on the back 9 with the slow pace. Our total time for the round ended up being close to 4:15. Not bad for a Saturday except 65% of that time was on 9 holes.

Plan accordingly. Still a great track and great service. I understand the money grab with the storms in the summer afternoons.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Going to be my new fav track"


u459922872's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/07/2018
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Really nice course. Lots of challenging holes. The greens were done about 8 days prior but were already healing nicely and rolling well. This will be one of the best courses in the area in another two weeks. Play it!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Beautiful course with a great layout"


derekbradley's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/05/2018
First time playing Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

This is a fun track! You have to think your way around the course, but can score if you play smart shots. The greens were just punched, so it was hard to roll putts when I played, but when the greens recover, I bet they are spectacular. This is a fun place and I will be back.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"PUNCHED"


Tjafieldstone's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/31/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Just airefied. 1/2 inch of sand on greens. I Enjoy this course most times, NOT TODAY!!

I’m sure they have a schedule for airefication, I just wish they would inform Golf Now!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



"PLUNCHED & SANDED"


Tjafieldstone's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/31/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

The course was just punched and sand was spread over greens. No notice on Golf Now or the course, the Starter mentioned it as he sent us to the 1st tee. This should be posted when booking, NOT TOLD TO US AT THE FIRST TEE!!!!!!

So we go out to play that the sand had not been dragged by the mats yet so the sand was 1/2 thick.

So if you book anything at this time of year and right around Labor Day check with the course for their airefication schedule and don'tthen book for the next 2 weeks.

Golf Now did give $20 after noon coupon, but we play early am.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course



dwill411's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/25/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Slow First Nine"


Rickbrew's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/19/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We played in 4 hours, 15 minutes overall but took 2 hours and a half to play the first nine. A group of seniors was holding us up and the Ranger did come and tell us they were the problem but would be quitting in 2 holes. I don't think being old justifies being slow. My group were no spring chickens but we kept pace. Other's than that we had a fun day.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Excellent Course"


Scorpio60's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/05/2018
First time playing Used cart Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

First time I played this course. It was in good shape and had many enjoyable holes. I will definitely fo back.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Course and attitudes have gone down hill"


tigerz3030's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/05/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

I have lived here for 4 years now and have played this course many times. This was the WORST EXPERIENCE I have ever had at this course and will not be back. First the course is losing its prestige because the greens and fairways are not near as nice as they once were. Second, I can tell by attitudes of the marshalls they cater to their members and have an attitude that they are God’s of the course. The marshalls and their attitudes are why, along with deteriorating course conditions, I will not be back.

I have played this course many of times so I know how they work going off double tees and they announce the next tee time up. We knew we were next based on the time that we know it is. However, one Marshall comes to practice area and says ok guys hurry up and finish practicing, you’re next. Is everyone here in your group? Come on and I will give you more instructions over by tee box. Is this necessary? I just spent $90 to play and have played this course 10+ times and golf for 20+ years, I think I know what I’m doing. The last thing I want is to be out there to enjoy a round of golf after not being able to play for 2 months because I have a 3 month old baby at home and being barked at like I’m a child myself.

The the final straw came on the course. On average pace of play is 4-4.5 hours for 18 here. We made the turn in 2 hours and 15 mins, well within our time slot and the on course Marshall could not believe we stopped to grab a hot dog and some beer TO GO!!! On hole 7 he asked us to speed up even before we made the turn and no group was even pushing us from behind. So with our foursome we spent approx $500 with green fees, drinks, range balls and food and were treated like second class citizen golfers that have never played golf not only in our lives but at this course.

If this course wants you to play in under 4 hours then I encourage you to be a 10-20 handicapper MAX. Otherwise, you will spend all this money to have a supposedly good relaxing time on the golf course with your buddies and it will turn to you being treated like you are in kindergarten. Not the place to go to relax and play for sure!!!!!!!!!!

One last thing, the bar staff had same attitude as they were slow and didn’t care we were there. Staff walked by our table 3 times and never offered to get us anything, drink or menu, until we had to say something to them. Then it was “oh I didn’t see y’all there!” C’mon, really?!?!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


"DO NOT MISS THIS ONE"


jghoulihan's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/18/2018
Previously played Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on

My wife and I played 3-4 courses in the area and this by far was the best! Great layout, very well maintained and fabulous greens! The staff couldn't be better, from range guys to rangers to pro shop. They're all customer driven and work to get you the best deal. My wife loved the experience too. We just can't recommend this club enough.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great course"


u3797796's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/11/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

One of the best courses I have played in the Jacksonville area greens fast and true and everyone welcoming will definitely be playing again


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course




5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/08/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Those greens...."


jackstraw63's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/30/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

Great course and in equal playing condition. The greens were rolling fast and true...thankfully...so I could get more comfortable as the round progressed. Challenging layout that was a good test. The staff is friendly and organized. Play here and you won't be disappointed.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Love this course"


crsjones's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/29/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

You won't regret playing here. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Played with a cracked rib so the round was horrible but still really enjoyed it.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Tough Greens to Read"


Rickbrew's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/28/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The pace of play was pretty good but we did have to wait on a few holes. The greens were very fast and incredibly difficult to read. I would say it was just me but none of our foursome putted well. Maybe the time of year but it was almost impossible to stop a putt. Great Course.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



dgholland's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/28/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



fsugodfather's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/22/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great Track"


baxterboy's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  25+

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/15/2018
First time playing Used cart Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

A great tough golf course. Suggest you bring your "A" game. Greens fast and furious. Will challenge the best of players but playable by the average golfer if you play from the right tee box.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed