NorthStar Golf Club

4.3401588235 4.3 stars from 5 (178)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7531 yards
  • Slope: 133
  • Rating: 76.3
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Proper golf attire required. T-shirts, cut-offs, and jeans are not permitted.

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7531 yards 76.3 133
Blue 72 7001 yards 73.4 131
White 72 6475 yards 70.9 125
Red 72 5954 yards 68.4 119
Red (W) 72 5954 yards 73.6 126
Gray (W) 72 5088 yards 68.3 115

NorthStar Golf Club measures out to a whopping 7,351 yards, which makes it one the longest golf courses in Ohio. The layout covers over 350 acres of woodlands interspersed with 21 ponds and three rambling creeks. Water is definitely a prominent presence on the course but there are also 41 sand bunkers strategically placed throughout. Being such a lengthy golf course, long hitters will have a chance to shine but sharp short game skills and accuracy are also vital to getting a good score. The versatile NorthStar layout is made even more playable with five different sets of tees that accommodate golfers of all skill levels. The semi-private course is open to guests everyday and the club offers all the extra amenities of a private club including an expansive heated pool and two tennis courts.

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.3 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.2 stars from 5
Value: 4.2 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.0 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.2 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.1 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 178 Reviews
5 stars:
73
4 stars:
82
3 stars:
17
2 stars:
3
1 stars:
3

recommend this course

164 out of 176 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive convenient to the city   Great for advanced golfers a weekend splurge entertaining clients   Challenges include water hazards undulating greens bunkers   Great for drinks patio dining  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

Alexander4359725's avatar
Age:  35-44

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/13/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from NorthStar Golf Club on 04/03/2018:

Thank you, Alexander! Come back again soon.

"2nd time a charm"


racyroyce's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/17/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

the only thing wrong with this course is that, there is not enough watering stations it was sunny and 85 so we could have used alot more water , so bring some bevarages !!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from NorthStar Golf Club on 07/19/2018:

Thank you for playing NorthStar Golf Club! We appreciate your feedback regarding the water stations. Other than that though, we hope you enjoyed the rest of your round. Come back soon!


u000003997058's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/15/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from NorthStar Golf Club on 07/19/2018:

We appreciate you playing NorthStar Golf Club. We're sorry to only see a 3-star overall rating. We hope you'll consider coming back for another round soon.


msaunderson2's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/13/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course




3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/13/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from NorthStar Golf Club on 07/19/2018:

Thanks for playing NorthStar Golf Club. We're sorry to only see 3 stars. What can we do better next time?

"Great deal"


jerrytracy's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/11/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course anytime but especially good for what we paid.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from NorthStar Golf Club on 07/19/2018:

Thanks for playing NorthStar Golf Club, Jerry! We're glad to hear you always enjoy playing our golf course. Be sure to Like us on Facebook for the latest course news and specials.


Saundras's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/10/2018
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from NorthStar Golf Club on 07/19/2018:

Thank you for playing NorthStar Golf Club! We appreciate your kind words. Come back soon!



4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/04/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



u000005045434's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/16/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from NorthStar Golf Club on 06/21/2018:

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a 5-star review! We hope you had a great round with us at NorthStart Golf Club, and we can't wait to have you back again soon.


JoshLove's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/13/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from NorthStar Golf Club on 06/18/2018:

Thank you for the 5-star review, Josh! Come back to NorthStar Golf Club for another great round soon.

"Disappointing"


u000005142524's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/07/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Had to quit after 9 due to slow play. Could not get a rain check for the back 9 either. Nice layout and well maintained course. Just didn’t work out for me on this day.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from NorthStar Golf Club on 06/18/2018:

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, as well as the 4-stars. On behalf of us at NorthStar Golf Club, we're sorry to hear your recent round did not meet your expectations regarding the pace of play. Your comments will be shared with our staff for any necessary improvements, and we do invite you to reach out to us with any further concerns so we may address them with you. We hope we have the chance to welcome you back for an even better experience soon.


zipman1979's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/28/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from NorthStar Golf Club on 05/31/2018:

Thanks for the 4 stars! Come back soon.

"Norhstar gem"


meteoman's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/27/2018
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

If you don't mind a little drive from Columbus, this course is worth it. Friendly staff, great layout and plenty of tee boxes to choose from. I would play here again in a heartbeat but have a few very minor suggestions.

- many tee boxes were sloped slightly.

- could have used a tee in-between low 6,000 and 6,600.

- could have used a couple more water jugs on the course. It was hot w/o much wind the day we played.

Again, nit-picking at a few things but would definately come back!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from NorthStar Golf Club on 05/31/2018:

Thank you for playing NorthStar Golf Club! We appreciate your kind words about our friendly staff and great layout. Your feedback is also very important to us as we are always looking to make improvements, so thank you for sharing. Hope to see you out here again soon.

"John cook"


teeitupaw's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/21/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is his second course attributed to him and it’s just as awesome as his other CooksCreek in central Ohiouilton family land that they used is a fae. some very generous fairways


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Nice Value"


u000003270920's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/20/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in very good condition. I haven’t played here in a while, but it looks like they are in the process of making some nice updates to the water features around the course.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from NorthStar Golf Club on 05/31/2018:

Thank you for your review. Your kind words and 4 stars are much appreciated. Hopefully you'll start playing out here at NorthStar Golf Club more often in the future.

"Great course"


Nkerrhockey35's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/14/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I've played this course numerous times over the past few years and love it every time. The course itself is in amazing condition year round. The layout allows for you to pick your poison on almost every hole. During the weekend it can back up a little bit due to its length but during the week you can fly around the course, assuming you find the fairway.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from NorthStar Golf Club on 05/18/2018:

Thank you for playing NorthStar Golf Club numerous times over the past few years. We're thrilled to hear you've enjoyed it every time. We appreciate you taking the time to leave this review and we hope to see you out here again soon!

"Well maintained and kept."


uRYDW6845RY's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/14/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Noticed several improvements to make the course very pleasant.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from NorthStar Golf Club on 05/18/2018:

Awesome! Thanks for playing NorthStar Golf Club and thank you for noticing the improvements we have made. See you again soon!

"Great Course, beautiful clubhouse"


u291591661's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/12/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Super fun course. I’ve played here in years past and whenever I see a deal on GolfNow I usually jump on it. GPS in the golf carts is great. Fairways were in good condition and the greens rolled true.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from NorthStar Golf Club on 05/31/2018:

Thanks for playing NorthStar Golf Club! We're glad you enjoyed the GPS in the cart and we appreciate you pointing out the great course conditions. Be sure to Like us on Facebook for the latest course news and specials.

"Amazing conditions and layout"


u000005476484's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/10/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very good condition, tee boxes, fairways and greens. New feature on the carts to give you distances which is very helpful. Pro shop is friendly and wait staff is professional.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from NorthStar Golf Club on 05/18/2018:

Thank you for playing NorthStar Golf Club! We're glad to hear you enjoy our new GPS in the carts. Be sure to book another tee time with us soon.

"Slow play"


JPearson13's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/06/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course is fun and seems to be in good shape; course we only got through 13 holes! After 4 1/2 hours we had enough! We were the 4th group on the 10th tee!!! No marshal to keep things moving.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from NorthStar Golf Club on 05/18/2018:

Thank you for playing NorthStar Golf Club! We're glad to hear you enjoyed the playing conditions and also thought the course was fun. We apologize if the pace of play was slower than normal. If you experience something like that again, feel free to give us a call in the pro shop.

"Rough are thick and greens are firm"


xazntigerx's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/01/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens were little dry and brown but coming out of cold winter, it was expected. Surprisingly, green was fast and smoother than expected. Fairways were in great shape. Rough are very lush and thick. Its difficult to find golf balls that are hit in the rough and hitting out of it was very challenging when it sat down. Had a very enjoyable round with lots of twosomes out so pace of play was under 4 hours.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from NorthStar Golf Club on 05/18/2018:

Thank you for playing NorthStar Golf Club! We appreciate you pointing out how great the course conditions are. Our maintenance crew works very hard to provide the best for our golfers. We hope you come back again soon!


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed