Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
3.7
591 Reviews (591)
5 Stars
76
4 Stars
281
3 Stars
144
2 Stars
62
1 Stars
28
Conditions
3.5
Value
3.9
Layout
3.8
Friendliness
4.2
Pace
3.7
Amenities
3.6
80.8%
Recommend this course
458 out of 591 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
3.7
71 Reviews (71)
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
38
3 Stars
11
2 Stars
5
1 Stars
4
Conditions
3.7
Value
3.8
Layout
3.7
Pace
3.5
Amenities
3.5
StaffFriendliness
4.2
78.9%
Recommend this course
56 out of 71 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
3.7
88 Reviews (88)
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
51
3 Stars
13
2 Stars
7
1 Stars
4
Conditions
3.6
Value
3.9
Layout
3.8
Pace
3.7
Amenities
3.6
StaffFriendliness
4.3
80.7%
Recommend this course
71 out of 88 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Semi-Private
Par 72
Length 6225 yards
Slope 127
Rating 70.1

Located just minutes from the beach, the conveniently situated Clearwater Country Club sprawls across a coastal landscape of Spanish moss-draped trees and towering, mature oaks. Stevenson Creek meanders through the golf course, coming into play on six holes. Built in 1920, the layout has a traditional design that is challenging but fair. The course is tight but it plays long, especially on the par 5s. The rolling fairways are well manicured and the greens play at medium speed and are consistently well maintained. Clearwater C.C. actually has a reputation amongst locals for its superb conditions. It is also popular with visitors, snowbirds specifically, since the club offers the area's only seasonal and short-season membership with exclusive privileges. It is also one of the few clubs in the area that allows walking.

Book a Tee Time at
Clearwater Country Club
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 72 6225 yards 70.1 127
White 72 5947 yards 69.0 124
Red 72 5448 yards 66.5 118
Red (W) 72 5448 yards 72.3 124
Gold 72 5312 yards 65.6 116
Gold (W) 72 5312 yards 71.4 119
Scorecard for Clearwater Country Club
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Blue M: 69.4/124 341 370 342 345 245 174 371 460 367 3015 333 213 414 502 503 399 156 346 319 3185 6200
White M: 68.0/122 W: 74.8/132 329 359 315 327 230 165 355 432 356 2868 318 159 402 475 470 385 145 339 297 2990 5858
Green M: 64.6/116 W: 70.5/122 320 348 271 253 220 152 306 380 350 2600 298 139 336 440 439 355 137 321 285 2750 5350
Orange M: 57.7/99 W: 59.4/98 311 340 260 249 212 148 299 371 316 2506 265 126 323 352 341 345 127 310 273 2462 4968
Handicap 15 1 13 9 17 7 3 5 11 18 8 2 6 16 4 10 14 12
Par 4 4 4 4 4 3 4 5 4 36 4 3 4 5 5 4 3 4 4 36 72
Handicap (W) 11 1 15 9 13 17 3 7 5 14 16 8 4 10 2 18 12 6

Course Details

Year Built 1920
Fairways Bermuda Grass
Greens Bermuda Grass
Architect Herbert Strong (1920) Perry Maxwell (1945)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Walking Allowed Yes
Dress code Casual

Reviews

3.7
591 Reviews (591)

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 54
Brunch 29
19th Hole Specials 21
Course Challenges Include:
Bunkers 68
Water Hazards 59
Undulating Greens 35
This course/club is great for:
Locals 75
Seniors 65
Walkers 40
This Course's Location is:
Convenient to the City 106
Worth the Drive 17
Near Local Attractions 16

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

5somes

There were league players out today..witnessed more than one group of 5 players who spent forever on the greens. Not much fun following overloaded groups .

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Fair
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Clearwater Country Club
Commented On 05/20/2019

Hello. Thank you for reviewing the course. We apologize for the delay of play during your round. This is by no means the standard we strive to achieve. We work hard to accommodate everyone who visits our course and to best control pace allowing everyone to finish in a reasonable amount of time. We will continue to look for ways to improve. Thank you for rating the course 4 stars, and thank you for playing @ClearwaterGolfCC. We hope to see you again soon.

#GolfLife
#letsglow
#GolfTravel
#GolfFriends
#drivechipandputt
#BeautifulGolfCourses

Was this comment useful to you?

Share

Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Clearwater Country Club
Commented On 05/09/2019

Hi, Cosby. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. Thank you for the 4 stars! We aim for a 5-star experience, so we always welcome feedback for improvement. Thank you for playing @ClearwaterGolfCC.

#GolfLife
#letsglow
#GolfTravel
#GolfFriends
#drivechipandputt
#BeautifulGolfCourses

Was this comment useful to you?

Share

Played On
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Clearwater Country Club
Commented On 05/02/2019

We hope you enjoyed your 5-star experience with us, Mr. Brown. Please comment or reach out to our team in the golf shop to let us know more about your round, and thanks for choosing @ClearwaterGolfCC.

#GolfLife
#letsglow
#GolfTravel
#GolfFriends
#drivechipandputt
#BeautifulGolfCourses

Was this comment useful to you?

Share

Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Previously Played

5+ Hours!

Decent course but needs to be run better. Starter sends multiple twosomes & occasional fivesomes. Course is so clogged, there are 4-5 groups per hole. Fivesome was 3 holes behind - course staff refused to do anything about it.

Easily fixed if starter learns his job. And they get a ranger.

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Poor
Amenities Fair
Default User Image
Clearwater Country Club
Commented On 05/01/2019

Hello. Thank you for reviewing the course. We apologize for the delay of play during your round. This is by no means the standard we strive to achieve. We work hard to accommodate everyone who visits our course and to best control pace and allow everyone to finish in a reasonable amount of time. We will continue to look for ways to improve. Thank you for playing @ClearwaterGolfCC, we hope to see you again soon.

Was this comment useful to you?

Share

Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Worst Course in Bay Area

Course is poorly designed. Holes and cart path put people in bad situations regularly. No ranger allows people to drive into your fairway all day and delay your pace of play. Starter doesn't have a clue. Sending out groups of 5 and 7 in front of singles and doubles every 7 minutes. At one point there was 6 groups at 1 tee. Every bit of this course is HANDS DOWN the worst in the bay area. At best this course is a municipal course and anything over 15$ a round is a joke. Fully expect a 7 to 8 hour round on a regular basis.

Conditions Fair
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Poor
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Default User Image
Clearwater Country Club
Commented On 05/06/2019

Hi, Matthew. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. We see you rated the course 1-star. Let us start by apologizing for the delay of play during your round. This is by no means the standard we strive to achieve. We work to best control pace and allow everyone to finish in a reasonable amount of time. We ask that you reach out to our pro shop management team at your earliest convenience to discuss your experience further. Thank you for playing Clearwater Country Club.

Was this comment useful to you?

Share

Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Windy weather
Used cart

Great experience - would play again!

Had a great round during a bachelor party! The staff was welcoming and since the morning was a rain-out they did their best to accommodate all groups that needed to still get out. Good prices and offerings in the restaurant and on the beverage cart. The course is difficult yet enjoyable (first time playing). Nice golf carts and the greens were in great shape. Lots of cool wildlife to see during the round as well.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Clearwater Country Club
Commented On 05/01/2019

Hi, Spencer. We appreciate you leaving a review and rating us 5 stars. We are glad you guys had an incredible time. We will inform the entire team, so they know their hard work is paying off, and we look forward to having you back! Thanks for choosing @ClearwaterGolfCC.

#GolfLife
#letsglow
#GolfTravel
#GolfFriends
#drivechipandputt
#BeautifulGolfCourses

Was this comment useful to you?

Share

Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

holidays and golf

Played a few times at this course.mostly early morning to finish early. Good public course in Clearwater. Used the special rate online.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Clearwater Country Club
Commented On 04/29/2019

Hi. Thank you so much for the great review. We are glad you had a great time, and we hope to see you again soon! Thanks for choosing @ClearwaterGolfCC.

#GolfLife
#letsglow
#GolfTravel
#GolfFriends
#drivechipandputt
#BeautifulGolfCourses

Was this comment useful to you?

Share

Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Clearwater Country Club
Commented On 04/24/2019

Thank you for your review, John. We will pass along your positive experience to our team here @DosLagosGolfCourse. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

#GolfLife
#letsglow
#GolfTravel
#GolfFriends
#drivechipandputt
#BeautifulGolfCourses

Was this comment useful to you?

Share

Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Clearwater Country Club
Commented On 04/24/2019

Thank you for visiting us @ClearwaterGolfCC. We appreciate your 4-star rating and review. We hope you join us for another round soon.

#GolfLife
#letsglow
#GolfTravel
#GolfFriends
#drivechipandputt
#BeautifulGolfCourses

Was this comment useful to you?

Share

Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Windy weather
Used cart

Good Option

I always see if Clearwater CC has good recent reviews. If so, I'll give it a shot. The tee boxes and greens were in good shape, staff is always friendly and I was paired up with a threesome. I had heard that it was pretty crowded recently but not on this day. Course was wide open for us. Perhaps the windy weather kept people away but we enjoyed it.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Clearwater Country Club
Commented On 04/29/2019

Hello. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars, but we hope you'll give us another try in the near future. Thanks for choosing Clearwater.

Was this comment useful to you?

Share

Played On
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

One of the top semi-private course I’ve played in a while.

Clearwater Country Club ranks as one of the top semi-private courses I’ve played in a while. A few rough edges here and there — but all in all a good deal. I wouldn’t hesitate about going there again!!

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Clearwater Country Club
Commented On 04/18/2019

Hello, Bruce. Thank you so much for the great review. We are glad you had an incredible time, and we can't wait to get you back out again! Thanks for choosing @ClearwaterGolfCC.

#GolfLife
#letsglow
#GolfTravel
#GolfFriends
#drivechipandputt
#BeautifulGolfCourses

Was this comment useful to you?

Share

Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Clearwater Country Club
Commented On 04/18/2019

Hello, John. We appreciate your 4-star rating and review, and we hope you join us for another round soon. Thanks for choosing @ClearwaterGolfCC.

#GolfLife #letsglow #GolfTravel #GolfFriends #drivechipandputt #BeautifulGolfCourses

Was this comment useful to you?

Share

Played On
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Clearwater Country Club
Commented On 04/08/2019

Hello. We appreciate your 4-star rating and review. Please join us for another round soon, and thanks for choosing Clearwater.

Was this comment useful to you?

Share

Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Clearwater Country Club
Commented On 04/05/2019

Hello. We appreciate your 4-star rating and review, and we hope you join us for another round soon. Thanks for choosing @ClearwaterGolfCC.

#GolfLife
#GolfTravel
#GolfFriends
#BeautifulGolfCourses

Was this comment useful to you?

Share

Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Clearwater

This course is in great shape. Much, much improved over 2-3 years ago. Greens are as good as anywhere around here.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Default User Image
Clearwater Country Club
Commented On 04/08/2019

Hi. Thank you so much for the great review and the 4 stars. We are glad you had a great time, and we hope to see you again soon! Thanks for choosing Clearwater.

Was this comment useful to you?

Share

Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Wet weather
Used cart

nice course for geezers like me

enjoy playing here as holes are not too difficult and and easy play for seniors who want a quick round and a chance to score a decent round

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Clearwater Country Club
Commented On 04/08/2019

Hi, Kev. Thank you so much for the great review. We are glad you had an incredible time, and we hope to see you again soon! Thanks for choosing Clearwater.

Was this comment useful to you?

Share

Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great time, great condition

I had a great time playing this course today. I play it quite often when I’m in town. The undulating greens make it interesting, and most greens are fairly small. Not extremely difficult for beginner golfers to get around.

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Default User Image
Clearwater Country Club
Commented On 04/02/2019

Hi. Thank you so much for the great review. We are glad you enjoyed the challenge and had an incredible time. We hope to see you again soon! Thanks for choosing @ClearwaterGolfCC.

#GolfLife
#GolfTravel
#GolfFriends
#BeautifulGolfCourses

Was this comment useful to you?

Share

Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Nice course but way slow

Played Monday at 11:30. Just absolutely jammed packed with people. Mostly older folks and it was just super slow. Almost 5 hours for a 3 some to get through.
As far as course goes it’s nice. It’s challenging. Greens are fast but true. Fairways are forgiving and in good shape. If it wasn’t for the slow pace I would have given four stars.

Conditions Excellent
Value Average
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Poor
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Clearwater Country Club
Commented On 03/28/2019

Hello. Thank you for reviewing the course. We apologize for the delay of play during your round. This is by no means the standard we strive to achieve. We work to control the pace and allow everyone to finish in a reasonable amount of time and will continue to look for ways to improve. We are glad to see you rated the course conditions and layout to be great during your game. Thank you for playing Clearwater. We hope to see you again soon.

Was this comment useful to you?

Share

Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Clearwater Country Club
Commented On 03/28/2019

Hello. Thank you for your 5-star rating! Please book another round with us soon, and thanks for choosing @ClearwaterGolfCC.

#GolfLife
#GolfTravel
#GolfFriends
#BeautifulGolfCourses

Was this comment useful to you?

Share

Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Windy weather
Used cart

5 1/2 hr round due to course being overbooked. Tee off time delayed for 10 minutes due to ran out of carts.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Fair
Amenities Fair
Default User Image
Clearwater Country Club
Commented On 03/26/2019

Hi. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. Thank you for the 4 stars! We aim for a 5-star experience, so we apologize for the delay of play during your round. Thank you for playing @ClearwaterGolfCC.

#GolfLife
#GolfTravel
#GolfFriends
#BeautifulGolfCourses

Was this comment useful to you?

Share

Nearby Courses
Clearwater, Florida
3.8710666667
109
Largo, Florida
4.2145529412
177
Largo, Florida
3.0556
18
Clearwater, Florida
3.4455647059
580
Dunedin, Florida
2.1438882353
51

Stay & Play Offers

$232 Starting price
Valid dates: May 27, 2019 - Sep 01, 2019
Experience golf at its best on five fully renovated championship courses in pristine condition. This summer, villa accommodations start at just $232/person/night—or you can upgrade to The Sanctuary Hotel from $404/person/night (midweek).
Stay and Play
TPC Sawgrass Experience Golf Package
$776 Starting price
Stay and Play
PARK CITY VACATION DEALS
$84 Starting price
Stay and Play
Stay & Play Escape at Eagle Eye!
$155 Starting price
Stay and Play
Stay & Play this Summer at Hawk Hollow!
$125 Starting price
525 N Betty Lane, Clearwater, FL 33755, United States
(727) 461-4188, (727) 446-9501, (727) 446-2240
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE