Providence Golf Club

3.9667470588 4.0 stars from 5 (944)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6929 yards
  • Slope: 131
  • Rating: 73.3
  • Layout

Gift this Course
  • 1518 Clubhouse Blvd, Davenport, FL 33837
  • (863) 420-2652
  • (863) 420-8499
  • www.providence-golf.com
Write Review

Year built: 2007
Architect(s): Mike Dasher (2007)
Type: Semi-Private
Style: Parkland
Greens: Tifdwarf Grass
Fairways: Bermuda Grass

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes, members only
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Proper attire is required.

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 6929 yards 73.3 131
Blue 72 6370 yards 70.1 119
White 72 6023 yards 67.8 117
White (W) 72 6023 yards 73.3 129
Red (W) 72 5029 yards 69.1 114

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.0 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.9 stars from 5
Value: 4.1 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.2 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.2 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.8 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 944 Reviews
5 stars:
269
4 stars:
438
3 stars:
134
2 stars:
63
1 stars:
40

recommend this course

801 out of 942 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive in the 'burbs near local attractions   Great for locals wildlife/ scenic views advanced golfers   Challenges include water hazards bunkers undulating greens   Great for drinks patio dining brunch  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"They Over preed for the exper"


Fisher74's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/23/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

The course layout and playability is great. The price for the conditions and experience is extrpoor. The greens are really bad. They are being worked on, but then you price should match it. The customer service is awful. Your not greeted, sometimes they take your clubs other times they don’t. Pace of play is always an issue . I played three other courses this week for less money that were fabulous. Please call these places and learn how to take care of customers at a fair price. Omni, Disney and OCN. The reputation at Providence of being a good course is keeping golfers coming there, but slowly that will change. It’s unfortunate this course and facility could be a gem.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


"Greens"


Winstonzoe's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/22/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

It was unfortunate but about 9 of the greens had very little grass on them, I asked the golf pro after the game, he said the winter grass seed did not take , it will take another couple of weeks to get the greens in good condition.

The fairways and sand traps were all in good condition.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great Course"


golfer1948's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/21/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Driving range and putting green where nice. Course looks in great condition. Enjoyed playing at a very medium pace of play. We weren’t being pushed and weren’t being held up. Great wild life on the course with wild turkeys, Alligators , and a couple of bob cats. I enjoyed my afternoon of golf. I will definitely play this course many more times in the future.u


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



u000002746087's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/19/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Providence on 02/23/2018:

Hello, thank you for the four-star rating. We are glad you enjoyed our course layout, affordable rates, and the pace of play. Thank you for playing Providence Golf Club and we hope to see you again the next time you are in the Davenport area!

"solid track"


southyslicer's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/17/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Great layout and lots of wildlife. Greens roll fast and smooth, but I couldn't make a putt! Ill blame that on not playing in a couple months. Played mid morning and got paired up with a nice couple from the UK. Would certainly play again if I was able to stay on vacation longer. If you are eating, get the reuben!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Providence on 02/22/2018:

Hello southyslicer, thank you for the four-star review. We are glad you enjoyed our course layout, the conditions of our greens, and food! Thank you for visiting Providence Golf Club and we hope to see you again very soon!

"Disappointed"


u076115226's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/14/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I thought this would be one of the better courses in the area but was quickly disappointed. First we arrived one hour early and told we got there too early for check in and we were not going to tee off until scheduled time even though it was not busy. Have they ever though we may want to”practice “ before round? Second the cart girl did not have beer on the cart why would you still come around? Then when she came back hour later it was last call. Really? Finally gre no were like playing on plywood.. will not be back.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from Providence on 02/22/2018:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to write a review of our course. We are sorry to hear that you had a subpar experience at Providence Golf Club. We appreciate your feedback on our staff friendliness, beverage cart, and firmness of the greens. We escalated your feedback to the appropriate departments. Thank you for visiting Providence Golf Club and we hope to earn your business again.

"Nice fairways but the greens were disappointing."


ddkenney's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/13/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played this course last year but found it a little disappointing this year. Some Greens have dead patches in them and were rather rough. The fairways are in decent shape but not the quality we expected. We were a little early but the starter wouldn’t let us go even though the first tee box was empty for 10 minutes. Then play was pretty slow once we got going. Facilities are nice to look at but no food and no cart person much after 2:00 or so and everything was closed up when we got in after 6. Don’t even think about using a bathroom on the back nine as all that’s available is a disgusting port a John on the 17 hole. Good luck trying to get the door to open on the bathroom on the front nine. We had a decent hot deal rate but not really worth their rack rate.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I recommend this course


Response from Providence on 02/22/2018:

Hello ddkenney, thank you for taking the time to write a review of our course. We appreciate your feedback on our course conditions, the pace of play, the beverage carts, and the course bathrooms. We escalated your feedback to the appropriate departments. Thank you for visiting Providence Golf Club and we hope to see you the next time you are in the Orlando area.

"Pleasantly Satisfied"


DonArcuri's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/13/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was well laid out. Lady friendly and in good condition. The only drawback was the toilets were not usable due to the locks on the doors not functioning. A good marketing item would have been a discounted replay, but they wanted to charge full price.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Providence on 02/22/2018:

Hello DonArcuri, thank you for the four-star review. We are glad you enjoyed our course layout and conditions. We also appreciate your feedback on the on-course restrooms and discounted replay. We escalated your feedback to the appropriate departments. Thank you for playing Providence Golf Club and we hope to see you again the next time you are in the Orlando area!

"Enjoyed this 18 hole GC"


SherylSomers's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/12/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

My husband and I enjoyed this course. We had a delicious lunch prior to a terrific round mid afternoon. We saw wild life which was fun. The course was green and there were no houses close by. A great place for an afternoon of golf. Thank you and we look forward to playing it again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Providence on 02/15/2018:

Hello SherylSomers, thank you for the five-star review. We are glad you enjoyed our course and food! Thank you for visiting Providence Golf Club and we hope to see you again the next time you are in the Orlando area!

"seviced"


yungok's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/09/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Orlando Povidence golf shop asked me

to pay for the use of handicap flag.

So I did not use the flag.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from Providence on 02/12/2018:

Hello yungok, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed our pace of play and course layout. It is our policy to always allow handicap flags on our course. Please feel free to contact our General Manager at tgreco@providence-golf.net, we would like to address your feedback. Thank you for playing Providence Golf Club and we hope to earn your business again.

Commented on 02/13/2018

Not sure what this review is about because what he said never happened. We absolutely have never charged any golfer for a handicap flag EVER !!!


"Great Layout"


u9725337's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/08/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens are poor shape for this time of year. Appears greens where poorly overseeded.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Providence on 02/12/2018:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to write a review of our course. We are glad you enjoyed our course layout and found our staff friendly. We also appreciate your feedback on our greens, we had a tough transition period with our winter grass. Thank you for playing Providence Golf Club and we hope to see you the next time you are in the Davenport area.

"Great course for the money"


cableguys's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/08/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course is in great shap the fairways are in great shape... the greens need a little work but it is a hidden gem. I recommend this to any golfer. The Blue tees will give you a little more challenge.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Providence on 02/12/2018:

Hello cableguys, thank you for the four-star review. We are glad you enjoyed our course conditions and pace of play! Thank you for playing Providence Golf Club and we hope to see you again the next time you are in the Davenport area!

"Greens very thin"


Norm3898722's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/05/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I like the layout of this course and the size and placement of the greens but the condition of the putting surfaces were not up to prior years. Bare spots and thin spots have overtaken many of the greens which still run surprisingly true given the problem. The fairways are good but provide tighter lies than I am used to in the northeast. The sand traps were large but the sand was more “wet packed” than granular and not deeply or freshly raked. I’ll play again but the greens definitely need some attention.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Providence on 02/08/2018:

Hello Norm3898722, thank you for the four-star review. We are glad you enjoyed our course layout, the roll of our greens, and the pace of play. We also appreciate your feedback on the appearance of our greens and conditions of our bunkers. Thank you for playing Providence Golf Club and we hope to see you again the next time you are in the Orlando area!

"Decent Value, good track."


jbankson's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/05/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

I have loved this track since it was opened. I play it on every visit to the Orlando area. Over the course of the years I have seen the conditions vary a lot. This trip was interesting in that I found the fairways and tee boxes to be in great shape but was a little disappointed in the greens. Some Orlando courses use that new type of Bermuda that does not need to use rye grass in winter. Providence uses over-seeded rye which was very thin on some greens and the dormant Bermuda was VERY thin underneath. Made for tricky and inconsistent putting. Based on what other area premium courses charge, I would suggest the cost is fair. Perhaps recent cold weather impacted it this winter.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Providence on 02/07/2018:

Hello jbankson, thank you for the four-star review. We are glad you enjoyed our course layout and the conditions of our fairways and tee boxes. We also appreciate your feedback on our greens, we recently have gone through a tough transition period with our winter grass. Thank you for visiting Providence Golf Club and we hope to see you again the next time you are in the Orlando area!


mitchharris's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/04/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Providence on 02/07/2018:

Hello mitchharris, thank you for the five-star rating. We are glad you had an excellent golf experience at Providence Golf Club! Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again the next time you are in the Davenport area!

"Great Golf!"


Manon1416068's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/02/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

First nine is fine amidst family housing but we prefer the back nine which for the time being is still in nature! The fairways are really awesome however the greens, however fast, are a bit lacking. Either way we’ll be back!


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Providence on 02/05/2018:

Hello Manon1416068, thank you for the four-star review. We are glad you enjoyed our course layout and the conditions of our fairways. Thank you for playing Providence Golf Club and we hope to see you again the next time you are in the Davenport area!

"Great course"


Graydon's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/02/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Starter got us on early, great layout, moved along quickly.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Providence on 02/05/2018:

Hello Graydon, thank you for the five-star review. We are glad you enjoyed our course layout, the pace of play, and found our staff friendly! Thank you for playing Providence Golf Club and we hope to see you again the next time you are in the Davenport area!


u000001976691's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/01/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Excellent course in lush shape , greens are fast but a little thin on grass in places plays longer than yardage


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Providence on 02/05/2018:

Hello, thank you for the five-star review. We are glad you enjoyed our course conditions and layout. Thank you for playing Providence Golf Club and we hope to see you again the next time you are in the Orlando area!

"Well worth the drive"


zoiecat1's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/01/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very nice course located in Davenport Florida. Very good condition and friendly staff. New carts and amenities are very nice. Highly recommend.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Providence on 02/05/2018:

Hello zoiecat1, thank you for the four-star review. We are glad you enjoyed our course conditions and found our staff friendly! Thank you for visiting Providence Golf Club and we hope to see you again the next time you are in the Davenport area!



5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/31/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Providence on 02/05/2018:

Hello, thank you for the five-star rating. We are glad you had an excellent golf experience at Providence Golf Club! Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again the next time you are in the Davenport area!


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed