Magnolia Point Golf & Country Club - Red Course

3.9182058824 3.9 stars from 5 (365)
  • Holes: 9
  • Par: 36
  • Length: 3223 yards

This golf course is closed for business. Not true? Let us know.
Looking for other options nearby?

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fee
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Appropriate golf attire.

Tees

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 36 3223 yards N/A N/A
White 36 2976 yards N/A N/A
Green 36 2726 yards N/A N/A
Red (W) 36 2510 yards N/A N/A
Gold (W) 36 2344 yards N/A N/A

Editor's Note: Course closed for business. For the remaining 18 holes see Magnolia Point Golf & Country Club's listing.

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.9 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.9 stars from 5
Value: 4.3 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.1 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.5 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.3 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.5 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 365 Reviews
5 stars:
80
4 stars:
188
3 stars:
60
2 stars:
28
1 stars:
9

recommend this course

312 out of 362 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive in the 'burbs convenient to the city   Great for locals seniors advanced golfers   Challenges include bunkers water hazards elevation changes   Great for drinks brunch patio dining  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"The Greens are absolutely atrocious"


Andrew5946650's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/14/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I was suckered into playing this course because I saw the 4 star ratings on GolfNow. I should’ve read the reviews more carefully because then I would’ve seen the other reviews expressing their frustration at the greens. THE GREENS WERE ABSOLUTELY TRETCHEROUS. I would rather pay to watch a girls basketball game at the local YMCA than to ever pay to play this course again.

The only good thing about this course is the cart girl. Do not ever come to this course if you want an accurate depiction of your game.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course



kyle7074445's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/30/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens need a lot of work.. overall the course isn’t too bad.. I would come back and play again.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


Response from Magnolia Point Golf & Country Club on 07/05/2018:

Hello Kyle, thank you for sharing your review. We truly appreciate both your positive and constructive feedback and will be sure to pass it along to our team. We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time at Magnolia Point Golf & Country Club and also appreciate your input on our maintenance. We hope to welcome you back for an enjoyable experience on the course in the near future.

"Greens need more maintenance"


u3805815's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/23/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The faraways were good condition, but, the greens needs more maintenance. Greens were rough and missied grass a lot. The price is reasonable and staffs are friendly.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Magnolia Point Golf & Country Club on 06/28/2018:

Hello, thank you for sharing your review, We truly appreciate both your positive and constructive feedback regarding the course conditions and will be sure to pass it along to our team. We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our staff and sceneries at Magnolia Point Golf & Country Club, and also appreciate your input on our maintenance. We hope to welcome you back for an enjoyable experience on the course in the near future.


u985449562's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/14/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Love this course. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Will definitely go back


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Not worthy"


CURTIS1380738's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/11/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course wasn’t even worth ten bucks that I paid for it


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I don't recommend this course


Response from Magnolia Point Golf & Country Club on 06/14/2018:

Here at Magnolia Point we are always looking to improve and appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with the course conditions, and we are working hard to make sure the course will be in great shape in the future. Again, thank you for the review, and we hope to see you back sometime soon.

"Poor greens"


speartooth's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/11/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens are infected with a fungus and weed that distract from the fairway good condition.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from Magnolia Point Golf & Country Club on 06/14/2018:

Hello, thank you for reviewing our course, Magnolia Point Golf & Country Club. We strive to provide the best possible customer experience to our golfers, and we apologize if we missed the mark. Your loyalty to our course is valued and we hope you will see improvements the next time you are with us. Thank you for choosing to play our course, in the Green Cove Springs, Florida area, and we hope to earn your business again soon.

"Greens need work"


JCarter05's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/03/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Enjoyed the layout but can be confusing for someone that has not played here before. A few holes are down the street a pretty good ways. The course had been getting lots of rain but the greens were bare and damaged prior to all the rain. Would like to see Magnolia get back to its glory days and add the additional 9 holes back in


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


Response from Magnolia Point Golf & Country Club on 06/06/2018:

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, and for the 3 stars. We are sorry to hear that the conditions did not meet your expectations. We value your feedback and hope you were still able to enjoy your round. We hope to see you back soon.

"Don’t waste your time"


Adam8744297's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/03/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I went here for my first time due to the top rating on Golf Now. It was a bit of a drive but the rating was so good.

The course condition was shocking. The worst greens I have played on in Florida since I lived here 4 years ago.

The best part was the staff, everyone was super friendly and very helpful. Such a shame as the course didn’t do them justice.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from Magnolia Point Golf & Country Club on 06/06/2018:

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed in the course conditions. We truly value our customer experience and your feedback is important to us. We hope to have you back soon.

"Beautiful course and greens but slow."


Lottster70's avatar
Top 250 Contributor
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/28/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I love this course but the greens are slow. The greens are beautiful and big just wish they were faster.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Nice course for the cost."


u063542020's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/28/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in good shape overall. Some areas under repair due to washouts with heavy rains. Greens in fair to good shape, not fast due to dampness. Tee boxes were in need of grooming but suspect was due to the recent days of rain. Course drains well after showers.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Great layout"


u000006535360's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/25/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was very challenging. In great shape considering all the rain we have had lately. The value is most definitely there. My buddies and I enjoyed it. Even had an ace in our group on #2!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Good Course"


CURTIS1380738's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/12/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I have played this course a lot and this is the best I have seen it. Keep up the GOOD WORK.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great course, great value"


headers1's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/09/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Had a very enjoyable day, loved the course. The staff were very friendly and most helpful.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great for the Money"


u640720879's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/06/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course has a great layout. Some very challenging holes, but in a very fun way. Greens were in great shape. Some of the tee boxes were a little roughed up, but I also played later on a Sunday.

Greenside bunkers could use some help, but then again if I did my part I wouldn’t have been in them.

I play this course multiple times per year and the spring time conditions have been great. Def worth the drive for those in Jacksonville.

The pub is a great place to have a beer and wind down after the round.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course



auntqueen13's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/05/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

one of my favorite places to play. not only is it beautiful and well maintained, the magnolias and jasmine give make it actually smell good too!

worth my 45min drive to get there.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Had a great time"


d52937's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/05/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played with longtime friends. Very friendly staff. forgiving yet challenging course. Greens in good condition. Sunny with a nice breeze and trees for shade.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



Benwicker1975's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/25/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Overall a great course. Great value, only paid $13 on a last minute hot deal. Would play again. Greens were well kept. Fairways were in good shape as were tee boxes.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Early morning fun Sunday"


tootie23's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/22/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great club staff, cart guy, starter, and pro shop folks very helpful and friendly. First time playing here, I will be back.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Greens are awesome!"


Pwbrzgolf's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/20/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course is in good shape with some good and some bad spots in the rough and fairways. Fun course that I have not played in years. The elevation changes on multiple holes make it different than most courses in the Jacksonville area. Greens are great and that's a big plus in my book. I can play anywhere with nice soft greens that roll true.

Played for $14.00 and in 2 hours and 30 minutes on a Friday afternoon! Can't beat it!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great course no ball washers"


Lottster70's avatar
Top 250 Contributor
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/19/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Wonderful course, but you would think a golf country Club would have ball washers at every tee box!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course