Plantation Palms Golf Club

3.4194470588 3.4 stars from 5 (215)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6735 yards
  • Slope: 139
  • Rating: 72.6
  • Layout

  • 23253 Plantation Palms Blvd, Land O Lakes, FL 34639
  • (813) 996-4653
  • (813) 996-7114
  • www.plantationpalms.net
Write Review

Year built: 2000
Architect(s): David Harman (2000)
Type: Public
Style: Links
Greens: Bermuda Grass
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: No
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No
GPS: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: No
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Collared shirt, bermuda shorts req, no denim

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 72 6735 yards 72.6 139
White (W) 72 6240 yards 76.4 138
White 72 6240 yards 70.1 131
Gold (W) 72 5790 yards 73.9 133
Gold 72 5790 yards 67.8 127
Red (W) 72 5313 yards 70.8 132

Plantation Palms Golf Club, designed by David Harman, provides every Tampa golfer with a challenging and rewarding golf experience. The links-style design starts with a welcoming par 5, and then slowly steps up with a mixture of strong par 3s. Just 10 minutes north of Tampa, this course was carved a 400-acre citrus grove that slopes from west to east, providing interesting elevation changes. Water is in play on 17 of 18 holes. Plantation Palms Golf Club has an attractive framing of greens by the use of pine trees, water and large snow-white sand traps. The true-rolling elevated greens have good movement and are a challenge for golfers.

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.4 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.9 stars from 5
Value: 3.8 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.5 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.1 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.3 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.0 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 215 Reviews
5 stars:
32
4 stars:
87
3 stars:
53
2 stars:
29
1 stars:
14

recommend this course

159 out of 213 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city   Great for advanced golfers locals   Challenges include forced carries water hazards bunkers  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Great Course"


zitahourihan's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/09/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

My husband and I try to golf this course at least once a week. Great layout, challenging, acceptable conditions and affordable.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great challenge"


David9843169's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/07/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course layout is awesome and challenging from back tees. They have some uniquely beautiful holes not seen in other Bay area courses. Good stuff


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Plantation Palms is a Terrific Course!"


blaawndee's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/04/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Aside from the soggy course requiring cart path only course maneuvering, we truly enjoy our round. Every time we play we enjoy it even more! We will definitely be back.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Stay away from this course"


u000005127514's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/03/2018
First time playing Used cart Wet weather

Reviewed on

First problem was that they had four groups teeing off at 9:30 no one said why. We had to wait to see off at 10:00 . The course was in such bad shape weeds in fairway holes and mud everywhere,the bunkers had weeds growing in them and were rock hard. After 2 1/2 hours to play front nine we left. Can't believe they actually charge to play.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


"CART PATH ONLY"


turfking's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/02/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Lot of rain this week and Plantation Palms shows it. Was told it was CART PATH ONLY while on the third hole. Front fairways were NOT recently mowed but greens were cut but were choppy and balls wobbled near the hole. I’m not a young man so that was much more walking than I expected in the Floida afternoon heat. I will check with the pro shop before playing in the conditions again. Staff is always courteous and friendly. Beverage cart girl worked hard and made several laps of the course. I generally enjoy playing Plantation Palms but today was not as delightful as expected.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Trying to come back, but struggling"


u000003121296's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/02/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Conditions have taken a step backwards. Ther’s been a lot of rain but course does not drain well. Fuzzy fairways and bumpy greens. Very nice staff. Just don’t think they can get it back to it’s glory days.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


"SLOW SLOW"


ndgreene's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/11/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Beautiful day and a slow slow game. Foursome,, two. twosomes and a single in front of us and it took over four hours. Not well managed. Not the first time this has happened.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


"Perfect Round at Plantation Palms"


blaawndee's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/07/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

Another perfect day of golf in Western Florida...at Plantation Palms. The course conditions continue to improve, the on-site restaurant is awesome (Mulligan's) and every staff member a joy with whom to interact. We will absolutely play this course again in the very near future!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Much Improved!"


aschaffer89's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/04/2018
Previously played Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on

Fairways have come a long way since I was last here back in Sept ‘17. The open layout is great to rip a bunch of drivers throughout the course. The greens are still a bit odd...kind of hairy and wavy...I couldn’t get the ball to stop or checkup like I usually do. Regardless, it’s a fun round and with Ace Golf you know it’s going to be a quality golf course in a matter of time. Many locals were enjoying the live music and dining at the clubhouse. Glad to see things are lively!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



ajporter's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/27/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


"Terrible course"


u000004393502's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/24/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

The condition of the course was poor. The greens were in terible condition. Go play a different course.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


"Nice course"


u000004690570's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/11/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

That was my second game there this year and everybody on our foursome were very pleased.The Only problem on that day,the course was wet and cartpath only,so we walked a lot.Will be back for sure.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Course was good"


charliegp1's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/09/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was good though greens were slow gues there trying to grow it in more fairways need help your pretty much hitting off of bare lies


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"BEST EMPLOYEE"


ndgreene's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/07/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The three times we have played here RONNIE was the starter and Saturday he was at the bag drop. He is by far the best employee there with a super personality. Thank you Ronnie you are a credit to the course!

The Greene’s


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Fun course"


Harley1948's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/03/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

It has come a long way and is going to continue to improve. Forgiving holes and some wicked challenging holes due to the length. Great fun on both types of holes.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Course has made vast improvment"


londonderry's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/03/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course was in rough shape in the Fall 2017 but

has made vast improvements. The fairways were mowed and had good turf. The greens have come in and are in good shape. My mates and I had a rewarding experience for the price.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Play the putt putt course instead!"


rowdiedick's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/29/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Since Ace acquired this property they've spent most of their money expanding and remodeling the club house and adding a putt putt course. What should be rough around most of the greens is just hard pan. Erosion has been a huge factor on the back nine. On #14, Instead of repairing the erosion they've staked it off and forced the golfers to drive around it. This makes a great par 5 almost unplayable for the average golfer. Drainage on #16 is so bad in the 100 yd. approach to the green, they've staked that off as well. And we're in drought conditions here in Tampa! The cups were cut so deep on most of the holes it was hard to reach the ball without taking out the flag. And some of the flags would not go all the way in. Just a lot of irritating things that have nothing to do with the course reopening less than 18 months ago. Sad, .....this used to be the best public course in Tampa Bay.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


"Getting better."


Golf7157's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/26/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

Staff is extremely helpful. The condition of the course is not there fault. Lack of water is the main problem. Typical florida fairways with lack of water. I wont COMPARE this course with Agusta because thats not fair. Tough to play without some grass under the ball no matter the price, which is more than fair for the course design. Great design and very playable for any skill level using the appropriate tees.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Very Challenging"


Mitch8380618's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/26/2018
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

My playing partner said the course is much improved. Greens were in great shape; very fast. Fairways were average. All the greens were elevated and hard to hit. Would like to come back when it's not so windy. I'm sure my scoring would improve. Staff very friendly. Good value.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course



ndgreene's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/26/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"pleasant day"


u860147858's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/23/2018
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

this course had everything. Good test of abilities.

Long course so don't be shy of playing gold tees.

Staff and facilities were great.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed