Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
4.1
288 Reviews (288)
5 Stars
92
4 Stars
153
3 Stars
30
2 Stars
9
1 Stars
4
Conditions
3.9
Value
4.4
Layout
4.3
Friendliness
4.4
Pace
3.8
Amenities
3.5
92.4%
Recommend this course
265 out of 288 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.2
21 Reviews (21)
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Conditions
4.0
Value
4.6
Layout
4.5
Pace
4.0
Amenities
3.8
StaffFriendliness
4.5
95.2%
Recommend this course
20 out of 21 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.0
62 Reviews (62)
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
35
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
1
Conditions
3.8
Value
4.3
Layout
4.3
Pace
3.9
Amenities
3.4
StaffFriendliness
4.4
91.9%
Recommend this course
57 out of 62 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Public/Resort
Par 72
Length 6838 yards
Slope 133
Rating 72.5
Book a Tee Time at
The Champion Turf Club at St. James
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 2000
Golf Season Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes - "St. James Golf Academy"
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Metal Spikes Allowed No
Dress code Appropriate golf attire.

Best of Lists

  • Golf Advisor: Top 25 Most Improved U.S. Golf Courses (2016 #23)

Reviews

4.1
288 Reviews (288)

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 10
Course Challenges Include:
Undulating Greens 18
Water Hazards 13
Bunkers 11
This course/club is great for:
Locals 18
Advanced Golfers 12
Seniors 8
This Course's Location is:
Convenient to the City 14
Worth the Drive 8

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

wide fairways, easy to play

- good course for longhitters
- partly very dry fairways

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Commented on 10/11/2019

Thank you for visiting us at The Champion Turf Club at St. James. We appreciate your 4-star rating and review. We hope you join us for another round soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 10/04/2019

Wow, we are so happy you enjoyed your round, u314159330151! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Default User Image
Commented on 10/04/2019

Wow, we are so happy you enjoyed your round, u314159330151! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

No starter - real problem

Our tee time was 7:45. We arrived at first tee at 7:40 to find there was no starter and there were two foursomes that Said they had 7:30 tee times. They were waiting to tee off behind a twosome that was waiting to tee off. We joined the twosome and the course was so backed up it took five hours to play 18 holes. Way to long and especially in the heat of south Florida!

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Poor
Default User Image
Commented on 09/06/2019

Hi! Thank you so much for leaving us with your feedback. We value our customer experience, so your review is important to us. We will make note and we hope to see you back!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

If you have not played in few years it’s a must play course.

They aerated greens a few weeks ago they’re almost back to normal no one on the course because variation show played fast shot 3938 play about three times a week. If you have not played this course in a few years I would recommend it to anyone it’s in excellent condition course lays out very well wide fairways nice greens greens .And for the money couldn’t beat it thanks GolfNow.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Commented on 08/02/2019

Hi. We appreciate you leaving a review and rating us. We will inform the entire team, so they know their hard work is paying off. We look forward to having you back at The Champion Turf Club!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Nice layout, wide fairways

Other than the fact that the greens were just aerated and sanded, condition was reasonably well. Generous fairways, dry bunkers. Water and restrooms on front and back. Never went inside clubhouse.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Commented on 07/30/2019

Hi. We appreciate you leaving a review and rating us. We will inform the entire team, so they know their hard work is paying off. We look forward to having you back at The Champion Turf Club!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
3.0
Previously Played

Very slow

Slow pace of play, even in the afternoon. Employee in clubhouse lied about how busy it was, saying “it’s wide open and you should have no problem,” when In reality there were multiple groups of 2-4 that just teed off. Frankly, many golfers I’ve encountered there are extremely novice and have no etiquette, won’t let you pass even on par 3’s. Won’t be going back unless it’s a last resort.

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Poor
Amenities Fair
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Poor
Amenities Fair
Default User Image
Commented on 06/28/2019

Hello. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars, but we hope you'll give us another try in the near future.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Commented on 06/21/2019

Thank you for visiting us at The Champion Turf Club. We appreciate your 4-star rating and review. We hope you join us for another round soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great layout and greens!

Well maintained course with fast and true greens. Friendly and helpful staff.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 06/21/2019

Hello. Thank you for your 5-star rating! Please book another round with us soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Commented on 06/13/2019

We love hearing about our golfers' experiences. Please tell us more about what you enjoyed from your round with us. Thanks for reviewing us!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 25+
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Extremely Challenging
Default User Image
Commented on 05/22/2019

Hi, thank you so much for the great review. We are glad you had an incredible time, and we hope to see you again soon! Thanks for choosing The Champion Turf Club at St. James.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart

Many birdie chances, fun to play

From the white tees, this is a pretty easy course. Not a criticism, just stating a "fact." Other than #10, every hole is a birdie opportunity, which makes for a fun round. Several short par 5s (watch out for the hidden ponds on the back nine) are particularly birdie-able. From the tee, the course often appears tighter than it actually is. I hit a few wayward drives I thought would be in trouble only to find my ball in good position. That makes for a largely stress-free round, and if you are playing well, you can shoot a low score. Really enjoyed my round here. Tee-to-green conditions are probably only a 2.5, but the greens are a 4.5 (save for #2, which is healing from some damage). If you are a public-course golfer and don't need perfectly-manicured fairways and tees, you will have fun.

Conditions Fair
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Difficulty Fairly Easy
Default User Image
Commented on 05/15/2019

Hi Grant. We appreciate you leaving a review and rating The Champion Turf Club at St. James. We will inform the entire team, so they know their hard work is paying off. We look forward to having you back!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 25+
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Wet weather
Used cart
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Image
Commented on 05/09/2019

Hi, thank you so much for the great review. We are glad you had an incredible time, and we hope to see you again soon! Thanks for choosing The Champion Turf Club at St. James.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Commented on 05/03/2019

Hello, Thank you for visiting us at Myakka Pines Golf Club. We appreciate your 4-star rating and review. We hope you join us for another round soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played

Best Course in the Area

I live in the area and have played this course a dozen times. You simply cannot beat the price for the quality of this course. A lot of fun holes with some challenging ones as well. Fairways and greens are always in good shape. Sometimes the pace of play is a little slow but we always get our round in a decent time. This is my go to course no doubt.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Commented on 04/25/2019

We appreciate your 4-star rating and review. It is great to see you had an enjoyable time on the course and we hope you join us for another round soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Commented on 04/22/2019

Hello. We appreciate your 4-star rating and review. We hope you join us for another round soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Love this course

We choose this course for our last golf outing for this year, have to head home early next week and head for Canada. We have played this course several times over the winter.
We have played it with our usual couples, and our own men’s day. Never disappointed with this golf course.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Commented on 04/22/2019

Hello, Thank you for your 5-star rating! Please book another round with us soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

St James

Good value. Greens have nicely recovered from earlier maintenance damage. Played in 3:25

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Commented on 04/18/2019

Hello. We appreciate your 4-star rating and review. We hope you join us for another round soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 500 Contributor
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Just OK

Our foursome hadn't played St. James in over a year, thought we'd try it again. It's not a bad course, just not approaching very good and luckily the greens though fast weren't lightning fast as they were on our last experience. The greens are in good condition and very quick but quite true. The fairways however show signs of either disease or neglect in many areas. The pace of play is slow and they do allow 5-somes (just in front of our group) which contributes to the 4+ hour rounds. Finally, if you desire a beverage after golf, get in before 5:PM as they close the bar at 5:00 no matter what (real customer friendly)f

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Fair
Amenities Fair
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Image
Commented on 04/10/2019

Hello. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars, but we hope you'll give us another try in the near future.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Goood bang for the buck.

When you look at this course on google maps,you get a little intimidated by all the houses.don”t be.,the course is more wide open than it looks,and designed so the houses aren’t really a factor.course is in great shape.greens are green and fast.pace of play was excellent. Overall a really good value for the money

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Default User Image
Commented on 04/15/2019

Thank you for the fantastic 5-star review of our golf course. We appreciate you taking the time and hope you will let us know if you ever need anything while you are here. Come back and see us again very soon for more of the best golf in town

Was this comment useful to you?
Nearby Courses
Fort Pierce, Florida
4.2032857143
15
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
4.7689058824
11
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
4.5021176471
127
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
0.0
0
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
0.0
0
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
4.5098
5
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
4.1176470588
3
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
0.0
0
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
0.0
0
Fort Pierce, Florida
3.8470588235
86

Stay & Play Offers

From $190
Valid dates: Dec 01, 2019 - Mar 01, 2020
Includes 3 rounds of golf - one each at Legacy Golf Links, 7 Lakes and Southern Pines Golf Club - and lodging for two nights in a 2 Bedroom / 2 Bath Golf Front Condo located on the Pinehurst Resort Golf Courses.
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE