La Cantera Resort - The Palmer Course

4.6409117647 4.6 stars from 5 (333)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6926 yards
  • Slope: 142
  • Rating: 74.2
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
GPS: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes - "The Academy at La Cantera"

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 6926 yards 74.2 142
Gold 72 6535 yards 72.4 139
Silver 71 6115 yards 69.3 128
Copper 71 5784 yards 70.6 134
Jade (W) 71 5066 yards 65.3 116

The Palmer Course is one of two golf courses at La Cantera Resort, it is named after its famous designer, golf legend Arnold Palmer. Firmly situated on 225 acres of Texas Hill Country, the golf course features plenty of elevation changes to keep golfers on their toes. There is also an abundance of mature oaks covering the course, requiring accuracy off the tees. The unique layout incorporates dramatic waterfalls, lakes, and numerous white sand bunkers throughout. La Cantera Resort’s Palmer Course has several signature holes, most notably the fourth hole. This demanding par 3 requires a long carry over a lake with waterfalls along the front of the green.

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.6 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.5 stars from 5
Value: 4.4 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.5 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.7 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.7 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 333 Reviews
5 stars:
251
4 stars:
62
3 stars:
10
2 stars:
5
1 stars:
5

recommend this course

315 out of 330 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is at a resort convenient to the city worth the drive   Great for advanced golfers wildlife/ scenic views a weekend splurge   Challenges include elevation changes undulating greens bunkers   Great for 19th hole scenic views drinks patio dining  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Visually Stunning"


tbusselle's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/10/2015
First time playing Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Most visually appealing course I've played to date.<br/> Staff was very friendly and accommodating. You can't find anything nearly as nice in Houston for anywhere close to the price. Will definitely be back.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 12/28/2015

Hi tbusselle,

Thank you for playing at La Cantera Resort, and thank you for the 5 star rating. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our staff, our course layout, and your round. We hope you will be back to see us for another round soon.

Best Wishes,<br/> La Cantera Resort Management


"Amazing golf course"


sbhershberger's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/20/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Such a beautiful course. Very well-maintained and the greens are perfect.

The only negative is the driving range is “irons only”. Two off the box isn’t exactly a warm-up for a course that requires accuracy from the tee, and the inability to dial in the driver before teeing off really showed in my round.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



RGEFEA265C442CB509DA's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/16/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from La Cantera Management on 04/19/2018:

Thank you for the 5-star review!

"Fantastic course"


thayward619's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/30/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

La Cantera, Palmer course is a magnificent layout. Major elevation changes, routing through the hills, tough but fair course. Greens were pretty good, sand was inconsistent but probably due to rainfall. A bit pricey but the layout and views make it worth it.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from La Cantera Management on 04/12/2018:

Thank you for playing The Palmer Course! We're happy to hear you enjoyed the layout and beautiful views. See you soon!

"Really enjoyable"


chungb's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/19/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I really enjoyed playing this course which had a lot of elevation and interesting holes. The condition of the course was pretty good. The driving range was also fine. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Overall a very good round. One tip is that the Palmer course is not Located at the La Cantera resort, but about a 10 minute drive away. Make sure you specify the Oalmer course on your GPS.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from La Cantera Management on 03/27/2018:

Thank you for playing The Palmer Course and sharing your 5-star review!


Jose8029635's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/18/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from La Cantera Management on 03/20/2018:

Thank you for the 5-star review and recommendation!

"fantastic course!"


raincreek's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/15/2018
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Loved this course. There is not a bad hole on it. Very scenic.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from La Cantera Management on 03/20/2018:

We're happy to hear you enjoyed your round! Thank you for taking time to share your feedback. See you soon!

"Great course!"


li08807's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/14/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I was in a conference at San Antonio, and took the opportunity to play the Palmer course. This course is amazing! Beautiful lay out, challenging but fair. A must play.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from La Cantera Management on 03/20/2018:

Thank you for choosing The Palmer Course at La Cantera for your round in San Antonio! We're happy to hear you enjoyed a great day of golf. See you soon!

"Tuff greens"


Sfno12's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/14/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Enjoyed the round, the course and staff were great. The greens pretty much fooled us all day and there many blind shots . The views are amazing, especially the 18th.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from La Cantera Management on 03/20/2018:

Thak you for playing The Palmer Course! We look forward to your next round.

"Great track"


greenjacketsjon's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/12/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Enjoyed the course. Challenging holes especially to finish off each nine. Greens really rolled nicely.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from La Cantera Management on 03/20/2018:

Thank you for commenting on excellent greens conditions!

"This course has a lot of hills and challenges."


gs838569's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/08/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Beautiful course. I would highly recommend this course. Well maintained and very challenging layout.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from La Cantera Management on 03/20/2018:

Thank you for the 5-star review!

"OMG"


Jonevans99's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/07/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Wow. Just an incredible course. Beautiful scenery. Great layout. Played from the back tees and it was almost 7000 yards and played every ounce of it... A lot of elevated greens and fairways.

Just an amazing course that must be played. The Resort course is great but IMO the Palmer course blows it away!!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from La Cantera Management on 03/20/2018:

Thank you for playing The Palmer Course and sharing your 5-star experience!

"Great courses"


rsimpkiss's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/05/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

the Course has some great view. The approach shots our the best I ever played


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from La Cantera Management on 03/09/2018:

Thank you for the 5-star review!

"Beautiful course great price"


u000001666037's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/05/2018
First time playing Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

La Cantera, what can I say. Meticulously maintained. Superintendent does a great job


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from La Cantera Management on 02/07/2018:

Thank you for recommending The Palmer Course at La Cantera!

"Great course"


u000007574112's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/04/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Love playing this course

Great conditions

Traps need more sand but makes no difference with my pitiful sand play


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from La Cantera Management on 02/07/2018:

Thank you for the 5-star review!

"Views"


u565661143's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/29/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Amazing views, pristine shape.

The greens are the hardest to read in the history of golf!


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from La Cantera Management on 02/01/2018:

Thank you for the 5-star review and recommendation!


lmg148's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/10/2018
Previously played Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from La Cantera Management on 01/18/2018:

Thank you for the 5-star review and recommendation!

"Ok"


ron9930685's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/10/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I was told this course was great. I found many more blind tee shots than told, and I guess they had problems with the kitchen, it was closed , so nothing to eat after the round. I feel for the price compared to others in the area, this course is overrated


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from La Cantera Management on 01/18/2018:

Thank you for golfing with us and sharing your feedback! We hope to see you back for lunch and another round of golf. See you soon!

"Beautiful Course"


u270208468's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/13/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The Arnold Palmer course was absolutely beautiful and the views were breathtaking. This was the my first time playing this course and I definitely will play again. I have been recommending the course to my fellow golfers.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from La Cantera Management on 12/21/2017:

Thank you for the 5-star review and recommendation!

"Did not disappoint!"



5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/18/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I was in town for a wedding and decided to play this course last minute. From the time I arrived I was greeted at the bag drop and taken care of with great customer service. After I checked in the pro shop guy introduced me to the men I’d be playing with and showed me the way to the range so I could warm up. As we got ready to tee off the same guy made conversation and gave me a few pointers about different holes and told me about the restricted areas where the carts wouldn’t go due to GPS. The course was in amazing shape and while it was tough it was still really fun to play. I’d highly recommend it and look forward to playing it again


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from La Cantera Management on 11/22/2017:

Thank you for sharing your 5-star experience! Customer service is very important to us and our golfers. A day of golf is always better with a great group, especially when they're able to provide helpful advice.

"Ver y nice experience"


azteco's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/16/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is one of the courses my wife and I played on a mini golf vacation to San Antonio. We loved the course. It is fun to play. It is hilly so no walking It. The staff was really friendly and welcoming.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from La Cantera Management on 11/21/2017:

We're happy to hear you decided to play The Palmer Course during your vacation to San Antonio. Thank you for sharing your 5-star experience!


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed