Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.9
253
5 Stars
73
4 Stars
114
3 Stars
42
2 Stars
16
1 Stars
8
Staff Friendliness
4.3
Pace
4.0
Amenities
3.5
Conditions
3.9
Value
4.2
Layout
4.2
86.4%
Recommend this course
219 out of 253 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.9
253
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
2
1 Stars
3
Staff Friendliness
4.0
Pace
3.8
Amenities
3.2
Conditions
3.6
Value
3.9
Layout
3.9
74.2%
Recommend this course
23 out of 31 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.9
253
5 Stars
22
4 Stars
30
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
4
1 Stars
3
Staff Friendliness
4.3
Pace
4.0
Amenities
3.4
Conditions
3.7
Value
4.2
Layout
4.0
87.0%
Recommend this course
60 out of 69 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 67
Length 5018
Slope 117
Rating 64.4
Type Public
Book a Tee Time at
Spessard Holland Golf Course
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Gold 67 5018 yards 64.4 117
Blue 67 4456 yards 62.3 108
Blue (W) 67 4456 yards 65.9 113
Green 67 3844 yards 62.5 105
Scorecard for Spessard Holland Golf Course
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Gold M: 64.4/117 325 316 353 175 378 281 172 355 150 2505 332 181 334 447 323 158 295 135 308 2513 5018
Blue M: 62.3/108 W: 65.9/113 294 298 330 131 359 241 131 318 138 2240 286 153 286 429 289 131 259 125 258 2216 4456
Green W: 62.5/105 260 270 298 83 325 217 93 267 119 1932 236 134 262 371 241 102 228 107 231 1912 3844
Handicap 7 9 5 15 1 17 13 3 11 14 12 10 4 2 16 6 18 8
Par 4 4 4 3 4 4 3 4 3 33 4 3 4 5 4 3 4 3 4 34 67
Handicap (W) 11 7 9 15 5 3 17 1 13 10 18 8 6 2 16 4 14 12

Course Details

Year Built 1977
Golf Season Year round
Architect Arnold Palmer (1977) Ed Seay (1985) Robert Walker (1977)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes
Pull-carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Bunker Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes
Dress code Proper attire is required.

Reviews

3.9
253

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 13
19th Hole Specials 3
Brunch 2
Course Challenges Include:
Water Hazards 41
Bunkers 29
Narrow Fairways 22
This course/club is great for:
Seniors 33
Locals 31
Wildlife/ Scenic Views 29
This Course's Location is:
Convenient to the City 23
Worth the Drive 23
Near the Airport 5
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Beachside

This course is between the ocean and the river. Lot of attention being given too it! Keeps getting better. Greens as good as they’ve ever been. Too bad it was a scorcher of a day.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Average
Off-course amenities Fair
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Average
Course Layout Good
Response from Spessard Holland Golf Course on 07/21/2018:
Thank you for the 5-Star review! Please come back and see us again soon.
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Location A+, Conditions B-

Amazing location but unfortunately the greens were recently punched. If you are looking for a place to practice your irons than look no further.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Poor
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Good
Response from Spessard Holland Golf Course on 06/22/2018:
Hello. We appreciate your 4-star rating and review, but we are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars. We hope you'll give us another try in the near future.
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart

Below Par!

As I pulled up to the bag drop and looked around I was thinking to myself is this place open? The man unloading my bag was very pleasant and I walked inside to check in. I asked the man why it was so dead and he told me they had just punched the greens. I told him it was not mentioned on GolfNow. His response was oh well. That put the sour in this round of golf. The course is short and you will get lost without the map on the score card because there are not any directional signs. I paid $26 plus fees totalling $31 and change. I would not pay more than $20 to play this course.
Staff Friendliness Fair
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Poor
Value for the Money Poor
Course Layout Poor
Response from Spessard Holland Golf Course on 06/15/2018:
Hello. We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars and that you were unaware of the course conditions. We hope you'll give us another try in the near future.
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Good
Response from Spessard Holland Golf Course on 06/05/2018:
Hello, Joe. We appreciate your 4-star rating and review. We hope you join us for another round soon.
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Pretty Good Conditions

The course wasn’t crowded for a Saturday afternoon round. Got around in about 3:15, so no complaints at all on pace. Greens were in decent shape, if a little slow. Soft enough to hold shots well, which was nice, considering lack of rain recently. Fairways were ok. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Drinks and snacks at the snack bar were pretty inexpensive.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Good
Response from Spessard Holland Golf Course on 05/18/2018:
Hi, Steven. We appreciate your 4-star rating and review. We hope you join us for another round soon.
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

An enjoyable change of pace

Good venue for change of play. Course greens a tad slower than practice putting green, but after a few holes you can get the pace.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Good
Response from Spessard Holland Golf Course on 05/18/2018:
Hello, Scotland. We appreciate your 4-star rating and review. We hope you join us for another round soon.
Played On
Handicap 25+
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Lots of Water

We got there early and was going out but the “not friendly” cashier told the starter it was too early and put us “in time out” for a half hour because we got thru Golf Now” and we waited while not one group went out. We think it is stupid not let golfers go early if not going ahead of another group
Staff Friendliness Poor
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Average
Response from Spessard Holland Golf Course on 05/25/2018:
Hello. We appreciate your 4-star rating and review. We hope you join us for another round soon.
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Enjoyed the round with my friend

Great day for golf, great company to hit the links with.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Excellent
Response from Spessard Holland Golf Course on 05/18/2018:
Hello. Thank you for your 5-star rating! Book another round with us soon.
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

SURPRISED A BIT

After reading the reviews I didn't expect much but it was better than the reviews. I don't live in FL. but have played here some. They do a lot with what they got. Not sure what some folks think they should get for their money but this place is good for the price. Interesting layout for a short thing. Lots of sand and water, good greens, enough grass even the drought to find a decent lie. Well worth the trip and an enjoyable day and round of golf.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Poor
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Response from Spessard Holland Golf Course on 04/27/2018:
Hi Jim. Thanks for writing a review. We're so glad that you found the layout challenging and that you enjoyed your round. Please visit us whenever you're in the area. Thanks for choosing Spessard Holland.

Stay & Play Offers

$110 Starting price
Valid dates: Aug 13, 2018 - Dec 31, 2019
The Penn Ohio Golf Trail consists of courses mainly in Western PA and Northeast Ohio. What sets us apart is that we offer 29 different courses; including 4 private, members-only country clubs, 2 former LPGA courses, and many of the top courses in Ohio and Pennsylvania (including Pennsylvania’s #1 public course – Olde Stonewall). We offer 4 Mansions (for groups of 2 to 36), 10 hotels and customer service beyond any major resort. Our Mansions feature large common areas, pool tables, poker tables, big screen TV’s with the luxury of the entire group together in a large home setting.
Nearby Courses
Melbourne, Florida
1.8039166667
138
Palm Bay, Florida
0.0
0
West Melbourne, Florida
1.0
2
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE