Stewart Peninsula Golf Course

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.4
195
5 Stars
35
4 Stars
70
3 Stars
37
2 Stars
21
1 Stars
32
Conditions
3.4
Value
3.8
Layout
3.5
Friendliness
3.9
Pace
3.7
Amenities
3.2
68.4%
Recommend this course
125 out of 195 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
2.9
8
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
3
Conditions
3.3
Value
3.1
Layout
2.9
Pace
3.1
Amenities
2.8
StaffFriendliness
3.4
50.0%
Recommend this course
4 out of 8 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
3.4
18
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
4
Conditions
3.5
Value
3.8
Layout
3.4
Pace
3.6
Amenities
3.3
StaffFriendliness
3.9
72.2%
Recommend this course
13 out of 18 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 9
Type
Style Links
Par 33
Length 2676 yards
Slope 124
Rating 65.9
Book a Tee Time at
Stewart Peninsula Golf Course
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Back 33 2676 yards 65.9 124
Gold 33 2649 yards 32.9 122
Middle 33 2360 yards 31.5 111
Red (W) 33 1982 yards 30.3 100
Scorecard for Red / Gold
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out Total
Red/Yellow M: 65.9/124 315 156 371 432 212 188 368 155 479 2676 5325
Red W: 60.8/108 231 96 290 314 132 89 294 115 421 1982 3964
Handicap 11 15 9 1 7 17 3 13 5
Par 4 3 4 4 3 3 4 3 5 33 66

Course Details

Year Built 1998
Architect Tripp Davis (1998)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes
Pull-carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes
Dress code Proper golf attire

Reviews

3.4
195

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
19th Hole Scenic Views 6
Course Challenges Include:
Water Hazards 14
Bunkers 10
Forced Carries 10
This course/club is great for:
9-Hole Rounds 16
Wildlife/ Scenic Views 12
Locals 11
This Course's Location is:
In the 'Burbs 12
Convenient to the City 9

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Fun course and the staff is always excellent. The course played well despite the cold weather. I on the other hand struggled but still a good day. Looking forward to my next visit.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Cold weather
Used cart

no 18

This course should not be allowed to be listed as a 18 hole course. it is a 9 hole only!!!
Very disappointing it is not noted.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Fair
Default User Image
Stewart Peninsula Golf Course
Commented On 2019-02-19T14:29:32.000+00:00

Hello, and thank you for reviewing our course, Stewart Peninsula Golf Course. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are sorry to hear that there was miscommunication about the course. We will make sure to pass this along to our staff. We hope to see you again in the future.

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time

Share

Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Windy weather
Used cart

Fun Fun...

Always enjoy the course and the staff is always 1st rate.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
1.0
Previously Played
Wet weather
Used cart

Last Time

I live in Stewart Peninsula, and have been going to this course since 1998. I typically only play a few rounds there a year, but use their driving range 4-5 times per week. One thing they require is that you bring your practice bags back to the shop. When I hit balls there, I always check around and see if anyone left any bags. If they have, I pick them up and take them all back to the club house. If there is a group of middle / high school kids using the range, I will always wait until they are finished.
Many, many times, I will buy 2 bags, and tell them I'm going to hit 1 today, and one tomorrow morning. They have never in all these years had a problem with that. This afternoon, I had a bag left over from earlier this week (when it rained), so I called the course to make sure the range was open. I hit ALL of my balls on the "non-reserved" side like I always do. There were 3 balls over on the reserved side, so I walked over to hit them.. At just that moment, one of the many flunkies that work there came driving up to the range to tell me not to hit balls on that side. (I don't know if they have a camera or a crystal ball or what). I told him I had hit all my balls on the "correct" side. He then said "my manager said that no one bought balls today, so was wondering why someone was here". I told him that I had previously purchased them, and had them left over. To which he said "so you are taking private property home with you!?". Are you f-ing kidding me? I said, don't worry, I will never do it again, because I will never be back. I'm a grown man, and I don't need some part-time 17 year-old telling me I'm stealing private property. I don't typically write reviews like this, but I play great courses all over N. Dallas, and have never been treated, or spoken to this way. If I treated someone in my job like this, I would be fired immediately. If I had been the manager of the course (especially knowing how they are struggling for business), I would have sent the kid down with a coupon for a free hot dog, and told him to thank me for my business. And I can darn sure tell you he wouldn't accuse people of stealing private property.
So, hope you enjoy the course.

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Fair
Friendliness Poor
Pace Fair
Amenities Poor
Default User Image
Stewart Peninsula Golf Course
Commented On 2018-12-21T14:41:14.000+00:00

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Stewart Peninsula Golf Course. We appreciate your dedication to playing our course and using our driving range over the years but are very sorry to hear your recent experience with us may have been poor with us. We greatly value you taking the time to help us out and bring any left over bags back to the shop. As always, we hope that you will continue to notice some of these improvements in the course and your overall experience during your next round with us. Thank you for choosing our course, and we hope to see you again soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time

Share

Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Fun Friday

This is not a long course but it is a challenging and fun course none the less. Although it is a 9 hole course the double greens gives it an 18 hole feel. It has become my default course when l want to play on short notice.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Previously Played

Slow pace of play

This golf course is the slowest I ever played. They were sending a lot of people one out at a time and many twosomes that should have been paired up. They have no idea how to manage a golf course. it took forever just to make it around 9 holes. And when I talk to management about this they were rude and turned their back to me and walked away. The group ahead of us walked off the course and would never come back and I will never go back either. Such a shame this could have been a good golf course.

Conditions Average
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Poor
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Response from Stewart Peninsula Golf Course on 10/30/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time to review us, Stewart Peninsula Golf Course, in the Colony area. We're very sorry to hear you may not have had the best recent customer experience with us due to the pace of play, and we greatly appreciate your feedback. Thank you for golfing with us, and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Windy weather
Used cart

Fun and Challenging Course

I love the scenery and view. Course is a nice, layout with challenging greens and fairways. I wish there was a better way to accommodate the 1st 9 and back 9 players so there's better flow.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Wet weather
Used cart
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played

Looking for a beautiful and little challenge course?!

The course is really nice view is fantastic! It’s a hidden jewel and great way to work on accuracy. Even for being a nine hole course that plays eighteen... it can be a challenge when it comes to accuracy. Check it out! but be prepared for a great scenery.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Ok place to play

Great staff. Great views. As with most low priced clubs, a little money put into this course would make it a great place to play everyday. We will go back. Staff was very helpful on our first trip there. Note, this is a 9 hole course We did not know this when we booked, but we would book again despite this.

Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Image
rbeeze
Commented On 2018-06-14T00:49:58.000+00:00

Thanks for coming out to Stewart Peninsula. We value your feedback. We are always striving to make this course better. Come see us again soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time

Share

Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Me B

Fantastic setting on Lake Louisville, pretty nice course. Not crazy about it being a nine hole course with two greens on each hole so you have to share the fairway but if it’s not crowded it is a nice course for the money.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Image
rbeeze
Commented On 2018-06-14T00:51:02.000+00:00

Thanks for the review. And thanks for playing Stewy P. Come back and golf with us soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time

Share

Played On
Skill Beginner
Plays Once every three months
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Great Value Course

If you’re a fan of links style play then this is your course. Great value. The greens were fantastic. The staff was very accommodating being my first time playing in a while.

Their driving range is irons only though, so make sure to get some practice swings before you tee off. I’m definitely coming back.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
rbeeze
Commented On 2018-06-14T00:53:14.000+00:00

Thanks for playing Stewart Peninsula Golf Course. Thanks for the nice review. Come back and play again soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time

Share

Played On
Handicap 25+
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart

First time to play Stewart Peninsula

I enjoyed my round. The course is well laid out. The difficulty pretty much depends on how disciplined you are. I played 18 and had a couple of blow up holes on each nine. I like the up and down nature. I thought the split greens per nine was cool. I had a good time. Met the owner on my way out. I'll be back for sure.

Thanks,

Tony

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Default User Image
rbeeze
Commented On 2018-06-14T00:54:53.000+00:00

Thanks for the positive review. We have been working hard to improve the golf course. Please come back and play Stewy P again soon. Let us know if we can help in any way.

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time

Share

Played On
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Shot makers course

Good course to work on your game, especially for the money. On the lake, so the wind can easily change shots.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Image
rbeeze
Commented On 2018-05-07T13:09:00.000+00:00

Thanks for coming out to Stewart Peninsula. Glad you enjoyed your round. Please come and see us again.

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time

Share

Played On
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Default User Image
rbeeze
Commented On 2018-05-07T13:09:45.000+00:00

Thanks for coming out to Stewart Peninsula. Hope to see you again.

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time

Share

Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
First Time Playing

First and last time at the Stewart peninsula

I booked a hot deal tee time for 100 pm at Stewart peninsula around 1230 pm because I saw on their website just about every single tee time was wide open. Therefore I took my time and showed up at 110. My guess is only 4 of the 9 holes even had a player on it and I would’ve just waited for the next available spot if there was a wait. However, the guy at the pro shop felt like this tee time was no longer valid as it was 10 minutes past and told me he would honor it if I paid a cart fee. Honestly I would rather she’ll the $16 and change down the drain than play at a course that hasn’t no customer service standards or uses any common sense at all.

Side note, I was really only going to play this course to kill some time because the tribute (10 minutes down the road) was busy until 4 today. They have a great staff over there that is extremely friendly and goes the extra mile to take care of their players.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Poor
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Default User Image
rbeeze
Commented On 2018-05-07T14:18:02.000+00:00

Lets see how this works. You were late, your cursed the person behind the counter ( customer in shop heard you and you are on camera while in shop ) , you left poor reviews about the golf course even though you did not play it. You bought a special from GOLFNOW for that tee time only. You were late. Our policy as I explained to you that day is. " If you are late for a HOT DEAL TIME FROM GOLFNOW we will honor the green fee but you will have to pay the cart fee if you ride". The only information you are correct on is about me calling the cops and taking pictures of your car and license plate. My thinking is if you are going to lie about your review, your time here and your language then I am not going to give you gasoline to put on a fire. We will call it a lesson learned and we also wish you the best.

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time

Share

Default User Image
u000007373514
Commented On 2018-04-19T18:10:21.000+00:00

I understand that I showed up late and I put that in the review. Additionally, I did not curse you out.

You were extraordinarily smug and arrogant about the way you greeted me telling me that I needed to pay a cart fee when I could have easily slid into the next time available (which by the way was all of them, I wish I had saved a screenshot from that day). After that I said, oh this is how you handle things at Stewart Peninsula. Asked if you were serious, then told you I will just call golf now to get a refund.

After sending in the request golfnow gave me a credit, so I used it on the hot deal time today and showed up at 12:40. You preceded to tell me that I am not welcome here for how I treated you, and that because I am going to mess up the golf course. I have never intentionally ruined a golf course in my life and I wasn't planning on it today.

Once again, the only reason I was even going to come today is because your course is wide open and I needed to finish in about 2.5 hours. Additionally, you are threatening the police and taking pictures of my license plate which is way overboard. I do not hold grudges nor am I the destructive type.

Your message was received loud and clear, so I wish the best to Stewart Peninsula moving forward.

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time

Share

Default User Image
rbeeze
Commented On 2018-04-17T20:01:42.000+00:00

You showed up at 1:12 according to you. You purchased a Hot Deal for 1:00. You cursed me in the pro shop and you cursed me on the way out the door. Next time you leave a review why don't you give all the facts. Your conformation says be on time. Tee time invalid if late. You cannot just purchase what ever you want and show up when ever you want.

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time

Share

Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

First Timers

I booked the course apparently not reading the details that we would play the same 9 twice. I am not a fan of this type of course, but as we got playing it was apparent it’s not exactly the same 9 played twice. For each tee box and each green, the markers are in different locations: so for hole 1, you tee off at a different tee box than you do for the same hole used for hole 10. Same goes with the green...the pin for 1 is in a different location than 10. This caused some confusion at first, but we just had to remind ourselves which color we were playing. The setting is actually very nice because of the surrounding lake. The carts do not have navigation or amenities for club cleaning, etc. The course was full, and the pace was pretty good until around hole 13, then we waited at every hole. We were paired up with another 2 guys who were singles and one was a regular at this course so he was helpful in navigation. Some fairways were narrow so you will find other playing on your fairway. Because there are 2 pins on the green, some of the greens are pretty small so placement on the green can be challenging. We got a great deal on golf now ($25/2) so would definitely play again at that price. Heard there was a driving range but didn’t use it - it’s around a corner and not really visible that even existed.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Default User Image
rbeeze
Commented On 2018-04-01T02:23:32.000+00:00

Thanks for coming out to Stewy P for some golf. Glad you enjoyed your day. Come back to see the great things we have going on during the golfing season. Thanks again.

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time

Share

Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Twice a year
3.0
First Time Playing

Not 18 holes

I was disappointed to discover there are not 18 holes here. The course conditions were as expected for the price, people were fine. If I lived in the neighborhood, I'd play here. If you need to drive more than a few minutes, you're probably better off elsewhere.

Conditions Fair
Value Good
Layout Fair
Friendliness Average
Pace Average
Amenities Fair
Response from Stewart Peninsula Golf Course on 03/22/2018:
Hello Daniel, thank you for sharing your review, We truly appreciate both your positive and constructive feedback and will be sure to pass it along to our team. We hope to welcome you back for an enjoyable experience on the course in the near future.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Fun day’s golf

Nice 9 hole course on the lake. At first appeared to be relatively short and simple but the fun factor of the wind off the lake came into play and created a good challenge. Reminded me of my youth playing links golf in England, will definitely make a few more visits.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Fair
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Default User Image
rbeeze
Commented On 2018-03-20T16:33:44.000+00:00

Thanks for coming out to play Stewy P. Glad you enjoyed the round and our nice weather. Please let me know the next time you are coming out. Thanks Randy Head Golf Professional.

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time

Share

Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Average
Value Fair
Layout Poor
Friendliness Poor
Pace Fair
Amenities Average
Response from Stewart Peninsula Golf Course on 03/13/2018:
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are very disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your round. We take our customer feedback very seriously and we will share your comment with our staff to make improvements and corrections accordingly. Thanks again for your review. Please give us the opportunity to change your mind about our course.
Nearby Courses

Stay & Play Offers

$399 Starting price
Valid dates: Apr 13, 2019 - Apr 16, 2019
The Ak-Chin Smash in the Sun Stay & Play includes a three night stay at Harrah’s Ak-Chin, two rounds of golf at Ak-Chin Southern Dunes, and the ideal location to catch all of the long drive action during the Ak-Chin Smash in the Sun!
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE