One&Only Palmilla Golf Club - The Arroyo/Mountain Golf Course

4.6064294118 4.6 stars from 5 (81)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6939 yards
  • Slope: 138
  • Rating: 73.7
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 6939 yards 73.7 138
Gold 72 6572 yards 71.8 136
Blue 72 6130 yards 72.9 132
White 72 5673 yards 67.8 123
White (W) 72 5673 yards 67.8 123
Red (W) 72 4858 yards 69.2 116

Overlooking the Sea of Cortez, the One&Only Palmilla Golf Club offers a stunning 27-hole course designed by Jack Nicklaus. The course is divided into three nines that are named after the defining features of their landscape. They are played in three different 18-hole combination, providing golfers with a different experience on the front and back nines. The Arroyo/Mountain Course has the most dramatic elevation changes of the three golf courses and also some of the best views. The seventh hole on the front nine proves "Arroyo" to be an apt name for the course. This 560-yard hole plays alongside one that is deep and intimidating. The back nine, the Mountain Course, is a diverse layout with holes of varying lengths as well as plenty of sand and water.

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.6 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.1 stars from 5
Value: 4.0 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.7 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.7 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.7 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.6 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 81 Reviews
5 stars:
53
4 stars:
24
3 stars:
3
2 stars:
0
1 stars:
1

recommend this course

76 out of 80 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is at a resort convenient to the city worth the drive   Great for wildlife/ scenic views a weekend splurge advanced golfers   Challenges include bunkers elevation changes forced carries   Great for drinks  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Palmilla: World-Class Nicklaus Golf in Cabo"


caknox1's avatar
Arizona Advisor
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  0-4

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/14/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

San Jose del Cabo is home to some extraordinary Jack Nicklaus Golf designs: Quivira, El Dorado, the Ocean Course at Cabo del Sol and Palmilla Golf Club are what come most quickly to mind. These courses span a time frame through the later stages of Jack's development as a designer (the early 90's to present) and all are spectacular. Palmilla is the only facility with 27 Jack Nicklaus-designed holes, though, and each of them offers a view down to the mindblowingly blue Sea of Cortez.

Each nine holes is named: The Arroyo, Mountain and Ocean and they move seamlessly through said geography. The routings are very similar in terms of length and difficulty: 7,000 to 6,800 from all the way back (Black Tees), sloping in the 140 to 137 range. The Gold Tees come in closer to 6,500 and a bit less, but the slopes remain pretty rough staying in the 137 to 135 range. Of the three, the Mountain to Ocean routing would be the choice - most picturesque as well as just flatly hard.

Nut and Bolts: Website

This is a Troon managed facility so you get a Troon white-labelled site. It will look very familiar to the user who has played or plays a Troon courses. While it is content heavy and fairly easy to navigate, it remains stuck in a look that seems to be about 10 years old. Overall, though, it works. (One last point: The Course Flyovers through Best Approach look terribly cheesy. 2010 content that would be annihilated by HD drone flyovers today. Just sayin'...)

Repetitive part of the review: As always, the playability of the course is determined by an honest appraisal of your skills. The choices of tees directly impacts the difficulty of driving. Park the ego. Play within yourself and enjoy the routings. Driving is moderate to very difficult. Approach shots are the same. Typical JWN green complexes and bunkering along with Sonoran Desert washes and ravines that look like you're in the Arizona Desert... with a gorgeous coastal view..!!???

Bring a camera. The par 5 seventh on the Arroyo, if you decide to play that nine, demands attention, particularly from the approach shot all the way to the green. Your view over the coast below is unforgettable. The par 4 fifth on the Mountain nine is NOT about the ocean: It is all about the incredible design vision of Mr. Nicklaus. The par 5 seventh will be memorable, too. The second and third holes on the Ocean Nine, as well as the final three holes make THAT nine the one that impresses itself on the mind most deeply.

Make sure to tee it up at The Ocean Course at Cabo del Sol as well as Robert Trent Jones Jr's Cabo Real, if you can. Questro Golf offers a package deal for that, along with the Gary Nicklaus-designed Club Campestre and the JWN/Greg Norman paired nines at Puerto Los Cabos.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Top notch"


u697886970's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/11/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

This is a fabulous course. If in Cabo you must play this is a course. This course is fair but challenging!

I strongly recommend this course


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Pretty, but not worth it"


baggrab928's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/19/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

Course layout was tough & challenging on some holes, boring on others. With club rental, $240. Don't know how it compares to other courses in area, but I had higher expectations.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


"Palmilla golf"


Bruce33's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/29/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Nice course, very challenging trying to understand the first few holes on the ocean 9, not much ocean but nice fairways and greens ( some were still sanded). Very much a target layout, challenging and I’d like to play it again.

Muy Bonita


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


"Except for the taxes that they charge you to play there it's a nice course"


u772241432's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/29/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

They charged us an additional $16 per player taxes to play there


Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Palmilla"


TimmyTime's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/26/2017
Previously played Used cart Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We have played Palmilla before Arroyo and Ocean. This was the first time we saw the Mountain 9. Palmilla (all 27) is one of the very best tracks in San Jose del Cabo. We highly recommend it.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course



hevykev's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/07/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



johnhehn's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/04/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"One of the best in Cabo"


jnbrown10's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/11/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Can't go wrong greens are fast but the course is in excellent shape the driving range is superb highly recommend


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course




5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/02/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Beautiful course"


dscharr's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/04/2017
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

How can you go wrong in Cabo. On arrival, I was greeted by the staff, and proceeded to the clubhouse. I was scheduled to play Arroyo/Mountain combination.

I asked if I could play Ocean course, and was told there would be no problem.

The course setting was beautiful, with the ocean a backdrop on one of the holes. There were not a lot of golfers on the course, and the foursome playing in front of us waved us thru on the 6th hole. From there, did not see a golfer the rest of the day.

The holes are spread out amongst the villas, on the Ocean course, and the terrain on the Arroyo course.

All in all, was a great experience.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Beautiful!"


u9055230's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/08/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We really love to play here. The landscaping is so beautiful. The Arroyo Course is challenging yet doable for me, a female senior. The Oean Course kicked my behind, especially hole number nine. Overall a lot of fun.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Excellent"


kiwicocoa's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/16/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Friendly helpful staff. Great course. Super fun. Really liked the course design. Play it. You will enjoy it.


Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Better courses"


chrisosborne's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/31/2016
Previously played Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Palmilla touts itself as "The One and Only", but I came away under impressed. Their ocean 9 has only one hole on the ocean and the cost was more than most golf courses down in the Cab area. I think we will pass on this course in the future.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I don't recommend this course


"Classic Cabo at Palmilla"


farmer2's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/31/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Second course I played in Cabo. This was a classic. The ocean 9 runs right down to the beach. Beautiful track that has many challenges. The Arroyo 9 plays to many different elevations with number 7's elevated tee shot carry to a beautiful par 5 fairway is amazing.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Would play again."


maudtraveler's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/19/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was great. It was a little surprise to pay a 16% tax at the time of play on top of the golf now advertised rate. This added $52 more for two players.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Nice course but...."


davidmadden's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/02/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We two retired golfers have the luxury of traveling all over we have found that Mexico has no better courses that our own United States but most people feel they have to pay more for the same or less quality Golf Plus the language barrier and the money exchange issue. And then of course there is the added stress of going through Mexican and American customs.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"beware of timeshare deals"


gabriel6904906's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/19/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I had to cancel my twilight round because I was promised a free found the following day. The free round was from the Tiger Wood's/ Davis Love 111 course called Diamante. I was unaware of the cancelation policy at Palmillas. I had to pay $150 cancellation fee. I did end up playing 8:30 round worth $250 for free. All in all, read the fine print. The palmillas is a definate bucket lister... no words can explain this beutiful, challenging, fun layout. Will definately return.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Palmilla Ocean Course"


u000001464929's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/25/2015
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Everything was awesome. The course is in excellent condition. Muchas gracias!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great course, in excellent condition"


jeff0715's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/12/2015
Previously played Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in excellent shape, greens and fairways were perfect.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed