Miami Shores Country Club

4.0464352941 4.0 stars from 5 (99)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 71
  • Length: 6705 yards
  • Slope: 131
  • Rating: 71.2
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 71 6705 yards 71.2 131
White 71 6310 yards 69.8 130
Gold 71 5511 yards 68.4 129
Red (W) 72 5036 yards 72.8 124

Historic Miami Shores Country Club offers a classic 18-hole championship golf course that is the home of a vast array of sub-tropical wildlife and vegetation. The Club has been host to a number of prestigious events including the Florida State Open.

Celebrities such as Bob Hope, Joe DiMaggio, Arnold Palmer, Sam Snead and Lee Trevino have graced the lush fairways.

The front nine calls for precise approach shots into small well bunkered, contoured greens. The incoming nine calls for well-placed tee shots.

This Red Laurence designed course offers other amenities like a 120 seat lounge with a panoramic view of the golf course and lighted driving range, six clay tennis courts, three hard courts, swimming pool, extra large men's and ladies' locker rooms and a staff that understands the meaning of service.

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.0 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.7 stars from 5
Value: 4.1 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.7 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.1 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.1 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.9 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 99 Reviews
5 stars:
37
4 stars:
39
3 stars:
17
2 stars:
5
1 stars:
1

recommend this course

86 out of 99 reviews


loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Good course at a reasonable price"


Joe8488220's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/11/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

As an English man killing my last few days in the US (I was looking for a round or two to squeeze in after spending the week at Trump Doral), I discovered the course on the GolfNow app.

Condition or standard-wise It's no Blue Monster but to be honest, I found it just as enjoyable.

Played from the back tees it presents a slight challenge for a mid to low handicapper and there is some variation. Greens are good (not too tough to read), and the overall condition was fair.

The staff were friendly and welcoming, the food reasonably priced. If it was on a Hot Deal I would play it again (the standard green fee is too high in my opinion).


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Good Course"


stantruskie's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/10/2018
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Old, established course, well maintained. I play it every time I visit Miami.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Small greens"


Johncanesfan's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/02/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Need good iron shots to small greens but birdies are there if U hit them


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Flood!"


msuman's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/20/2018
Previously played Used cart Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was flooded; they should have probably closed, but hey-it beats work!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



Sebastian9307828's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/16/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



u5424831's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/15/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



u277683310's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/21/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



u025869462's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/18/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Good course"


Joerg8304051's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/03/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course is playing pretty fair. The fairways are wide enough to stay on them. I was surprised to find the greens in such excellent conditions. I would play there again.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



merlin007ca's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/22/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Respect?"


ppanadeau's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/09/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Still great greens.

I like the course because you can drive often and it's one of the pleasure of playing golf.

My complaint is that there was no marshall on duty and the group in front of us was slow and had no respect for us. For example, one of the guys was regularly practicing his putts after the completion of the hole even if we were waiting to hit. They seem to have a match and were good golfers. I am a good golfer but I don't act like that.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Only if you get a good deal"


Ryno3031's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/07/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was average. Good layout....greens were in solid shape but everywhere else was a little rough. Tee boxes were a little torn up....fairways were ok at best....i’m not a grass expect but much of the rough was (i think) zoisia which i’ve only seen on lower quality courses. I got a hot deal for $44 and thought that was a fair and reasonable price. If it costs any more than that I’d recommend you find another course....$80/$90 is waaayyy overpriced


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


"Great value for your money"


djtmd1959's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/03/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I played this course 4 times in March 2017. Either it was spared during the last hurricane season or the staff did a real good job getting it back in great shape as the course looks as good as 12 months ago. Not many bunkers and water hazards make this course friendly to the average golfer like myself. Great value for your money especially if you can grab the daily hot deal.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great course But..."


JorgeScoobs's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/01/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course.

But you come second to existing members that belong to the club. I don’t have a problem with that , I have a problem when they try to fit a foursome in front that where not scheduled for tee and it and that particular day they where extremely slow and are group did not get to finish the round due to daylight.

The starter was not courteous and kept pushing our tee time forward.

Other than that it is a great course .


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Nice course, good value"


tomhillman22's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/23/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played here twice when visiting from out of town. Had a really good experience both times. Negatives are no ocean views, and the layout is a little confusing at points. But the course is in great shape and the staff is really nice. Course is fun but not overly challenging. I also appreciated the option to rent both clubs and shoes. Would definitely play here again.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Jewel in Miami"


gyakulis's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/19/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

No condos, wide open, Good condition, friendly staff. I enjoyed my round.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



skiphayward's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/19/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


"Fine course."


ppanadeau's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/14/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

3th time there in the last 2 years.

Best conditions I have had.

Perfect greens.

Partners a little slow but fine people.

One stupid pin placement.

I like the layout.

It doesn't take away your driver.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Good Value for the area"


u000003095622's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/10/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Booked for about $60.00 which for this course and area so close to Miami , I would consider a good value. Nice driving range , helpful friendly staff resulted in good day of golf. Course in great shape, greens were very smooth and true. All raised greens that were shaved to make it tough to keep approach shot on green. A lot of fun especially with a little wind keeping you guessing. Surprisingly pace of play was good little over 4 hours for 18 holes on a Saturday!! I had been concerned as other reviews were critical of slow play, I played at 1:30 pm paired w two others and only waited on a couple holes. I would recommend as great choice when trying to find good course this close to Miami and reasonable price.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great track"


uIBCO3940IB's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/09/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

My wife and I are 20 handicappers. I played the senior tees and thought they were very fair. Fairways and greens in great shape. Thoroughly enjoyed the course. Great value for the price.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed