Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
4.1
682 Reviews (682)
5 Stars
191
4 Stars
342
3 Stars
100
2 Stars
34
1 Stars
15
Conditions
3.9
Value
4.4
Layout
4.3
Friendliness
4.4
Pace
4.3
Amenities
3.7
88.8%
Recommend this course
605 out of 682 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.1
55 Reviews (55)
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
29
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
3
Conditions
4.0
Value
4.3
Layout
4.1
Pace
4.5
Amenities
4.0
StaffFriendliness
4.4
87.3%
Recommend this course
48 out of 55 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.1
116 Reviews (116)
5 Stars
42
4 Stars
54
3 Stars
13
2 Stars
3
1 Stars
4
Conditions
4.0
Value
4.3
Layout
4.3
Pace
4.3
Amenities
3.8
StaffFriendliness
4.3
86.2%
Recommend this course
100 out of 116 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Public
Par 72
Length 7300 yards
Slope 133
Rating 75.6

The Golf Club at Hilton Head Lakes is a Tom Fazio design that is challenging, but with five sets of tees it is versatile enough for players of all skill levels. Fazio deftly utilized the native wetlands and numerous lakes that are interspersed across the landscape, incorporating them along the expansive fairways and angled greens. The tricky greens have been carefully molded and contoured to offer a variety of pin placements. In addition to the water hazards, there are also numerous strategically placed bunkers lurking throughout. The golf course will test your shot-making skills as well as your creativity. To complement the golf course, Hilton Head Lakes offers an equally impressive 36-acre, double-ended practice facility with target greens, bunkers, multiple practice greens, and even a par-3 short course.

Book a Tee Time at
The Golf Club at Hilton Head Lakes
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 2007
Golf Season Year round
Architect Tommy Fazio

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes
Pull-carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Bunker Yes
Caddies No
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes
Practice Hole Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted Yes
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes
Dress code Proper golf attire.

Reviews

4.1
682 Reviews (682)

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 19
19th Hole Specials 6
Course Challenges Include:
Bunkers 90
Water Hazards 84
Plays Long 42
This course/club is great for:
Locals 79
Seniors 60
Beginners 42
This Course's Location is:
Worth the Drive 59
Convenient to the City 37
In the 'Burbs 33

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once every three months
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Hilton Head Lakes

Greens were in great shape even though it has been wet lately. Fare ways are wide open and bunkers are strategically placed to make the course challenging enough to be fun. The only thing you will need to check for before you play are the cart path only holes. Some of the cart paths on the back nine are half a mile (exaggeration) from the fare way. If you are playing with someone with physical limitations this will slow your game down dramatically. After the tee shot on par 5’s I would have to pull out my 2nd, 3rd, 4th and 5th club out and carry with me so I wasn’t having to hoof it back and forth to the cart. A little inconvenient, but the quality of the course for the amount of money makes up for it.

The Marshall is on you as well so don’t grab food at the turn, or they will give you a good tongue lashing. Even if it is not crowded.

Great course just make sure to play when it’s dry and check for cart path only requirement before you book!!

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Average
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Cart path only

Did not know until arrived, play was cart path only. So far as I know, other courses were not cart only. This course seems to not wick water well...last rain Sat and we played Wed. Since I prepaid, my understanding was no refund. So my group of mid 70 to late age persons struggled Thru. I expect this course is often cart path only. Do not prepay, and then check before getting a Ttime.

Conditions Poor
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Commented on 01/21/2020

Hello, Rcsummers. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We apologize for any confusion or misunderstanding regarding your recent reservation and redeeming your rewards. It sounds as though you booked your round with us through GolfNow. If you have any questions regarding your GolfNow rewards or GolfNow reservations in the future, please contact 1 (800) 767-3574. We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars, but we hope you'll give us another try in the near future.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Cold weather
Used cart

disappointed

Cart path only made this round very, very unpleasant. Very wet, cold outside. Extremely long rides between holes makes this course a real challenge should you wish to walk it. I won't play it again at any price. If I had known in advance that it was cart path only, I would have not played it and gladly forgot about the price I payed thru 'golf now".

Conditions Average
Value Fair
Layout Fair
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Image
Commented on 01/13/2020

Thank you for reviewing the course. Let us first start by apologizing for the poor experience you had during your visit. Your feedback about the course is important to us. With the recent rain we are working to get everything up to par. We have projects ongoing and the current condition is by no means the standard we strive to achieve. We will continue to work towards an excellent experience by using your comment for guidance. Thank you for playing The Golf Club at Hilton Head Lakes. We hope to see you again soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Good price

This is a great course that usually has great conditions. Over the past couple years the prices have gone up more than I’m willing to pay. Finding hot deals through Golfnow is the best way to go if you wanna play here. If you go through the pro shop it’s gonna cost you $45+. IMO you can play better courses for that rate.

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
1.0
First Time Playing
Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Average
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Commented on 01/21/2020

Hi Dukjae5270694. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. We see you rated the course 1-star and are interested in learning what we can do to improve for your next visit. We take single star feedback very serious at our course. You are welcome to comment further or reach out to our team in the golf shop. We always appreciate the feedback. Thank you for playing The Golf Club at Hilton Head Lakes.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
1.0
First Time Playing
Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Fair
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
3.0
First Time Playing

Horrible pace!

It took me 4 hrs just get to 12th hole and there were bunch of old 4 sums every holes ahead of us on weekday play. We just quit there and left. You probably need 5+ hours even on weekdays.

Conditions Average
Value Fair
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Poor
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Commented on 01/07/2020

Thank you for reviewing the course. Let us first start by apologizing for the delay of play during your round. This is by no means the standard we strive to achieve. We are going to escalate your feedback to our team so we can make improvements before your next game. Thank you for playing The Golf Club at Hilton Head Lakes. We hope to see you again soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Wet

Was cart path only due to recent rains but greens rolled really well as always. Four hrs 15 min round which wasn’t bad considering Carr path only

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once every three months
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Rambling Golfer's Review

Beautiful day. Course generally uncrowded. Greens ran fast and true. Pleasant staff. Got a "Hot Deal"on Golf Now that made for a good deal.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 1000 Contributor
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Fair
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Difficulty Fairly Easy
Default User Image
Commented on 12/09/2019

Hello, thank you for taking the time to leave The Golf Club at Hilton Head Lakes a review. We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars, but we hope you'll give us another try in the near future.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

An even better value now

First time in 3 years we played here and the upgrades were obvious. The nines have been reversed, the drainage improved markedly, new clubhouse is very nice, staff is very engaging and helpful. Signage to reach clubhouse needs correction, but everything was very good. It’s an open course, helping us high handicaps and infrequent golfers.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Wet and long.

The course was in good shape. However, it was extremely wet. There were fairways that were cart path only. But in fairness, all the fairways were as wet as the ones we had to stay off. For us, the course played very long, and was not very woman friendly. The marshal was kind of a crouch.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Excellent
Amenities Fair
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Advanced
Plays Twice a year
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Loved the course. Ladies it’s friendly. We beat the guys . Greens fast

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Greens were smooth and true rolling probably 10.5.
Generous fairways in perfect condition. Would definitely come back and play...........

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played

Pin placement

Pin placement posted was not correct. The greens were very fast. Probably around 12 or 13

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Fair
Played On
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Nearby Courses
Hardeeville, South Carolina
0.0
0
Hardeeville, South Carolina
4.4411764706
10
Bluffton, South Carolina
4.565
20
Bluffton, South Carolina
4.3333235294
6
Okatie, South Carolina
4.6667
15
Bluffton, South Carolina
4.3571428571
3
Bluffton, South Carolina
3.2662352941
449
Ridgeland, South Carolina
2.3676470588
12
Okatie, South Carolina
3.4275764706
562
Bluffton, South Carolina
4.9047714286
13
Bluffton, South Carolina
3.0429176471
770

Stay & Play Offers

From $350
Valid dates: Jan 21, 2020 - Jan 31, 2022
Stay at Solitude Inn on the Green and play one of the best course in SE Michigan, Solitude Links Golf Course. Learn more.
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE