The Golf Club at Hilton Head Lakes

4.0730058824 4.1 stars from 5 (477)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7300 yards
  • Slope: 133
  • Rating: 75.6
  • Layout

Gift this Course
  • 2500 Wiregrass Way, Bluffton, South Carolina 29927-4153
  • (866) 396-3230, (843) 208-5353
  • (843) 208-5354
  • www.hiltonheadlakes.com

Year built: 2007
Architect(s): Tommy Fazio
Type: Public
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Practice hole: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Proper golf attire.
Credit cards accepted: Yes

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Tradition 72 7300 yards 75.6 133
Blue 72 6650 yards 72.3 128
White 72 6200 yards 70.4 122
Green 72 5690 yards 67.9 116
Red (W) 72 4955 yards 69.1 120

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.1 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.2 stars from 5
Value: 4.5 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.3 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.3 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.9 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 477 Reviews
5 stars:
117
4 stars:
244
3 stars:
80
2 stars:
26
1 stars:
10

recommend this course

422 out of 473 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive convenient to the city in the 'burbs   Great for locals seniors beginners   Challenges include bunkers water hazards plays long   Great for drinks  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Steve"


uRCLR6773RC's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/13/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course has been updated and is s great value. Ride fairways and really true greens. Good course for the average golfer


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



u387809809's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/19/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Close to Home"


judieking99's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/12/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We love playing at this course because it is close to home & the pace of play if great. Plus, we usually get a great rate on golf now!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"The Golf Club at Hilton Head Lakes"


Gary1725312's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/12/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The new clubhouse is not built yet. But this should not stop you from golfing here! Beautiful course. Fazio design! All holes are separated from the rest. Lots of water. And alligators. Greens were good. The guy in the pro shop was exceptional. Very helpful. Explained how Tom Fazio designed this course. The young guy working outside was very friendly. I would golf here again - for sure.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


"A Great Wall Unspoiled"


jjk0144jk's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/07/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The back 9 is laid out in permanently preserved LowCountry nature with no housing.

The course overall is a classic Fabio layout with many interesting holes,especially the many doglegs with water creating the shape of the holes.

The greens r in excellent condition with the potential for many challenging pin placements requiring strategic approach shots.

The fairways will hopefully improve after the brutal winter.

The new clubhouse on a great finishing hole will enhance the pre and post round atmosphere.

It is also a great value for the quality of the course.I don’t

expect that to be true for long as physical improvements enhance the overall experience.

The young staff drawn from the local USC campus are reflective of excellent hiring instincts—-polite and helpful.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


"Friendly and helpful staff"


u5078707's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/06/2018
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This was our first time playing this course. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They answered our questions and offered great suggestions to enhance our golf experience. The course was in good condition for early February.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I recommend this course


"Close to Home"


judieking99's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/02/2018
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We love this course! We got a great discount thru Golf Now & it is very close to home. We are disappointed with the rates we pay in our community of Sun City. We pay high HOA's & that does not include our golf. So we choose to use Golf Now to book our off site golf rounds & we can play most courses we like for a lot cheaper.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"SWEET!!!!"


MICHAELu7911788's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/31/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

Best course in the winter conditions. I brought a new golf friend with me and his response was what a track. Played the blues, little long with some wind today. Course was challenging but fair. Greens, tees and fairways ALL in excellent condition......My friend said he wants another crack at it. When the clubhouse gets complete should be a gem. All the guys in the pro shop make you feel welcomed. The superintendent is doing a fantastic job. Kudos. See you next week.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



bobmckelvie's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/29/2018
Previously played Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Always Good"


TERRY7272's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/26/2018
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Best greens in the Savannah area. An hour drive but it is worth it. They have even put a lot of work into the traps. Very good range balls and turf to hit off of. As good a practice green as you would ever want....


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Wide Open Potential"


Chuck2063203's avatar
Top 100 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/26/2018
First time playing Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The negative - we got off to a shaky start when the counter guy in the temporary clubhouse (a new one is under construction) gave us the go ahead. We drove toward what we assumed was the first tee until a sign forced us in the opposite direction. I was all set to tee off when a foursome yelled "You have to tee off on 10!" It seems the counter guy didn't tell us the front was too backed up. Because this took so much time we were now behind a foursome instead of having a pretty clear course in front of us.

Everything else was positive - the course layout and conditions were superb. This seems like a newer course with very little rough and wide open fairways.

Due to a light rain the night before the greens were much slower (a.k.a. forgiving) than others we played earlier in the week. Scoring was another story as our back nine (the front) did not fair as well as our front (the back).

We hope to get another chance to play this course in the future. Its openness and overall layout are so inviting.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



wjmillar's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/26/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great course and value"


jwchurns's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/24/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

My wife and I had an 11:30 tee time. We went off around 11:15 as a twosome. Was to start on 10 behind a 3 4-some group. The starter had us go off on 1. Had the course to ourselves until 17! Played in just under 3 hours. Course has wide fairway but the layout was still challenging without being too hard. Staff was absolutely great. We stay on Hilton Head but he 20 mile drive is very worth it.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Surprised"


MICHAELu7911788's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/11/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Cole in the pro shop nice as can be...Both times I played. After all the snow and rain course was super playable. Greens looked rolled and putted nicely. Sand traps were dialed in. Best I've seen. Tees and fairways great shape. Great round. Good time. Will be back.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Ice"


RLHorvat's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/11/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

With recent ice and snow, the course was in good condition. Decent layout with wide fairways. Cart path only and traps were still wet but to be expected. No standing water. Enjoyed the day.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Course has nice layout..."


Tiger099's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/21/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Greens were fast and I liked the layout of the course. We ran into difficulty on the back 9 with having to constantly wait to play and ended up not finishing the course due to time constraints...started us out on back 9 but when we came to the 1st tee there was a foursome ahead of us and a threesome ahead of them. Waited constantly.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Good value for your money"


bluff2013's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/20/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course has a great layout to give you a challenge, great friendly staff . Good golfnow hot deal


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Good Time!"


Joe7214138's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/17/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in good condition for the time of year. New clubhouse being built. Disappointed that there was no refreshment cart since it is very inconvenient to stop at the turn for snack or beverage. Problem solved once new clubhouse opens. Greens in good shape. Overall a good experience for a last minute round in December!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course



u2191051's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/10/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


"First time, great time"


uARQX1070AR's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/05/2017
First time playing Used cart Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

My first round at Hilton Head Lakes. Passed it many times on the way to other courses but will check this course out first in the future.

Course is in great shape with great greens, nice fairways and tee boxes. Traps need a little maintenance as do most of the courses in this area. Other than that, its a course you should consider your next time out.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



tomjenns's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/04/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed