The Golf Club at Hilton Head Lakes

4.0890470588 4.1 stars from 5 (496)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7300 yards
  • Slope: 133
  • Rating: 75.6
  • Layout

Gift this Course
  • 2500 Wiregrass Way, Bluffton, South Carolina 29927-4153
  • (866) 396-3230, (843) 208-5353
  • (843) 208-5354
  • www.hiltonheadlakes.com

Year built: 2007
Architect(s): Tommy Fazio
Type: Public
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Practice hole: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Proper golf attire.
Credit cards accepted: Yes

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Tradition 72 7300 yards 75.6 133
Blue 72 6650 yards 72.3 128
White 72 6200 yards 70.4 122
Green 72 5690 yards 67.9 116
Red (W) 72 4955 yards 69.1 120

The Golf Club at Hilton Head Lakes is a Tom Fazio design that is challenging, but with five sets of tees it is versatile enough for players of all skill levels. Fazio deftly utilized the native wetlands and numerous lakes that are interspersed across the landscape, incorporating them along the expansive fairways and angled greens. The tricky greens have been carefully molded and contoured to offer a variety of pin placements. In addition to the water hazards, there are also numerous strategically placed bunkers lurking throughout. The golf course will test your shot-making skills as well as your creativity. To complement the golf course, Hilton Head Lakes offers an equally impressive 36-acre, double-ended practice facility with target greens, bunkers, multiple practice greens, and even a par-3 short course.

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.1 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.2 stars from 5
Value: 4.5 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.3 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.3 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.9 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 496 Reviews
5 stars:
121
4 stars:
256
3 stars:
81
2 stars:
28
1 stars:
10

recommend this course

440 out of 492 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive convenient to the city in the 'burbs   Great for locals seniors beginners   Challenges include bunkers water hazards plays long   Great for drinks  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

u2191051's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/10/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


"Terrible Customer Service"


u000005323273's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/14/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Have played the course a number of times without incident but when we arrived this time we were set up on a very rough looking cart so I asked for another one and was told they couldn't supply another one but if I continually pressed the brake it will eventually work. Cart started to die on the 12th hole and quit a few holes later. Partner walked to the pro shop and when the young guy came out with another cart he thought the whole thing was quite funny. After struggling with the cart for a number of holes I failed to see the humor in the situation. He said it was probably the third cart to quit recently. Before we left the parking lot I said how disappointed we were we did not finish our round and he said it wasn't his problem. He said we should have called for another cart. I told him we didn't have a phone and he said that was on us and we couldn't blame him for the problem. Because of his terrible attitude and lousy customer service we cancelled the two games we had booked for the following week and WILL NEVER RETURN. Should also mention when we arrived at the first tee there was a "sixsome" on the tee. All six guys teed off and fortunately when they saw we were a twosome they kindly let us go ahead of them. Unfortunately a very nice day was ruined by a young man who needs to learn something about customer service.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


"A little better than average"


9rcrazy's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/11/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course is a nice layout. Fairways were a little thin and dry, but you are able to roll you ball to find a piece grass to hit off. Greens were not bad. They were firm and rolled well. Staff was friendly.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Course evaluation"


1SIGNATURE3's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/08/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course was a very nice course but when the housing development is finished it will probably be as good as any course in Hilton Head I appreciate the fact that I was able to play the course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Good for price"


smurfitt's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/06/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very nice layout. Greens and tees were good.

Fairways a little sparse but it is that time of year for carolinas. Pace of play was a little slow . Temp clubhouse but they are working on the new one. Great for the price we payed. Good course for coming into or out of Hilton Head area.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from The Golf Club at Hilton Head Lakes on 04/10/2018:

Hello, Thank you for sharing your review, We truly appreciate both your positive and constructive feedback regarding the course conditions and will be sure to pass it along to our team. We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our staff and sceneries at The Golf Club at Hilton Head Lakes, and also appreciate your input on our maintenance. We hope to welcome you back for an enjoyable experience on the course in the near future.


johntflynn's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/01/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Great afternoon of golf!"


Milesfa's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/01/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We had a great afternoon here!! Great pace of play! The fairways and tee boxes are a bit thin but the greens ate in awesome shape. The front nine winds through a housing development but they are not intrusive. The back nine is more in nature. Cart paths are great and lots of wildlife. Friendly staff. Would definately play here again!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


"Sweet Sunrise"


GOLFNSVNA's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/31/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

You guys did it again. Top notch service, Keith in the pro shop super friendly and accomadating. First off tee box, played with Bob who I just met, nice guy good convo. Allowed the 4 some residents to play through. Course conditions tee to green great shape especially since rain the prior day. Pace of play excellent. Sat morning bunkers not raked, other than that, great day. Love the course. Left buying merchandise at the pro shop. Clubhouse?????


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Nice course"


dporter1952's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/31/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Little far out from HHI or Bluffton but worth the ride. Never crowded and excellent value for the money.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



u000003029239's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/31/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Good value"


adams15's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/29/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We like this course.We are playing again soon. Only negative is that the area is unshaded and dull brown.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Not a typical links style course"


u224545053's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/22/2018
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Tee boxes were a little beat up, greens were good, It looks like Mother Nature is the only water the course gets however considering the time of year... the course was pretty dry and brown. In terms of hazards, what you see is what you get, nothing hidden except the 9th hole, water in front of the green. Pretty windy the day we played would like to play again when not so windy. Cart ran OK but was in pretty bad shape, the cover to protect the clubs in case of rain was ripped to shreds.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



u000005595995's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/16/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I recommend this course


Response from The Golf Club at Hilton Head Lakes on 03/21/2018:

Hello, thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to review your experience with us, we truly appreciate your feedback and will certainly pass it along to our team. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to the 5-star experience that you deserve.

"Getting Better"


gdmayf's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/13/2018
Previously played Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Fairways have not 'blossomed' for full turf. Grass is there but is short and pretty thinly growing at this time. Greens were, for the most part, very good. Staff was friendly and helpful. They made us feel welcome. The course layout is challenging. Bring your A game.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Windy......"


GOLFNSVNA's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/08/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

Another great round!!!!! Course great shape tee to green. 20 mph gusts little chilly but still great day. Greens rolling true, tee boxes great shape, fairways greening up, working on a few sand traps. Staff is top notch. Clubhouse not done yet, will be sweet. Practice facility's are excellent. Be back. Soon.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



jmillerpa1's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/07/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Improving"


David5134860's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/28/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course is a very good choice

They are improving at every level

The new clubhouse is very close to opening,

Removal of some unnecessary bunkering will improve pace of play

The addition of bathroom facilities on the course is welcome

Note; Caught the biggest big mouth bass ever on number 5 with a small alligator watching


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Great course great staff"


ddjdsj's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  25+

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/28/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very good condition, very friendly staff. Will return as often as possible.

The world famous Scrappy Jackson


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Good find"


WGL6097's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/27/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

A friend and I were staying in Savannah looking for a reasonable green fee. Checked on Golf Now when we found Hilton Head Lakes. We had a moring tee time, when we arrived, no other players on the course. By the time w made the turn, more players started to show up. The staff was very attentive. Course layout was great and in good condition. A typical Tom Fazio layout. Mulitple bunkers around the greens. Pin placement was tight. We would definitely play again when in the area.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Forgiving but challenging"


John9397535's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/25/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played this course with a good friend that moved to the area from Tennessee. I had finished a 3 day play & stay on the Island with group of 12 from Knoxville and stayed an extra day to play on my friends day off. We both loved the course. A good mixture of Challenges and good scenery. I will definitely play this course next time I am in town. Only complaint there were no coolers for our beverages.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



u387809809's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/19/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed