Tapatio Springs Hill Country Resort & Spa

4.3746647059 4.4 stars from 5 (388)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6504 yards
  • Slope: 137
  • Rating: 72.5

  • 1 Resort Way, Boerne, TX 78006
  • (855) 627-2243
  • (830) 537-4962
  • www.tapatioresort.com
Write Review

Year built: 1981
Architect(s): Bill Johnston (1981), Tripp Davis (2014)
Type: Resort
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
GPS: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Proper golf attire required.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed

Tees

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 6504 yards 72.5 137
Gold 72 6114 yards 70.8 135
Member 72 5843 yards 69.8 134
White 72 5702 yards 68.7 133
Forward (W) 72 5185 yards 70.7 130

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.4 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.1 stars from 5
Value: 4.4 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.5 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.5 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.2 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 388 Reviews
5 stars:
152
4 stars:
146
3 stars:
55
2 stars:
22
1 stars:
13

recommend this course

335 out of 386 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is at a resort worth the drive convenient to the city   Great for wildlife/ scenic views a weekend splurge group getaways   Challenges include bunkers elevation changes water hazards   Great for drinks patio dining 19th hole scenic views  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"The renovation turned out great!"


FairwayVaquero's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Twice a year
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/01/2016
Previously played Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Love the receptive greens. Approach shots will not simply bounce away. Nice undulations allow for challenge with no fear of "glass-like" putt rolls. Fairways allow for good roll and some are very generous in their width.

Every hole will test your draw, fade, or straight bias. A premium is placed on knowing how to play your bias with differing holes and elevations. Altogether, this makes for an enjoyable round in the scenic Texas Hill Country. Please, be careful not to slow the pace of play by taking pics at every hole. I did take pics but I was not playing in a foursome. Enjoy folks!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



Response from Tapatio Springs Golf on 11/04/2016:

Thank you for the great 4-Star review! We're happy to see you had a great round, and that you were more than pleased with the renovation. This is a great video! Be sure to share on Facebook here https://www.facebook.com/tapatiosprings/?fref=ts<br/> Come play again soon!

"Great Experience"


marcburnikel's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/10/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

A little ways away but well worth drive. Great layout, good condition, friendly staff and not crowded. Definitely recommend.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Tapatio Springs Country Club & Resort on 06/13/2018:

Thank you for the 5-star rating and review! We are glad you found the course well worth the drive. We appreciate the recommendation, and hope to see you out there again soon!

"Back to Tapatio Springs after 1.5 years"


Angel3186805's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/01/2018
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Been away from Tapatio Springs for some time and finally made it back after news of the club burning down. Course is under maintenance program but played very nice! Play was good until we came up on a group of 5, they didn't let us play through...thank god we were on the back 9 by then. Temporary club house was nice and well stocked and staff was very nice. We will be back soon!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Tapatio Springs Country Club & Resort on 06/04/2018:

Thank you for your review. We are glad you made it back finally! We hope to see you out there more often this season.


joer123's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/29/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Tapatio Springs Country Club & Resort on 05/31/2018:

Thank you for the great review! We are glad you found value in t he course. Book your next round with us soon!


pc841's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/21/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Tapatio Springs Country Club & Resort on 05/24/2018:

Thank you for the 4-star rating! Book your next round with us soon.


u956030193's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/18/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Tapatio Springs Country Club & Resort on 05/21/2018:

We are sorry to learn your experience of the course was anything short of 5 stars. We hope you give us another shot soon.

"Love it!"


James6327194's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/10/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The BEST course in SA area!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



Response from Tapatio Springs Country Club & Resort on 05/14/2018:

Thank you for the 5-star review! We are honored you consider Tapatio the best golf course in the San Antonio area. That's a great picture you took! We hope you book your next round with us soon.

"Fun course"


u00000623807's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/07/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

If you want to play a course that you have to use all of your clubs this is the one. Can't just pull out driver on all par 4s or 5s. Greens in good shape and just a beautiful course


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Tapatio Springs Country Club & Resort on 05/09/2018:

Thank you for the 5 stars. Now that you have more of a feel for the course, we hope you book another round for more practice!

"The layout was great and very beautiful."


abradley03151955jr14's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/07/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

When I checked in for our TT they did not have it scheduled in there system. I indicated and show them my email for verification. Which then they allow us to play.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Tapatio Springs Country Club & Resort on 05/09/2018:

We apologize for the confusion, though we are happy we were able to accommodate you promptly. We hope you enjoyed your round and wish to see you out there again soon.


Javier8055827's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/28/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Tapatio Springs Country Club & Resort on 05/01/2018:

Thank you for the 4 stars! Come play again soon.

"Fun round of golf"


SpringVa's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/10/2018
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We played Tapatio for the second time in one week recently and we found it to be very enjoyable. We did end up skipping ahead of a slow group each time, but really we'd rather do that than play behind very slow players. Each of the staff members we've encountered over these past 2 rounds were extremely friendly and helpful, especially the cart lady! She always brought a smile to my face (and no, I wasn't buying alcohol, just a Diet soda).


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Tapatio Springs Country Club & Resort on 04/13/2018:

We're glad you decided to come back for round 2! We are also glad you enjoyed the quality of our course staff. Come play again soon!

"Browns"


Booberrybogey's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/09/2018

Reviewed on

I hit 17 Brown's in regulations very hard to score the browns do not hold the line as expected got lots of bogeys. Leave your divot tool at home its impossible to leave a ball mark on the greens.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Tapatio Springs Country Club & Resort on 04/13/2018:

We are aware of the situation with the greens and have done some soil testing to be proactive We expect to see conditions improve very quickly.


scottadkins's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/05/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Tapatio Springs Country Club & Resort on 04/12/2018:

Thank you for the 4-star rating! Come play again soon.

"North of San Antonio jewel"


Hillbillygolfbum's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/04/2018
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played here after Final Four. Excellent conditions, several forced carries, WINDY.

Will return if back in area!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Tapatio Springs Country Club & Resort on 04/12/2018:

We're glad you made it out to the golf course! We look forward to your next visit soon.

"Fun layout, dry greens"


sbhershberger's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/01/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I enjoyed the course layout (except for the Par 5 13th where you can't hit driver). The course is fun, GPS on the carts is great, snack cart is always nearby, practice facility is nice. Only drawback was the greens were not in excellent shape. They were pretty dried out and could use some seed and water, though they were still relatively slow.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Tapatio Springs Country Club & Resort on 04/13/2018:

We are glad you enjoyed the course layout. regarding the greens, we have proceeded with some soil testing and expect to see the greens improve soon. We hope you give us another shot.

"Greens, greens, GREENS!"


mcogolfer's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/30/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

Came to town for the Final Four and am staying at La Cantera, but decided to play somewhere else for a day. So I logged in and looked for highly rated ones, and this spot sat at the top of the list. That being said, we made the trek out and loved the setup on the drive in. Warmed up a bit, then had to ask the cart lady where the first tee was, which isn't a big deal since I already knew the clubhouse succumbed to fire, otherwise it would have been simple to find. At any rate, bombed our first drives down the middle, hit solid approach shots, then ....... walked on the green, and it looked as if it was a victim of the fire also. To make a long story shorter, EVERY green has some sort of burn to it, with about 25% of them having a full burn through the middle of the whole thing. I took pictures because I'm from Central Florida, and greens like this would get a course blackballed in just a few hours. I love the challenge and layout of the course, but I can't score on unpredictable greens.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from Tapatio Springs Country Club & Resort on 04/13/2018:

We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback. We do have some greens that have not made it out of the dormant season as quick as we would have liked. We are aware of the situation and have done some soil testing to be proactive. We expect to see conditions improve very quickly.

"Disappointing, as I have played it in better condition."


golfer69272's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/29/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I was disappointed in the condition of the course this time, especially the greens. It appeared that all of the greens were suffering from either being over fertilized or just not maintained that well. They were very grainy and difficult to see any breaks. Mostly they appeared to be burnt or distressed and lots of brown spots on the greens. I have played this course in much better condition than my most recent round and hopefully the greens will come back from their current condition. The club house was gone due to a fire but the portable buildings being used were clean and orderly. i hope the new clubhouse and pro shop will have the views and outside seating they once had. Right now, there are other better maintained golf courses in the area to play, but will book another round probably in the Fall.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Tapatio Springs Country Club & Resort on 04/13/2018:

We are sorry to learn you did not have as great of an experience as expected. As for the greens, we have still had some very brisk mornings and growing weather has not quite hit us in full. We are aware of the situation and have done some soil testing to be proactive. We expect to see conditions improve very quickly, so we hope you give us another shot soon.


Alschladoer's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/24/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Tapatio Springs Country Club & Resort on 04/13/2018:

Thank you for the 4 stars! Come play again soon.

"Hill Country"


Ganolife's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/14/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Absolutely love everything about this course & looking forward to my next round, the staff was fantastic. Sad to see the clubhouse burned out but I’m sure the new one will be fabulous. Thanks to all for the hard work to make our round one for the books :)))


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Tapatio Springs Country Club & Resort on 04/27/2018:

Thank you for the wonderful 5-star review! We are glad you had a great day and we look forward to having you out there again soon.

"Beautiful track!"


tiburonazo's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/10/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

Tapatio is one of my favorite courses in the Hill Country. The track is beautifully laid and in pristine condition. I love that range balls are free, which only top tier golf clubs offer this. The course is challenging but fun. I definitely recommend it to anyone visiting the Hill Country, and I’m definitely coming back.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Tapatio Springs Country Club & Resort on 05/07/2018:

Thank you for the wonderful 5-star review! We are honored you consider Tapatio one of your favorite courses in the Hill Country. We look forward to your next round with us.

"Slow"


u000007421635's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/08/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The members don’t like green fee players. They were rude and played slow. More visiting than playing. They couldn’t care less that they were holding up play.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Tapatio Springs Country Club & Resort on 04/27/2018:

We are sorry to learn your experience was anything short of 5 stars. We are also sorry you feel this way about the members you may have encountered on this day. We can assure you we welcome all golfers! We hope you join us again in the near future.


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed