The Golf Club at Champions Circle

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.8
375
5 Stars
71
4 Stars
162
3 Stars
76
2 Stars
42
1 Stars
24
Conditions
3.6
Value
3.9
Layout
4.3
Friendliness
4.3
Pace
3.8
Amenities
3.7
79.5%
Recommend this course
288 out of 374 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
3.9
41
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
18
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
4
1 Stars
1
Conditions
3.6
Value
3.9
Layout
4.5
Pace
3.9
Amenities
3.7
StaffFriendliness
4.3
82.9%
Recommend this course
34 out of 41 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
4.0
62
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
25
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
4
1 Stars
2
Conditions
3.8
Value
4.1
Layout
4.4
Pace
4.0
Amenities
3.8
StaffFriendliness
4.5
85.5%
Recommend this course
53 out of 62 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 72
Length 7027
Slope 143
Rating 73.7
Type Public/Resort
Book a Tee Time at
Golf Club at Champions Circle
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7027 yards 73.7 143
Blue 72 6496 yards 71.0 131
White 72 5841 yards 68.4 125
Red (W) 72 5143 yards 70.7 120
Scorecard for Champions Circle
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Black M: 73.7/143 334 443 460 305 181 525 437 341 465 3491 373 598 185 414 335 199 456 436 483 3479 6970
Gold M: 71.0/131 318 411 417 261 163 475 384 308 440 3177 343 581 158 391 312 187 411 407 465 3255 6432
White M: 68.4/125 260 381 375 217 147 442 348 277 382 2829 309 530 141 328 301 167 381 375 440 2972 5801
Red W: 70.7/120 239 351 325 200 111 416 279 230 299 2450 277 501 101 280 289 134 349 342 420 2693 5143
Handicap 13 1 5 11 15 9 7 17 3 10 4 14 12 16 6 8 2 18
Par 4 4 4 4 3 5 4 4 4 36 4 5 3 4 4 3 4 4 5 36 72

Course Details

Year Built 2000
Greens Bermuda Grass
Golf Season Year round
Architect Greg Norman (2000) Jay Morrish (2002)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes
Pull-carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Bunker Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Metal Spikes Allowed No
Fivesomes Allowed No
Single Allowed No
Dress code Collared golf shirts and proper Bermuda length shorts or slacks required. Denim or blue jeans, halter-tops, bathing suits, sweat pants or t-shirts of any kind, are not considered golf attire and are prohibited.

Reviews

3.8
375

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 28
Watching the Game 8
Brunch 6
Course Challenges Include:
Bunkers 27
Water Hazards 21
Forced Carries 20
This course/club is great for:
Locals 36
Advanced Golfers 23
A Weekend Splurge 16
This Course's Location is:
Convenient to the City 24
Worth the Drive 20
Near Local Attractions 15
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Good for All Skill Sets

This course is fun for all levels of player. Some short par 4's from the white tees help build confidence. Great course!

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great Layout

Even with several of the holes underwater several days prior to my playing the course, Superintendent and his crew should be given a bonus for not only getting the course playable, but in excellent condition. Played 90 degrees which was understandable, played 4.5 hours but seemed much quicker. Cart Girl was awesome and always appeared when an adult beverage was required. If you have not played this course, go. On GolfNow paid under $37,

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Windy weather
Used cart

Good Course Even With Some Wind

Had a great time playing this course even with a pretty good breeze!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Outstanding Course!

Friendly people and a great course. Well maintained and good for most player types. Thoroughly enjoyed the round!

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Nice layout but terribly maintained

For a well laid-out course the maintenance was terrible. Middle of August the fairways were plush but we're grown to level of first cut rough. no way to get any spin on the ball. The greens were terribly slow, probably rolling at about a 4 on the stemp meter.

There's to get up and down on some of the holes are hazardous. they need to fill those in or someone is going to get hurt tripping on them.

Even though I got this at a good rate on GolfNow there are better courses around the Metroplex that are better maintained for similar pricing.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Average
Friendliness Poor
Pace Average
Amenities Poor
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart

Slow Play

Great course layout, stacked tee times promote slow play.

Conditions Good
Value Fair
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Fair
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Slowest round of the Year!

Greens bumpy and slow. It took over 7 hours to play a round. There were no marshalls on the course. This was my longest round of the year. I will not return to this course. Too many other courses in DFW!

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Poor
Amenities Fair
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

It's a Shame

Let's start with, I have played this course a lot! All the way back to when it first opened. I have seen it when it was good and bad. It's not the worst I have ever seen it but... The fairways a pretty good, it goes down hill from there. Tee boxes are like the rough, very tall. The only good thing about the greens is they are not dirt, which they have been in the past. To top it all off, there was an issue with the cart. after a couple of holes it would barely climb a hill and the batter light came on. We switched carts at the turn, two holes later, exactly the same problem. Taking this one out of the rotation, AGAIN.

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart

GO PLAY IT!!!

I have only been here 4 years, but this is the best course in the DFW area. Great mixture of holes and you will likely use all clubs in your bag. Hole #1 lets you get off to a smooth start, however the next two holes let you know you are playing a challenging course.

The staff was very courteous and went out of way once they know I was a first timer to make sure I had a great experience.

The only negative was the course was pretty saturated in spots, likely due to the extremely hot weather we have been having.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from Champions Circle Management on 08/09/2018:
We're happy to hear you enjoyed playing Champions Circle! Thank you for rating the course 5-stars. See you soon!
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Great course choice for north Fort Worth/Mid-Cities

Have played Champions a few times, first time this summer. Greens have obviously been punched in the last week (wish they would have warned me) but this bodes well for golfers in a couple of weeks. There were a lot of really soggy areas in the fairways in the AM, but they were in great shape other than that.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Response from Champions Circle Management on 08/09/2018:
Thank you for playing Champions Circle and sharing your 5-star experience!
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 500 Contributor
Previously Played

Hidden Gem

Played this again and do not disappoint. The greens were a little today, the fairways were in decent shape.

Always recommend to play this course!

Enjoy!

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Response from Champions Circle Management on 07/30/2018:
Thank you for playing Champions Circle and rating the course 4-stars!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Previously Played

Nice but could be better

Have played here a couple of times. Really like the layout. Only complaint is that they over water the course. The last 2 times I played here on a weekend and there is standing water in most of the fairways. I know you want to keep it green in the Texas summer but balls shouldn’t peg and you shouldn’t have to hit out of mud in the middle of the fairway.

Conditions Fair
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Fair
Response from Champions Circle Management on 07/30/2018:
Thank you for the review and course recommendation!
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Excellent Shape!!!!!!

Well, this was the second time I've ever played Champions Circle. The first time was several years ago in January. My rating of the course from today's round has not been influenced by anything from my past round!

The biggest reason(s) I only gave this course 4-stars instead of 5-stars was primarily because of two things! First, and the biggest reason for the 1-star deduction was pace of play!!! Now, I know first hand that teeing off at 9:30am on a Saturday morning will be kind of slow, but I certainly wasn't expecting a 3 hour front 9 pace! The course staff was very pleasant in checking on golfers and trying to monitor the pace of play, and the course had plenty of water stations on this hot day! I also concede that this course is a stern test for any golfer, but having tee-times this close together (time wise) contributed to part of the pace of play problem! Just my opinion!!! The second problem I had, and it's strictly a PERSONAL problem, is the pace of the greens! I knew from prior reviews of the course that the greens were on the slow side, but I wasn't expecting them to be this slow! Now, there is nothing wrong with the greens in terms of condition!!! They putted really true, looked healthy, and the ball rolled as true as could be, but the pace was just too slow for my liking!!! I will certainly play this course again as my score today was due to a bad ball striking day, but I will try to play this course during the time of year when the speeds are a bit faster!

In closing, I just wanted to say that I was thoroughly pleased with the course overall! I look forward to seeing this track again soon!

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Poor
Response from Champions Circle Management on 07/30/2018:
We're happy to hear you enjoyed playing Champions Circle. Thank you for providing feedback on the pace of play and greens conditions. Our staff looks forward to your next round. See you soon!
Played On
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Response from Champions Circle Management on 07/30/2018:
Thank you for the 4-star review!
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Poor Management

Had a t time at 7:36am. Got to the course and was told there was a tournament at 9am. We had to start on the back and got through 7 holes before the tournament started. We had to skip 4 holes because the backup from the tournament would have cost us another hour or more. Very disappointed in not getting to play the entire course. They should notify people if a tournament is going to interrupt your game.

Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Fair
Amenities Excellent
Response from Champions Circle Management on 08/09/2018:
We're sorry to hear a tournament interrupted your round. Your feedback is important to us!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from Champions Circle Management on 07/30/2018:
Thank you for the 5-star review!
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from Champions Circle Management on 07/30/2018:
Thank you for the 4-star review!
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Deceptive Course

Have played this course many times. Always a challenge. Front 9 will tease you thinking the course is wide open and fairly easy then when you get to the back nine everything changes, the back nine squeezes your shots as there are well protected greens waiting. Speaking of greens these were slow as usual but clean and smooth. I rate this course just under Fossil Creek in terms of difficulty.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Pace Excellent
Response from Champions Circle Management on 07/25/2018:
We're happy to hear you enjoyed a 5-star round!
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE