Wilderness Golf Course

4.7473823529 4.7 stars from 5 (160)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7106 yards
  • Slope: 126
  • Rating: 72.9
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7106 yards 72.9 126
Maroon 72 6720 yards 71.0 122
Green 72 6151 yards 68.4 115
Orange (W) 72 5414 yards N/A N/A

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.7 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.3 stars from 5
Value: 4.7 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.5 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.7 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.8 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.4 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 160 Reviews
5 stars:
113
4 stars:
44
3 stars:
1
2 stars:
2
1 stars:
0

recommend this course

155 out of 158 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive convenient to the city   Great for wildlife/ scenic views advanced golfers a weekend splurge   Challenges include undulating greens bunkers water hazards   Great for drinks patio dining watching the game  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Awesome course"


Philip7456579's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/23/2015
Previously played Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Average weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course is in beautiful shape. The staff is extremely friendly and I would highly recommend the Wilderness to anyone.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Wilderness - Always Great !"


822's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  0-4

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/04/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course played well, dormant conditions with very smooth fast greens. Great condition. Working on bunkers from flood, but overall a great play.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Challenging"


u058067032's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/24/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course. 7100+ yards from the tips. Playing during winter time course is still great and fun. Can’t wait for spring to hit!!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Can't Recommend Highly Enough!"


u9718767's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/15/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course, one of the best in the area. Only downside is it's too far from home to play it all the time.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Great Layout"


Hiram3058579's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/09/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great layout and great fun. They are working on the bunkers right now, but even that won’t keep me away. The greens roll true and the course plays fair for all skill levels. I highly recommend taking a drive out to The Wilderness, you won’t be disappointed.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



tico1234's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/06/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course



u058067032's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/06/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Cultivated Wilderness"


u609190979's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/30/2017
Previously played Used cart Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Always love to return here. Despite very wet conditions (after several days of rains and drizzling) the course entirely playable. Bunkers were still not ready (most of course inundated during Harvey) , but they have been already worked on so we can expect them to be in perfect conditions very soon. This course is simply a pearl in southeast Texas and rightfully considered one of the best in Texas. Be careful around green on #15 where fire ants were building their anthills.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



flexin's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/10/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great golf course, course was in good shape.

Definitely would play it again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Excellent layout"


georg004's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/21/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Challenging, interesting, fun layout. Fairways, tees and greens in surprisingly good condition given the course was completely flooded less than 3 months ago. Bunkers still out of play, which was unfortunate as the bunkering is a key feature of the course design. I hear they will be back online soon.

Great value and well worth the trip from Houston


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



johnbrescian's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/15/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was flooded by last storm and is in fair shape, not like it used to be. I would wait several maybe 6 month before playing this course again. Too bad what happened to it.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


"Excellent layout with superb greens"


RobKempinski's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/04/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

A challenging layout through the"wilderness." The greens were in excellent shape, fast and true. The bunkers are still damaged due to Hurricane Harvey but the rest of the course more than made up for it. The par 5s are a fine set of long holes. Holes 9 and 18 are two challenging par 4s that will test your resolve and skill

The staff had a friendly Texas attitude and the log cabin clubhouse fits the milieu perfectly. Thoroughly enjoyed the round and recommend anyone making the drive from Houston to play.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Awesome as always"


edward3754815's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/29/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

It was my 4th time playing the course and it was in great condition as always except for the bunkers. They were is disrepair due to the flooding from Harvey. As far as courses near the Gulf Coast are concerned, this is one of the best. Definitely worthy of the 5 star rating it has on GN!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course



etsworld1's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/09/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Very nice course"


u5740774's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/08/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very nice layout , friendly staff, even with all the rain in great shape, would recommend to anyone wanting a good round


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Love this course!!!"


u000006597209's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/24/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is probably my favorite course in the Houston area. The greens, fairways, and tee boxes are always it great shape. The bunkers have quality sand in them but get washed out occasionally, whic its to be expected with how often they get down pours. Great course and absolutely beautiful.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



u000007034649's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/15/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I enjoy playing this course, even in the summer afternoon heat. It is the best course in the area.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"One of the best public courses"


Philip7939678's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Twice a year

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/09/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This has to be one of the best public courses you can play, and if you live in Houston, it's worth the drive. That being said, it usually takes up half of your day, so plan this day with others that like to out on a golf course.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



Alan8984973's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/01/2017
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Good experience. Greens had just been punched, but were recovering quickly. I played with one of the course marshalls, Jerry, who made the round quite enjoyable. Course is off the beaten path and has a good feel for its location. Highly recommend!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Great Day of Golf"


u000004131967's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/29/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

First time playing this course and it did not disappoint! Great layout and just challenging enough to make it fun without it being too difficult. Greens ran true and fast. Great staff and friendly cart attendant. Can't wait to play again!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great course an layout"


bevo10's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/18/2017
Previously played Used cart

Reviewed on

The service from arrival to finish was excellent. The course was in great playing condition. The pace of play was 3 1/2 hrs to play. We never waited on any shot. The course from tee to green was great. Greens rolled true with some tough reads. Received a great price via Golfnow. This Made the outing worthwhile. I can't wait to come back to play this course next year.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed