Hill Country Golf Club - The Oaks Course

4.4577705882 4.5 stars from 5 (341)
  • Holes: 9
  • Par: 36
  • Length: 3438 yards
  • Slope: 135
  • Rating: 36.6
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Clubs: Yes
GPS: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 36 3438 yards 36.6 135
Blue 36 3276 yards 35.9 132
White (W) 36 2931 yards 37.2 129
Red (W) 36 2332 yards 33.4 119

Hill Country Golf Club offers three nines, all of which sprawl across 200 scenic acres of Texas Hill Country. The terrain is provided with rolling meadows and steep hillsides dotted with tranquil lakes and ponds that come into play throughout the 27 holes. The Oaks Nine is named for the towering oaks that blanket the course. From wooded ravines to tree-lined fairways, this nine is a demanding test of accuracy. There are strategically placed bunkers and water comes into play on a few holes. The courses, which were designed by well-known architectural firm Arthur Hill & Associates, have received praise from both Golf Digest and Golf Magazine.

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.5 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.5 stars from 5
Value: 4.5 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.5 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.3 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 341 Reviews
5 stars:
190
4 stars:
113
3 stars:
26
2 stars:
5
1 stars:
7

recommend this course

314 out of 339 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is at a resort convenient to the city near local attractions   Great for a weekend splurge advanced golfers entertaining clients   Challenges include bunkers narrow fairways water hazards   Great for drinks brunch watching the game  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Good day"


u000007353620's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/03/2018
First time playing Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Arrived early had range balls provided and has a chipping green and a putting green.

Staff friendly


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Hyatt Hill Country Golf Club on 02/09/2018:

Thank you for the review, we appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. Thanks for coming out!

"Nice venue"


aemosiman's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/14/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I took advantage of a Hot Deal and the cost was reasonable. The pace of play was excellent--a Saturday morning and we rarely even saw the group ahead of us, and no one was nipping at our heels. The course conditions were very good. The greens were a mystery--lots of subtle breaks I couldn't see. NOT a course for walking. The layout of the three nines means long distances between a green and the next tee. I would play here again, but only on a discounted rate. If I had paid the full-freight I would have been disappointed in the experience.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Hyatt Hill Country Golf Club on 04/18/2018:

Thank you for your honest 4-Star review, we appreciate the feedback and your patience as the course is transitioning into the Summer months.Thanks for coming out and we hope that you will give us another try in the near future. <br/>

"Awful"



1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/13/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This just not be labeled as a “resort course”. The course which I last played 10 years ago was in horrible shape. The Hyatt should be embarrassed.

Thank God we only paid $40.00 to play yesterday using golfnow.com. The normal rate was going to be $125.00!!


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from Hyatt Hill Country Golf Club on 04/18/2018:

We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars. We will take a closer look at our pricing and course conditions to see if we can come up with a solution. Thank you for coming out, and we hope you'll give us another try in the near future.



4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/09/2018
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Hyatt Hill Country Golf Club on 04/18/2018:

Thank you for the 4-Star review! We appreciate you coming out to see us!

"Greens a little slow"


u491220440's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/08/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

It is always a pleasure to play Hill Country my round of course was not as good as I wanted to but not because of the course played with another gentleman it was very nice not sure if he was a member or not but I did enjoy myself


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Hyatt Hill Country Golf Club on 04/11/2018:

We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars. We would love to hear more about your round and if something, in particular, went wrong today. If you could please give Eric Claxton a call at the Clubhouse he would love to discuss the situation further with you. Thanks, MGT 210.520.4040.

"The course is tough but fair. Not for beginners"


Frank6112654's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/07/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Good tough course. Some blind shots that course knowledge is important.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Hyatt Hill Country Golf Club on 04/11/2018:

Thank you for the 5-Star review, we appreciate the great feedback and glad that you had such a wonderful time at the course today. Thanks for coming out and we hope to see you again soon.

"great day at a great course"


jriceberg62's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/05/2018
Previously played Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on

A challenging course that I would recommend to any golfer.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Disappointment. It is a Hyatt Regency Resort"


Horace9026290's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/30/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

It was mostly on the Oaks. I wish I had taken pictures. A lot of weeds around the course and dead spots around and on the greens. It look like the Oaks greens hadn't been mowed. Piles of dead grass clippings in the fairways. terrible pace of play 12:40pm- 6:20pm 5 &1/2 hours. We never saw a marshal. Very Disappointing, I wouldn’t have thought the Hyatt would let something like this happen to a course with their name on it. It was like the course was having financial problems and cut back on maintenance. I really feel bad about writing this but it is what it is and I wish we hadn’t played there, I have played it before and it was in great shape. I'm sure I will play it again, but I will call the pro shop and ask what type of shape it is in.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Hyatt Hill Country Golf Club on 04/05/2018:

We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars. We appreciate you pointing out any pace of play issues at the course, we will definitly address this issue. Thank you for coming out and we hope you'll give us another try in the near future.


NialKuyek's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/26/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Hyatt Hill Country Golf Club on 03/29/2018:

Thank you for the 5-Star review! Please come back and see us again soon.


u137445754's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/22/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Hyatt Hill Country Golf Club on 03/26/2018:

Thank you for the 5-Star review!

"Awesome value"


u000001092558's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/22/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course is in fantastic condition! Get out and play the Hyatt while the weather is spectacular


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Hyatt Hill Country Golf Club on 03/26/2018:

Thank you for the awesome 5-Star review! We are so glad lucky the weather has been so nice! Please come back and see us again soon.


ron9930685's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/21/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Hyatt Hill Country Golf Club on 03/26/2018:

Thank you for the 5-Star review! Please come back and see us again soon.

"Great Course"


u000002400184's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/21/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I got paired up with two other Golfnow people and thoroughly enjoyed the round. Great course and excellent Golfnow value.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Hyatt Hill Country Golf Club on 03/26/2018:

Thank you for the 5-Star review, we appreciate the great feedback! Thank you for coming out and we hope that you will visit us again this Spring!

"Nice Track - Good Value"


tkveton's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/14/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The SA area has many very nice courses and playing at this Hyatt Hill Country is always enjoyable.

Pace of play can be slow but, this time all was good and course conditions were in good shape for this time of the year!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Hyatt Hill Country Golf Club on 03/21/2018:

Thank you for the 4-Star review, we appreciate the great feedback regarding our course conditions. Thanks for coming out and we hope to see you again soon.

"Fun Day"


u000005246549's avatar
Skill:  Advanced

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/11/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Good time playing

Nice course

Good pace of play


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Hyatt Hill Country Golf Club on 03/15/2018:

Thank you for the 4-Star review, we appreciate the great feedback. Thanks for coming out and we hope to see you again soon.

"Greens"


u491220440's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/11/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Love the course but greens were not as good. As normally , very bummpy weeds are coming in


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Hyatt Hill Country Golf Club on 03/15/2018:

We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars. We are currently working on many of the things you have presented in this review. Thank you for coming out and we hope you'll give us another try in the near future


Jht0030's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once every three months
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/09/2018
First time playing Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Hyatt Hill Country Golf Club on 03/15/2018:

Thank you for the 4-Star review! We appreciate you coming out and hope to see you again soon. <br/>

"Top Notch Facility"


jcsdmd's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/03/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played Lakes 9 and Creeks 9. Staff extremely attentive to every aspect of your experience from arrival to departure. Course in great shape with very well manicured greens, tees, and fairways. Would play here again in a heartbeat.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Hyatt Hill Country Golf Club on 03/07/2018:

Thank you for the fabulous review, we appreciate the great compliments regarding our course conditions and staff. We will definitely pass along the kind words. Thanks for coming out and we hope to see you again in the near future.


BMeike72's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/02/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Hyatt Hill Country Golf Club on 03/07/2018:

Thank you for the 5-Star review, please come back and see us again this weekend!

"Great course"


sandytrz's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Age:  65+
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/25/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Staff is so friendly here, love playing this course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Hyatt Hill Country Golf Club on 02/28/2018:

Thank you for the 5-Star review! We appreciate the great feedback regarding our staff, we will definitely pass along the kind words to them. Thanks for coming out!


Jesusgvg's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/23/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Hyatt Hill Country Golf Club on 02/28/2018:

Thank you for the 4-Star review!


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed