Hill Country Golf Club - The Oaks Course

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.5
369
5 Stars
207
4 Stars
123
3 Stars
26
2 Stars
6
1 Stars
7
Staff Friendliness
4.7
Pace
4.5
Amenities
4.5
Conditions
4.3
Value
4.5
Layout
4.6
94.4%
Recommend this course
340 out of 369 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.5
369
5 Stars
28
4 Stars
17
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
2
Staff Friendliness
4.8
Pace
4.5
Amenities
4.5
Conditions
4.2
Value
4.4
Layout
4.6
92.0%
Recommend this course
46 out of 50 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.5
369
5 Stars
64
4 Stars
27
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
2
1 Stars
2
Staff Friendliness
4.7
Pace
4.6
Amenities
4.5
Conditions
4.3
Value
4.5
Layout
4.7
95.0%
Recommend this course
95 out of 100 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 9
Par 36
Length 3438
Slope 135
Rating 36.6
Type Public/Resort
Hill Country Golf Club offers three nines, all of which sprawl across 200 scenic acres of Texas Hill Country. The terrain is provided with rolling meadows and steep hillsides dotted with tranquil lakes and ponds that come into play throughout the 27 holes. The Oaks Nine is named for the towering oaks that blanket the course. From wooded ravines to tree-lined fairways, this nine is a demanding test of accuracy. There are strategically placed bunkers and water comes into play on a few holes. The courses, which were designed by well-known architectural firm Arthur Hill & Associates, have received praise from both Golf Digest and Golf Magazine.
Book a Tee Time at
Hill Country Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 36 3438 yards 36.6 135
Blue 36 3276 yards 35.9 132
White (W) 36 2931 yards 37.2 129
Red (W) 36 2332 yards 33.4 119
Scorecard for Oaks/Lakes
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out Total
Black M: 73.6/136 369 407 328 420 172 540 458 195 549 3438 6940
Blue M: 71.7/134 351 392 308 400 156 522 444 174 529 3276 6518
White M: 67.3/116 W: 71.9/126 314 367 275 372 129 507 367 162 438 2931 5857
Red W: 67.8/118 265 277 247 246 109 375 299 116 398 2332 4778
Handicap 15 3 13 7 17 9 1 11 5
Par 4 4 4 4 3 5 4 3 5 36 72

Course Details

Year Built 1993
Golf Season Year round
Architect Arthur Hills (1993)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - included in green fees
Clubs Yes
GPS Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No

Best of Lists

Reviews

4.5
369

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 21
Brunch 13
Watching the Game 9
Course Challenges Include:
Bunkers 35
Narrow Fairways 28
Water Hazards 27
This course/club is great for:
A Weekend Splurge 33
Advanced Golfers 26
Entertaining Clients 25
This Course's Location is:
At a Resort 47
Convenient to the City 30
Near Local Attractions 29
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser

Becoming my home course

Nice course that’s close to my house. Friendly staff and good course layout. Challenging and so far has been in good condition every time I play.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Response from Hyatt Hill Country Golf Club on 08/08/2018:
Hello, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again for another round soon! Thanks for playing Hyatt Hill Country Golf Club.
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

1st class

Just an all-out great destination. The only disappointment Wes not being informed in advance that the greens had been airiated . Weren't terrible but missed a lot of putts because of it.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Response from Hill Country Golf Club on 08/01/2018:
Hello, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate the feedback about your round and are happy to hear you enjoyed it. We hope to see you again for another round soon! Thanks for playing Hyatt Hill Country Golf Club!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once every three months
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Very nice course, food layout, beautiful, rough is unforgiving (that is on me). Overall, thoroughly enjoyed it.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Good
Response from Hill Country Golf Club on 07/24/2018:
Hello, we appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your round with us and hope to see you again for another round soon. Thanks for playing Hill Country Golf Club!
Played On
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Winding Through the Trees | The Oaks

The Hyatt Hill Country is built on some of the best land in the San Antonio area. A great deal of trees line the fairways especially on the Oaks nine. The tee shots require great accuracy and strategy in order to find the fairway. On the Oaks course in many cases you have to be on the right side of the fairway to have a shot at green/pin. I love this about that nine and enjoy the challenge of fitting the ball into the right spots. One of my favorites in the city however I will say the greens seem to have been an afterthought. They lack the definition to truly make it a championship golf course. Perhaps it was meant to be a resort course however with greater attention to the shaping of the greens this would be my favorite nine and thus my favorite course in the greater San Antonio area. A must play for those who have not made their way to the Hyatt Hill Country.
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Excellent
Response from Hyatt Hill Country Golf Club on 07/17/2018:
Thank you for the 4-Star review, we appreciate the great feedback regarding the value at Hyatt Hill Country. We are so glad that enjoyed your round and that it was up to par on this particular day. Thank you for coming out and we hope to see you again this weekend!
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great course

Played Lakes 9 and Oaks 9. Both are a little bit different, lakes are more open than the oaks and the oaks are not so tight that it makes playing impossible. There wasn’t a lot of players on the course and was able to play in 3 hrs and 15 minutes. All around a great day. Greens were a little long no doubt due to the rain but in excellent shape.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Response from Hyatt Hill Country Golf Club on 07/10/2018:
Thank you for the 5-Star review, we appreciate the great feedback regarding our course conditions. Thanks for coming out and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great round

Staff was outstanding and facilities are first class.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Response from Hyatt Hill Country Golf Club on 07/10/2018:
Thank you for the excellent 5-Star review! We are so glad that you enjoyed the course conditions and our great amenities Thanks for coming out and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Favorite course in San Antonio

Super nice layout. The fairways and greens are in great shape. The staff are very professional. Love playing all three nines. The course should be in great shape after a good rain. Would recommend this course.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Response from Hyatt Hill Country Golf Club on 07/10/2018:
Thank you for the 5-Star review, we appreciate the great feedback regarding our course conditions, especially after the hot weather we have received. Thanks for coming out and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Wait a couple weeks to play

I played lakes to creeks for my 18 holes. Greens are still bumpy and sandy from being punched. I’d wait a few weeks to come back and play. I’m not a fan of their bunkers because the sand is grainy and most of them were not even racked after players walked in them. I must have been the only one raking them. Staff was friendly and I was glad to be paired up with cool members to play with. Pace of play was great here too.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Average
Course Layout Good
Response from Hyatt Hill Country Golf Club on 07/03/2018:
Thank you for the 4-Star review! We are so glad that your pace of play was up to par today! Thanks for coming out and we hope to see you again this July 4th week!
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Used cart
Response from Hyatt Hill Country Golf Club on 06/26/2018:
Thank you for the 4-Star review! We appreciate you coming out and hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Laid Back and Friendly

The staff and everyone on the course had such a welcoming and helpful attitude. They exuded class and consideration. It made my day. The course was in great shape and the pace was excellent. I had a great time playing with my daughter on vacation here.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Excellent
Response from Hyatt Hill Country Golf Club on 06/26/2018:
Thank you for the 5-Star review, we appreciate the great feedback regarding the laid back feeling while at Hill Country Resort. We are so glad that your vacation was a memorable one with your daughter, looking forward to having you back with us next year.

Stay & Play Offers

$110 Starting price
Valid dates: Aug 13, 2018 - Dec 31, 2019
The Penn Ohio Golf Trail consists of courses mainly in Western PA and Northeast Ohio. What sets us apart is that we offer 29 different courses; including 4 private, members-only country clubs, 2 former LPGA courses, and many of the top courses in Ohio and Pennsylvania (including Pennsylvania’s #1 public course – Olde Stonewall). We offer 4 Mansions (for groups of 2 to 36), 10 hotels and customer service beyond any major resort. Our Mansions feature large common areas, pool tables, poker tables, big screen TV’s with the luxury of the entire group together in a large home setting.
Nearby Courses
San Antonio, Texas
4.4931470588
369
San Antonio, Texas
4.4931470588
369
San Antonio, Texas
3.9448470588
40
San Antonio, Texas
4.2981411765
90
San Antonio, Texas
4.5093705882
305
San Antonio, Texas
0.0
0
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE