View from Stonweall Orchard Golf Club
Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
4.6
242 Reviews (242)
5 Stars
171
4 Stars
45
3 Stars
17
2 Stars
4
1 Stars
5
Conditions
4.4
Value
4.3
Layout
4.7
Friendliness
4.6
Pace
4.3
Amenities
4.3
90.7%
Recommend this course
219 out of 242 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.5
67 Reviews (67)
5 Stars
44
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
0
Conditions
4.4
Value
4.4
Layout
4.8
Pace
4.2
Amenities
4.4
StaffFriendliness
4.6
89.6%
Recommend this course
60 out of 67 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.5
67 Reviews (67)
5 Stars
44
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
0
Conditions
4.4
Value
4.4
Layout
4.8
Pace
4.2
Amenities
4.4
StaffFriendliness
4.6
89.6%
Recommend this course
60 out of 67 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Public
Par 72
Length 7124 yards
Slope 150
Rating 75.0
Book a Tee Time at
Stonewall Orchard Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 1999
Fairways Bent Grass
Greens Bent Grass
Golf Season April - September
Architect Arthur Hills (1999)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes
GPS Yes
Pull-carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Bunker Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes
Practice Hole Yes

Policies

Metal Spikes Allowed No
Fivesomes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes
Dress code Country Club Dress Attire Required. Jeans Not Allowed.

Food & Beverage

Bar, Grill, Restaurant

Available Facilities

Clubhouse

Available Activities

Swimming, Billiards

Accolades

Reviews

4.6
242 Reviews (242)

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 29
19th Hole Scenic Views 24
Patio Dining 18
Course Challenges Include:
Forced Carries 44
Water Hazards 39
Bunkers 32
This course/club is great for:
Advanced Golfers 46
Wildlife/ Scenic Views 28
A Weekend Splurge 27
This Course's Location is:
Worth the Drive 41
In the 'Burbs 34

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 500 Contributor
Illinois Advisor
First Time Playing
Used cart

Arthur Hills experience in Northern Illinois

I've read that Arthur Hills combines working with the natural beauty of the land, taking advantage of the natural contours, minimizing earth moving, all while keeping the strategy of the golf game always in mind.
This is evident at Stonewall Orchard.
While it may fall a touch short of "breathtaking" in terms of views, it absolutely delivers in terms of great golf experience which is both demanding and rewarding regardless of your level of play. I can't speak for others but here is what I love that Stonewall Orchard delivers:
Doglegs - gentle, yet demanding thought in distance and placement.
Bunker placement: Excellent and appropriate
Bunker conditions: Fair and consistent
Forced Carries: Enough to test without discouraging.
Greens: Undulating, firm, consistent and with wickedly subtle breaks that are shockingly difficult to read. A close approach to the pin will pay off as you will want to learn from the others in your group.
All staff encountered were as pleasant as you can hope for a mid-afternoon weekday round.

I've played Arthur Hills other Illinois public course (Bolingbrook) but I'd have to say that Stonewall Orchard tops that course in nearly every category.

Very much look forward to playing again!

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Image
Commented on 09/15/2018

Thank you Eric for taking the time to write such a nice review! We'll look forward to seeing you again.

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Played On
Reviews 4
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played

Best Course in the Chicagoland Area

There are a lot of great courses in Northern Illinois and in the Chicagoland area, but Stonewall Orchard is my favorite. Whenever a conversation about courses played came up this Summer, Stonewall was always highly recommended by everyone. I finally had a chance to play in July and it did not disappoint. I love the course so much I hype it up to everyone. I took my buddy to play it in early October and now he hypes it up as one of his favorite must play courses anywhere. I can't wait to play the course again and again.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 11
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing
Windy weather
Used cart
Conditions Excellent
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Extremely Challenging
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Second to none public course

This course is as advertised. Country club quality course that is open to the public and priced fairly. Amazing golf course. Well kept. Consistent greens. Smooth fairways and tee boxes and well kept bunkers. Every hole was unique and gave a challenge to golfers of all levels. Tees are set up to give all skill levels a fair but tough test of their abilities. Around every turn was another amazing view. Can’t wait to play here again.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 1
3.0
Previously Played

Not worth it

Pins in tough spots for a Saturday, greens ok,rough too long to easily locate balls. Real issue was the rangers. Our group was on a 4:20 pace only 10 mins off their impossible 4:10 pace, and we were FOLLOWED the entire back nine and told we could not stop to use the restroom at the turn. For the price Keep it. There are more enjoyable places to play.

Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Fair
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Commented on 09/23/2020

Hello. Thank you for your review. Your 3 foursomes were actually 27min behind pace thru 7 holes. Many groups behind you were calling the golf shop. All 3 groups did indeed pick up the pace on the back nine, thank you. Stopping at the turn for lunch was not really an option unfortunately. Sorry, we just have an obligation as well to the 220 players behind your 3 groups as well. We certainly would love to have you back.
Thanks!

Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great layout. Out in nature setting.
Pace of play slow.
Greens more ballmarks then expected but rolling nice.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Commented on 09/23/2020

Thank you Darius! Glad you had fun. See you soon

Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Previously Played
Wet weather
Used cart

Poor value

Compared to other nice courses in Lake County, this is the most poorly maintained course of the nice courses, specifically the greens, fairways were marginal. This is the 3rd time have have played Stonewall and I continue to be disappointed by the greens, and the most recent visit they were atrocious. They look like any-town-USA muni course, not an $87 round.

The routing is fun and challenging, but they do not have GPS an alternative guide to help play the course. Would like to have more help seeing how the course plays.

Conditions Fair
Value Poor
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Fair
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Image
Commented on 09/23/2020

Hello
Thank you for your review. Sorry your expectations were not met. I appears that perhaps you played that rainy week with soft greens and a lot of play. We welcome you back out as the greens are pure right now. Thank you so much for playing!

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Worth the Drive...

Would love to play this course again in dry conditions. Didn't get rained on during play, but they had lots of rain 24 hrs prior and it was squishy out there! Layout is great, the greens were still fast even as wet as it was. Enjoyed the round very much and will definitely play it again when I return.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Commented on 09/23/2020

Thanks for the review. Yes, that was a very wet week indeed. Firm and fast now. Look forward to having you again soon.

Played On
Reviews 4
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 09/23/2020

Thank you for your review. We look forward to having you back sometime soon!

Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Fair
Pace Poor
Amenities Good
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Reviews 7
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 66
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great beautiful course

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 3
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Wet weather
Used cart

Great course if you don't mind the drive

I always enjoy playing this course and find it to be moderately challenging particularly if playing from the back tees. It was very wet today and the greens changed from very slowly to moderately fast in a couple of hours. We finished our round in 3.5 hours. My only complaint is that they will not allow a twosome to take two carts even for an added fee.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 15
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart

Not Country Club Conditions Despite Them Trying

For an $80 plus round, this course was just okay. Let me list

Practice area. Like no grass, just green covering in sand. They could have moved the area forward but did not.

Starter. Dude, wear a mask if you want to tell me about the course. This guy was like 3 feet from me and I had to lean away to maintain any distance. Their covid safety procedures, other than the clubhouse were NON EXISTENT.

Greens. Water them. It was like putting on asphalt. Hard, fast and not ever able to get a chance to figure out approaches and putting.

Fairways, good conditions but they were disabling carts, on some holes more than 100 yards away from green making a lot more walking especially since their has been little rain.

Overall, for the price, I have been on many more nicer courses for less and probably won't make the 45 minute drive again to play here.

Pace. While there were rangers, it gets backed up and were consistently over 10 minutes off pace.

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Image
Commented on 08/26/2020

Thanks Craig. Sorry you did not have a good time. Not sure why, but we never see our Starter without a mask...perhaps he momentarily pulled it down to reiterate the rules...still no excuse. We are very strict with our cleaning and disinfecting as most people are very aware. We, of course, would always welcome you back to experience a great day at Stonewall.

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

New Fav?

Fantastic course. Great pace of play, beautiful design, good test but not overly punishing if you get a little loose off the tee. I’ve played a lot of golf in the Chicagoland and this might be my new favorite.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 08/26/2020

Thank you for your great review! We look forward to having you back again soon!

Played On
Reviews 5
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

The Best Public Course in IL?!

This course is fabulous. Customer Service, course conditions, pace of play, driving range, food and beverage service all top notch. But the course rivals many country clubs. My son says its the favorite course he has played this summer.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Extremely Challenging
Default User Image
Commented on 08/26/2020

Thank you so much for the fantastic review! Our whole goal is to provide an experience which results in a review like yours! Thank you

Played On
Reviews 5
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Incredible Public Golf Course

This is one of the best courses, and values anywhere in the Chicagoland area. Well worth the drive.
Course was in great shape. The Customer service was friendly and courteous. The carts were like driving a luxury vehicle. We will be back.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Extremely Challenging
Default User Image
Commented on 08/26/2020

Thank you for the fantastic review! We are happy you enjoy the facility. The carts are comfy no doubt!!

Nearby Courses
Lakemoor, Illinois
Public
2.0
3
Ivanhoe, Illinois
Private
5.0
1
Ivanhoe, Illinois
Private
5.0
1
Ivanhoe, Illinois
Private
5.0
1
Mundelein, Illinois
Public/Municipal
4.6476941176
116
Volo, Illinois
Public
3.5
2
Hawthorn Woods, Illinois
Private
4.0
2
Round Lake, Illinois
Public
4.1947647059
65
Mundelein, Illinois
Public
3.5998833333
50
Lake Villa, Illinois
Public
3.0
1
Mundelein, Illinois
Public
2.7802352941
138
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Public
4.3828117647
283

Stay & Play Offers

From $155
Valid dates: Dec 26, 2019 - Oct 18, 2020
The Unlimited Golf Getaway package is perfect for the serious golfer that wants to pack in the rounds! The unlimited package provides you unlimited golfing access to five of BOYNE's outstanding golf courses and a night's stay. Courses included in the package are The Moor and Donald Ross Memorial at Boyne Highlands, The Alpine and The Monument at Boyne Mountain, and Crooked Tree Golf Club*.
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE