Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
3.7
207 Reviews (207)
5 Stars
49
4 Stars
95
3 Stars
31
2 Stars
18
1 Stars
14
Conditions
3.5
Value
3.8
Layout
4.2
Friendliness
4.2
Pace
4.1
Amenities
3.6
79.5%
Recommend this course
161 out of 207 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
3.5
34 Reviews (34)
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
4
1 Stars
3
Conditions
3.2
Value
3.6
Layout
4.1
Pace
4.4
Amenities
3.1
StaffFriendliness
3.9
76.5%
Recommend this course
26 out of 34 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
3.8
94 Reviews (94)
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
53
3 Stars
11
2 Stars
6
1 Stars
5
Conditions
3.6
Value
4.0
Layout
4.2
Pace
4.2
Amenities
3.6
StaffFriendliness
4.1
86.2%
Recommend this course
81 out of 94 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Semi-Private
Par 72
Length 7089 yards
Slope 136
Rating 73.9

Moccasin Wallow Golf Club (previously known as Imperial Lakewoods Golf Club) is located at the intersection of I-75 and I-275 on exit 45 in Palmetto, less than a 30-minute drive from Tampa, St. Petersburg and Sarasota. The course was designed by Ted McAnlis around 200 beautiful wooded acres with 16 lakes. The course's signature hole, No.18 (550 yard, par 5 dog leg around Imperial Lake), is chosen year after year by local golfers as the best par 5 in southwest Florida

Book a Tee Time at
Moccasin Wallow Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 1987
Fairways Celebration Bermuda
Greens Tif Eagle Bermuda 2016
Golf Season Year round
Architect Ted McAnlis (1987)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - included in green fees
Clubs Yes
GPS No
Pull-carts No

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Bunker Yes
Caddies No
Golf School Academy Yes
Golf Simulator No
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes
Practice Hole No

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, AMEX Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Fivesomes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes - after 3:00pm
Dress code No tanktops or cutoffs, no blue jeans.

Food & Beverage

Restaurant

Available Facilities

Clubhouse, Banquet Facilities

Reviews

3.7
207 Reviews (207)
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Closed without Notice

Took the time to play a course that was a decent amount of time away. About an hour drive to find out the course was closed due to being under water. Only with a sign on the door. Every other course in area was open. Very disappointing and unprofessional. Will never be back.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Poor
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Default User Image
Commented on 08/24/2020

Thank you for your review. We do not have a way of contacting you directly as we contacted GolfNow. We let them know at 8:00 pm on Saturday that we were closed as well as sending out an email to the database. Golf now dies not include your email address when booking times and you also did it call our number as the message was on the voicemail. I am sure you did not check at all before you left to come to the golf course only were mad once arrived. I am sure you did not complain to golf now about receiving your refund. Please blame the booking agent and not the Golf course for you not being notified.

Played On
Reviews 6
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Mehhh course. Golf carts are fast.

The greens looked like they didn’t top-dress or water enough after they aerated them. The course itself has potential to be a fun and challenging layout. There is enough variety to make the place special if it was taken care of. If your going to have a cart path make it so you can drive on it. It looks terrible and drives even worse. Either pave it or take up the concrete and put down crushed shells. If your not going to mow at least edge or weed whack around the course. Frame it in somehow. Go out and buy sod and put it down in the tee-boxes. When the public course is your closest competition and you can’t distinguish yourself from them you have problems. All you have to do is look at the fountain in front of the main entrance to see what they care about appearance and upkeep.

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Fair
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Default User Image
Commented on 08/05/2020

Thank you for leaving review without asking questions. First your comment on the fountain doesn’t tell a story at all. What you didn’t see was that the fountain had been taken apart so that we could replace it with new motors and filters which were done the day you were here. The photo on 16 that you took two of was topdressed dirt which were put down after we had sprayed chemicals to treat for nematode damage. So as you say we aren’t distinguishing ourselves from them I’m just going to say you probably do not know enough about the grounds maintenance of a golf course and what goes on behind the scenes. You also do not know that they are starting construction on the parking lot as we speak. I can only say as they say in the south... bless your heart.

Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Windy weather
Used cart

Fun course with some challenging holes

Course was in great shape. The fairways were green and well cut. The greens were almost perfect, just a few dead spots on the outside fringe of one hole. A few of the tee boxes were a bit beat up, but didn't effect my game at all. Overall, this is a $30 course in the summer. I will be back.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 11
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Played On
Reviews 9
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 14
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

The Moc

Haven't been here in a few years, layout is fun, and fair. I would come back again.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Reviews 6
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Ripoff 1 dollar membership fee

See above and the employee that told me about this fee was rude!

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Poor
Pace Good
Amenities Poor
Default User Image
Commented on 05/23/2020

Thank you for leaving 2 reviews and you thoughts on a "dollar ripoff." We are a membership platform golf club of which there is a $1 member for a day program which we are extending for one year as we build out our membership. This is no hidden fee which is clearly stated on the golf now website that you are required to pay at the golf course. Our employees are human and understand their role in the hospitality industry and I am sure were only reactive to which they were spoken to. Thank you very much and hope you have a splendid day.

Played On
Reviews 18
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

A fun track

Much of the course is fair but challenging. #9 is extremely difficult to the point of near impossible. The green is a postage stamp. I can't imagine this hole is birdie but a hand full of times per year. I'm a single digit and find this hole to be difficult to the point of absurd.
The greens are what you'd expect for the value. Still fun.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Played On
Reviews 12
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Impressed By Greens

the greens were rolling very well especially during the times when many are aerated. The fairways and tee boxes were a little beat up but I'm not all that worried about that, prefer better greens. The layout was OK. I wasn't in love with it but def some good holes and def some very challenging holes like 9-11

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Played On
Reviews 66
Handicap 25+
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 250 Contributor
Previously Played
Windy weather
Used cart

Lucky we got it in!

The weather forecast showed 80% chance of rain... and it did rain to the north and the south... but at the Moc, we did not get a drop. And we played fast, in just over 2 hours. Only problem, my wife beat me... as she does a lot! :-( TA

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Cold weather
Used cart

Great day of golf at "The Moc"

Played the Moc for the first time today because I moved to the area. It was a wonderful experience. The layout, pace of play, and cost were all excellent. Started as a single, joined two other guys, and we all finished 18 holes in a shade under 3 hours. The course conditions were mixed. Greens are excellent. Aprons and greenside bunkers are good. Fairways are okay. Tee boxes, cart paths, roughs, and natural areas aren't appealing. In summary, management is putting the money into the things that matter most to me. Can't wait to play it again.

P.S. They have a good COVID-19 setup. Check-in is outside with mask and gloves.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played

Amazing greens and tees. Lay out is VERY good

BEST value in manatee/Sarasota
Great golf carts
Excellent customer service

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 21
Handicap 15-19
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great Local Course

Great course layout for advanced to beginner golfers with very good practice facilities and great food. The tee boxes are a little rough due to lack of rain, but the greens are in great shape and the pins use a shallow styrofoam cup for COVID-19 play so your ball can actually go into the hole rather than bouncing off an extended cup like some courses have done..

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 5
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

I'll be back!

Course has been through some tough times and it shows. I would play it again, but only for fun. Lots of deferred maintenance and poorly maintained tees.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Reviews 9
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Reviews 6
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Average
Friendliness Fair
Amenities Poor
Default User Image
Commented on 04/24/2020

Thank you for leaving your review. We are seeing a pattern in your reviews as you played five times with us recently all in hotdeals. Please do not buy them and let others enjoy the experience that you do not share.

Played On
Reviews 66
Handicap 25+
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 250 Contributor
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Nice day at The Moc!

The greens are in great shape and the pace of play was great. Our tee-time was 1:45 and we were out of there by 4:15. I finally beat my wife... that hasn't happened for a while. The course is easy to get to... right at the intersection of I-275 (the Sunshine Skyway) and NB I-75.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great greens and layout

Staff there is very friendly and the greens are running fast and smooth. Layout is a lot of fun. They just need some rain because the tees and fairways could use the water...on a bright note your get a lot of roll off the tee! Worth the money for sure.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 56
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Top 500 Contributor
Previously Played

WeWereExpectingBetter

My husband golfed on Thanksgiving last year and couldn't wait to take me to see this beautiful course. After one hole and my obvious disappointment he said "just wait" indicating that he had high hopes that the rest of the course couldn't possibly be as rough as hole #1. By the 2nd hole he knew we wouldn't be back. If the whole course was as well maintained as the greens our review would have gone so differently.

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Fair
Amenities Average
Played On
Reviews 4
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Nearby Courses
Palmetto, Florida
Public
3.8064529412
669
Parrish, Florida
Semi-Private
3.9822411765
383
Ruskin, Florida
Semi-Private/Resort
3.3901352941
230
Bradenton, Florida
Semi-Private
4.1441714286
220
Bradenton, Florida
Semi-Private
4.1441714286
220
Parrish, Florida
Public
1.0
2
Bradenton, Florida
Semi-Private
4.1441714286
220
Bradenton, Florida
Public
4.6200058824
1103
Palmetto, Florida
Semi-Private
3.5540176471
162
Bradenton, Florida
Private
0.0
0
Bradenton, Florida
Public
3.5451235294
783

Stay & Play Offers

From $119
Valid dates: Sep 01, 2020 - Feb 28, 2021
The Las Vegas Paiute Golf Resort is proud to partner with MGM Resorts to provide you with an incredible Las Vegas trip.
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE