Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club

3.9940588235 4.0 stars from 5 (212)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7302 yards
  • Slope: 143
  • Rating: 75.5
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Collared golf shirts are required.

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7302 yards 75.5 143
Blue 72 6778 yards 73.1 138
White 72 6193 yards 70.4 130
Gold (W) 72 5530 yards 73.8 128
Red (W) 72 4994 yards 70.0 120

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.0 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.1 stars from 5
Value: 4.3 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.0 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.5 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.7 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 212 Reviews
5 stars:
67
4 stars:
97
3 stars:
31
2 stars:
10
1 stars:
7

recommend this course

188 out of 211 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive in the 'burbs   Great for advanced golfers locals wildlife/ scenic views   Challenges include elevation changes water hazards bunkers   Great for drinks 19th hole scenic views brunch  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Fun yet challenging"


Helmut64's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/16/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

First hole is a downhill dogleg left. Stay right or you are in trouble. Very picturesque, the views are incredible! The greens rolled very consistent with some speed. My favorite hole has to be #14. First ever “S” style fairway to green. With some brush hazard to split the middle and a great approach shot of a small creek. Choose your shots wisely. I can’t wait to play there again!!!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



ilhyungoh's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/16/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from #BlueRidgeShadows on 06/19/2018:

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, as well as the 3-stars. We hope you enjoyed your recent round at Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club, and we value any additional feedback on your experience with us. Book another round soon!


Jonathan1044564's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/10/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Great course"


u000001689944's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/28/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course is in great shape. The biggest issue is slow pace of play.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from #BlueRidgeShadows on 05/31/2018:

Thank you for the 5-stars! We're glad to hear you enjoyed the course, but your feedback regarding the pace of play will be passed along to our staff for any potential improvements. We hope you were still able to enjoy the day with us at Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club, and that we will see you again soon!

"Worth the drive"


cwaybright's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/26/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Drove out to Blue Ridge from D.C. on a Saturday morning, snagged first tee time so pace was not an issue. Greens rooted true and course in great shape despite the huge amount of rain during the past week. Of course an added bonus is the fifty or sixty dollar price difference from playing in the DC area.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club on 05/30/2018:

Thank you for the kind review and 4-stars! On behalf of us at Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club, we're glad to hear you enjoyed your recent round with us and that we could provide you with a valuable golf experience. We're looking forward to having you back for another round soon!


cwaybright's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/05/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club on 05/09/2018:

Thanks for the 4-star review! We truly appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review and hope you enjoyed your recent round with us at Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club. Tee it up again soon!

"Cold and windy"


Thirstyd1's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/29/2018
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

After three holes ,I was ready to quit with the chill and the winds, but persevered and the weather got better...Enjoyed the course by ourselves.

Anxious to play again in better conditions.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club on 05/23/2018:

Thank you for taking the time to leave us 4-stars, as well as sharing your feedback. We hope you had a great round with us at Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club, and that we can welcome you back for an even better round soon!

"Good Day"


Michael4687095's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/22/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Course is in really good condition. might be the condition of any course I've played so far this season. bunkers fluffy. can still see marks on the greens but did not affect putts. fairways are the nicest in the area right now. pace of play was average for a nice Sunday. lot of elevation change and all par 3s over 180 yards. overall definitely recommend this course and hope i can get out there again.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club on 04/25/2018:

Hi Michael, thank you for the kind review and 5-stars. On behalf of our staff at Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club, we truly value your comments as we are committed to providing you with a great golf experience. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

"Good track"


Sam4220301's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/21/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

It was a nice course. The back 9 was really fun and well laid out. Greens were a little choppy, but have been punched recently. I can definitely see myself playing there again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club on 04/25/2018:

Hi Sam, thank you for the kind review and 4-stars, as well as your understanding regarding some of our greens. We are on pace for a great golf season ahead so we can't wait to welcome you back to Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club for an even better round soon!

"Great Layout"


kitchat's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/13/2018
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course is in rather rough condition: greens recently aerated and sanded; and the fairways have not yer recovered from the winter. Bunkers were in excellent condition.

Overall: it was a good value.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club on 04/18/2018:

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, and 3-stars. We appreciate your patience and understanding regarding some of the course conditions as we are still coming out of our winter season. Once some warmer weather heads our way, we expect the course to return to our excellent conditions that we have been maintaining it at! We hope you were still able to enjoy the day with us and we can't wait to welcome you back again soon.


PaPaHan's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/27/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club on 04/08/2018:

Thank you for the 5-stars! Come back to Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club for another great golf experience soon.

"Great Value for a Decent course"


stinger007's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/22/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I’ll make it simple.. you can’t get a deal like this a course as decent as this one .. as we all know how expensive golf fee can be in the D.C metropolitan area. Especially,l a nicer and modern day design course. It’s a little bit of drive (approximately 45 min. from Fairfax, VA), but it’s worth every bit of it. The the layout & course condition is nice, the green fees are awesome and the staffs are always friendly. Don’t hesitate to make a trip out here because you won’t regret it and I am certain of that. ..You won’t go wrong at the Blue Ridge Shadows, folks !


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club on 02/28/2018:

Thank you for the kind words and 4-stars! On behalf of our staff at Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club, we truly appreciate your feedback and are glad to hear we can provide you with a valuable golf experience. Come back for another round soon!


miketipton's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/20/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club on 02/27/2018:

Thank you for the 3-star review, Mike, and sharing your feedback with us. We're glad to hear you received a good value for your round! We appreciate your feedback and value any additional comments on how we can improve your experience with us in the future. Thank you for choosing to golf with us at Blue Ridge Shadows, and we hope to see you again soon.


01041948dobby's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/19/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club on 02/26/2018:

Thanks for the 5-stars! We hope you had a great round with us and appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. Come back to Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club again soon!


John711's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/15/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club on 02/21/2018:

Hi John, thank you for the 4-star review. We hope you had a great round with us and appreciate any additional feedback on your experience. Come back for another round at Blue Ridge Shadows again soon!

"Best course in the area!!!"


Bullthefirefighter's avatar
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/10/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

Amazing layout, course care/maintenance just keeps getting better and better! Looking forward to the spring as well as the rest of the season this year! One of the best and challenging layouts and you can't beat the views! Keep your eyes out for Rickie Fowler on the 12th hole (he's watching your every shot)!!!

MUST PLAY course!!! Great value!!!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club on 02/15/2018:

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your feedback and the 5-stars! We're so glad to hear you enjoyed the course and value for your round. On behalf of our staff, we thank you for golfing with us and can't wait to have you back at Blue Ridge Shadows again soon!

"Great course....accommodating staff"


jcsdmd's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/25/2018
Previously played Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Arrived an hour before our tee time and the starter told us they were running behind due to a frost delay. He suggested coming back in 2 hrs which suited us well because the back up would be resolved and it would be significantly warmer. Re-arrived about 1 1/2 hrs later and we were given the option to go off the back 9 first which worked out really well. Pace of play about 3 hrs for 18 with that simple suggestion.

The course was in good shape considering the inclement weather the week prior. This course has a bunch of elevation changes and is very scenic on virtually every hole. This is a must play when the weather turns too cold to play in PA so we make the trip often when we see a warm day or two.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club on 02/01/2018:

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, and for the 5-stars! We're glad to hear you had a great round with us despite the frost delay. Come back to Blue Ridge Shadows soon!

"Hilly, narrow and windy"


lshaefer's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/22/2017
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course layout rewards accuracy over distance. Water hazards are relatively few in number, but positioned so as to force some hard decisions for most intermediate golfers. The hilly terrain means that many shots will be played with the ball above or below foot level. Winds from the west will affect many tee-shots, since the tee boxes are often placed on crests. Greens were firm, but collar and approach areas on many holes were a bit soggy, complicating the choice of short irons. Several holes offered excellent vistas of the surrounding mountainsides.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club on 11/30/2017:

Thank you for playing Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our challenging yet fun layout. Come back again soon!


mcd54's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/16/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club on 11/21/2017:

Thank you for playing Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club! See you again soon.


jrpbrunet's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/02/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club on 11/29/2017:

Awesome, thanks! Be sure to Like us on Facebook for the latest course news and specials.


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed