Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
4.4
168 Reviews (168)
5 Stars
104
4 Stars
48
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
3
1 Stars
1
Conditions
4.3
Value
4.3
Layout
4.7
Friendliness
4.7
Pace
4.4
Amenities
4.4
90.3%
Recommend this course
152 out of 168 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.4
29 Reviews (29)
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Conditions
4.2
Value
4.2
Layout
4.6
Pace
4.3
Amenities
4.3
StaffFriendliness
4.5
86.2%
Recommend this course
25 out of 29 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.4
31 Reviews (31)
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Conditions
4.2
Value
4.2
Layout
4.7
Pace
4.4
Amenities
4.3
StaffFriendliness
4.6
87.1%
Recommend this course
27 out of 31 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Public
Par 72
Length 7754 yards
Slope 142
Rating 78.1

Spread across 218 acres, the Ron Kern-designed Purgatory Golf Club is the longest par-72 course east of the Mississippi River. Nevertheless, the course is set up to be enjoyed by all, with six different sets of tees ranging from more than 7,700 yards all the way down to just under 4,600 yards. Bunkering is one of the club's defining features, with more than 130 coming into play. Nowhere is this more apparent than on the par-3 17th, where eight massive bunkers almost completely surround the putting surface.

Book a Tee Time at
Purgatory Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 2000
Fairways Bent Grass
Greens Bent Grass
Golf Season Year round
Architect Ron Kern (2000)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Caddies Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes
Dress code Proper golf attire required.

Best of Lists

Reviews

4.4
168 Reviews (168)

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 16
Patio Dining 6
Watching the Game 6
Course Challenges Include:
Bunkers 38
Undulating Greens 29
Plays Long 20
This course/club is great for:
Advanced Golfers 26
A Weekend Splurge 22
Locals 14
This Course's Location is:
Worth the Drive 22
In the 'Burbs 20
Convenient to the City 8

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Worth the drive

Layout and design suburb. Club house is amazing and the staff were very helpful to me being that I had traveled a fair distance to visit.
Only down fall was cart paths and lack there of. I can accept the fact they receive have a lot of out of town visitors but the course conditions should be a top priority. It was very rough entering and exiting the fairways.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 06/29/2018

James, Thank you for the 5 star review we are happy you enjoyed the course. Please come and see us again when you are in town. The maintenance staff is in the process of addressing several problem areas of the cart paths.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Pace Good
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Purgatory

Greens were very good. Traps were poor, no one rakes footprints. No starter so there were too many twosomes which slowed play.

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Friendly, accomodating, comfortable

Beautiful, challenging links course. Staff is accomodating, friendly, and knowledgeable. Some inconsistency with the many bunkers, some soft, some very hard, but that's the only thing that was a little uncomfortable.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Image
Commented on 10/10/2019

Thank you for the great review, hope you get back out to play again soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 1000 Contributor
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Difficulty Extremely Challenging
Default User Image
Commented on 10/10/2019

Dusty, thank you for playing Purgatory we appreciate your patronage

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played

Very nice course

GPS on carts would be nice, since there are a lot of forced carriers on the course.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 10/10/2019

We appreciate your feedback and want to thank you for your review! Come back and visit us again soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 10/03/2019

Thank you for the 5 star review. Hope you get back out to play again soon!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Nice layout, greens excellent, terribly slow play

Enjoyed the course layout and Condition. Greens were best I’ve played this year and wonderfully challenging. Greens fast, consistent and true. Precision shot placement required to score well. Fairways condition and cut is great..surprising good shape for late in the season. Two disappointments - pace of play was terrible..held up On every shot throughout the round as no Marshal to be found to, well, manage the flow..disappointing on course of the caliber and difficulty that no one out for the entire round..some frustration by group members when on every hole was backed up..also, carts had no GPS and yardage markers almost non-existent. Otherwise, enjoyed the course..scored well...just, frustrating experience due to slow play.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Poor
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Fun course!

This course is very different from most courses in central Indiana. Lots of side hill lies. TONS of bunkers and moguls. Hope your sand wedge is working for you. Very scenic, lots of wildlife. Keep your eye on your ball. Once you are off the fairway, you need to know exactly where to look. We finished in a little over three hours. Great pace of play. A memorable round of golf. Beautiful club house.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 09/04/2019

Thank you for the great review. Hope you get back out to play again soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Commented on 09/04/2019

Thank you for the 4 star review, hope you get back out to play again soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

First time playing

Course is well taken care of, greens are in great shape. Narrow fairways require precision off the tee due to all of the bunkers. Overall a great experience, only downfall is the pro-shop had a minimal selection of men’s medium tops, upside is I saved some money by the pro-shop not having medium size men’s tops.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Commented on 08/22/2019

We are happy you enjoyed the day. Sorry we did not have enough mediums, they have went fast this year.

Was this comment useful to you?
leb
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing

Interesting course could be great

We drove a couple hours away to make purgatory the first of two courses for the day. The grounds and clubhouse are very nice, and the staff greeting us with carts in the parking lot was a nice touch. The breakfast burritos were fantastic! They had a starter, and the course was busy, but not packed at 10am on a beautiful Saturday morning. Pace of play throughout the day was not an issue.

The course itself was in good, but not great shape. We were somewhat perplexed at some standing water around some tee boxes, while others were bone dry since it hadn’t rained in a good week at least. We thought they might have some drainage issues or busted sprinklers. We still can’t figure out what was going on there.

The greens were not rolled and were not fast. Somewhat disappointing.

The routing is nice, and very beautiful with the fescue. The course is obviously famous for the bunkers, and they were in fine shape.

It’s a very playable tract, surprisingly so. Fairways are huge. Very bad shots face very penal results, but all in all, the course was fair.

We had some confusion on the front side, as the white tees were sometimes playing much shorter than advertised. The tees all played the listed distance on the back nine.

This could be an amazing golf course, but some things should be improved. It’s somewhat pricey, but the carts were very dirty and not regularly hosed down.

I think the course relies on “tourist golfers” like ourselves, and may not have a dedicated clientele who would perhaps expect more on a day to day basis. It was a gimmicky appeal, with various tees and sand... and, of course, the 7900 yards that no one would ever play.

It was a fun day on the links.

Speed up the greens. Clean up the details, and this could be an amazing venue.

Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 08/13/2019

Thank you for the review, we appreciate your feedback. Glad you enjoyed the course. We have been experiencing some irrigation issues where heads are not turning off at the scheduled time. We believe we have this solved now, sorry you experienced the wet tee boxes.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Extremely Challenging
Default User Image
Commented on 08/02/2019

Thanks for leaving us a review!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Extremely Challenging
Default User Image
Commented on 07/15/2019

Thank you for the 5 star review, we are happy you enjoyed the course.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing

It is a great course.

I really like this course. I got there early in the morning and they put me with another single. We had no one in front of us so we played at a perfect pace. There are very little trees but just enough to make some holes interesting. The sand is the reason it is called purgatory. Some fairways are blind but wide and others or narrow. Great track and some slope. Go play it. Worth the $50.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 07/15/2019

Thank you for the good review. Hope you get back out to play soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Fun and challenging layout on hot day

Purgatory is a little overpriced for me unless I can find a good deal. It is a fun course to play. The course looks great right now with the longer heather being burnt out. The greens were rolling very well. It is a challenging layout with plenty of tee options depending upon your skill level or length off the tee. I'll definitely be back. Only feedback I'd give is the course could/should play firmer. I'm not a superintendent, and I know the recent weather (lots of rain to very hot) is probably challenging, but this course would be more fun if the fairways/approaches/greens were watered less.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Image
Commented on 07/10/2019

Thanks for leaving us a review - we value your feedback. We appreciate your understanding of the weather. Our super and his team have been hard at work to keep the course up to par. Please come back and play anytime!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Target golf

I've played here 3 times. Would need 5 more to learn the course for landing areas not a place the average player can just let it fly. It's a beautiful place. wish I was good enough to play good golf here. I shot 10 shots worse than I normally do. great layout and conditions. stunning views

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Fair
Amenities Good
Played On
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

this is a very good course but the cart paths need a lot of work.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played

Amazing

This course is just absolutely incredible. It is something out of this world. The ratings are completely wrong. This is a top 3 course in the state. I played there in sectionals, and just loved it more than anything. Would play there everyday if I could. It’s awesome!!!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 07/10/2019

Thanks for the excellent review! Come back and play a round with us again soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Default User Image
Commented on 06/07/2019

We are very happy you enjoyed the course and thank you for the great review.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Commented on 07/10/2019

Thanks for leaving us a great review!

Was this comment useful to you?
Request A Vacation Quote From Hamilton County
Please provide your information below and a staff member at Hamilton County will be in contact to help you start planning your travel.
Nearby Courses
Noblesville, Indiana
3.6254411765
114
Noblesville, Indiana
3.5714285714
4
Noblesville, Indiana
3.6254411765
114
Noblesville, Indiana
0.0
0
Cicero, Indiana
4.7891117647
244
Noblesville, Indiana
5.0
1
Fishers, Indiana
4.2986941176
56

Stay & Play Offers

From $255
Valid dates: Dec 01, 2019 - Feb 16, 2020
Play three rounds at Tobacco Road, Pinewild, and Whispering Pines and stay two nights in Pinehurst, NC.
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE