Shoal Creek Golf Course

4.5772529412 4.6 stars from 5 (135)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 71
  • Length: 6983 yards
  • Slope: 136
  • Rating: 73.9
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
GPS: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Practice hole: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Proper attire must be worn at all times. Collared shirts required for men and proper golf attire for women. No jeans or jean shorts allowed.
Credit cards accepted: Yes

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Gold 71 6983 yards 73.9 136
Blue 71 6363 yards 70.8 127
White 71 5571 yards 66.5 116
White (W) 71 5571 yards 71.6 126
Black (W) 71 4759 yards 67.1 112

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.6 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.4 stars from 5
Value: 4.5 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.1 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.9 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.3 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 135 Reviews
5 stars:
84
4 stars:
38
3 stars:
7
2 stars:
4
1 stars:
2

recommend this course

127 out of 135 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city near the airport worth the drive   Great for advanced golfers locals entertaining clients   Challenges include bunkers elevation changes water hazards   Great for drinks watching the game  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Cool Layout, Fun Track"


Jernest3030's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/15/2016
First time playing Walked Played 18 holes Excellent weather

Reviewed on

Took advantage of an afternoon of excellent weather to go walk 18 at Shoal Creek. I can say that I was thoroughly impressed with nearly every aspect of this course.

To start, the layout is excellent. Mixing short, narrow holes with long, wide ones makes this course a true test of all aspects of your game. Shoal Creek also gives a nice mixture of tree lined holes and more open, plains style holes.

The conditions were about as good as can be expected during this time of year. Everything was a bit soggy, but it didn't take away from the quality of play. The one drawback that I have about the conditions was that the greens seemed to be cut to inconsistent lengths on a few holes, but that was just a very slight takeaway.

Overall, I was very impressed with Shoal Creek. The excellent overall layout mixed with the wonderful conditions (and great weather) made for a great afternoon.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



Douglas6852867's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/12/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Shoal Creek Review"


Mike4108808's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/28/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The layout of the course is great. The. Ondition of the fairways was exceptional. The height of the rough was extememly challenging since the ball was disappear and was difficult to get a club on during the swing. The Freeman’s are normally very good but had been ariated recently and were still sandy making putting aloe and unpredictable. I wish the course and GolfNow would find a consistent means of notifying you this condition when ours chasing a round of golf


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Awesome shape as always"


Elliott7469030's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/14/2017
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens rolled true and fast. Fairways were in great shape. Bunkers taken care of.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Definite Return"


Luv2goof's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/12/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

A great course to play. Staff was nice, great fairways, greens, layout. Will definitely come back.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great course"


GWB64150's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/31/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in great condition, and was challenging. No issues with course other than the grille. The girl seemed rather annoyed with her job as a grille attendant.

I ordered a burger on # 9 tee box from the cart (cool option). However, there was no way to customize what I wanted on it. Please add this option to your cart menu. When I went inside on the turn, and mentioned that I ordered a hamburger, she retrieved it from the back. I asked if there was anything on it besides cheese, and she said, "No." I asked if I could please add onions & lettuce. She didn't say anything, just left the burger on the counter and went to the back. A few minutes later she showed up with lettuce and onion in a plastic container.

A little customer service such as, "Would you like anything on that," or, "Sure, I'll be right back," would have been appropriate, rather than silence.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Pace of play"


u000008045560's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/15/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Pace of play was terrible had a foursome in front of my group of 2 and they wouldn't even acknowledge we were behind them and they were some of the slowest people ever


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course




5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/08/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"No marshals"


u762243934's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/01/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Pace of play was the big issues, 4 groups on a par 4 is unacceptable. Surprised not to see a marshal all evening.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course



Ralford229's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/30/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Nice Course"


sstevens7's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/11/2017
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I purchased a "hot deal" tee time and paid less than half the price of normal rates. This was my first time playing here and it was about a 45 minute drive for me to the course from my home in Tonganoxie. I mainly made the trip because of the great rate and positive reviews the course has been getting this year. First off, my experience was hindered due to the extreme winds on the day I played. Besides the wind, this course makes you work for your score. Greens have good break in them and fairways were in good shape. Tee boxes could have been better as far as them being level. I really had to search for a spot on most of the tee boxes for the most level lie; we played from the blue tees. Bunkers have decent sand in them and are well manicured/maintained. I would have liked to see a little more sand in the bunkers; especially with what they are charging their members here for their seasonal membership rates (meaning they should have plenty of revenue to pull from to spend a little more on sand). The facility itself is top notch. The golf carts all had GPS in them and to my surprise they were accurate (checked via my laser range finder). Overall I liked the course; however, there was not anything super special in this course to warrant the longer drive for me to return. Thank you and best of luck!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Greens"


GoingLowJoe's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/23/2017
Previously played Used cart Wet weather

Reviewed on

Front 9 greens had strips of sod missing around the entire circumference. Made for a tough time around the greens on approaches and chips near the green.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great Course"


Naftali9063056's avatar
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/16/2017
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I played this course because it had some great reviews here, and it did not disappoint.

Everything about this course is as a course should be. Tees, fairways and greens were in great shape. I found the course challenging, but not too difficult. Between the doglegs, some lengthy holes and some with narrow landing areas for tee shots, it was a fun course to play. The final four holes here are really nice and send you home on such a high note.

I highly recommend this course for golfers of all abilities and I would definitely play here again.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



Babs90's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/15/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Excellent Course"


Casey5574380's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/10/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course was fun to play, the people were very friendly. I was coming from Iowa so I played this course because it had the best reviews. I was not disappointed. I would definitely recommend this course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great Course"


u161122853's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/28/2017
Previously played Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course! love playing here.

Cant believe a course this nice doesn't have windshields on their carts though...


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



merlin2556's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/18/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great course"


mpl8570's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/17/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is a great place to play. We played it twice in two days. Great staff, and a great layout.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



u254379438's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/27/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course



RockStar88's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/17/2017
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Always a great time!"


u000001618348's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/05/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Shoal Creek is always a great course to play. We jumped on a hot deal from Golfnow.com. Anytime you can get in a round during the winter season is a plus. Sunny with temps around 50 and light winds made for an excellent round of golf with friends. The grass is still dormant but the crew has been at work around the course. I couldn't believe how many trees have been taken down. None that affect your shots but around greens and between holes. It's going to let more light and wind in. I'm anxious to get back during the summer season to see the full effect. 5 stars to the staff. They are always so friendly and helpful.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed