Shoal Creek Golf Course

4.5633529412 4.6 stars from 5 (160)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 71
  • Length: 6983 yards
  • Slope: 136
  • Rating: 73.9
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
GPS: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Practice hole: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Proper attire must be worn at all times. Collared shirts required for men and proper golf attire for women. No jeans or jean shorts allowed.
Credit cards accepted: Yes

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Gold 71 6983 yards 73.9 136
Blue 71 6363 yards 70.8 127
White 71 5571 yards 66.5 116
White (W) 71 5571 yards 71.6 126
Black (W) 71 4759 yards 67.1 112

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.6 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.4 stars from 5
Value: 4.5 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.2 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.7 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.9 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.4 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 160 Reviews
5 stars:
101
4 stars:
45
3 stars:
8
2 stars:
4
1 stars:
2

recommend this course

150 out of 160 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city near the airport worth the drive   Great for advanced golfers locals entertaining clients   Challenges include bunkers elevation changes water hazards   Great for drinks watching the game  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Excellent Course"


Casey5574380's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/10/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course was fun to play, the people were very friendly. I was coming from Iowa so I played this course because it had the best reviews. I was not disappointed. I would definitely recommend this course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course




4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/10/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great Course"


RickJunior's avatar
Age:  Under 25
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/09/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great place to play. Worth the drive. The course is always in great shape, and playing from the tips isn’t too short like some of the other “local” type courses. Par 3’s are all going to be around 200+ yards so make sure your long irons are in tact. Fairways were in great condition for it being early in the season. Greens were a tad slow but nothing to complain about. Saw an eagle kill a rabbit on hole 4 my last time out so that was an added bonus.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great Course"


u042143766's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/27/2018
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens and fairways were in excellent shape. Staff was friendly and prompt. Good selection of food and beverage and drink cart came by very often which was great for such a hot day. Carts had GPS so I didn't have to wander around with my phone from shot to shot. Worth every cent.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Nice layout in poor shape."


joshgrimes29's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/26/2018
First time playing Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

First time playing this course, lots of hype from numerous people. Definitely not worth the prime rate to play here. Nice layout, course is in poor shape compared to what i have been told to expect. Lots of dead spots, tee boxes were beat up, greens putt nothing like the practice green, bunkers were not in spring/summer shape. Play it for a deal but don't expect it to be as good as people make it seem. Supposed to be rated in the state of Missouri as one of the top courses, definitely not in top course shape.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course



mavmlb51's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/25/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



None's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/21/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Solid golfing experience"


Tom1842836's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/19/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Little to complain about with this facility. Interesting variety of holes, good conditions, pretty solid pace of play...and well marked entrance and exit points for all fairways.

In fact the only real negative I can think of was the total lack of attention from the "cart guys" when we pulled up to the bag drop. It was our first time at the course so I pulled up, stopped, opened the trunk, took out both set of clubs all the while four older gentlemen sat in the covered area with the carts and didn't approach me. Then after we parked I walked back up to the bag drop area, interrupted their discussion and when I said I was new to the area I was told, "well you need to get your bags on a cart!" I'm sure 95% of the people who play the course are known to the staff and their inattentiveness is no big deal, but it was enough for me to have it as my memory of Shoal Creek.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course




Andrewh99's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/19/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great course"


Dustin1413445's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/17/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Shorter course with very thick tough makes shot selection important. In cart GPS is very accurate and helpful. A+ overall. Great course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great layout fun course"


lenzini's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/17/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We always enjoy playing Shoal Creek. The fairway and greens are great early season form. Playing again next week.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I don't recommend this course


"Not as nice as it used to be"


waddell1's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/16/2018
Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Still a good course but the turf conditions aren't what they once were.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Favorite course around"


u000006398650's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/10/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Love this course and basically everything about it. Great back practice area. Only complaint is the GPS working is a little hit and miss on their carts. First world problem I know. On the ones that work, they are super accurate to any pin placement. I think it’s the best public course in KC. Pretty much my go-to course. Once or twice a week evening golfer.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Scott"


u930981910's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/05/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great golf get away from late and long Minnesota winter. I would highly recommend it to anyone. We will be back again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



Roger5376136's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/23/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Excellent course one of KC’s finest. Always enjoy the challenge.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Early spring golf"


9152005's avatar
Top 250 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/22/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

For the time of the year the course was in good condition. Another week and warmer weather course will better. Greens are punched. Still need another week or so.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



mrwilson64158's avatar
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/31/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great north KC course"


revcat's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/30/2018
Previously played Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Always great to get a round in in March even if we had to drive 460 miles fo find some course open. Te like Shoal Creek a lot...nice layout, good length for us from the forward tees...the pace was a bit slow because of a slow foursome in front of us...but...not terrible..about 4:45....cart paths and the rough on the cart path side was not too bad...pretty level walks form the rough...very enjoyable round and a terrific twilight rate...we will play any time we are in the KC area


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course




5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/17/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



Roger5376136's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/15/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course, always a challenge would recommend to all


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



tom57's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/18/2018
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed