Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.7
90
5 Stars
34
4 Stars
45
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
5
1 Stars
3
Staff Friendliness
3.6
Pace
4.8
Amenities
2.8
Conditions
4.6
Value
4.2
Layout
5.0
98.8%
Recommend this course
81 out of 90 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.7
90
5 Stars
1
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Staff Friendliness
4.5
Pace
5.0
Amenities
3.0
Conditions
4.5
Value
4.5
Layout
5.0
100.0%
Recommend this course
2 out of 2 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.7
90
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Staff Friendliness
3.7
Pace
5.0
Amenities
2.5
Conditions
4.7
Value
4.3
Layout
5.0
100.0%
Recommend this course
3 out of 3 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 72
Length 7116
Slope 142
Rating 75.6
Type Private
Formerly known as Big Island Country Club.
Book a Tee Time at
Makani Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7116 yards 75.6 142
Blue 72 6582 yards 72.2 137
White 72 6012 yards 69.4 132
White (W) 72 6012 yards 74.6 129
Green 72 5145 yards 65.5 116
Green (W) 72 5145 yards 70.5 120
Red 72 4803 yards 64.2 110
Red (W) 72 4803 yards 68.7 116
Scorecard for Big Island
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Black M: 75.6/142 449 529 376 384 240 557 401 235 459 3630 401 408 542 222 407 281 547 206 472 3486 7116
Blue M: 72.2/137 386 500 372 371 220 531 396 180 416 3372 369 380 550 189 388 259 494 153 428 3210 6582
White M: 69.4/132 W: 74.6/129 350 489 345 346 183 485 354 142 401 3095 342 362 499 163 356 242 463 144 346 2917 6012
Green M: 65.5/116 W: 70.5/120 324 440 225 308 144 418 322 110 346 2637 280 302 425 123 310 224 415 107 322 2508 5145
Red M: 64.2/110 W: 68.7/116 310 435 223 299 127 382 262 100 325 2463 241 253 420 117 280 200 414 100 315 2340 4803
Handicap 9 3 13 11 17 1 7 15 5 8 14 4 18 12 16 6 10 2
Par 4 5 4 4 3 5 4 3 4 36 4 4 5 3 4 4 5 3 4 36 72
Handicap (W) 11 9 15 1 13 7 3 17 5 8 10 14 12 6 16 18 4 2

Course Details

Year Built 1997
Fairways Bermuda Grass
Greens Bent Grass
Golf Season Year round
Architect Pete Dye (1997)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Caddies Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Golf Simulator Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Indoor Practice Yes
Putting Green Yes
Practice Hole Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted Yes
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes

Best of Lists

  • Golf Advisor: Top Courses in Hawaii (2017 #4)

Reviews

4.7
90

What Golfers Are Saying

Course Challenges Include:
Water Hazards 12
Bunkers 9
Elevation Changes 7
This course/club is great for:
Wildlife/ Scenic Views 13
Locals 10
Advanced Golfers 8
This Course's Location is:
Worth the Drive 11
In the 'Burbs 4
Convenient to the City 1
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing

Well worth it

Played twilight with rented Titleist AP1 irons. Played behind a foursome that kept a decent pace as I played as a 2 ball single. Course played perfectly from tee to green and can't wait to return to play it again. Just the right amount of challenges. Loved 17th hole which a close replica of TPC Sawgrasses 17th. 18 is a great finishing hole as well.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing
Windy weather
Used cart

Really good course, different option on Big Island

Played Big Island CC in April 2018, had a fun day. Course is designed well, nice soft opening then starts sprinkling in some really tough holes, especially Par 3's, and some short fun par 4's. Dye did a good job challenging player visually off the tee and into greens, good mix of safety and trouble. Not as finely groomed as the major resort courses, some scruffiness but greens were great. Amenities are almost non-existent, all temporary yurts and structures, no clubhouse built yet, bring food/snacks as they might not always have a great selection. They don't allow "guests" to hit off the grass range, only "members", which is kinda lame when you pay $100+ for golf. Finish is tough, some people don't like it, I thought it was a good test to close out your round. I'd play it again if I was in the area and had a free day. Not sure they are achieving a "member" like country club feel of upscale living or experience. Basically the feel of a really good muni course that's way off the main track. Beautiful drive and great views, unique perspective of that part of the island most may not see. I recommend if you have a chance to see it.
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Top 1000 Contributor
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Get It While You Can

This course is extremely well cared for. Teeboxes, fairways and greens are all in exceptional condition. Lots of doglegs and water hazards to deal with, and some great views as well. I used to look forward to the island green at 17 but now see it as a bit of a novelty. Probably just me. Played the course probably 5 times or so and almost always bounce off. Quite a challenge for sure as it comes so late in the round. They are planning a resort housing development and then intend to go private. However, they are testing the waters for a week long "vacation" membership. It's currently available for 7 days of unlimited golf at $240. Sounds good right? Kind of. You are also charged each time for a cart rental an additional $30. Seeing as how it's an hour or so from Kona and there are so many other great courses to try on the island, you might think twice. I recommend getting the course while you can. Unless the vacation membership offer appeals to you. Note: Eat and drink all you can on the front 9 because you're going to want to use the world's nicest on course restroom which is at 9/10!
Staff Friendliness Fair
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Fair
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Diverse course layout with beautiful scenery

Course was in excellent condition except for a few tee boxes that had lots of divots. Nice mixture of straight fairways, doglegs and elevated greens. Lots of turkeys and goats on the course, but not a problem. Only issue I had with this course is that the last two holes (the 17th island green and 18th with significant water hazard) come too late in the round. These are great challenging holes, and you have to be at your best to play them. So if you are tired, be ready to lose a bunch of balls. But this course is a must play.
Staff Friendliness Average
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Sf

We spent almost 2 months in big island every year from Nov. to Dec. We select in Hawaii big island cause of nice weather in Hawaii all year. We are enjoy and like to recommend to our friends to be here.
Staff Friendliness Fair
Quality of food & beverage Average
Pace of Play Average
Off-course amenities Fair
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Average
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Used cart

Best Deal on the Big Island

The Sept. '15 rate was $55 for 18 holes...best price on island that we found. Try to finish before noon as the winds really pick up. Very scenic, lots of baby lambs, nene (official bird of HI) and turkey roaming around. Very friendly staff. No food cart the first time we played. Second time there was.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Quality of food & beverage Fair
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Excellent weather
Used cart

Small fun course

A fun small course with interesting holes and a great island hole on 17th. Conditions on the course were overall good and green were fair. Lots of wildlife (turkeys, goats and birds) roaming around but no disturbance. The course was a great value for Hawaii. No doubt you will have a fun time.
Staff Friendliness Good
Quality of food & beverage Fair
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing
Excellent weather
Used cart

Worth a try.

While there are no spectacular views, the course is appealing to the eye. For the price, there is no better value on the big island. Don't be deceived into thinking it will be cooler at this elevation. It was only moderately cooler in July than on the coast. At the time we played, they were introducing a new grass on the greens and they were letting them grow. As a result, they were VERY slow. It would have been nice to know this in advance (like when we made our tee time or when we checked in). We only discovered this by talking to a very friendly groundskeeper while waiting to tee off on a short hole. I would consider playing here again when the greens are in proper shape.
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Good
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

We love playing this course

Love the wildlife. Enjoyable views and in better condition than last year when we played. Excellent value for Hawaii golf. Only negative is slow pace of play.
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Fair
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Enjoyable course

Nice course with lots of wildlife. Play here often and like the cooler temperature. Various tee boxes that will appeal to various level of golfers. Some fairway are a tad worn but greens are in good shape. Overall course in good shape and fun to play.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Good

Stay & Play Offers

$449 Starting price
Valid dates: Sep 03, 2018 - Oct 21, 2018
Book this Stay and Play package to enjoy your stay at the Stowe Mountain Lodge which includes 1 round at the exclusive Mountain Course at Spruce Peak (Formerly known as the Stowe Mountain Course) and unlimited rounds at the Stowe Country Club!
Nearby Courses
Waikoloa, Hawaii
3.6470588235
8
Waikoloa, Hawaii
3.5882058824
14
Kohala Coast, Hawaii
4.8688823529
14
Waikoloa, Hawaii
3.8916941176
217
Kailua Kona, Hawaii
0.0
0
Kohala Coast, Hawaii
4.6389166667
7
Kailua Kona, Hawaii
0.0
0
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE