Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
2.2
48 Reviews (48)
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
20
2 Stars
8
1 Stars
8
Conditions
1.8
Value
2.5
Layout
2.9
Friendliness
3.2
Pace
3.7
Amenities
2.3
38.4%
Recommend this course
31 out of 48 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
1.8
5 Reviews (5)
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Stars
2
Conditions
1.4
Value
2.0
Layout
2.2
Pace
3.0
Amenities
2.4
StaffFriendliness
3.2
20.0%
Recommend this course
1 out of 5 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
2.0
8 Reviews (8)
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Stars
3
Conditions
1.6
Value
2.0
Layout
2.4
Pace
3.4
Amenities
2.1
StaffFriendliness
3.0
25.0%
Recommend this course
2 out of 8 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Public/Municipal
Style Traditional
Par 72
Length 6901 yards
Slope 123
Rating 72.9
Book a Tee Time at
Van Buskirk Golf Course
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 1960
Fairways Bermuda Grass
Greens Bermuda Grass
Golf Season Year round
Architect Robert Muir Graves

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes
Pull-carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes

Reviews

2.2
48 Reviews (48)
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

WHAT HAPPENED TO THIS COARSE?

Not sure where to begin. What is left of a once pretty fair golf course should not be open. Each hole has more than a few geese occupying it. The greens have so much goose poop on them that you have to clear a path on the green, each green. The fairways in general are somewhat green, the lakes are three quarters moss and algae covered, a bridge across one of the lakes is cracked and ready to collapse, most of the tee box markers are missing, AND... 9 holes are no longer. They only have the front nine open. The greens aren’t in bad shape... and, the1 person in the snack bar/pro shop?... is a very patient person. Don’t think I’ll return. Thank you

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Van Buskirk Park Golf Course
Commented On 08/05/2019

Hi dwight1955. Thank you for taking the time to review the course. We take single star feedback very serious at our course. You are welcome to comment further or reach out to our team in the golf shop. We always appreciate the feedback. Thank you for playing Van Buskirk Park Golf Course.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

This golf course only have 9 holes open

Wish there was a warning from golfnow that this golf course was 18 but only 9 is playable. We have to play front 9 twice to complete 18. Back 9 is closed indefinitely due to trees, overgrown weeds & lack of maintenance.

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Poor
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Fun course, conditions are falling.

This is one of our local courses. This is a good test course to get back into the game. The upkeep is lacking and needs water! The back nine are completely closed so front nine only. I truly wish someone would bring this course back to its former glory. Overall it’s is a challenging course just in need of attention.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Van Buskirk Park Golf Course
Commented On 07/05/2019

Hi Dano1111! Thank you so much for leaving us with your feedback. We value our customer experience, so your review is important to us. We will make note and we hope to see you back!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
First Time Playing
Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Poor
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Default User Image
Van Buskirk Park Golf Course
Commented On 04/02/2019

Hello Jeremy, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Van Buskirk Golf Course. We are sorry to see that you may have had a poor customer experience with us and that the course may not have been in the best shape when you played. Any additional feedback is greatly appreciated so that we can improve your experience with us in the future. Thank you for choosing to golf with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Van Buskirk Park Golf Course
Commented On 03/20/2019

Hello Jeremy, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Van Buskirk Golf Course, and for the 3 stars. We hope that you enjoyed playing our golf course and that you will see improvements in the course conditions the next time you are with us. It looks like you had a smooth round and a friendly experience with our staff, so we are glad to see that. Thank you for recommending our golf course, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
First Time Playing
Cold weather
Walked

Don't go!

I checked in early and was told I have to be walking even my prepaid reservation - cart included. They didn't even offer me a a push/pull cart to compensate the lack of cart. They don't have a pro shop. The person managing the restaurant/grill is the one taking the check ins.

Review about the golf course - fairly flat and easy but long if you play the blues. Par 3s are longer. there are no less than 150 yarders. There are NO Fairways- are all ROUGH! Plus the muddy and wet conditions didn't help my cause of walking the course. Good luck finding your ball!! Greens are in better condition. But if you really want to play, might as well just practice in the putting green.

I ended up playing only 9 holes!!! I told myself- I am not coming back even it's free! It might cost me more losing all my balls.

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Average
Friendliness Fair
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Difficulty Fairly Easy
Default User Image
Van Buskirk Park Golf Course
Commented On 03/08/2019

Hello, and thank you for taking the time to review us, Van Buskirk Golf Course. We're very sorry to hear you may not have had the best recent customer experience with us due to the miscommunications about your reservation, and we greatly appreciate your feedback regarding this issue so we may work towards any necessary improvements. Thank you for golfing with us, and we hope to see you again soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
2.0
First Time Playing

Decieving

Filter for 18 Holes and this still comes up... Back 9 has been out of commission for longer than anyone can remember. Fromt 9 conditions for horrid. Mud patches and Rough essential everywhere,, as they had no concept of a fairway. Greens were wet which caused chips to sit, and putts to go nowhere. Along with goose crap and just destroyed patches everywhere. No actual Pro Shop, you pay in the restaurant which smells like an old Bowling Alley Billiards Room... Only thing that wasnt beaten to crap was the bathroom surprising

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Poor
Pace Fair
Amenities Poor
Default User Image
Van Buskirk Park Golf Course
Commented On 07/31/2019

We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. We are going to pass on your feedback to the teams in charge so they can work to make changes. Thanks for visiting Van Buskirk Park Golf Course. We hope you'll give us another try in the future.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Van Buskirk

This course used to be great course, now this is in such bad condition it should not even be offered on GN your stealing from customers it is that bad. I will never play there again or recommend it to anyo.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Fair
Friendliness Fair
Pace Average
Amenities Poor
Response from Van Buskirk Park Golf Course on 10/09/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Van Buskirk Park Golf Course, in the Stockton, California area. We are sorry to see that you may have had a poor customer experience with us and that the course may not have been in the best shape when you played. Any additional feedback is greatly appreciated so that we can improve your experience with us in the future. Thank you for choosing to golf with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Not well maintained for the money

The staff was very friendly, especially the cook. The course and facilities are unfortunately a different story. There were no range balls in the morning because someone didn’t feel like collecting them from the range the day before. The tee boxes were a mess, fairways were full of random holes. Several of the yardage markers are missing. Some of the holes didn’t have yardage/hole signs. The list goes on. On a positive note, the greens were actually pretty good except for one on the back 9 that looked like someone dig a few small holes and covered them back up. I would not be as critical if the price was somewhere around 15 bucks with a cart, but 33? No way that course is worth 33 bucks.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Fair
Response from Van Buskirk Golf Course on 07/25/2018:
Thank you for coming out to Van Buskirk Golf Course and for leaving us a review. We appreciate that you sharing your feedback. We are sorry to hear about your disappointment with the conditions and not having range balls the morning you played. We are always looking to improve, and we are welcome to hearing any more feedback that you might have. We are happy to hear that you liked our staff and our greens. We will make sure to keep working hard to have the course in shape, and we hope you will be able to see improvements the next time you are with us. Thank you again for sharing your feedback, and we hope to see you back again sometime.
Played On
Handicap 25+
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Celebrate 4th

The course needs help/maintenance - it is the municipal golf course but City of Stockton should invest on it, since the location is nice and perfect for golfing. I like the place, the layout is good. If I win the lotto, I will donate money to get that course fixed.
Anyway, it's alright for the money we paid.

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Average
Pace Good
Difficulty Moderate
Response from Van Buskirk Municipal Golf Course on 07/06/2018:
Thank you for playing our course, and we thank you for the review. We apologize if the course conditions did not meet your expectations. Our staff will keep working to have the course in shape. We are happy to hear though that you like the layout, and we hope to have you back here sometime soon.
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

AN OLD FAVORITE

Van Buskirk, a poor abused old lady, is my favorite track here in Stockton. With money woes the city has allowed the course to deteriorate, as it has the other 18 hole layout, Swenson Park.
Despite the seediness it remains a favorite of mine, the front nine is the easier of the two but challenging, the back a real test.
The real delight here is the fact that you can walk on pretty much any time, week days and weekends. I can play eighteen holes in under three hours almost all the time.
Give it a try you wont be sorry.

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Fair
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once every three months
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

golf.now needs to find out bout when something is wrong with the course. i reserved on golf.now i get to the course and back nine was closed. thats not good customer service

Response from Van Buskirk Park Golf Course on 02/06/2018:
Hello, thank you for reviewing our course, Van Buskirk Park Golf Course. We're very sorry to hear you may have had a poor customer experience with us recently, and we appreciate your feedback so we may work on improvements for your future experience with us. We apologize for any miscommunication or misunderstanding in regards to your reservation and hope we can better clarify in the future if necessary. Thank you for choosing our course in the Stockton, California area, and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Course closes at 4:00 PM?

First issue was with a 12:15 tee time and being told to have the cart back by 3:15 we were rushed from the start.
Tee boxes if you are lucky had one set of markers.
Could not tell where the Blue tees or Black tees were to play from.
Downed trees just left where they lye.
Squirrel holes would eat your ball if you had an unlucky bounce.
Front nine pace was good but as a twosome getting behind a five some made fir a long back nine.
Finished the round by 3:30 to get the cart back only to find that the grill/ bar had already closed.
Only good thing I can say is that as a Hot Deal we did not have to spend a lot to play.

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Fair
Amenities Poor
Response from Van Buskirk Park Golf Course on 01/05/2018:
Hello, thank you for reviewing our course, Van Buskirk Park Golf Course. We strive to provide the best possible customer experience to our golfers, and we apologize if we missed the mark. Your loyalty to our course is valued and we hope you will see improvements the next time you are with us. However, we're glad you received a good value for your round. Thank you for choosing to play our course, in the Stockton, California area, and we hope to earn your business again soon.
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
2.0
First Time Playing

Get out early

Course not in terrible shape. Fairways were hard as a rock and lack some grass but greens were pretty good and tees the same. Would have been nice to be informed that we would only get to play 9 holes at our tee time of 12:18. Pro shop guy was fairly rude and basically blamed us for not knowing their policy of all carts in by 3:15. Should have been informed during purchase that we would not possibly have time to finish 18.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Poor
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from Van Buskirk Golf Course on 12/07/2017:
Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Van Buskirk Golf Course in the Sacramento area. We're very sorry to hear you did not have the best customer experience with us recently, and that the course may not have been in the best shape on the day of your round. We greatly appreciate your feedback regarding the course conditions and cart policy so we may work towards any necessary improvements. However, we're glad to see you received a good value for your round and enjoyed the course layout. Thank you for golfing with us, and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

It needs little more love to make the fairways have grass

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

the course was challenging .

the course was a pleasant experience for everyone. overall, we had a great time. Fortunately, there are no negative issues to report. looking forward to playing there again soon.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart

Bad Boys

Well aside from the seeing cops coming in and out of the parking lot and patrolling the street adjacent to the course; It was somewhat a good experience. The course itself was pretty dry but we didn't mind. The strange thing was watch people clear out after 2pm, that should have been an alert. We were told after why. Still, with all that, I'd play it again, just make sure its in the early morning.

Conditions Poor
Value Good
Layout Fair
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Mow Fairways

Played with 3 friend for the first time. We are from Modesto. We liked the layout. I think the fairways should be mowed a little shorter and the rough a little longer. A lot of times it seemed there was little or difference between the fairway and rough. Sand in the bunkers would be nice too.

Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

It's a muni!

Course was still showing signs from all the rain. If the price is right it's perfect to go out, hit the ball around and have fun. If your looking for a 5 star place, don't go here. It is in a sketchy area, but we had no problems. Did come up onto a 5some on the back nine, they were loud and slow. We had to skip a hole to get around them. Didn't bother us, they were having fun and doing their thing.

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Fair
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

great local course

Always have a good time here. Fairways are in average condition. Greens were excellent.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Nearby Courses
Stockton, California
0.0
0
Stockton, California
0.0
0
Stockton, California
0.0
0
Stockton, California
4.0
1
Manteca, California
2.2
5
Stockton, California
4.2627647059
223
Manteca, California
4.0
138
Tracy, California
2.0
4
Stockton, California
4.3062764706
309
Lodi, California
3.9429705882
404

Stay & Play Offers

From $530
Valid dates: Sep 16, 2019 - Mar 31, 2020
Located between Charlotte, NC and Columbia, SC along I-77, the Olde English District includes seven counties in the Piedmont (upstate) area of South Carolina.
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE