Van Buskirk Park Golf Course

2.8571411765 2.9 stars from 5 (38)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6901 yards
  • Slope: 123
  • Rating: 72.9
  • Layout

  • 1740 Houston Ave, Stockton, California 95206, San Joaquin County
  • (209) 937-7357
  • (209) 937-7357
  • www.stocktongolfcourses.com

Year built: 1960
Architect(s): Robert Muir Graves
Type: Public
Style: Traditional
Greens: Bermuda grass
Fairways: Bermuda grass
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fee
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 72 6901 yards 72.9 123
White 72 6523 yards 70.8 118
Gold (W) 72 5882 yards 67.7 113
Red (W) 73 5882 yards 73.3 120

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 2.9 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 2.3 stars from 5
Value: 3.9 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.1 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 3.7 stars from 5
Course Layout: 3.9 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 2.6 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 38 Reviews
5 stars:
0
4 stars:
12
3 stars:
17
2 stars:
5
1 stars:
4

recommend this course

29 out of 38 reviews


loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"AN OLD FAVORITE"


Richarddub12344's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/06/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Van Buskirk, a poor abused old lady, is my favorite track here in Stockton. With money woes the city has allowed the course to deteriorate, as it has the other 18 hole layout, Swenson Park.

Despite the seediness it remains a favorite of mine, the front nine is the easier of the two but challenging, the back a real test.

The real delight here is the fact that you can walk on pretty much any time, week days and weekends. I can play eighteen holes in under three hours almost all the time.

Give it a try you wont be sorry.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



u000005673892's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/03/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

golf.now needs to find out bout when something is wrong with the course. i reserved on golf.now i get to the course and back nine was closed. thats not good customer service


I recommend this course


Response from Van Buskirk Park Golf Course on 02/06/2018:

Hello, thank you for reviewing our course, Van Buskirk Park Golf Course. We're very sorry to hear you may have had a poor customer experience with us recently, and we appreciate your feedback so we may work on improvements for your future experience with us. We apologize for any miscommunication or misunderstanding in regards to your reservation and hope we can better clarify in the future if necessary. Thank you for choosing our course in the Stockton, California area, and we hope to see you again soon.

"Course closes at 4:00 PM?"


u000003395686's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/01/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

First issue was with a 12:15 tee time and being told to have the cart back by 3:15 we were rushed from the start.

Tee boxes if you are lucky had one set of markers.

Could not tell where the Blue tees or Black tees were to play from.

Downed trees just left where they lye.

Squirrel holes would eat your ball if you had an unlucky bounce.

Front nine pace was good but as a twosome getting behind a five some made fir a long back nine.

Finished the round by 3:30 to get the cart back only to find that the grill/ bar had already closed.

Only good thing I can say is that as a Hot Deal we did not have to spend a lot to play.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Van Buskirk Park Golf Course on 01/05/2018:

Hello, thank you for reviewing our course, Van Buskirk Park Golf Course. We strive to provide the best possible customer experience to our golfers, and we apologize if we missed the mark. Your loyalty to our course is valued and we hope you will see improvements the next time you are with us. However, we're glad you received a good value for your round. Thank you for choosing to play our course, in the Stockton, California area, and we hope to earn your business again soon.

"Get out early"


jbratteree's avatar
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/04/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

Course not in terrible shape. Fairways were hard as a rock and lack some grass but greens were pretty good and tees the same. Would have been nice to be informed that we would only get to play 9 holes at our tee time of 12:18. Pro shop guy was fairly rude and basically blamed us for not knowing their policy of all carts in by 3:15. Should have been informed during purchase that we would not possibly have time to finish 18.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Van Buskirk Golf Course on 12/07/2017:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Van Buskirk Golf Course in the Sacramento area. We're very sorry to hear you did not have the best customer experience with us recently, and that the course may not have been in the best shape on the day of your round. We greatly appreciate your feedback regarding the course conditions and cart policy so we may work towards any necessary improvements. However, we're glad to see you received a good value for your round and enjoyed the course layout. Thank you for golfing with us, and we hope to see you again soon.


u000008047405's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/01/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

It needs little more love to make the fairways have grass


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


"the course was challenging ."


u000003487490's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/02/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

the course was a pleasant experience for everyone. overall, we had a great time. Fortunately, there are no negative issues to report. looking forward to playing there again soon.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Bad Boys"


u000007645439's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/24/2017
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Well aside from the seeing cops coming in and out of the parking lot and patrolling the street adjacent to the course; It was somewhat a good experience. The course itself was pretty dry but we didn't mind. The strange thing was watch people clear out after 2pm, that should have been an alert. We were told after why. Still, with all that, I'd play it again, just make sure its in the early morning.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


"Mow Fairways"


Roman1953's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/22/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played with 3 friend for the first time. We are from Modesto. We liked the layout. I think the fairways should be mowed a little shorter and the rough a little longer. A lot of times it seemed there was little or difference between the fairway and rough. Sand in the bunkers would be nice too.


I recommend this course


"It's a muni!"


endlsumer's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/18/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was still showing signs from all the rain. If the price is right it's perfect to go out, hit the ball around and have fun. If your looking for a 5 star place, don't go here. It is in a sketchy area, but we had no problems. Did come up onto a 5some on the back nine, they were loud and slow. We had to skip a hole to get around them. Didn't bother us, they were having fun and doing their thing.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


"great local course"


u000001816330's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/10/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Always have a good time here. Fairways are in average condition. Greens were excellent.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Van B"


u732917124's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/18/2015
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great price nice long and wide course could use a lilt the more up keep but well worth the price.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Trees, Trees, and more Trees"


Jack3109726's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/19/2015
Previously played Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Average weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course is very flat and fairways extremely narrow. Lots of trees line the course and striking 1 or several should be expected.

Some of the holes have trees with large branches that extend across the fairway just out of the tee box and will definitely change how you drive.

Several water traps; I recommend staying well clear as the water is very stagnant and has a lot of foam and algae. If you drop a ball in one, just let it go, even if it rolls in just at the edge.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"This is course is forgiving"


Robert5083745's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/22/2015
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The staff is great. The course itself, the fairways could be a lot greener they are a little tough and dead in places. The greens are very big and very soft they are very nice they roll true. It is very open and forgiving to slices, lol.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Quality of food & beverage: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"good price with a long course and good pace of play"


leon0901's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/19/2015
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

course in good shape. Friendly staff with great rates


Pace of Play: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Been a long time"


pmarriott's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/22/2015
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was in the best shape that I have seen it in years. The bunkers actually had sand, And the fairways looked good.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"first time at course for avid golfer"


u050165039's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/07/2015
First time playing Paired up at course Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens were tough but fair. Fairways alright, mostly due to recent rain. Course is growing over a lot of the sand traps, which may make things more challenging in the future depending on grass length in old traps. Course is long from white tees, especially three of the four par fives. All in all a fun first experience, even though I had to start my round on the back because of a tee time mixup.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Quality of food & beverage: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Friendly front office staff but course does not match"


u141144690's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/14/2014
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Based on the other reviews I was excited for the course but then was let down. The front office staff was awesome and the pace of play great. The first nine holes were alright but the back nine we had kids playing in the fairways moving balls and gardening crew driving right next to us while hitting our tee shots. Then they decided to clean the side road for no apparent reason blowing dirt into our faces. Not a great experience.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


"good lauout"


vettster's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/21/2014
Previously played Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Fairways were shaggy and traps were the worst I've played. The tees were uneven and shaggy. Greens were better than average.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


"Course conditions"


u000001809166's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/12/2014
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Fairways were very long no roll. Greens were very slow. I've seen it look and play better.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Quality of food & beverage: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Good course!!"


Ping209's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/12/2014
First time playing Played with a group Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I'm an 18 hdcp and found this course to have some easy holes but also some harder holes. Overall was nice course.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed