Thistle Golf Club - Stewart Course

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.4
163
5 Stars
110
4 Stars
34
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
5
1 Stars
6
Staff Friendliness
4.6
Pace
4.4
Amenities
4.5
Conditions
4.2
Value
4.2
Layout
4.8
91.7%
Recommend this course
151 out of 163 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.4
163
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
1
Staff Friendliness
4.7
Pace
4.5
Amenities
4.6
Conditions
3.9
Value
3.7
Layout
4.8
84.6%
Recommend this course
11 out of 13 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.4
163
5 Stars
27
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
2
Staff Friendliness
4.5
Pace
4.4
Amenities
4.4
Conditions
4.3
Value
4.0
Layout
4.6
90.7%
Recommend this course
39 out of 43 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 9
Par 35
Length 3351
Slope 0
Rating 0.0
Type Public
Book a Tee Time at
Thistle Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Thistle 35 3351 yards
Blue 35 3168 yards
White 35 2894 yards
Gold 35 2583 yards
Red 35 2179 yards
Scorecard for Cameron / Stewart
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out Total
Thistle M: 73.4/137 370 414 433 183 518 421 380 206 525 3450 6801
Blue M: 70.8/132 349 356 410 156 475 396 355 190 500 3187 6355
White M: 67.7/124 326 326 363 134 446 376 337 164 477 2949 5840
Gold M: 65.3/111 W: 69.2/124 270 271 309 108 428 315 286 144 449 2580 5207
Red W: 65.8/109 246 251 284 85 368 279 248 106 390 2257 4612
Handicap 14 8 10 16 6 12 4 18 2
Par 4 4 4 3 5 4 4 3 5 36 71
Handicap (W) 14 8 10 16 6 12 4 18 2

Course Details

Year Built 2000
Fairways Bermuda Grass
Greens TifEagle Bermuda Grass
Golf Season Year round
Architect Tim Cate (1999)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - included in green fees
Clubs Yes
GPS No

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No

Best of Lists

  • Golf Advisor: Top 25 Courses for Layout in the U.S. (2016 #11)
  • Golf Advisor: Top Courses in North Carolina (2016 #1) (2015 #9)
  • Golf Advisor: Best of Golf Advisor (2016 #14)
  • Golf Advisor: Top 25 Course Conditions in the U.S. (2016 #6)
  • Golf Advisor: Top 25 Off-course amenities in the U.S. (2016 #14)

Reviews

4.4
163

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 16
19th Hole Scenic Views 11
Patio Dining 11
Course Challenges Include:
Water Hazards 26
Bunkers 25
Forced Carries 24
This course/club is great for:
Advanced Golfers 20
Locals 18
A Bucket list/Top 100 Pick 14
This Course's Location is:
Worth the Drive 25
Convenient to the City 6
Near Local Attractions 6

Reviewer Photos

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart

AWESOME !

I have played many courses at the beach over the last 20 years. I have found my favorite. Everything about the Thistle is 1st class. from the time I arrived to I left it was incredible. The staff, the course, the restaurant/bar was the best. I don't know why I waited so long to play this course. I will be back Labor day weekend and I will be playing the Thistle.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
3.0
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart

great layout,beautiful but short course

We played the Cameron and Stewart courses. The course is in great shape with beautiful fast greens running around 11. Amazingly dry given the last couple of weeks of rain. The front 9 Cameron was great with great pace of play. On the turn we find ourselves as part of 4 groups on the fist hole of Stewart. One flight on green next, a 3some on tee in their late 20s, 3 much older gentlemen around my age waiting then us, ie myself and my in-laws 82 and 78 of age. The problem was the young guns thot they should drive to the green at 317yds and waited till the first group walked off the green. They ended up driving between 240 and 275 yds. The ranger drove by and i wave for him to stop. Before i could say anything the 3 older guys jumped in and said everything is fine followed by a quick chat between themselves as they know the ranger being regulars at the course.All 3 took their time teeing off. we ended up waiting a good 25 minutes before we could tee off. That is totally unacceptable. We ended up waiting 3-10 mins before each shot given the 3 old slow deer in front. The young guns caught up with the group in front of them hence the gap opening up in front of the 3 slow old slow deer. Look i am 61 playing with my in laws both older than the 3 old slow deer. I got to talk to the ranger again but he made no attempt to move the speed up given that he knew them well. I was told everything was playing at the right pace which was not right given that they were then 1 stoke n 2 putts behind the young guns. Yes we were all riding and not walking. We waited on every shot 3-5 mins. Every hole after we putted out we drove to the next tee only to have to wait 3-5 mins again since they continue their slow play and still teeing off at the tee box. On the par 5 we saw the gun guns walking off the green but only to find ourselves waiting for these 3 guys to tee off. For a course that prides themselves and hold themselves to a higher standard and refusing to acknowledge slow play of their regulars, Its totally unacceptable after all it cost about $90, including fees per person. It is sad for such a well maintained course
Staff Friendliness Average
Pace of Play Fair
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Fair
Course Layout Good
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing

Perfection

I created this profile just to add a review to the course. Your experience starts on the drive in to a beautiful clubhouse, running through a few of the holes on the Cameron 9. The greens were hands down the best greens I have seen in the myrtle beach area. We played the Cameron and Mackay courses and were in awe of the beauty and wildlife the entire time. It was cart path only, which we knew with the rain this week all courses would be, and it didn't take away from the experience one bit. This is a must play again course,
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Response from Thistle Golf Club on 08/13/2018:
Hello, and thank you for your 5-star rating! We're so glad to hear how much you enjoyed the course, the scenery and the club house. Please book another round with us soon. Thanks for playing Thistle Golf Club!
Played On
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Wet weather
Used cart

Great Course

Course was in outstanding condition, greens were perfect!
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Response from Thistle Golf Club on 08/08/2018:
Hello. Thank you for your 5-star rating! Please book another round with us soon.
Default User Image
Thistle Golf Club - Stewart Course
Commented On 08/08/2018
Hello. Thank you for your 5-star rating! Please book another round with us soon.
Was this review useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Top shelf

Great course, a few greens have problems , remainder in great condition. First off, best the turn, 2 hour round
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Average
Course Layout Excellent
Response from Thistle Golf Club on 05/14/2018:
Hello, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate your feedback about your round and hope to see you again for another round soon! Thanks for playing Thistle Golf Club.
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

A Wonderday Day Overall

We played the Stewart to Mackay nines and overall the facility is in very nice condition. There was evidence of lost surfaces in most greens which had liekly suffered from the harsh winter.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Average
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Average
Course Layout Excellent
Response from Thistle Golf Club on 05/01/2018:
Hello, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate your feedback about your round and apologize the conditions of the greens weren't up to your expectations. The harsh winter temperatures caused a lot of stress on the majority of the greens in the Myrtle Beach area. They are slowly returning to the pristine conditions we are accustomed to as the warmer weather approaches. In the mean time, we are trying to do all we can to keep the surface smooth and puttable. We hope you consider giving us another shot in the future. Thanks for playing Thistle Golf Club!
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Windy weather
Used cart
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Excellent
Response from Thistle Golf Club on 05/02/2018:
Hello, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate your feedback about your round and are happy to hear you enjoyed it. We hope to see you again for another round soon. Thanks for playing Thistle Golf Club!
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
2.0
Previously Played

Greens are Gone

Played this course last December 2017 and it was in great shape. Played it on April 20, 2018 and was very disappointed to find most greens unplayable. I played the Cameron and Stewart 9s. Imagine putting on a surface that looks like flaking old paint or on mud surface that has hardened and cracked. These greens guarantee that your ball will bounce and veer off course with every putt. Given the high price you pay to play here, it’s not worth playing until the greens come back, which as of this review, I would say it looks doubtful. Before you play here, you need to call and ask about the health of the Greens. Not worth $40 let alone the $159 rack rate if the greens are not good condition. Right now, the worst aerration job can’t match the poor condition of these greens. Also note that if you want to buy something in the pro shop and you have a 2 pm tee time, buy it before your round because the pro shop was closed by 6 pm. The bar has last call at 6:30 pm, which must play real well w/ the golf trip groups. When we were there, there were four such groups there who needed to find another watering hole. Love the course, but the greens need to come back before they get my money again.
Staff Friendliness Average
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Fair
Course Conditions Poor
Value for the Money Poor
Course Layout Good
Response from Thistle Golf Club on 04/23/2018:
Hello, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate your feedback about your round and apologize your experience with us wasn't up to your expectations. The harsh winter temperatures caused a lot of stress on the majority of the greens in the Myrtle Beach area. Our greens are slowly returning to the pristine condition we are accustomed to as the warmer weather approaches. In the meantime, we are trying to do all that we can to keep the surface smooth and puttable. We hope this doesn't deter you from returning for another round soon. Thanks for playing Thistle Golf Club!
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Windy weather
Used cart

Tough winter....

Beautiful track but the winter hit this place hard and most greens had pretty severe winter kill. The staff and the overall beauty of the place made the day a positive one,
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Fair
Value for the Money Average
Course Layout Good
Response from Thistle Golf Club on 04/20/2018:
Hi DavMar, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate your feedback about our staff and are happy to hear you enjoyed your round with us. We hope to see you again soon! Thanks for playing #ThistleGolfClub.
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great course

Great course as usual. Fairways and tee boxes in good shape but greens were not. Some had been aerated but they looked to be in terrible shape. Not sure what has happened but when you pay $100 you expect a lot. Overall, Thistle is a great track, just may be a while before I come back.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Excellent
Response from Thistle Golf Club on 04/17/2018:
Hi Damian7372297, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate your feedback about your round and are happy to hear you enjoyed it. We apologize that the greens weren't up to you expectations, and hope this doesn't deter you from returning for another round soon. Thanks for playing Thistle Golf Club.

Stay & Play Offers

$110 Starting price
Valid dates: Aug 13, 2018 - Dec 31, 2019
The Penn Ohio Golf Trail consists of courses mainly in Western PA and Northeast Ohio. What sets us apart is that we offer 29 different courses; including 4 private, members-only country clubs, 2 former LPGA courses, and many of the top courses in Ohio and Pennsylvania (including Pennsylvania’s #1 public course – Olde Stonewall). We offer 4 Mansions (for groups of 2 to 36), 10 hotels and customer service beyond any major resort. Our Mansions feature large common areas, pool tables, poker tables, big screen TV’s with the luxury of the entire group together in a large home setting.
Nearby Courses
Sunset Beach, North Carolina
4.3674941176
163
Sunset Beach, North Carolina
4.3674941176
163
Sunset Beach, North Carolina
4.3539470588
88
Calabash, North Carolina
0.0
0
Sunset Beach, North Carolina
4.012
129
Calabash, North Carolina
0.0
0
Calabash, North Carolina
0.0
0
Sunset Beach, North Carolina
3.2720588235
29
Sunset Beach, North Carolina
3.4477705882
97
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE