Pinecrest Golf Club

3.9040117647 3.9 stars from 5 (441)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7089 yards
  • Slope: 139
  • Rating: 74.7
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No
GPS: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7089 yards 74.7 139
Blue 72 6685 yards 72.8 136
White 72 6079 yards 70.0 127
White (W) 72 6079 yards 75.9 145
Green 72 5539 yards 67.4 120
Green (W) 72 5539 yards 72.8 132
Red 72 5062 yards 65.4 116
Red (W) 72 5062 yards 70.8 120

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.9 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.9 stars from 5
Value: 4.2 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.2 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.3 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.6 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 441 Reviews
5 stars:
131
4 stars:
222
3 stars:
62
2 stars:
19
1 stars:
7

recommend this course

384 out of 440 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive convenient to the city in the 'burbs   Great for advanced golfers seniors locals   Challenges include water hazards bunkers forced carries   Great for drinks watching the game 19th hole scenic views  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"There are Better in the Area"


as1439246's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/18/2017
First time playing Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

Reading other reviews guided my decision to play here. The course is in a residential neighborhood in Bluffton as it winds thru the houses and water. Playing in June you would expect it to be in top condition. The tees need attention around the course, from divots to replanting turf so they have more than weeds. Greens were better and the fairways were ok. The course had a number of players being Father's Day weekend and it may have had more beginners than usual. The rate of play was very s l o w.

The clubhouse was nice, no one in there eating. Rental Club charges were not too high. Another course near by charged more than the round.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


"Great Value Option"



4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/12/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Good layout but a lot of greens need some help but for the price it is excellent value. Staff were nice,and friendly, course was pretty much empty on a Saturday afternoon. The cart guy was the best both on our arrival and leaving. I will play here again


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course


"Green conditions very poor"


ronwells70's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/10/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Unfortunately, the condition of the course (particularly the greens) was pretty poor. Had played this course 2 years ago and compared with conditions then, we were really disappointed. Port-a-potty on the course was pretty gross and when making the turn, there was no ready to eat food at clubhouse (at 11:45 am). Won’t be going back to this course in the foreseeable future.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


"Pinecrest"


oliver129's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/10/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Nice course. Water makes for some challenging holes


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



f1isbest's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/09/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Unfortunately disappointed"


Randal1055137's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/05/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Always enjoyed playing this course when we went to Hilton Head. Unfortunately greens were lost and not in even good shape. Took a friend for the first time and was embarrassed. Sorry guys. Hopefully you can get things fixed.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


"Going, going, gone........"


Robert5649777's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/05/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course has gone downhill fast and is now not playable. It seems as if they are just letting it go. No water, no fertilizer, no overseed. I suggest you play elsewhere for now. Greens are un-puttable.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


"Not worth the money"


Joe2969999's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/03/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens were in bad shape, and the staff was not friendly. Probably won’t go back.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


"Greens?"


Frogislander's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/02/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Have played this course many times but this last time the course was in the worst condition that we've ever seen. The greens, if you can call them greens, have some very severe problems. Not sure if a fungus or simply lack of proper maintenance but they were simply terrible.

Not sure if some of the other reviewers played the same course that we did as their reviews seem to be more optimistic fantasy than the reality of what we played on. Would suggest simply calling the putt in if it's within a club length. Putts simply hopped, skipped and jumped to the cup or vicinity of the cup.

If you've played Island West in the past several years, well, the greens here are headed in that same direction.

Simply put, the course, as it is today, is not worth the time or the money.

Oh, time to re-sod the tee boxes or issue hammers to pound your tees in with.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course




5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/01/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Check on conditions before playing"


ncbrownie's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/30/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Just returned from 6 days of golf in Hilton Head. Pinecrest was first course we played. Weather was sunny and in 70's all days...perfect! All courses we played were in good to great shape except Pinecrest. Not sure what happened here but turf is in really bad shape especially the greens. Lies are so tight around greens that we were putting up to 20' off the greens. Never played here before, the layout is fine. My recommendation is you call the pro shop and inquire about conditions before playing here in the near future.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


"Great staff"


u000005252915's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/30/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course has some issues with there greens however they rolled a lot better than they looked. The starter was excellent and the gentleman at the bag drop when I finished was great.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course



Mikebell123's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/28/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



u385020335's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/28/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Weekends very busy if you are a single player. Other than that nice course.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course




4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/27/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Has Potential"


u366978622's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/26/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Interesting track but greens have suffered some fungal disease. They looked horrible but actually rolled OK. Do NOT try to walk this course - some VERY long treks between holes. It was a decent value. When greens come back it will be good.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent


I don't recommend this course


"Good layout"


u000005249092's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/26/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was in good shape. Water on many holes but very playable. Friendly staff and worth the money.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Bumpy...."


GOLFNSVNA's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/22/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Got a round in before the rain. Hooked up with two nice guys. Pace of play could've been a little better but not bad. Greens were very bumpy. Looks like after some airifying and topdress the greens should roll true. Weed free for the most part. Great layout, nice challenge. Bunkers not raked and golfers ahead did not rake as well. Poor ettiquete.Love 9 and 18. Course in a month or two with some warm weather should be great. The work on #1 is a very detailed job. Someone knows what they are doing. I'll be back.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


"Nice layout - very poor greens and tees"


mikenicholson's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/22/2018
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We’ve played this course several times. Fun design, but very poorly maintained. Poor tees and very poor greens.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course



Tony6255680's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/20/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Nice!!!!!"


GOLFNSVNA's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/13/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

First time on course. Great day. Only draw back was first hole has been converted to a par 4 from a 5, due to extending of the driving range. I almost drove the green, I called the pro shop and that's how I found out. Scorecards need to be updated. Tees, fairways and greens were very playable. Looks like in the next month or so this course will be a great track. Love holes 9 and 18 coming in. I like how certain holes were roped off so the course could keep it's luster. Fair but challenging layout for all handicaps. Huge greens. Overall had a great round and will be back.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed