Pinecrest Golf Club

4.0698705882 4.1 stars from 5 (409)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7089 yards
  • Slope: 139
  • Rating: 74.7
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No
GPS: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7089 yards 74.7 139
Blue 72 6685 yards 72.8 136
White 72 6079 yards 70.0 127
White (W) 72 6079 yards 75.9 145
Green 72 5539 yards 67.4 120
Green (W) 72 5539 yards 72.8 132
Red 72 5062 yards 65.4 116
Red (W) 72 5062 yards 70.8 120

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.1 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.0 stars from 5
Value: 4.4 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.2 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.5 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.8 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 409 Reviews
5 stars:
126
4 stars:
210
3 stars:
56
2 stars:
12
1 stars:
5

recommend this course

365 out of 408 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive convenient to the city in the 'burbs   Great for advanced golfers seniors locals   Challenges include water hazards bunkers forced carries   Great for drinks watching the game 19th hole scenic views  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Wet but quick round"


u000003542461's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/13/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

Course was cart path only due to very wet conditions. Fast pace round since first ones off in the morning. First hole has temporary tee due to construction. Bunkers muddy and compact. Greens fairly good condition. Overall, pretty good for the price.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Nice course"


eripley's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/06/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens are in great shape. Tee boxes were a bit muddy as it rained two days before. Nice variety of holes. Staff was very accommodating and friendly.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"NICE!!"


Tony9908320's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/26/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

In good shape for the time of year. Greens were rolling true should be beautiful by spring


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Worth the money"


diggspat's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/22/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

As a group, we have nothing negative to say about Pinecrest. This time of the year, when the grass is dormant, all courses play about the same from the fairways. Greens were smooth and rolled well. Can't beat the price.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Playable Pinecrest!"


None's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/21/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course is always a pleasure to play! The conditions are usually good, the greens are normally rolling well but this time the front was in need of the greens being rolled, ( a little bumpy), the back was good! Fairways were in good shape considering there was snow on the ground for a few days only a few days earlier! The tee boxes were in need of some work! Always enjoy playing the course as it makes you think about each shot!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Never play this course"


ccapan's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/20/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

What a disappointment and not worth any amount to play. Golf now needs to take this course off their choices


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course



bobmckelvie's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/15/2018
Previously played Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


"Wet"


craigmiddleton's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months
Handicap:  20-24

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/12/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Just doesn’t deal well with any kind of rain or moisture.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


"It was a good day...."


hosoh's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/19/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Liked my first experience at Pinecrest.

Good layout and some challenging holes.

Would be nice if the edge of the fairways were not US Open type length....very penal to the average golfer.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"December golf"


bobkoppes's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/11/2017
Previously played Used cart Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The fairways and greens were in good shape but the grass in the edge of the fairways was to high! Ball would sink in and disappear! So if your a high handicapper like me be prepared to lose a lot of balls that are right off the fairway. We played behind a 4 some that was slow so pace was to slow for us!


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Typical Brown Golf Course"


bluff2013's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/04/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Fairways need overseeding Tee boxes for the most part needs TLC. Greens were good have seen them better.. new driving range is in works for the IJGA students...


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


"This course has a great flow"


u420495101's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/28/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course has a great flow for al level(s) of players. My wife and I played this course on a day that was overcast and on and off showers. Even during these conditions the course played very well. Both The fairways and greens were in good shape and the greens putted consistently from hole one to hole eighteen,

We had a great time playing this course.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course




4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/18/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Good time"


u000006354602's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/16/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The greens were perfect for me. I had four birdies, multiple pars and only two bad holes.

I was in the company of some really great folks, no cussing, no smoking and no I'll timed jokes.

The Good Lord provided us with an absolutely great day for golf.

The staff was great all around, desk, golf bag handler and starter.

Golfnow.com is great.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course


"Average Course"


u000005083338's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/14/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is the third course that I played in Bluffton this week. Greens were poor. Remainder of course was average. Layout good. Staff was extremely friendly.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


"Good Course in Bluffton SC"


u000005083338's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/14/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was challenging and scenic. Conditions were good. Marshall (Gerry) was very friendly and helpful. Women’s League was out before us so pace of play was a bit slow. Overall an enjoyable round.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



pabresch's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/11/2017
Previously played Used cart Cold weather

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Challenging Course!"


somvil's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/10/2017
First time playing Used cart Cold weather

Reviewed on

Hole #1 is still being worked on. You kinda start in the middle of the fairway and despite the fact that it's a Par 5, you should consider it a 4 during the construction.

Look, this isn't a premium course. Don't expect premium conditions. The course is in better than average shape if you don't try to compare it to the $200+ courses in town. The only sub $100 course that is in better shape right now is HH National. I paid $39 here on a local rate, but this course is worth $60-ish in my opinion. Any excessive bumps or turf issues (of which there are few) is more than made up for in the challenging play here. It may not be quite as nice as HH National, but it's absolutely harder in my opinion.

Play the black tees for an interesting afternoon! There's a do-or-die par 3 over a pond, there's 2 eagle-ready par 5's that will make you pay if you don't hit your 2nd shot clean, and there's a par 4 that I was able to drive the green on. The greens are absolutely enormous and there seemed to be a sand trap everywhere I aimed. This course makes you think and debate yourself on club selection, and I really enjoyed it.

The only minor complaint would be that some stretches of the cart-path seemed to be sponsored by the local dentist as they'll rattle your teeth out of your head, but that's common in the lowcountry and judging by all the work being done on the course, they'll take care of that in due time.

Good round, I'll be back.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Lack of staff"


JTerryMoore's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/10/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We were not made aware of the construction and mess on the first hole. No starter. No Marshall. Slow play


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Fair


I don't recommend this course


"Pinecrest Golf"


bobr's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/07/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very friendly staff. Course in very good condition. Some short par 4’s that give you options and challenges.

Good good and a great wait staff. Try the Red Pepper Bisque.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed