Pinecrest Golf Club

3.9621470588 4.0 stars from 5 (422)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7089 yards
  • Slope: 139
  • Rating: 74.7
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No
GPS: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7089 yards 74.7 139
Blue 72 6685 yards 72.8 136
White 72 6079 yards 70.0 127
White (W) 72 6079 yards 75.9 145
Green 72 5539 yards 67.4 120
Green (W) 72 5539 yards 72.8 132
Red 72 5062 yards 65.4 116
Red (W) 72 5062 yards 70.8 120

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.0 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.9 stars from 5
Value: 4.2 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.2 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.3 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.7 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 422 Reviews
5 stars:
128
4 stars:
215
3 stars:
59
2 stars:
14
1 stars:
6

recommend this course

373 out of 421 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive convenient to the city in the 'burbs   Great for advanced golfers seniors locals   Challenges include water hazards bunkers forced carries   Great for drinks watching the game 19th hole scenic views  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"It was a good day...."


hosoh's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/19/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Liked my first experience at Pinecrest.

Good layout and some challenging holes.

Would be nice if the edge of the fairways were not US Open type length....very penal to the average golfer.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Nice!!!!!"


GOLFNSVNA's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/13/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

First time on course. Great day. Only draw back was first hole has been converted to a par 4 from a 5, due to extending of the driving range. I almost drove the green, I called the pro shop and that's how I found out. Scorecards need to be updated. Tees, fairways and greens were very playable. Looks like in the next month or so this course will be a great track. Love holes 9 and 18 coming in. I like how certain holes were roped off so the course could keep it's luster. Fair but challenging layout for all handicaps. Huge greens. Overall had a great round and will be back.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



u900239897's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/08/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"If it's Nay Windy"


u000004040382's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/21/2018
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Pinecrest did not disappoint. We had played here many times in past years and knew the challenges of the layout. The greens were not too bad for March. The 40 mph winds really made it a tough day but that is golf!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Pinecrest day"


johnsgolf1's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/11/2018
Previously played Used cart Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course cost for 9 holes was relatively low, but now I understand why, Course conditions were poor, partly due to the late winter time, but all the greens were sanded apparently after aeration and putting was nearly impossible. Someone should have told us about this. Very disappointing to be surprised by these conditions


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course



u224545053's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/10/2018
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course itself looked tired, the greens were OK. Have played this course many times and this is probably the worse condition overall I have have seen this course. I am not saying it is in terrible shape but the course looked tired. I will go back and hopefully with some warmer weather it will perk up.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Fun course"


eripley's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/10/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Myself and a buddy did 18 starting just after noon. We're finished at 4. We had played the other Brown course n the area and hated it but loved this one. All the staff ; the guy at the desk, the cart guy and the starter were all super friendly. Even one of the neighbors, who was fishing, was very friendly. Will definitely play the course again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Greens under repair & fairways very thin/hard"


u000003542461's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/10/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

All greens are being over seeded and very sandy. Fairways continue to be like a rock with little grass to hit off of. First tee is under repair for future par 4 from former par 5. Course layout is nice by overall course needs some TLC.. Bar was closed before 4:30 pm with May people still on the course.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course



u000005588716's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/07/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course



nancy0345's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/01/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"winter golf in hilton head"


pkf914's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/01/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

fun course in poor condition, fairways were THIN, tee boxes were uneven and often dirt and sand, the greens while fast needed to be rolled this is a course with good bones that needs some love i winter in hilton head, other better choices


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


"Stay away"


Pelicanbrief's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/27/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Stay away until they spend some money on fixing the tee boxes and getting the grass straightened out on the greens. Really sad shape for an island area course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


"Pinecrest"


RGCC63D1D9A76241C09's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/26/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very nice course well kept Temp tee box on 1

Will play again next year.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Always a good buy"


u224545053's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/24/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was in very good shape considering the time of year, The greens were fast but consistent. They mus have had a tourney earlier in the day but we were able to move along just fine.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Wet but quick round"


u000003542461's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/13/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

Course was cart path only due to very wet conditions. Fast pace round since first ones off in the morning. First hole has temporary tee due to construction. Bunkers muddy and compact. Greens fairly good condition. Overall, pretty good for the price.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Nice course"


eripley's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/06/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens are in great shape. Tee boxes were a bit muddy as it rained two days before. Nice variety of holes. Staff was very accommodating and friendly.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"NICE!!"


Tony9908320's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/26/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

In good shape for the time of year. Greens were rolling true should be beautiful by spring


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Worth the money"


diggspat's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/22/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

As a group, we have nothing negative to say about Pinecrest. This time of the year, when the grass is dormant, all courses play about the same from the fairways. Greens were smooth and rolled well. Can't beat the price.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Playable Pinecrest!"


None's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/21/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course is always a pleasure to play! The conditions are usually good, the greens are normally rolling well but this time the front was in need of the greens being rolled, ( a little bumpy), the back was good! Fairways were in good shape considering there was snow on the ground for a few days only a few days earlier! The tee boxes were in need of some work! Always enjoy playing the course as it makes you think about each shot!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Never play this course"


ccapan's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/20/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

What a disappointment and not worth any amount to play. Golf now needs to take this course off their choices


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course



bobmckelvie's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/15/2018
Previously played Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed