Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
3.4
346 Reviews (346)
5 Stars
39
4 Stars
147
3 Stars
85
2 Stars
44
1 Stars
31
Conditions
3.2
Value
3.6
Layout
4.2
Friendliness
3.9
Pace
3.6
Amenities
2.5
73.2%
Recommend this course
247 out of 346 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
3.6
7 Reviews (7)
5 Stars
1
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
1
Conditions
4.3
Value
4.7
Layout
4.7
Pace
4.0
Amenities
2.0
StaffFriendliness
4.2
85.7%
Recommend this course
6 out of 7 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
3.5
23 Reviews (23)
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
1
Conditions
3.5
Value
3.6
Layout
4.3
Pace
3.6
Amenities
2.0
StaffFriendliness
3.8
78.3%
Recommend this course
18 out of 23 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Public
Par 71
Length 7258 yards
Slope 0
Rating 0.0

Devlin and VonHagge designed this course, which challenges even experienced golfers. It has been rated by Golf Digest to be among the 50 top courses in the United States. The signature hole on the Championship Course is #12, a 452-yard, par 4, requiring a tee shot through a cypress forest to an island green.

This 7,258 yards, par 71 course has narrow fairways, a deep rough as well as plenty of water and bunkers. Enjoy the fast greens and the excitement of knowing you're on one of the best.

Book a Tee Time at
Colony West Golf Club - Champ Course
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 1971
Fairways Bermuda Grass
Greens Bermuda Grass
Golf Season Year round
Architect Bruce Devlin (1971) Robert von Hagge (1971)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes
GPS Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range No
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No

Reviews

3.4
346 Reviews (346)

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 48
Brunch 24
Watching the Game 21
Course Challenges Include:
Water Hazards 63
Bunkers 53
Plays Long 37
This course/club is great for:
Locals 63
Advanced Golfers 30
Seniors 20
This Course's Location is:
Convenient to the City 53
In the 'Burbs 28
Worth the Drive 26

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played

Still under construction, but course in good shape.

Navigating construction and parking a chore and worth it.
Greens were mostly smooth, hard, and fast. Many undulations make for tough long putts. Only a few sanded areas here and there.
Tee boxes and fairways average to above. Weeds kept at a minimum but bare spots and divots in both need cared for.
Rough was mostly short with many sandy areas around the trees and shrubs when you get off line.
Layout is great and challenging. Dog legs both directions and some long holes. Some tight lines, but there are usually good areas to hit towards if accurately placed using good course management.
Good deal for the rate we paid.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Fair
Default User Image
Commented on 10/15/2019

Thank you for the review. We appreciate your feedback and patience around the construction. Hope you come back and play again soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great Value

A great value for the money. Course was in extremely good condition considering the recent rains. The only reason that I couldn’t give better ratings was because the ongoing construction and the lack of amenities in the pro shop. Friendly staff was very informative and helpful. Will return for sure!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Construction area

Greens were in good shape. Rain had several sand traps under water. Most tee boxes were disasters. No grass or crab grass, but overall a playable course although with the hotel construction parking was not good with a long walk to the temporary club house/pro shop. Overall a very good value $$$$

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Poor
Difficulty Extremely Challenging
Default User Image
Commented on 07/10/2019

Thank you so much for your review. As you may know, we've had quite a bit of rain in the past few weeks so we're working as hard as we can to keep course conditions as playable as possible. We hope to see you back again soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Commented on 07/10/2019

Thank you for your review. We take your opinion seriously, and are working everyday to improve the customer experience. If you have any specific comments or concerns, please reach out to us at info@colonywestgolfclub.com

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
First Time Playing

Cancelled round but they still charged me

Didn't actually get to this course but beware, even though we cancelled the reservation through the golf shop, they still charged me.

Default User Image
Commented on 07/10/2019

Thanks for your feedback. We apologize for that inconvenience. Please contact us at info@colonywestgolfclub.com so we can chat about our cancellation policy and see if a refund is available for you. Thank you.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Impressed

The new greens have stayed immaculate. They had a Ranger out pushing the pace. It was a good experience the next phase will be to clean up the fairways and county will be looking like it used to. I also like the fact that they finally made the double green between four and six to separate greens !

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Fair
Default User Image
Commented on 06/03/2019

Thanks for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your experience with us. Rest assured we are working hard to improve the customer experience. Hope to see you again soon!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Unfriendly Staff

The course was going through remodeling It was a long walk from the parking lot to the pro shop no one was there to greet us to take our bags. I had my 15-year-old daughter with me to ride along they wanted to charge for her to ride along. Needless to say, I canceled my tee time and requested a refund went to Woodlands where they didn’t charge for the ride along. Plus, they were much more friendlier than Colony West.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Poor
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Default User Image
Commented on 07/10/2019

Thank you for your feedback. We take your opinion seriously, and are working everyday to improve the customer experience. Please contact us at info@colonywestgolfclub.com so that we can discuss your experience.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Average

Great layout, greens in decent shape. Fairways need a lot of work. Sand traps are in great shape.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Default User Image
Commented on 07/10/2019

Thanks for your review. We are continually working to improve our fairways. Hope you had a great time with us in Florida.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 1000 Contributor
Previously Played

Coming Back

So glad to see this course coming back. The layout is one if the best by far in South Florida. The new greens are still very firm but roll very well. They are country club quality and funny to putt if you don't mind an occasional three putt. Looking forward to the finished product.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Commented on 08/02/2019

Thanks for the 4 star review. We hope to see you again soon!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 250 Contributor
Previously Played

Not impressed!

Again, today we booked a tee time a few days ago , arrived and we joined again with a man who just showed alone up to play. Although , I understand for timing this works for you it makes me crazy. Why , if we book as a twosome would we want play with a single,guy who could care less about playing with us. It always ruins my round as a women..
It happens everywhere often once a week. There was a couple behind us that got to play alone should we be rude and say no next time? This situation needs to be addressed by golf now and the clubs who use them to fill their coarse.

Conditions Average
Value Fair
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 1000 Contributor
Previously Played
Windy weather
Used cart
Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Fair
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Image
Commented on 06/03/2019

Thank you for your review. We value your feedback and are working hard everyday to improve the customer service. Please let us know if there is a specific service area you are dissatisfied with.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Great Course to play

first time to play this course. The greens are super fantastic...looks like some money was put into them in the last 6 months. New clubhouse is being built for the course, will like to come back and play again with new club house. The fairways were ok, could use some work, but with all the other activiites, understand why they are just ok.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Image
Commented on 08/02/2019

Thanks for your review. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 06/03/2019

Thanks for your review. We hope to see you again soon!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Slow back 9

Course is looking great, the greens are looking good but running slow. The pace of play was good until the back 9, slowwww. Can’t wait for the new clubhouse to finish being constructed!

RANGER NEEDS TO RIDE THE COURSE ANS SPEED PEOPLE UP!!!!!!!!!

Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Average
Pace Fair
Amenities Fair
Default User Image
Commented on 08/01/2019

Thanks for your review. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 1000 Contributor
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Fair
Pace Fair
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 1000 Contributor
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Fair
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 1000 Contributor
Previously Played
Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Played On
Handicap 25+
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Fair
Amenities Poor
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Top 250 Contributor
Previously Played

A Bit of a Hot Mess right now...

Greens and bunkers in very good condition as they were just redone over this last summer.
Fairways were disappointing with a few being just plain bad.
The truncated 18th hole was disappointing. I hope that's not permanent.
Construction will be ongoing for the better part of 2 years I understand. That has made parking a nightmare. Restroom facilities are nasty porta potties at the "clubhouse" area. (a trailer.)

That said, I like the layout and have always been treated well here. I will continue to play here now and again as usual.

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Average
Amenities Poor
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Challenging course

Very hard course. Be sure to have an extra sleeve of balls or two. Holes 10 and 18 shortened due to irrigation issue. Parking is a challenge due to construction. Fairways okay but greens are in great shape. Overall not a bad course. Will be playing again for sure.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Nearby Courses

Stay & Play Offers

From $190
Valid dates: Dec 01, 2019 - Mar 01, 2020
Includes 3 rounds of golf - one each at Legacy Golf Links, 7 Lakes and Southern Pines Golf Club - and lodging for two nights in a 2 Bedroom / 2 Bath Golf Front Condo located on the Pinehurst Resort Golf Courses.
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE