Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.4
33
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Staff Friendliness
4.5
Pace
3.9
Amenities
4.2
Conditions
4.3
Value
4.5
Layout
0
100.0%
Recommend this course
33 out of 33 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
0
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Staff Friendliness
0
Pace
0
Amenities
0
Conditions
0
Value
0
Layout
0
0%
Recommend this course
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
0
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Staff Friendliness
0
Pace
0
Amenities
0
Conditions
0
Value
0
Layout
0
0%
Recommend this course

About

Holes 18
Par 72
Length 6946
Slope 132
Rating 73.5
Type Semi-Private
The National Golf Club of Louisiana is the cornerstone of the Westlake community. The course wanders through towering stands of beautiful Louisiana soft pines that provide an idyllic setting. The layout measures more than 7,000 yards from the back tees, offering plenty of holes that will please long hitters. The challenging greens are known to be some of the largest of any golf course in the area. The size of the greens can accommodate a variety of hole locations, allowing the course to play differently each time. You'll be tested with 80 strategically placed bunkers and 14 different lakes that come into play throughout. The generously wide fairways are seemingly docile but the subtle slopes and rolling terrain can be unforgiving. Accuracy and proper club selection are the keys to scoring well at The National Golf Club of Louisiana.
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Gold 72 6946 yards 73.5 132
Blue 72 6604 yards 71.9 128
White 72 6177 yards 69.8 124
Gold (W) 72 5663 yards 72.8 129
Gold 72 5663 yards 67.3 116
Red (W) 72 5267 yards 70.7 122
Scorecard for The National Golf Club of Louisiana
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Black M: 73.3/139 537 159 433 394 192 397 418 508 423 3461 433 512 176 362 437 199 457 494 415 3485 6946
Blue M: 71.8/128 518 151 414 377 187 371 398 486 398 3300 411 495 158 337 415 180 439 475 394 3304 6604
White M: 69.9/124 494 144 392 354 169 351 371 460 365 3100 386 472 133 310 388 167 412 441 368 3077 6177
Gold M: 67.8/116 W: 72.8/125 467 132 344 324 131 344 343 424 339 2848 363 445 114 288 340 142 363 415 345 2815 5663
Red M: 66.1/112 W: 70.5/122 440 123 326 302 119 319 314 389 315 2647 325 417 98 273 317 134 340 396 320 2620 5267
Handicap 2 18 6 12 14 16 10 4 8 9 3 17 13 7 15 1 5 11
Par 5 3 4 4 3 4 4 5 4 36 4 5 3 4 4 3 4 5 4 36 72

Course Details

Year Built 2009
Fairways TifSport
Greens MiniVerde
Golf Season Year round
Architect Dave Bennett (2009) Wadsworth Golf Construction (2009)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes
Pull-carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Bunker Yes
Golf School Academy Yes - "NGLA Golf Academy"
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted Yes
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes
Dress code Appropriate golf attire.

Best of Lists

  • Golf Advisor: Top Courses in Louisiana (2015 #6)

Reviews

4.4
33

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 5
Brunch 3
Patio Dining 1
Course Challenges Include:
Water Hazards 10
Bunkers 9
Narrow Fairways 5
This course/club is great for:
Advanced Golfers 9
Locals 8
A Weekend Splurge 7
This Course's Location is:
Worth the Drive 8
Convenient to the City 7
Near Local Attractions 5
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

great and affordable course

If you get an online deal, it's an great value. The course is very well kept and maintained. It is a pleasure to be able to play a nice course that is affordable to the average golfer. I don't need all the bells and whistles of a plush club house. Keep it like is, simple and affordable.
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Average weather
Used cart

Golf & Gambling

This course is on my list to play ever time we come to Lake Charles. This is a great value for the tract. Would pay more in Houston for this quality.
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Good
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Excellent weather
Used cart

An Awesome Course

I always love playing at the National. It's one of my favorite local courses. I frequently recommend it to out-of-towners that I meet on other local courses.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Quality of food & beverage Good
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Good weather
Used cart

Great layout

Very nice course overall in good shape. A few of the greens on the front had some bad spots but overall the course was in very good condition I would recommend playing it and I will play it again
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Quality of food & beverage Good
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Excellent weather
Used cart

Really Fun layout.

Great track. Fun layout. Large undulated greens. Can be speedy at times.
Staff Friendliness Good
Quality of food & beverage Good
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great Course

Great shape, great pace of play, I will definitely be coming back.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Quality of food & beverage Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Poor weather
Used cart

Luv the course

Definately a professional type course. You cannot get away with dribbling it off the tees. Lots of sand, just a great layout. Got rained out the last 4 holes tho.... #gullywasher
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Quality of food & beverage Excellent
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Fair weather
Used cart

Three putt dream

The National is a very nice and well maintained track. It is fun and can be a bear depending on the tees you pick. We play blue and when the wind is up like the day we played 15 to 20 mph. Club slection has to right on. The greens were not a pristine as they usually are...fetilzer was down. One tip is always try and stay below the hole. Pins can be located in some very tough places with breaks that you..I can't see. Great layout you will enjoy it.
Staff Friendliness Good
Quality of food & beverage Fair
Pace of Play Average
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Lots of sand.

Great course very challenging. Lots of sand. Course in great shape even after the daily spring showers.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Quality of food & beverage Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Good weather
Used cart

great time on a great course

This is a very nice course and for the price, you can't beat it.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Quality of food & beverage Excellent
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent

Stay & Play Offers

$110 Starting price
Valid dates: Aug 13, 2018 - Dec 31, 2019
The Penn Ohio Golf Trail consists of courses mainly in Western PA and Northeast Ohio. What sets us apart is that we offer 29 different courses; including 4 private, members-only country clubs, 2 former LPGA courses, and many of the top courses in Ohio and Pennsylvania (including Pennsylvania’s #1 public course – Olde Stonewall). We offer 4 Mansions (for groups of 2 to 36), 10 hotels and customer service beyond any major resort. Our Mansions feature large common areas, pool tables, poker tables, big screen TV’s with the luxury of the entire group together in a large home setting.
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE