Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.4
10
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
3
1 Stars
0
Staff Friendliness
4.0
Pace
4.5
Amenities
3.1
Conditions
3.1
Value
3.1
Layout
3.9
73.5%
Recommend this course
7 out of 10 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
0
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Staff Friendliness
0
Pace
0
Amenities
0
Conditions
0
Value
0
Layout
0
0%
Recommend this course
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.4
10
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Staff Friendliness
4.2
Pace
4.7
Amenities
3.3
Conditions
4.3
Value
4.0
Layout
4.0
100.0%
Recommend this course
6 out of 6 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 71
Length 6481
Slope 125
Rating 70.5
Type Public
Book a Tee Time at
The Rookery South
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 71 6481 yards 70.5 125
White 71 6139 yards 68.6 123
Red 71 5528 yards 66.1 115
Red (W) 71 5528 yards 71.5 121
Red/Gold 71 5129 yards 63.9 107
Red/Gold (W) 71 5129 yards 68.1 114
Gold 71 4875 yards 63.3 105
Gold (W) 71 4875 yards 67.1 111
Scorecard for South
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Blue M: 70.5/125 395 178 305 297 402 500 410 400 123 3010 601 447 361 486 236 151 401 170 618 3471 6481
White M: 68.6/123 385 168 300 290 385 491 390 362 115 2886 575 425 351 466 200 140 375 155 566 3253 6139
Red M: 66.1/115 W: 71.5/121 365 154 230 270 360 460 363 340 105 2647 565 325 281 456 180 121 311 135 507 2881 5528
Red/Gold M: 63.9/107 W: 68.1/114 325 154 230 270 360 460 285 252 105 2441 480 325 281 456 130 121 311 135 449 2688 5129
Gold M: 63.3/105 W: 67.1/111 325 140 201 255 315 436 285 252 95 2304 480 315 271 402 130 111 298 115 449 2571 4875
Handicap 5 15 11 13 9 1 3 7 17 4 10 12 2 14 16 8 18 6
Par 4 3 4 4 4 5 4 4 3 35 5 4 4 5 3 3 4 3 5 36 71

Course Details

Year Built 2000
Fairways Bent Grass
Greens Bent Grass
Golf Season Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - included in green fee
Clubs Yes
GPS No

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Bunker Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Metal Spikes Allowed No
Dress code Proper golf attire preferred.

Reviews

3.4
10

What Golfers Are Saying

Course Challenges Include:
Thick Rough 1
Undulating Greens 1
This course/club is great for:
Beginners 1
Junior Golfers 1
Walkers 1
This Course's Location is:
Near Local Attractions 1
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Staff Friendliness Average
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Fair
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Average
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played

Fun Track

Very fun track. Score-able and not boring. Some shorter holes but they make up for it with some fun shots. Greens rolled well and the staff is great. Been there twice and I plan on many more.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Wet and cart path only

No one said "Cart path only" when we paid for outing. All of us have some "senior" issues which makes walking a long course difficult and less than enjoyable. The fairways were wet from heavy rains two days before but not so bad all the course lawnmowers and others weren't out in full swing. A 90 degree rule would have worked well and made the day better. Also, Rookery does not provide a bucket of balls with the reservation, one of the few in the area that skimps on that GolfNow perk.
Staff Friendliness Average
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Fair
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Average
Course Layout Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Average
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Would play again

Pleasantly surprised with the Rookery South. Despite a few days of wet weather, there was no issue on the course itself. Conditions were pretty decent, better than some of the reviews I had read. Tee boxes, fairways, and greens all in great shape. Couple greens had some rough spots, but this time of the year/season, most normal priced courses do. Well worth the $40 GolfNow price I paid. I would definitely play again. It was a tad quirky, the front nine was a lot of shorter holes, then the back nine had 3 par 5's, and seemed much longer than the front. Decent layout, no real "gimmicky" holes. Just straight up golf. Good for the beginner and high handicapper. Very forgiving.
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played

Great Course

Second time playing here and again the course was in excellent shape. Staff and starter were very friendly and the layout is very good. Would highly recommend.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Previously Played

Almost back from the dead

The last I played this course was early summer of 2016 and I heard they completely lost a few greens because of an incompetent superintendent. That being said the course is close to being back but the reason for the for the overall poor rating is because of the value. If 0 stars were an option I would have given them that. Rough was inconsistent and patchy, some of the greens had large bare spots still and the worst feature was the bare spots green side. I've played this course often enough to realize this course is no where near the caliber of some of the other beach clubs that are a little further south but to charge $54 plus $16 for a cart for the condition the course is currently is is almost laughable. In contrast I played Heritage Shores yesterday for $45 with a gps cart and unlimited use of the practice facilities(it was twilight so not exactly apples to apples). They really do take advantage of the fact they are the only 18 hole course on the north side of the beach area by over charging and under delivering
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Fair
Value for the Money Poor
Course Layout Average
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
First Time Playing
Good weather

Fun and Empty

Course obviously took a beating from the dry summer. Yellow patches of dead grass on every hole. Greens were slow and and spin did not do anything. That being said, a fun and quick round of golf.
Staff Friendliness Average
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Fair
Course Conditions Poor
Value for the Money Fair
Course Layout Good
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser

Nice layout -- course hasn't recovered from Spring aeration

Nice layout but the course is in transition. From my understanding, the course was recently sold to the owners of The Rookery South, (Rehoboth, DE). It's always unfair to judge the conditions of a course with Bermuda/Zoysia fairways in the Winter/Spring in the Northeast -- the entire course is still recovering from Spring aeration -- very rough. I think it's a fun/fair layout, but the current conditions preclude recommending. Hopefully the agronomy efforts of the new owners will payoff this Summer...
Staff Friendliness Average
Pace of Play Excellent
Course Conditions Poor
Value for the Money Excellent
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser

Not what I expected

We only played 12 holes. The course was thickly covered in chucks of dusty fertilizer and since the layout and conditions were so disappointing, we did not choose to put ourselves through smelling it - and who knows what other side affects. I was expecting something special, but was really let down.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Course Conditions Poor
Value for the Money Poor

Stay & Play Offers

$110 Starting price
Valid dates: Aug 13, 2018 - Dec 31, 2019
The Penn Ohio Golf Trail consists of courses mainly in Western PA and Northeast Ohio. What sets us apart is that we offer 29 different courses; including 4 private, members-only country clubs, 2 former LPGA courses, and many of the top courses in Ohio and Pennsylvania (including Pennsylvania’s #1 public course – Olde Stonewall). We offer 4 Mansions (for groups of 2 to 36), 10 hotels and customer service beyond any major resort. Our Mansions feature large common areas, pool tables, poker tables, big screen TV’s with the luxury of the entire group together in a large home setting.
Nearby Courses
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE