Independence Golf Club - Championship

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.6
72
5 Stars
33
4 Stars
21
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
8
1 Stars
0
Staff Friendliness
4.6
Pace
4.5
Amenities
4.4
Conditions
4.4
Value
4.1
Layout
0
91.1%
Recommend this course
63 out of 72 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.6
72
5 Stars
1
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Staff Friendliness
4.5
Pace
4.0
Amenities
5.0
Conditions
4.0
Value
4.0
Layout
4.5
50.0%
Recommend this course
1 out of 2 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.6
72
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Staff Friendliness
4.8
Pace
4.5
Amenities
4.3
Conditions
4.4
Value
4.0
Layout
4.6
87.5%
Recommend this course
7 out of 8 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 72
Length 7127
Slope 139
Rating 74.6
Type Public
Independence Golf Club in Midlothian is situated on the edge of the Piedmont region, routed through the area’s mature woodlands and natural wetlands. Tom Fazio designed the course; it's his only daily-fee course design in Virginia. The challenging layout features narrow fairways lined with high, thick rough areas. There are also numerous strategically placed bunkers lurking along the greens. It's a tough golf course but not overly punishing for high handicappers. The course strikes a nice balance between being challenging and playable, a reason that it often serves as host to many Richmond-area tournaments. The layout finishes with an uphill dogleg left that plays over water, with a good drive you can avoid the bunkers that are to both the left and right of the fairway. For beginners, Independence Golf Club also has a nine-hole short course for training as well as a learning center.
Book a Tee Time at
Independence Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7127 yards 74.6 139
Blue 72 6677 yards 72.2 134
White 72 6259 yards 69.9 130
White (W) 72 6259 yards 76.6 148
Green (W) 72 5665 yards 72.9 133
Gold 72 5022 yards 64.5 114
Gold (W) 72 5022 yards 69.2 122
Scorecard for Championship
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Black M: 74.6/139 460 450 415 550 385 400 220 535 200 3615 350 210 375 520 205 395 460 595 410 3520 7135
Blue M: 72.0/134 425 415 385 510 355 365 195 515 175 3340 340 160 340 485 180 360 435 560 385 3245 6585
Grey M: 70.1/129 W: 75.9/136 390 400 370 500 345 355 170 480 160 3170 310 140 330 470 145 330 415 500 350 2990 6160
Green M: 66.9/122 W: 72.1/128 335 340 285 450 330 325 145 440 130 2780 275 110 290 440 135 305 380 450 320 2705 5485
Red M: 64.6/116 W: 69.5/122 325 315 285 435 290 290 140 410 90 2580 240 85 255 410 115 275 340 425 285 2430 5010
Handicap 5 7 9 3 13 11 15 1 17 14 18 10 4 16 12 6 2 8
Par 4 4 4 5 4 4 3 5 3 36 4 3 4 5 3 4 4 5 4 36 72
Handicap (W) 5 9 7 3 13 11 15 1 17 14 18 12 4 16 10 6 2 8

Course Details

Year Built 2001
Fairways Bermuda Grass
Greens Champion Bermuda Grass
Architect Tom Fazio (2001) Lester George (2014)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - included in green fee
Clubs Yes
GPS Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Bunker Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted Yes
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Dress code Golfers must wear collared shirt. Denim is not permitted.

Best of Lists

  • Golf Advisor: Top Courses in Virginia (2017 #2)
  • Golf Advisor: Best of Golf Advisor (2017 #48)

Reviews

4.6
72

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Amazing Food 2
Brunch 2
Dinner 2
Course Challenges Include:
Undulating Greens 5
Bunkers 4
Elevation Changes 4
This course/club is great for:
Entertaining Clients 5
Advanced Golfers 4
A Weekend Splurge 3
This Course's Location is:
In the 'Burbs 4
Worth the Drive 4
Convenient to the City 2
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Virginia Advisor
Top 50 Contributor
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Reopened With Healthy But Diminished Greens

Writing a review like this hurts. Having played Independence each of the past 3 years and falling in love with its blazing fast and silky smooth greens that the harsh winter destroyed, it pains me to see this premiere course diminished by sod. I understand the reality and challenges that faced this club months ago when the grass refused to grow back and I can’t fault their efforts to get the course playable again. But there’s no hiding the fact that their biggest asset is now their greatest liability. Part of what made Independence’s greens so quick was how firm they were. You rarely could even see a ball mark on the greens because of the firmness and toughness of the putting surface. But now with every green sodded, you can feel the sponginess under your feet (however slight) that kills the speed. Additionally, the rows of sod mean a lot of seams and while most have no impact on your putted ball, a few of them do and that’s not what you expect from an $85 round. If you can overlook the difference in the greens, however, you may find Independence to be an enjoyable place. The fairways and rough are generally in good shape, as are the bunkers. The club offers free range balls on a grass range and excellent practice facilities. But with the previous greens being the real defence of the course, the lack of dynamic layout characteristics now with the slower greens means there’s not a bevy of value added to your relatively expensive round of golf. One exception to this is the golf carts which retain the most comfortable seats ever and now offer the new Shark Experience screens. I sampled some of the Slacker Radio music offerings and found it to be not only enjoyable but undistracting. The value of getting to putt on pro-speed greens is lost with the old grass. What we are left with is a pretty average course with a lot of flash to compensate. Many if not most golfers will find it acceptable, but sadly I think your money is better spent elsewhere. I certainly hope that is not the case for long.
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Average
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Average
Course Layout Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Niiiiooooce

I’ve played on many courses which host PGA events, but none of them have better greens than this course. So smooth. So quick. So true. I admit it made it hard on my sand game when I’d drop the ball next to the hole and have it spin off the green, but I’ll take my lumps for the quality moss.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Always a challenge

Really nice course to play. The starter was friendly and gave great advice about the course. The Bermuda rough is a challenge and takes a lot of getting used to. The greens were in very good shape and were fairly quick. The course had received rain overnight and was cart paths only, but that didn't detract from the course or the pace of play. A few of the fairways were a bit wet, but in general it was not too bad. Love the course and will play it any time I'm in the area.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Best Public Course in RVA

Greens are fast. Really fast. Did I say fast? Conditions are great for the time of the year - Bermuda fairways and greens. Looks great - they paint the dormant fairways green. They have a great bar/restaurant and clubhouse is very nice. Practice facility is the best around. The only thing about Independence is the price. $85 for 18 riding. It's worth it to play if it's in your budget. It's also very walkable if you like to walk. There is also a par 3 course which I have not played but I have heard great things about it. Go play this course.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Average
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Best public course in Richmond

Great layout. Best greens in the area. Extremely fast but true. Food is great staff is friendly and attentive. Greens fee is slightly steep but well worth it. A must play if you’re in the area.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Top 1000 Contributor
First Time Playing
Perfect weather

Bombers paradise, Great greens, lousy restaurant.

Son and I played there on a long weekend trip about 6 hours from home. Played with two great members from Independence GC. Was greeted by great staff and starter. Length is great for the appropriate tees you should play. Fairways were in excellent shape. But star of this course is the greens. 10.5 on stimp. Undulating greens that made some putts very interesting and fun at the same time. Very smooth. No ball marks on greens since they were fairly firm. If you hit a solid shot, you would make a small one. Very playable layout that was not overly hard. Fairways wide and bunkers were very playable. Played in 4 hours, which is great. $85.00 is just a little too much to pay for Independence GC. In my opinion should be around $50.00, but would play here again if in the area. Now for the bad news. Restaurant was not kind to us since it took over 30 minutes to get any food ordered. Was not the waitress fault, but she went to kitchen 2 times to advise them we were driving a long way home and were very hungry. Paid for drinks, left tip for server and left. By the way the food coming out of the kitchen looked very good! Hopefully we will be back soon. Give the pilot(front desk) and air traffic controller(starter) a raise!! They were fantastic!!
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Poor
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Average
Course Layout Average
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Windy weather
Used cart

Great layout, length and greens rolled true

Played this course for the first time with my son (college golfer). Course was in excellent condition... greens rolled true... fairways immaculate... bunkers well maintained. Even in windy conditions, this was a great venue and I would play here again... and again. Practice facilities were excellent. This rivals many private courses we have played... can't wait to come back.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Awesome

From bag drop to finish, i was extremely happy. Tee boxes, fairways, sand traps, greens were perfect. Staff was great, range was nice and the two putting green were exceptional. Five star and highly recommend.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Hot weather

FANTASTIC!!!!

Best public course I have ever played!! Great staff, course and pace of play. Best greens you will find anywhere.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent

Stay & Play Offers

$110 Starting price
Valid dates: Aug 13, 2018 - Dec 31, 2019
The Penn Ohio Golf Trail consists of courses mainly in Western PA and Northeast Ohio. What sets us apart is that we offer 29 different courses; including 4 private, members-only country clubs, 2 former LPGA courses, and many of the top courses in Ohio and Pennsylvania (including Pennsylvania’s #1 public course – Olde Stonewall). We offer 4 Mansions (for groups of 2 to 36), 10 hotels and customer service beyond any major resort. Our Mansions feature large common areas, pool tables, poker tables, big screen TV’s with the luxury of the entire group together in a large home setting.
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE