Scotch Hall Preserve

4.8675000000 4.9 stars from 5 (76)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7262 yards
  • Slope: 146
  • Rating: 77.1
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7262 yards 77.1 146
Silver 72 6974 yards 75.3 142
Blue 72 6445 yards 72.7 135
Green 72 6073 yards 70.9 132
Green (W) 72 6073 yards 77.4 145
Burgundy 72 5330 yards 67.4 124
Burgundy (W) 72 5330 yards 73.1 130

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.9 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.3 stars from 5
Value: 4.9 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.6 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.9 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.9 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.8 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 76 Reviews
5 stars:
69
4 stars:
7
3 stars:
0
2 stars:
0
1 stars:
0

recommend this course

76 out of 76 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive   Great for wildlife/ scenic views advanced golfers a weekend splurge   Challenges include bunkers plays long thick rough  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Hidden Gem!"


cbrew82's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/18/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I had head about this course from a friend. I finally got a chance to play it Friday, and what a pleasure! The staff was great, very friendly and helpful! The course was immaculate. Greens were fast and very receptive. A challenging layout the rewards shot making while not overly punishing an errant shot. Beautiful setting and layout. I will be back again soon!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



les59's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/22/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



u879190155's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/17/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"1st time review"


Katakura734's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/13/2017
First time playing Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on

The course is amazing and just long. It is a fair course and not too tricky to play the first time by myself. The staff at the club are friendly and customer focused. I'm going back tomorrow to play again, you just can't beat the hot deal rate at Golfnow.com

I can't remember a single bad lie and the fairways are perfect, even the first cut is a good lie to hit from. The greens were a little quick for me and missed read a few putts but they are also in great shape.

The 18 hole Palmer course is only $50-60 and I'ld say it is well worth it.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Best course around"


lew57's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/12/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

My favorite course to play. Have to drive 2 hours to play it, so that tells you something!

Course is always in great shape, from tee to green.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I recommend this course



u600869840's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/21/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Nice course. Nice staff. Challenging layout

. Best golf experience in my short career


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Hidden Arnie Gem"


PittBill's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/16/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

On my 2nd trip to this layout, I was able to really appreciate what an excellent, challenging, and fair, course this is. The greens ran a bit slow, and the recent aeration and sand application was still somewhat evident, but this did NOT detract from the round. Each Tee box presents an array of fairway bunkers that offer you chances to pick your own line to the hole. The greens vary in size and shape, and are well protected, but will hold a good approach, and they did putt true to the lines and contours. Just wish this was a course I could get to a lot more frequently.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great course"


mike8it's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/04/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Have played scotch hall many times and the course was in the best condition I have ever seen it. All the greens were in great shape, the fairways and tees were perfect. It had rained several inches a couple of days before we played so the bunkers were washed out. The greens were being punched when we finished our round


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Scotch Hall Golf Course"


dlb9954's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/25/2017
First time playing Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

First time to play this course. Scotch Hall is about an hour and forty minutes from Chesapeake, but it was worth the drive. Staff was friendly and helpful. The carts are equipped w/GPS and they provide water and tees in the carts. It was a bit of a cart ride to the practice area and 1st tee box, but once on the course the tee boxes, fairways and greens were all in very good condition. Hope this course will be able to generate the business to keep it in good condition. It is an excellent Arnold Palmer designed course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great course"


lew57's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/15/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Love the course. Have played many time. The best in Eastern NC. Can't beat the price for a GREAT course. Overall experience is a 10!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Birthday Round"


flCajun's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/11/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

It was great from the time we entered the preserve, the staff was friendly, helpful and assisted us from beginning to the time we left. The course was as awesome as we had heard. I will be back with my friends. Thanks for the wonderful birthday round.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Two years later"


clfalkiner's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/27/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course has been in great shape both times altho no Pro Shop on first visit. Only down is the trek to No 1 from Pro Shop, need Dr Livingstone to suss out a shorter route!!!

Very friendly staff and we will be back!!!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



"best value in NC"


greggraupmann's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/21/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

I have been playing Scotch Hall Preserve (formerly Innsbrook) since it opened. Our foursome played last Sunday for an unbelievable price. The course is in outstanding condition (as it's been since it opened). The architecture is challenging and the few houses that are built never impact hole playability. The course is never crowded. Unlimited range balls and cart are included. It is worth the short drive from OBX or the Triangle.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



u769500654's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/09/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Beautiful coarse that is in great condition. The coarse is widely laid out and not cramped. Most of the coarse you have a great view of the Albemarle sound.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



Blair1479122's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/03/2017
First time playing Walked Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great golf"


Pencilwedge's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/22/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

If you get the chance to play here, you will love it . Challenging but very playable


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great Value"


Karltkelly's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/18/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I was so impressed with this course. I was expecting an overrated course as I got a cheap deal on GolfNow. The wind off the sound makes the course difficult from all tee boxes. The greens are taken care of and fast for as flat as they are. The fairways have problematic areas because of sand traps, hills, and the rough. I would highly recommend this course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Out of the way gem"


Corey2631031's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/16/2017
First time playing Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on

I played Scotch Hall Preserve yesterday and I have to give the course a two thumbs up. It was my first time playing there, mainly due to the fact that it's a three hour round trip drive from my home. Overall, the course was great. Staff very friendly and helpful, good food at The Shed, and nice warm-up area. What you would expect from a Palmer course. I did however find it aggravating that a threesome kept me behind them from number 4 all the way to number the end of the round, even after I found one of their clubs they left behind and returned it to them. Not the course's fault but still dampens the experience. Otherwise, I would highly suggest if you are in the northeast section of North Carolina give this place a try. I will return very soon for another round. By the way...bring your beach clothes because there's more sand on this beauty than at the beach, LOL!


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Wind"


dinscoe's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/12/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in very nice shape.Greens rolled quick and true and fairways sat up nicely.

Club house had a "Shed" burger which is an excellent value.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Excellent Course"


prestonbwell's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/11/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very challenging course that has a course rating higher than 77 and a a slope greater than 145 and plays 7,200+yards. It wasn't even that windy but I. The several 450+ par 4s made it challenging to come in to greens guarded by bunkers and water. Hole 17 is an excellent signature hole and good one to finish the day on.

Highly recommended. Played on December 11 and course was still in great shape. I wish they would overseed just to make it look nicer. But the fairways are still in great shape despite them being brown. Bunkers re nicely takes as well. Greens have many undulations too which call for leaving your approaches in the right spot if you want an easy up and down if you miss the green


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Worrh the trip"


SteveVogt's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/08/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Live on the OBX have played all courses within 50 miles. THE BEST!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed