Bowes Creek Country Club

4.6703235294 4.7 stars from 5 (350)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 71
  • Length: 6917 yards
  • Slope: 142
  • Rating: 73.2
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: No
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: Yes
GPS: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Indoor practice facilities: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes - "Bowes Creek Golf Academy"

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Singles allowed: No
Dress code: Proper golf attire required.
Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 71 6917 yards 73.2 142
Blue 71 6569 yards 71.5 138
White 71 6120 yards 69.3 133
White (W) 71 6120 yards 74.7 135
Red (W) 71 5626 yards 71.5 128
Gold (W) 71 5029 yards 68.1 121

Bowes Creek Country Club is situated on the western edge of Elgin amidst gently rolling hills. The golf course enjoys an idyllic setting, sprawling across lush farmland accented with stands of mature trees, natural wetlands, and rocky bluffs. The layout incorporates the natural hazards provided by the terrain but massive, sweeping bunkers were also strategically placed throughout for added challenge. Tall fescue grasses edge the face of the bunkers as well and the undulating terrain guarantees that you will come across a few uneven lies. The trickier elements of the golf course are balanced by expansive, player-friendly fairways that offer a little room for error. In addition to the golf course, Bowes Creek C.C. also boasts a comprehensive practice area with an elevated, 30-station driving range with target greens at varying distances, and putting and chipping greens.

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.7 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.4 stars from 5
Value: 4.6 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.3 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.7 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.8 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.4 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 350 Reviews
5 stars:
231
4 stars:
100
3 stars:
12
2 stars:
4
1 stars:
3

recommend this course

337 out of 349 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive in the 'burbs   Great for advanced golfers wildlife/ scenic views locals   Challenges include bunkers forced carries elevation changes   Great for drinks patio dining 19th hole scenic views  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Great layout and green compexes"


Michael9865945's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/13/2016
First time playing

Reviewed on

Bowes creek is just fun to play, The layout can be as challenging as you want to make it with 5 sets of tees. The bunkering reminds me of Scotland with many smaller bunkers instead of one large number. Lots of visual challenges with water and highly grown natural wet lands but not overly done. The green complexes are very challenging with undulations, green within green pin positions, and the put quickly even on the day I was there which was the morning after significant rain the day before. In fact the entire course handled the drainage very well. The staff a service is at a quality country club level. A must play!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



Kenneth3675901's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/14/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Bowes Creek Country Club on 07/16/2018:

Thank you for the 5-star rating! We hope you join us again soon.

"Great course especially for the GolfNow price"


u093644861's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/13/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course has an awesome layout, very scenic and gorgeous views. Fairways are wide and open, bunkers challenging for location and depth, and greens...like glass today. Lots of divot marks from lazy golfers sadly but otger than that I'd call it a gem of a track for sure. I'll be replaying in the future.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Bowes Creek Country Club on 07/16/2018:

Thank you for the 5-star rating and review! We are glad you enjoyed the challenge as well as the scenery the course has to offer.


u000005083259's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/10/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Bowes Creek Country Club on 07/11/2018:

Thank you for the 5-star rating! Book your next round with us very soon.

"Public Course, Private Feel"


Cmart1127's avatar
Age:  Under 25
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/08/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Absolutely love this golf course. Every part of this course is always in good shape (fairways, tees, greens). The layout is fantastic and includes many unique holes. Range balls are included in the cost of the round making your pre-round experience feel like you're at a private club. All in all, recommend this golf course to anyone looking for a well groomed, challenging course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Bowes Creek Country Club on 07/11/2018:

Thank you for the wonderful review! We appreciate the recommendation and hope to see you out there again soon.


Harris3277's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/07/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Bowes Creek Country Club on 07/09/2018:

Thank you for the 5-star rating! Book your next round with us very soon.

"Great course"


usmcnipas2011's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/05/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Everything was in excellent shape from Teebox to green.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Bowes Creek Country Club on 07/09/2018:

Thank you for the excellent review! We hope you join us again soon.

"Nice Course"


ptphd1's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/05/2018
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course, conditions and staff make for a very pleasant day.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Bowes Creek Country Club on 07/06/2018:

Thank you for the great 5-star review! We are glad you enjoyed everything from the conditions to the quality of our course staff.

"Great Course!"


johnwhall's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/24/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Beautiful, challenging course. We played the Blue tees at slope of 138. The only issue was the lack of respect paid by previous golfers. We were fixing 4-5 pitch marks on every green and fixing divots in every fairway. Shameful !


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Bowes Creek Country Club on 06/27/2018:

Thank you for the 5 stars! We are glad you enjoyed the course. We will look into your divot repair concern.


Shark0072's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/24/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Bowes Creek Country Club on 06/26/2018:

Thank you for the excellent 5-star review! We are glad you enjoyed the amenities the course has to offer. Come play again soon.

"Excellent course"


u090310108's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/17/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great driving holes, with clever space if you miss a little, challenging par 3s. Nice course my wife and I enjoyed our round. Electric cart and GPS felt brand new. Greens were true and had nice pace them. Some holes the greeens were a little pockmarked. If Golfers were better at just fixing their ball marks these greens would be great. Looking forward to playing it again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Bowes Creek Country Club on 06/20/2018:

Thank you for the excellent review! We are glad you and your wife had a great round of golf. We hope to see you both out there again soon.

"Great Course"


u000006908589's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/13/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

First time I played Bowes Creek. Superb public access course with conditions and amenities like a private course. Excellent practice facilities. Challenging layout and multiple tees for a variety of abilities. The “German Eyelash” surrounds on the bunkers are unique and are both challenging and frustrating. I think that some being so close to the green as bordering as unfair. Nonetheless I will be playing the course again in the near future.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Bowes Creek Country Club on 06/18/2018:

Thank you for the 5-star review! We are glad you had a great first-time experience of Bowes Creek Country Club. We look forward to your next round with us.


mstacy769's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/13/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Bowes Creek Country Club on 06/18/2018:

Thank you for the 4-star rating. Come play again soon!

"Beautiful Course"


LongWang's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/11/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course, nice layout, well maintained. challenging, but very rewarding experience.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Bowes Creek Country Club on 06/14/2018:

Thank you for the great 5-star review! We are glad you enjoyed the course layout as well as the challenge. We hope to see you out there again soon.

"Very Challenging"


u1506014's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/11/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

My friend and I played here for the first time. I am a long ball hitter so I played from the blue tees he played from the white. We both ended up playing from blues due to the layout of the course. I found it was better to hit back to keep from going into the hazards.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Bowes Creek Country Club on 06/14/2018:

We are glad you and your friend had a great first experience of our golf course! We hope you both book your next round with us very soon.

"Great shape"


u875492115's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/10/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

It was cart path only due to standing water but greens in great shape from maintenance perspective - best I’ve seen so far in 2018. Layout was good as usual and rough was like my feint lawn, thick and to be avoided. Best part of this course are the greens which are fast and true. Will return shortly.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Bowes Creek Country Club on 06/12/2018:

Thank you for the great 5-star review! We are glad you enjoyed the greens. We look forward to your next round with us very soon!

"She's a beaut!"


gwdulaney's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/10/2018
First time playing Used cart Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Been told by a few folks to play this course and boy did it not disappoint! Even though it was very soggy from a bunch of rain, the course drains very well and it was still very playable. What a gorgeous layout, too! Errant shots will easily find some nasty rough, so this play separates from the men from the boys (or ladies from the gals). You owe it to yourself to play this course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Bowes Creek Country Club on 06/12/2018:

We are glad you took your friends' advice and finally stopped to play at Bowes Creek Country Club! We hope to see you out there more often this season.


Mark4937737's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/09/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Bowes Creek Country Club on 06/13/2018:

Thank you for the 5-star rating. We are glad you enjoyed the course as well as the quality of our course staff.


Jeff3323763's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/09/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Bowes Creek Country Club on 06/11/2018:

Thank you for the 4-star review! Come play again soon.

"Bowes Creek"


Shark0072's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/09/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

One of the best golf courses in the Western Suburbs.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Bowes Creek Country Club on 06/11/2018:

Thank you for the wonderful review! We are honored you consider Bowes Creek "one of the best golf courses in the Western Suburbs."


hudkang3's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/07/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Bowes Creek Country Club on 06/11/2018:

Thank you for the 4-star rating! Book your next round with us soon.


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed